×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mystic River
     

Mystic River

4.3 368
by Dennis Lehane
 

See All Formats & Editions

When Jimmy Marcus' daughter is found murdered, his childhood friend Sean Devine is assigned to the case. His personal life unraveling, the investigation takes Sean back into a world of violence and pain he thought he'd left behind. It also puts him on a collision course with Jimmy Marcus - a man with his own dark past who is eager to solve the crime with brutal

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mystic River 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 368 reviews.
clearwatersflowafter More than 1 year ago
Lehane has an excellent style. This book is a page-turner. The characters are very well developed. The story has quite a few unexpected twists and turns. He does an excellent job of describing the motivations behind actions. The story was told from multiple different character's viewpoint, which, while somewhat distracting, was also very well done. If you are looking for a feel good book, this isn't it. My husband felt it was a book about redemption. It left me feeling slightly sick to my stomach. I almost stopped reading it on multiple occasions. It dealt with dark topics, and drug them through the mud of human motivations. In my opinion, there were too many violence-laced sexual scenes. I, personally, don't care about gratuitously exploring every main character's sex life. While it's a part of a healthy life, I don't want to go crawling into my neighbor's bedrooms...and that's what it felt like.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I admit, after watching the movie version, probably the 10th time, I really had trepidation about reading the novel. Because, in my not-so-humble opinion, great novels and stories (The Queen of the Damned, Needful Things, even The Bridge of Teribithia for goodness sakes) don't transfer well onto the "silver screen". Since Mystic River (the movie) was such a awesome movie (again, in my opinion), I was genuinely concerned that it would be a bizzaro world version of my "great movie, not-so-great book" (*ahem* Fight Club *ahem*). I worried were for nothing. This novel is tremndous in so many ways. The layering of plots and subplots, the suspense and heavy tension, the pacing and the overall believability of the characters, even down to their idioyncracies and frailties. So, in closing, I would highly recommend it to anyone reading this review. Gordon Lake Station, IN
McCarthy92 More than 1 year ago
I have read most of the works by Dennis Lehane and Mystic River did not disappoint. Denni Lehane's prose is excellent and he always writes great characters that the reader can relate to. To set the record straight, writers like Lehane, George Pelecanos, Richard Price, and other writers like them, write books that are much more than the crime fiction class they are placed in. Books by these authors should not be compared to James Patterson. Mystic River should have been a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, maybe even have won it. It was really that good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well.... I found this from a list of "Best Mystery Books of the Decade".... and was intrigued by the description. I wish I had previewed it for even a second in the bookstore. The language is so gross that I could not enjoy the book. It is on almost every page. Not an occasional appropriate to the character bad word - but horrible, unnecessary profanity. I'm sure some people don't mind this and even think it adds realism to a book. To me - it is not reality - my associates do not speak that way and it offended me. Sorry - I know many people love this book - but I think they need to be aware of the language. The plot is also quite dark and depressing. so I definitely would not recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mystic River was a far cry from the witty, exciting past books by Lehane. The book is entirely too wordly, too many useless description of everyday events and human action. I also felt there was entirely too much foul language (cussing) when the character could make the point without it. Even sever cussing in their own thoughts. I was looking very forward to Lehanes new characters, the this set of people were very mentally and emotionally messed up. Hard to find humor, plot or entertainment in a city that is described as a hell and charaters who only know hate. I will be looking forward to your next novel Lehane, I know you can do much better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fantastic read. Just when you think you' ve got it figured out, Lehane turns everything on its head. One of his best.
fraden More than 1 year ago
I became involved with the characters immediately, caring about them and eager to find out what was going to happen to them. Also, I found myself frustrated with them sometimes because they couldn't see past the ends of their noses and over come their flaws. But that's the same with us real people, isn't it?
Big_Daddy More than 1 year ago
Best thing to say about any of his books is that they are NOT predictable!! Read Shutter Island before the movie and was impressed. Discovered later that Mystic River (I saw the movie when it first came out and liked it...)was by same author. Will now buy Gone Baby Gone by Dennis LeHane also, even though I have already seen that movie also.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great read from start to finish
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lipplounge More than 1 year ago
As I have seen bits and pieces of the movie (never in its entirety), I was excited to read this book and finally get a feel for the complete story. It is a depressing book where none of the key characters are happy. However, I feel it shows a good portrayal of how one event can affect the lives of all involved differently, and how fear and grief can lead individuals to react irrationally to situations. Being a parent I deeply related to the parent/child bond and how harming that child can cause a parent to strike out - whether deserved or not. With all this being said, I highly recommend this book - just be advised that it is not an uplifting story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
John_F48 More than 1 year ago
Here is a novel that begins in the distant past as one of three boys is kidnapped and molestested and ends with the now surviving members and their actions. The modern event is the death of Katie Marcus in a state park. Sean, one the original boys is called to investigate a wrecked car with blood on the seat and a bullet hole indicating faul-play. Jimmy, the olther unmolested boy, turns turns out to be the father, who is understandably upset and vows to get the killer and Dave, the original molestation victim implicated himself by killing a pedifile in a mentally induced rage. In the end, Jimmy steps accross the line into lawlessness and murders Dave just as he did many years ago murder a partner that ratted him out for a robbery. And now, Sean must find a way to prove Jimmy's modern crime of killing the wrong man. Boys playing with the gun from the original robbery started the escalating process.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dear announumous from lake station NI ....thank you so much because i was hesitant for the same season... i love the movie but was afraid the book would not match up or be better... I cant wait to read this book.. From Darla Crestline ca.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I watch the movie first. To be honest I did not no about the book. The book was very good even though I new the ending.
Sean_From_OHIO More than 1 year ago
Author Dennis Lehane crafts a near perfect, tension filled drama that is now one of my favorite reads. Lehane is always able to fuse his novels with the street level grit that seem real and fantastic at the same time. Here, the characters are all different shades of grey with no one being completely good nor bad. The dialogue seems realistic, the plot unbelievable, and the ending actually matching the high stakes of the book. Overall, simply a phenomenal book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jkates More than 1 year ago
Dennis Lehane does a masterful job of unraveling the interconnected lives of 3 boys become men, boys once separated by one significant event, now brought together again by another. The layers of the lives of Sean Devine, Jimmy Marcus and Dave Boyle peel back as the story progresses, revealing enough to keep the reader satisfied, yet hinting at uncovered mystery that urges the reader onward. The book is one that a mystery/detective genre lover can enjoy, but it goes deeper than many of those, delving into the stratified psyches of the main characters. As with any mystery, there are some surprising plot twists and turns, but the focus remains on the resurrected connection of 3 old friends. Summary: I finished it in 3 days. I liked it.