×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Mysterious Benedict Society (Mysterious Benedict Society Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of The Mysterious Benedict Society (Mysterious Benedict Society Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of The Mysterious Benedict Society (Mysterious Benedict Society Series #1)
     

The Mysterious Benedict Society (Mysterious Benedict Society Series #1)

4.6 1148
by Trenton Lee Stewart
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?"

When this peculiar ad appears in the newspaper, dozens of children enroll to take a series of mysterious, mind-bending tests. (And you, dear reader, can test your wits right alongside them.) But in the end just four very special children will succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Mysterious Benedict Society (Mysterious Benedict Society Series #1) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1148 reviews.
FHResident More than 1 year ago
I am an 11 year old girl and I found this book was so engaging! I couldn't stop reading it! All the characters were so intersting and the story is very captivating. I loved the puzzles and the mysteries that the characters had to solve. I also loved that all the names of characters and places had secret meanings hidden in them. This was definitely one of the best book I've ever read.
Dr.Dad More than 1 year ago
My son and I really enjoyed reading this book together. It had many great lessons and principles about friendship, teamwork, persistence and loyalty. It really lent itself to deeper discussions about life and values. The plot was captivating and it was easy to see yourself in the action. Consequently it was fun to ask my son what he would have done or done differently than the characters in the story.

Even though the children in the book were uniquely gifted, they retained some of the common,ordinariness of all kids and so were easy to identify with. It reminded me of the Harry Potter and Series of Unfortunate Events series without the supernatural or bizarre. Despite the realism, the storyline was exciting as the kids defeat the mad genius villian bent on world domination. It's a great read and you and your kids will love it!
TheCritic More than 1 year ago
This is a great book about some extraordinary kids. A great book, a classic. I love it. I highly recommend it. They get into some "STICKY" situations, and just barely get out of them. A MUST READ!
Will_Read_for_Fun More than 1 year ago
I read the book very quickly because it was great. I would recommend for people 9-15. It all depends on the reading level. I enjoyed and bought the second book soon after.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'd never heard of the mysterious benedict society when I sat started reading it, and after a few pages I was blown away. As I am personally an adult, the story brought be back to my childhood reading the hardy boys and nancy drew. I loved the concept of 4 kids trying to solve interesting mysteries. The really great thing about this book is that it is really a pretty unpredictable storyline, and the puzzles and problems that the 4 kids have to solve are intersting for the reader to try to take a crack at too. Overall it was an excellent read and I highly recommend it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Engaging, diverse characters find themselves trapped in a dangerous world... and combine their unique talents (and the help of unusual friends) to overcome obstacles in order to save the world. A tale of bravery, determination and friendship. Caution - if you're opposed to the casual use of the word STUPID, be aware that the characters in the book (including the children) favor this word. Otherwise, the language is OK.
Balina More than 1 year ago
this book is amazing. enjoyed it a lot and will order the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the series. Reynard, Constance, George(Sticky), and Kate were four smart kids going through this adventure. I love Kate's creativeness, Reynie's Cleverness, Sticky's mind and Constance's stubborness. All essential to their mission. I'm 12 and loved this series since I was 10. Trenton Lee Stewart forever!
SyFyFan More than 1 year ago
This was a well written, exciting and fast moving book. The characters are developed nicely. The story is detailed, yet does not drag on. It is intended for children, but I would recommend for any age. great book for the family to share. Look forward to reading the next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a total bookworm and was looking for an awesome read this summer. I looked at the reviews and went ahead and bought it. Reading the first book and HOOKED!!! I've finished both the harry potter and percy jackson series and recommend this book to anyone who likes them too. This is NOT a waste of money at all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Must read!!!!!!
marbo16 More than 1 year ago
The Mysterious Benedict Society is definitely my favorite book. I thought the name of the villain, Ledroptha Curtain, is kind of clever because it sounds like "let drop the curtain." In the book, Mr. Curtain tried to gain mind control over millions of people by sending hidden messages through radio and TV, and four kids, Constance Contraire, Reynard Muldoon (better known as Reynie), George Washington (better known as Sticky), and Kate Wetherall, tried to find out exactly what he was doing and stop him with the help of Mr. Benedict, who wrote the tests that got the kids on their mission in the first place, and his assistants, Rhonda and Number Two, who also passed the tests. Sticky is the one who knows all the facts. Reynie is the puzzle solver. Kate is the athletic daredevil who isn't afraid of things most people would be terrified of. And Constance is the cranky one who just seems like a burden towards the begining of the story, but ends up playing an important role in the mission. At the ending there was a letter from Mr. Benedict that said he knew that some people wanted to know his first name and that people could figure it out if they knew what "the code" was. It took me forever to figure that one out. I think that anyone age 9 and up looking for a long action-mystery-science fiction book that they can get really absorbed in should read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books i have read in a long time. My grandparents got me this book and i thought i would hat it. I was really wrong. This book is full of myateries and puzzles and sleep. ;) i loved this book so much just like two days later i finished and they got me the next two. I finished those just as quickly. Nicholas Bennedict has my vote for best book character in this whole series. My expectations are very high for books amd if they domr meet them i put the book down. I never put this book down. I hope you read this book and agree that is book is superb. If you dont i will shun you until you agree even if i dont know you. I will shun you from a distance. I hope you love this book just as much as i did. Remember if you dont like this book i will shun you l: )
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Before I got my Nook, I was at my friends house amd I was reading this book. They probably got very annoyed that I wasn't listening to them, but this book got me very hooked. I never bought it, but I really want to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a mix of adventure, humor, and science. I would reccomend this book to kids ages 10 and up along with all adults! Great book!
Refill More than 1 year ago
A fun book about four children sent to stop a mind-control conspiracy, "The Mysterious Benedit Society" is a smart children's book for young and older. I could easily imagine parents reading this to their children, and after the kids have fallen asleep a parent taking this to their own room to continue reading. Some decent twists and turns, some nice action, and good illustrations make this an easy and entertaining read. Definitely looking forward to book two in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Mysterious Benedict Society is part mystery, part adventure, and part science fiction. You will love it like crazy. Trust me, I did, and I couldn't put it down. Reynie, Sticky, Kate, Constance, and everyone else at the Society are every day characters you can't help but fall in love with. I guarantee you will love this book. Why else would it have a four and a half star rating? You'd better set aside sometime to read this book, because you won't be able to stop. Can't wait to read the next one! Posted by: Lauren Kellie
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My friend gave me this book last year. I started it and found it boring after a few months i tried it again and loved it... Meet: Sticky,a boy who can remember every thing . Kate,athletic and supper active Constance,craky and short for the age everyone thinks she is. Reynie,good at solving puzzels and a great friend to have around.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever.....He is fantastic at descriptions and creating metal pictures and i wish they would make a movie based on the book....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The entire series is a great read for everyone that likes to solve childhood mysteries.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If your wanting a nice, long not to challenging book then this is perfect for you! This book is in my opinion the best one in the whole triology because it is the starting point in the whole series and the most interesting! This book is great for whoever would like to read it and i encourage you to read this. I am now at 16 years of age and still reading this triology, so read it! :)
bookworm4everCO More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed The Mysterious Benedict Society. I recently got this book last Saturday (Jan. 16, 2010) and now I am very close to finishing and it has been less than a week! I could not put this book down! I didn't even know what the book was about when I bought it, and now I know plenty. This book is great for many ages, but has more advanced vocabulary. This book is amazing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think the book is brilliant and exiting!!!!
ClematisGS More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. It kept my attention through out the story. It had an interesting story in that a gifted, intelligent man wanted to rule the world by using hidden messages through TV to change people. I really like the idea that children were able to stop the genius by using their combined skills and intelligence to overcome the problem. It was a creative story line and I never figured out that the one character was just a toddler until the end of the book. It was nice to have a good ending and have things work out for all of the children.
Dlcg More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING!!! I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!!!!! It will really get you thinking. It is about this group that is battling--, well you'll see. It is very thought provoking and will twist and turn all the way to it's spectacular ending. I think everyone should read this book atleast once. I wish I could give it a thousand stars but they only allow five so I'll settle for that. Happy Readings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Mysterious Benedict Soiciety series is one of my favorites! Ive done many a class prodjet on it, and Im currently in the process of reading them to my little sister recommended for ages 8-12 by me an 11yr old. I fell in love with the charecters Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and (last but most definatly NOT least) Miss Constance Contraire. Mr. Benedict's clever and most definatly funny foursome have compelled.me to read the seires again and again and brought my sister and I closer together. I must warn you though, Ledroptha Curtain is one evil man and this page turner can show you how exrreme fear can turn you to take over the world...