×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Name of This Book Is Secret (Secret Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of The Name of This Book Is Secret (Secret Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of The Name of This Book Is Secret (Secret Series #1)
     

The Name of This Book Is Secret (Secret Series #1)

4.5 1461
by Pseudonymous Bosch, Gillbert Ford (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Warning: this description has not been authorized by Pseudonymous Bosch. As much as he'd love to sing the praises of his book (he is very vain), he wouldn't want you to hear about his brave 11-year old heroes, Cass and Max-Ernest. Or about how a mysterious box of vials, the Symphony of Smells, sends them on the trail of a magician who has vanished

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Name of this Book Is Secret (Secret Series #1) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1461 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this on the recommendation of one of my 5th grade students. I really enjoyed it. It was funny and a good read, but there was good vocabulary scattered throughout the book. If you have a boy or girl that is reluctant to read, especially the longer books, this is the perfect book. The characters are appealing to both boys and girls as is the plot. The play on words is great! The writing reminded me a bit of Lemony Snicket. I will be adding it to my library and look forward to reading the next 2 in the series.
slaydon More than 1 year ago
this is a great story to read to your kids mine are 7 (09) and 6 (09) and they loved hearing this story it has wonderful twists that are age appropriate and the author throughout the book stops the story and asks questions for your children to answer to see if they are paying attention. this pulls them in instead of just hearing they become part of the book. i def recommend this and the second book in the series and i look forward to his third installment
Guest More than 1 year ago
Okay, I'm biased. I like clever, charming, insightful chapter books for children, even though I have been over 21 for a long time. Pseudonymous Bosch pours intelligence, wit and empathy into the cauldron of a well- plotted and often surprising mystery and flavors with a few post-modern touches and wry asides. The author never talks down to the audience, and creates characters with whom everyone can identify. I particularly loved the way in which certain aspects of modern life are turned into character or plot points, and the footnote explaining Mussolini was priceless. Teachers take note!
Balina More than 1 year ago
this moved right to the top shelf of my fav. It's fantastic and I would recommend this to anyone.
Yelena Babinskaya More than 1 year ago
This book is a blast. I would recommend it to all, young and old! Extremely imaginative and adventurous!
Rachel Klemm More than 1 year ago
I love this book. It is a really good one. It is fun to read roo. Even if you are 5 or 105, you will crack up when reading this. A good read for all! :?]
Amber91 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and If You're Reading This It's Too Late. As soon as I picked up this book I couldn't stop reading. As soon as I finished it I ordered the second one and now I'm waiting on the third one. They are very interesting and they make you feel like you are right there in the adventure with Cass and Max-Ernest.I would definiately recommend this book to anyone who likes mysterys and adventure.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an outstanding book. It kept on getting better and better toward the end!! I have read in 3 days!! It was very good. I recomend it to everybody not just 8 to 12.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so amazing! I never wanted to put it down!
jbeangal11AL More than 1 year ago
I actually read the book. It was really good. I suggest everyone read it rather than thinking about reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite series out of all the books I have read. Although the end of the series is a bit disappointing, it was still fun to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wouldnt it b a cool movie? There is five book in the series and u should read them all
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is so great i cant putit into words.You have to read this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the sample and after that i was hooked . I have bought the book and i caint stop reading it . I recomend you get the sample! and if you like the sample get the book !!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book yesterday, already on p.g. 100! This is a must buy book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. The X's were kinda annoying. By far great book for kids.
Fitzzz-connnnnnn-a More than 1 year ago
"The Name of this Book is Secret" by Pseudonymous Bosch is an exhilarating mystery book. I thought this book was an amazing book because of all the vivid descriptions and wordy sentences, and also the thrill of suspense. A typical day starting on Wednesday at school and ending up travel to her grandfather's house which is a fire station and inspecting dead magician's house where the secret lies. A girl named Cass finds a box in her grandfather's antique shop that came from a dead magician's named Pietro. It contains the symphony of smells, 5 bottles with 5 different smells that decode the word "help". As Cass discovers more and more clues it leads her to why this man died and what his story is. One school Cass finds a new friend Max-Ernest who has no friends until Cass. He is her companion on her quest during this book they both are anxious about what happened to the magican's so they go to his house, which is an old scary house up for sale by Gloria, who is a real-estate agent. As they enter his study, they find his journal which only had one page written on it but they don't realize another clue tells them where the rest of the book is and his like story. The author's vivid descriptions and choice of word make the book so thrilling and makes you never want to put it down. Written from 1st person makes it easier to understand how the book flows and connects the major events. If you are interested in a mystery book that has detail and suspense at the end of every page this book is for you. Also you might find out what the secret is and what the secret is and how it came to be .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who ever said it was gay u r wrong read the book
Melsui_731 More than 1 year ago
OMG this is a great book mixed in with mystery and comedy, which i find essantial. The author of this book may not exist, but he definitely makes a great book......soo if ur one of those awesomely cul people that actually read big books in little time then this is definitely the book for u!!!!!-well at least it was for me,u kno and my friends and my family....etc......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its hard to put down. I think some parts r very funny!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is very good. When Cass and her new unexpected friend Max Ernest (or at least... thats what theyre called) find the Symphony of Smells, they are thrust into a world of good and evil in epic proportion. A spa, a pyramid, and a synesthetic boy later, you just cant put the novel down. Plus, if you dont like the ending given, you can rewrite it. Hows that for a good book??
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is my favorite book ever. i rate it 5 and beyond. my friends would always look at me and say "how do you read these books? they look stupid." and i would just shake my head and say "now actually read it and you will realize that what you just said was very wrong." so a few of them read it, and they couldnt put it down. i recomend the rest of the series too, because once you read the first one, you cant NOT read the rest. its really intense. and im sad that there is only 5. i wish there was like 100.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great. Its very fun to read, and in some cases its a laugh out loud moment. I recomend this to any adventure and mystery lover.
Carolyn Maniglia More than 1 year ago
this. is the best book ever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am only on chapter 16 but so far it excelent