×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Near & Far
     

Near & Far

4.7 64
by Nicole Williams
 

See All Formats & Editions

There's optimistic. And there's Jesse Walker.

If he wasn't so charming, his sunny disposition and incessant grin would get old. Fast.

Falling in love with the broken girl who had at first seemed immune to anything resembling love was the best thing to happen to Jesse since the Walkers adopted him when he was five.

As Jesse's life continues at the ranch and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Near & Far 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 64 reviews.
SheBookBlogs More than 1 year ago
What did I think; 4.5 out of 5 Stars: What a perfect title for this awesome book, Near and Far. The book starts with Rowen away at a community college in Seattle studying Art while Jesse is back home helping his family at the ranch. They see each other once a month when either Jesse travels to Seattle or Rowen travels to see Jesse at the ranch. Jesse and Rowen still love each other, but there are other obstacles in this couple’s world. At school, Rowen has a TA names Jax who makes Jesse feel uneasy and at the ranch a new helper has “moved” in Jolene who has made Rowen feel uneasy about being so close to Jesse. I am going to make this review short and simple. I do not want to give too much away. What I do say, I hope just encourages everyone to read it. Did I feel connected to the characters? Yes. I loved the dual POVs from Jesse and Rowen. Rowen has grown in this book. I love how Jesse is completely oblivious and cannot “read between the lines” when a girl is after him. I LOVED the banter between Garth and Jesse and Garth and Rowen. Actually, Garth’s banter with everyone I was not a big fan of Garth in Lost and Found, but I could not help but laugh and fall for him in Near and Far. Garth was like the man of wisdom in Near and Far. Shocking, but true. Pace of the Story: Very Good. Positives: I liked that the author not only put an obstacle in Rowen’s life, but that there was one in Jesse’s too. I think both characters were able to grow with those obstacles especially since they had a long distance relationship. Jesse is just an awesome guy. I don’t want to say too much, ugh, but it is hard sometimes. I LOVE the one revelation in the story. Negatives: This is not a negative with the book. This just upset and annoyed me and it is something I wanted to address (and get off my chest). It really upset me when people would say or describe Rowen “as that type of girl.” UGH! That frustrated me to no end. I was yelling at Kindle, telling people to “shut up.” Rowen went through so much and she is a completely different person now from Lost and Found and who are other people to judge her??!!! I wanted to confront these people and ask them “what do you mean by that?” Bottom line: I love Nicole Williams’s writing style. I loved the Crash series and I love the Lost and Found series. Big fan of Nicole Williams. Book Format Read: A copy was provided in exchange for an honest review. Thank you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a surprise! I read the first book without realizing there would be another. Then, I was worried that the second one wouldn't live up to the wonderful story the first book told. But Nicole Williams has done it again folks! This is a touching story, very emotional and even a little hard to read at times as we learn of Jesse's background. Jesse and Rowen are perfect for each other and some of my favorite characters.
AlwaysYAatHeart1 More than 1 year ago
I couldn't wait to read this book and find out what was going on with Jesse and Rowen.  They've finally found each other, confessed their love, and now face the ultimate challenge... a long-distance relationship.  Jesse is back on the ranch working  because his father needs him.  Rowen is attending school in Seattle and pursuing her dream of being an artist.  Jesse makes the long trip there about once a month, and Rowen goes back to the Ranch as often as she can.  Needless to say, it is difficult for them.  Meanwhile Rowen gets a big break regarding her art work, and she also has the TA in her class pushing her and helping her, but is Jaxson interested in more than just helping her with her art?  As the summer begins and new calves are born, Jesse can't leave the ranch at all.  When Rowen makes the trip home to the ranch, she finds that Rose Walker has hired a new girl to help, just as Jesse did the previous summer, only Jo is beautiful, big busted, and has the hots for Jesse.  It just seems like these two can't get a break.  Fortunately, their relationship and love for each other stays strong during this round, but as the bell dings for another round, they find themselves facing the worst and most difficult enemy of all, the one that lies within the mind.  Circumstances are set in motion that dredge up the past, which was a battle Jesse thought he had already one, but this time, it threatens to draw them apart for good. In Lost and Found, we really got to know Rowen, her story, and her past issues, while we got just some basic information on Jesse's past.  Well in Near and Far, we get Jesse's story, and it will break your heart.  The things that happened to him were unimaginable, and the circumstance that brings all these memories back to the surface was unbelievably hurtful.  I can truthfully say that I got to know Jesse Walker inside and out in the novel.  I was really pleased with Rowen's character in this installment.  She has grown so much, which is evidenced by the way she handles things.  That's not to say she doesn't still have her issues, because she does.  I loved the romance between these two and they share some really intimate moments together.  We also get to see the secondary characters from book one, as well as meet some new ones.  I loved Rowen's roommate, she is a hoot.  I hated Jaxon and Jo, those old wanna be home-wreckers.  We see Josie again, and then there is my favorite character, Garth Black.  Garth played an instrumental part in this book and I couldn't help but just love him.  I was really happy with the ending of this story also, and couldn't wait to get my hands on Finders Keepers, the next book in the series, which is Garth's story.   I will say that I felt like this novel was more emotional than the first one, and because I  felt all those emotion right along with them.  Near and Far is an excellent sequel to a wonderful romantic series....and it has hot cowboys.  I mean what more could a girl as for :).  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the 1st one! This one was okay, but not impressed!
kybookjunkie More than 1 year ago
I didn't think I could love a book as much as I do Lost and Found, but Near and Far totally lives up to it! I laughed, I cried, and I loved it the whole way through. Read them both, you won't regret it. Nicole Williams' writing is always a treat! :)
TheAutumnReview More than 1 year ago
When it came to Jesse Walker, it was tight jeans or no jeans.-Loc 635 What can I possibly say to express my love for these characters??? I can tell you that the minute I got my ARC, I dropped what I was reading to read this one. I'll tell you that Jesse Walker is possibly one of the best book boys ever! And Rowen...she's pretty darn fabulous! NEAR & FAR was clearly one of my most anticipated reads. I loved every minute of this book! I'm going to start with Jesse. I feel like this was Jesse's book. He's still solid, charming, reliable, sexy, and one of the most honest guys you'll ever meet. But, Jesse has a really dark past. One that he's managed to overcome with the help of his family. While things seem to be going great for Jesse and Rowen, there are pressures and stress that surface that cause some of his darker side to reappear. Trying to manage a long distance relationship is hard enough, but suffocating by memories of his past are nearly debilitating. However, Jesse and Rowen make sure to figure out ways to see each other regularly. The problem is, Jesse wants Rowen to see him as the sturdy, positive guy she fell in love with. He doesn't want her to see the wounded soul beneath.  "...Men like him weren't put on this planet so that women could keep their hands to themselves."-Loc 161 Rowen is awesome. In Lost & Found, we met a girl who was ignored and mistreated her whole life. She had some pretty dark secrets of her own. She was distant, appeared to be indifferent, and she was most definitely self destructive. Not only was Jesse a great support for her, but his family was too. She was able to open up and let people care about her. In this book, we see a more confident Rowen. She's at art school pursuing her dream of becoming an artist. And honestly, she's doing great. She getting interest in her art and she's met some good friends. But, she really misses Jesse and his family. What stood out the most for me in this book with Rowen was how solid she has become. She has become the one to stay strong. Rowen was really there for Jesse, once he let her in, and I felt proud of her and the woman she's become. I know that might sound cheesy, but Rowen has come a long way. It's always nice to see a character's growth.  While Jesse and Rowen are battling demons and trying to find a way to get through it together, we also have Garth Black. Ok, here's the thing about Garth; I wasn't all that impressed with Garth in the first book. He wasn't exactly a likable character. But, the author let me post a teaser last week and it featured Garth. I loved his banter with Rowen! So, I said to the author "You're going to make me fall in love with Garth, aren't you?" Sure enough, I did. Garth and Jesse have patched up their relationship a bit. Garth still isn't very nice, but his intentions are actually good! He played an instrumental role in helping Jesse and Rowen with their issues in this book.  He and Rowen are a lot alike. Garth Black certainly has a tale to tell and I can't wait to read it!  Overall, I absolutely loved this book! I was laughing, crying, swooning, and crying again. Basically, I was all over the board with the feels. I'm a bit sad that Jesse and Rowen's story has come to a close, but I couldn't have been happier with the ending. This couple truly was made for each other. They balance one another superbly. I feel like I'm forgetting something to share, but really all you need to know is that this is a must read series! Go get started on it now! Quotes: ~"Really. Because whether supposed to be flies out of the window tonight, or tomorrow, or fifty years from now, I'm not going anywhere because I'll always want to be with you."-Loc 711 ~"Thank you for saving me, Rowen. Thank you for coming and saving me." I lifted my hand to his face and traced each fervent wrinkle until it disappeared. "I didn't save you, Jesse. I just helped you remember how to save yourself."-Loc 4204 ~"There are high points, and there are high points. That was mine, having a man like Jesse Walker to love and love me back, and knowing that no matter what came our way, we'd be ready for it.-Loc 4204
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish I would have read the continuation of Jesse and Rowen's story a long time ago! It was amazing! No matter how perfect someone might seem, everyone has their demons. And Jesse had his that he had to work through, and Rowen was with him through it the whole time. I'm glad I got to hear Jesse's thoughts, as well as Rowen's too. Can't wait to continue to read this series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so touching. I think anyone who buys this book would want to just read the whole thing all over again!
csingh More than 1 year ago
How does Nicole Williams do it?  I didn't think Rowen and Jesse's story could get any better or any more emotional, but it did. I always love reading sequels, but I know the characters will be facing new and some times old challenges.  It makes me a little apprehensive because I know there will be some pain and suffering, but in the end it will be worth it. The Rowen in this book is almost diametrically opposite from the one I met in Lost & Found. She's found a measure of peace and self-acceptance.  She's happy pursuing her art.  Jesse's love and his goodness also keeps her buoyed.  Jesse is happy and secure in the knowledge that even though they're apart, Rowen truly loves him.  However demons from their pasts and new influences place a strain on their secure relationship.  I loved how strong their love for one another was.  It couldn't be shaken; not by anyone trying to split them up from the outside.  The only ones who could weaken the bond between them were themselves and their fears. I loved how this book focused equally on Jesse and Rowen.  I especially loved being in Jesse's head. I still think Jesse is the perfect guy. He faced some serious challenges in this book.  Just thinking about them now, makes my chest tight.  I really wanted to reach into the pages of my book and reassure him.  I also wanted to take away his demons.  I felt so bad that they came back to haunt him.  I understand he had to face them on his own, but I wish he'd reached out to some one for help. In the end he got help from an unlikely source. One of the biggest surprises in this book was Garth Black.  He really surprised me.  For someone who only wanted people to see his devil-may-care-I'm-a-bad-boy-attitude, he was very perceptive and a font of advice for both Rowen and Jesse.  He may have messed up his friendship with Jesse, but he really was Jesse's friend in this book.  They made some serious inroads to repairing their friendship.   Nicole Williams recently announced a third book featuring Jesse and  Rowen, Heart & Soul.  I can not wait to read it and see how they're doing in the future.  I'm also very eager to read the next books in this series, featuring the one and only Garth Black and Josie.  Nicole Williams's wonderful mind never fails to give readers an amazing story and wonderful characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS WAS AN AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!!ALMOST CRIED ABOUT JESSES CHILDHOOD!!!I WAS SO HAPPY AT THE END OF THE BOOK LAUGHED OUT LOUD I WAS SO HAPPY NOT SAYING THAT THERE IS ANYTHING FUNNY AT THE END.AND GARTH WON MY HEART BECAUSE HE CHANGED AND IS HELPING JESSE AND ROWAN FIX THERE PROBLEM. FROM PEANUT
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was about drowning in tears at the end I allso love the first it was well written
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was even better than the first! I was very happy when it told us Jess' past and everything he felt as well. I was also very happy with the ending and can't wait to her about Black in the 3rd book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!!!! Most amazing book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing same great characters starting just where lost and found ended. Great storyline! Loved how we got to see more of garth and his "friendship" with jesse. I laughed, cried, and smiled made me connect with the story and characters. Can we have more rowen and jesse!!??!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was amazing ad the first! All the extrs twists and the ending is amaxing. It has me in tears right now