×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Necromancing the Stone
  • Alternative view 1 of Necromancing the Stone
  • Alternative view 2 of Necromancing the Stone
     

Necromancing the Stone

4.8 18
by Lish McBride
 

See All Formats & Editions

With the defeat of the evil Douglas behind him, Sam LaCroix is getting used to his new life. Okay, so he hadn't exactly planned on being a powerful necromancer with a seat on the local magical council and a capricious werewolf sort-of-girlfriend, but things are going fine, right?

Well . . . not really. He's pretty tired of getting beat up by everyone and their

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Necromancing the Stone 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ms. McBride did a wonderful job writing the first novel in this series, and everything she did right is carried over to this one. It's still just as darkly humorous as the first one, with a lot of action and, this time, an element of mystery. I was particularly glad that she fleshed James's story out, elaborating on his past experiences and how he became an assisstant to a necromancer in the first place. The romance between Sam and Brid never once strays towards the Twilight crap, and complications in their relationship (I won't elaborate for fear of spoiling the story) keep it realistic and unpredictable. Overall, a 5/5-star book that lived up to the lofty expectations the first book set. It's become an instant favorite in my collection.
J-F-Thorn More than 1 year ago
Necromancing the Stone is a beautiful sequel to Hold Me Closer Necromancer. It takes place a few weeks after the events of the first book transpire. Sam has new powers, he is a member of the council, and he has a were-hound girlfriend. However he just can't seem to shake the feeling something is amiss. Overall, I wold say that this is a book you should read, definitely. An excellent take  on a supernatural being that has been far to neglected.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A outside-the-box thing for those who decide that Twilight screwed up the whole supernatural thing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book, howrver deliciously cheesey it may be, is one of my new favorites. I spent the $10 reserved for cigarettes for the week on this book instead the same night I finished the first one, "Hold me Closer, Necromancer," which is an equally awesome book. I'd definitely recommend this series to anyone who loves supernatural tales, and needs something to take the edge off. This book is now one of my favorites, on par with the Johannes Cabal series, and the Dresden files. I'll be sincerely and whole-heartedly disappointed if there isn't a third book created.
AVoraciousReadr More than 1 year ago
Humorous paranormal, more NA than YA 4.5 *Book source ~ Local library Samhain ‘Sam’ LaCroix defeated Douglas ‘Uber Psycho’ Montgomery in Hold Me Closer, Necromancer and he’s trying to adjust to his new life of being the resident Necromancer. He has inherited all that Douglas owned including his seat on the Council. Sam, who until six weeks ago didn’t even know he was a necromancer, has no clue what is going on or what he’s supposed to be doing. And since necromancers are pretty rare he doesn’t really have anyone to learn from. Well, he could probably learn from his Uncle Nick, but even if he could find him, Sam is still mad at him. So, he stumbles and bumbles his way through his new way of living until a death throws a wrench into the works. Now, Sam needs to find out who and how they committed the murder as well as discover who is threatening his sister. Some days he wishes he was still flipping burgers for a living. This story is fast-paced and well-written with humor aplenty. The plot is on the thin side, but frankly I don’t care. I was highly entertained with everything going on in Sam’s life. The characters, for me, really make the story. The gnomes and all of the garden security, the Council, James, Ramon, Frank and Ashley as well as many others are fun to read. The ending was a tad cheesy, but again, I don’t care. I loved this book and would definitely read more about Sam’s adventures.
Anonymous 7 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago