×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Nail through the Heart (Poke Rafferty Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of A Nail through the Heart (Poke Rafferty Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of A Nail through the Heart (Poke Rafferty Series #1)
     

A Nail through the Heart (Poke Rafferty Series #1)

3.3 814
by Timothy Hallinan
 

See All Formats & Editions

Poke Rafferty was writing offbeat travel guides for the young and terminally bored when Bangkok stole his heart. Now the American expat is assembling a new family with Rose, the former go-go dancer he wants to marry, and Miaow, the tiny, streetwise urchin he wants to adopt. But trouble in the guise of good intentions comes calling just when everything is beginning

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Nail through the Heart (Poke Rafferty Series #1) 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 810 reviews.
b3mom More than 1 year ago
I was really disappointed with this book. It was slow to take off but I keep reading. Then it gets to the point where you think it is all going to be wrapped up and it just ended. It was a huge let down.
georgevreilly More than 1 year ago
Pock Rafferty is a "rough travel" writer trying to form a family in Bangkok with ex-bar girl Rose and former street kid Miaow. When he is asked to look into the disappearance of an Australian expat after the Tsunami, he finds both a sadistic child pornographer and a Khmer Rouge torturer. Hallinan clearly knows a lot about Thai culture and brings the seedy back streets of Bangkok to life. Rafferty is no hard-bitten Marlowesque cynic however. He is a soft-hearted would-be family man, trying to bridge the cultural and emotional gaps between himself and his new family, while not getting them killed. Either of these story lines would have been enough. Somehow, Pock in his desperation manages to play multiple sets of new enemies against each other and comes out intact.
LynnUH More than 1 year ago
I am a fan. I found Timothy Hallinan purely by chance now he is one of my favorites.
janb223 More than 1 year ago
I got this Freebie for my NOOK but read the reviews before I downloaded it. I liked the book and the characters but what about the ending? I was totally taken by surprised when I turn the page and the book is over!! What happened to Superman or what happened to Horner?? Guess the author wants you to buy the next book in the series, though the preview does not indicate that this will be resolved. Frustrating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not get into the book. To me it was very boring and not worth the download
KenCady More than 1 year ago
As the Post states, this is a tale of blackmail, extortion and revenge spinning along at a speedy clip, despite the heat and humidity. It's also well-crafted, very interesting, and in its own way entertaining. It's a book with heart, even if nails keep flying at it. Highly recommended.
the_curious_reader More than 1 year ago
An unsettling picture of Bangkok and human nature combined with people whose lives and stories draw you close from the beginning, not just another mystery. This is No. One in the Poke Rafferty series. Bet you can't read just one as you will have to find out what happens next to Poke (travel writer turned detective), Rose (his former go-go dancer and exprostitute girlfriend), Maiou (formerly homeless and worse, now the adopted daughter of Poke), and Superman (also known as Boo, young boy formerly and possibly again homeless and worse). I almost went to Four Stars when the author didn't offer any resolution to the fate of Superman/Boo, then resigned myself to having to proceed to Book Series No. 2, 3, etc., to find out more.
KGpets More than 1 year ago
I picked this up when it was offered free for Nook, and I was pleasantly surprised. The subject matter is edgy and not the type of thing I usually read, but the author's skill and wit won me over. I can't wait to read the rest of the series.
RFL1701 More than 1 year ago
Got this book for free but would have paid for it. The opening was a little hard to get started but once you understand the characters you'll love it. The plot makes this one a page turner. Buying the next book in the series as I write this!
Merrikat_Blackwood More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It had me hooked from the start. I can't wait to read the other books by this author. I would definatly recommend this book to others.
Dorobo More than 1 year ago
Having lived through some of the events in the story they brought the history of those wars back from memory. I was constantly on the seat of my chair, turning pages as fast as possible to the end. Everything doesn't turn out as one would hope, but that is real life!
Brodk More than 1 year ago
Interesting but ultimately unsatisfying. OK, a restless Westerner in the Orient, not original but could be a good start to an interesting story. And in fact it IS a good start; too bad the remainder of the book was too unrealistic to allow me to suspend disbelief. For example, he goes to see an old woman, guarded by menacing armed men, and when our hero sees the woman he is warned to be humble and obsequious. But, of course, he is not; he insults the woman. AND NOTHING HAPPENS!!! What?? This isn't how the world acts. In another episode he is on a motorbike, with a driver, and he is maneuvering in Bangkok traffic trying not to get shot and simultaneously to shoot, and then somehow gets next to the car which has his target, manages to shoot and then manages to leave. IN BANGKOK TRAFFIC!!?? I don't think so. I did like the interplay between our hero Pock and his girlfriend and a street girl he wants to adopt. The book should have been better than it was. Pock should have been dead several times in the book. I'll give a person one time to beat the odds, but not over and over again. Maybe the subsequent novels in the series are better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago