×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey (Mysterious Benedict Society Series #2)
     

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey (Mysterious Benedict Society Series #2)

4.6 484
by Trenton Lee Stewart, Del Roy (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Children you must not come stop dangerous!

The fabulous foursome readers embraced as The Mysterious Benedict Society is back with a new mission: to go on a mind-bending international scavenger hunt designed to engage their individual talents. As they search for all the clues and riddles Mr. Benedict has hidden for them, Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey (Mysterious Benedict Society Series #2) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 484 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The sequel to The Mysterious Benedict Society is the best sequel I have ever read. It is replete with action, twists and turns, riddles, and much more. While you can read this book just for fun, it is a great book to introduce to kids in school.

When Mr. Benedict plans a scavenger hunt for Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance, he is unaware that his harmless hunt will get him captured and put his four little friends in danger. When the four children sneak out on his hunt to save their friend, they run into dangerous obstacles everywhere. They are always looking out for each other and making sure them themselves are always safe. With the encounter of ten-men, and past enemies, these four children have to try hard to outwit them in time to save Mr. Benedict. Will they save Mr. Benedict or will they get captured themselves and allow their enemy to take over the world?

The Perilous Journey is an amazing book and almost anyone will enjoy it. But don't read the sequel without reading The Mysterious Benedict Society!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought the first one was good but it's nothing compared to this! Great thrill, adventure, extremely exciting! This book grabs you like an anchor, shocks you like a tazer, and has a peril beyond imagination!Fascinating secrets will be unlocked, clever schemes and getaways will happen, and even some funny scenarios! This is a Superfantastically wonderful book! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND reading the first book first!
Alexandra Zwisler More than 1 year ago
This book was very suspensful and a nail-biting tale. I love how it focuses on each characters thoughts and feelings. They each et a solo part
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book is the best everyone should get it this book is alot better than original and that one ruled so if you can BUY IT! trenton lee stewart rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!
10-Year-Old_Turtle_Fan More than 1 year ago
I thought that the first book was absolutely phenomenal and when I heard there was a second one, I was dying to read it. When it came in the mail, I started reading and finished it within a week, (considering I don't stay up all night to read, I have school you know!; and I'm not a fast reader.) Anyways, I was disappointed. There was just no wow factor in the overall books. In some parts there was a small wow- factor in places where I was really nervous, (places I shouldn't say because it would give away the book.) I just thought it was a tiny bit predictable. It good but not great. But if you liked the first book and not the second, and want to read this remember what I'm saying.

Don;t take this the wrong way, I liked it and I would recommend it to other Mysterious fans. I just kept expecting a great book like the first one, but it didn't fill my expectations.

IF YOU HAVENT READ THE FIRST BOOK THEN WHY ARE YOU READING THIS RIGHT NOW! READ THE FIRST ONE FIRST! IT'S AWESOME! Read the series in order! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you have read and studied the first book of this extroidenary series, then you will certainly fulfill the task of comleting this wonderous series, considering the interest level of the reader themselves. I enjoyed this book, but my intellegence overwhelmed the purpose of this book. I dearly hope that you will enjoy the storyline of this book and you wil l continue to question and comprehend however many books will be created in this series. Anonomase
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book in my opinion is better than the first!! Thrilling and full of action!!! If you havent read the first, maybe you should read that first. If you have, READ THIS BOOK!!!!! Trenton Lee Stewart is my favorite author!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you liked this series, another really great series like it is called the secret series. The first book is called the name of this book is a secret. Hope I helped!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Mysterious Benedict Society were in peril at first, but I really got into it. Whoever is reading my coment, and has never read this book then,........ Please read it because it is so good!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got this book 4 Christmas as paperback, but it's more convenient on the book. So much action, thrilling suspence, (and maybe some logic,) are some ofthe reasone I would recommend this book to anyone.
HELLOPEEPS1 More than 1 year ago
This book is just as good as the first!!! They went all across the world!!! It is fun and exciting!!!
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
It's been a year since the Mysterious Benedict Society was last together. Reynie was adopted by his dear tutor, Miss Perumal, Constance was adopted by Mr. Benedict himself, Kate was reunited with her long lost father, Milligan, and Sticky returned to his parents.

Now Mr. Benedict has planned a special surprise for the children in honor of their one year anniversary and as a chance for the four friends to see each other again. Everything goes wrong when Mr. Benedict and one of his trusty companions, Number Two, go missing. The children know that this is the dastardly deed of Mr. Curtain, the same man that caused all of the trouble in the children's last story. With no other option, the children set off on yet another adventure, this time to save the man that they have come to love. With clues left by Mr. Benedict before he was captured and the aid of many friends, the children set off on a great journey in search for Mr. Benedict while being pursued by many of Mr. Curtain's henchmen.

I really enjoyed this book. It definitely lived up to the first book and may have even surpassed it. The magic of the first book returned and I fell in love with the author's style. His choice of words was great and the character development in this book was much better. The only issue I had with this book is the pace wasn't consistent. I felt like at some points I was completely riveted to the book and couldn't put it down, but there were other times where I just couldn't get into the story.

I really liked the way the characters came together in this book. They all had personality and were very likeable. I also loved the adventure the kids went on. They traveled the globe and I was able to learn quite a few things from their different adventures. Another great thing about this book is that it's not necessary to read the first book in the series. While there are a few pieces of information that aren't included, they're not crucial to the story and this book can totally stand on its own.

While this was a middle grade novel, I think older readers will also enjoy it. I know I did. Overall, I really liked this book and I recommend it to you all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Trenton Lee Steward yet again wrote another magnificent story! This sequal to the Mysterious Benedict Society is a must read! You will be totally emmersed in the journeys of Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance as they bravely go on a rescue mission. If you love books, you'll get to love them more. If you dislike books, (IMPOSSIBLE but...) you'll be loving books as you turn the pages in this wonderful tale.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you've read this book (with an open mind, of course) then there is NO WAY you could not love this book. I was in a state of grief when I finished the first book (in seven hours, mind you) and now Reynie, Kate, Sticky, and Contsance, my personal favorite, are BACK! A fantastic book, not at all disappointing and just as good as the first. I'm just going to cry if there's no third book. I wonder what Number Two's name is...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My son & I enjoyed reading this series together!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE this book! Even though I thought that the1st book was more interesting this book was still great with high vocabulary, a great plot, and interesting, and well devoloped characters.
BookWhales More than 1 year ago
We arrive for the second part of the series. In this book they finally embark on a journey. This time they are not only situated within the confines of their town but travels across the sea, countries and islands. My impression about the book is that the style somewhat change. The quirkiness that I really liked in the first book is a little bit lost in this part. Personality of the characters changed so much too. Only a 1 year timeskip happened and majority of them changed. As I said in my review on the previous book there were some games and puzzles which are very interesting too read but in this, there's not much. It moved from the puzzles-game solving to an adventure searching for clues. It reminds me a lot of what they are doing with the 39 clues series by Scholastic. My main problem is also their personality. Suddenly one of them is a jealous character. Another one of them secretly becomes very angry and impatient. Another becomes super tamed. I think only one of them stayed the same with just minor changes here and there. For me its not realistic to change their characters drastically. Although I have problems with them, I like their journey this time. Everyone's strength plays a role in figuring out their next move. Nobody is left behind when it comes to contribution part. All in all it is still an enjoyable read. keeps you entertained. Not much of plot twist since we all still know who's the enemy and who's not. I give this book 3 whales.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great sequel really good had sort of a differnet feel to it but very goodbdont read without reading the first one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it!!!!!!!!!! The author is good at getting you hooked to his books. I was very entertained.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BEST BOOK EVER MADE!!!!! I loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just maake sure you read the first book first. This is the second book and before I almost read it without reading the first and I was really bored and confused but then I found out that it was the second. I love this book and I highly recomend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Blabidybllaboobbloobobleoo
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wowzer wee!!!!!!! This book was amazing!!!!!! Best one out of all three!!!!!!! Yee haw!!!!!!!! Read this!!!!! You will love it so much that you will x-plode!!!!!!!