×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Nefertiti: The Book of the Dead (Rahotep Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Nefertiti: The Book of the Dead (Rahotep Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Nefertiti: The Book of the Dead (Rahotep Series #1)
     

Nefertiti: The Book of the Dead (Rahotep Series #1)

3.5 93
by Nick Drake
 

See All Formats & Editions

She is Nefertiti—beautiful and revered. With her husband, Akhenaten, she rules over Egypt, the most affluent, formidable, sophisticated empire in the ancient world. But an epic power struggle is afoot, brought on by the royal couple's inauguration of an enlightened new religion and the construction of a magnificent new capital. The priests are stunned by the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Nefertiti: The Book of the Dead 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 93 reviews.
alc1967 More than 1 year ago
I love ancient Egypt and so I thought this book would combine that culture with a mystery. It was OK and the premise was good, but the author allowed too many modern references and speech patterns to pop up in places that just didn't give you feel that you were actually back in ancient Egypt. It sounded weird for him to refer to "going to his office" or things of that nature. Also, it became rather confusing to try to remember the various and vague characters with similar names. There were some nice insights to royal family life, but the descriptions of all the other characters could have come out of a novel set in current times. It just didn't ring true. I enjoyed the references to playing Senet, but the characters could just as easily have been playing chess. And, I found the thought of someone like Nefertiti trusting and sharing intimate things with a person she just met rather off putting. It's OK if you want to slog through the first few chapters to get to an not too surprising ending.
conta More than 1 year ago
I started to read, but after 40 pages, and still nothing going on, only pointless nothing, i gave up... i was expecting so much more... maybe i try again later..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like the main character in the books by Nick Drake but this one was a bit disappointing. I guess if I had not read other historical novels about Nefertiti I wouldn't be so judgmental. This book is mostly fiction and very little true history. The next book in this series is excellant.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was boring and not at all what I expected.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What started off interesting with a decent context of history, devolved into more of a fantasy with vague historical over-tones which lost the sense of mystery or even history, in my opinion. The writing style itself was rather good though, at times, got a little repetitive. This would not have been an issue if the story hadn't spiraled into something more out of fantasy than mystery. About midway, I would have stopped reading if I wasn't the type of person who simply must finish a book once started. Generally that philosophy has proven beneficial, as many books end strong. This wasn't one of them, for me. Thankfully it was an easy and fast read. I would give it 1.5 stars and hope that those who are planning on reading Nefertiti will enjoy it better knowing ahead of time it's really more a Fantasy written in a loosely historical setting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very good book. I found myself scanning the paragraphs at times because it rambled.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is really more of a historical novel than a true mystery, but it is a worthy read nonetheless. The characters are interesting, the details are well-researched, and the prose is elegant. A great new author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Contrary to the great harriet klausner who thinks she is the review god this the worst book out there. Boring doesnt do justice to this book. If it were possible to give minus stars it would get minus 5stars for boring me to death.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Josie123 More than 1 year ago
Item was perfect! Better than described! Arrived on a rainy day and the book was dry and looking brand new!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book if you like the history of Egypt and ever wondered 'what happened?' It was very well written and well done.
beachpolly More than 1 year ago
This story gets bogged down in the middle and is boring for a while. This is a fault of many detective stories. As the series continues I hope this fault will be corrected.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago