×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Neither Here nor There: Travels in Europe
     

Neither Here nor There: Travels in Europe

3.7 44
by Bill Bryson
 

See All Formats & Editions


"Not long after I moved with my family to a small town in New Hampshire, I happened upon a path that vanished into a wood on the edge of town."

So begins Bill Bryson's hilarious book A Walk in the Woods. Following his return to America after twenty years in Britain, Bryson decided to reacquaint himself with his native country by walking the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Neither Here nor There 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Negative remarks seem forced and are offendive. He comes off as the ugly American. He should have stayed home.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read his books & saw the movie, A Walk in the Woods, but I will NEVER buy another of his books. He was losing me with his constant belittling - parts were funny but they were clouded over by the negative remarks then he declared that he wished all dogs be shipped off to an island and all poodles should be shot to death. I now agree with the reader who said Bryson should lose his passport. There is no reason to be so critical & so cruel - who enjoys reading such as that. I am finished with Bill Bryson.
katgirlKB More than 1 year ago
I read this on the plane returning from Europe, and it was a humorous, quick read that brought a smile to my face and had me almost laughing out loud as Bryson so remarkably described the experiences I had just undergone attempting to cross streets in Paris and Rome, or weeding through tourists in Florence in an attempt to see the beautiful sights the city offered. A nice collection of short essays reflecting back on his travels 20 years earlier, as well as describing his return visit more recently. After reading it, I had no desire to add Naples or Capri to the bucket list of travel, but would love to spend time in Bruges some day. He brings each location to life through his vignettes.
JYakus More than 1 year ago
I havn't read in years. I was given "A Walk In The Woods" and read it on the way home from Maine this summer. I became hooked on Bill Bryson's books. Neither Here Nor There is an entertaining look at a man who's traveled many lands, and in his witty sense of humor, makes Europe look both pleasing and monotanous. If you're not pleased and inspired to see the world or at least somewhere besides your local town by reading this book, you should stop reading, period!
Anonymous 11 months ago
This book makes me want to travel. Witty. Educational. And easy to pick up where you left off.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whiny ethno-centric account of someone who should have stayed home .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the humor.
soconfuzed3 More than 1 year ago
After reading multiple reviews, I agree with many of the like & dislike. It seems one is either a fan or definitely not. I've read all the books, have a few audio & prefer Bryson as the reader. At Home is one I read/listen to often due to the trivia factor. Maybe he has ADD as I do & it's easy to wander about off the subject. As for Neither Here.... yes, some very caustic 'humor', often unnecessarily unkind. However, it's his perspective on remembering views held of a trip in his youth opposed to 20+ years later with a very different set of values, insights, education and dare I say, age. For those under 50, I believe you may see life differently with, all of the aforementioned aspects, by another 20+ years. While reading this one I had tight control over the laughing fits with a vivid image of understanding the situation. While I never agree completely with BB's viewpoint, he has some bare, blatant comments on travel worth considering. I doubt he came across as the Ugly American in reality, it's a case of venting, imagery writing of what he'd like to do. At least he's given me ideas on travel & the abiding love of the British countryside, not particularly the cities.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yhb y h y yhy b b yhy bb b
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first I've read from this author. I find it off-putting and adolescent so far. I'm not sure I will finish it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like his humor and accidental insights; a bit upsetting and depressing by the end, but probably it is just a reflection on the huge gap between his high expectation vs. reality. Read if if you like the author and his style, but not for the actual travel experiences.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maddog1970 More than 1 year ago
The novel expertly describes the great sites in Europe to visit. Bill Bryson does a very good job in bringing the sites he visits to life. He describes both the Pros and Cons of the sites visited in each country. The humor and writ make these sites come to life, as well as expresses the attitiudes of the populace in each country. The people interaction was one of the most interesting parts of the commentary, which I enjoyed and helped me realte to the adventure Bill Bryson was describing about his travels. Bryson's writ and humor made it almost impossible to put the novel down, because I could not wait to read about the next spot to be visited. This is a 5-Star reading for anyone, who travels.
crazy4hawaii More than 1 year ago
I enjoy Bill Bryson's books. This one has some laugh out loud moments. It was a little less enjoyable than "Notes From a Small Island" for instance. It was more caustic, and he just didn't seem to like many of the places he was visiting. I will eventually read all of his books, though, as I love travel and reading about travel.
Megabite More than 1 year ago
I have read nearly all of Bill Bryson's books, and I must say - Neither Here Nor There has to be the funniest of all of them. A Walk in the Woods was the first Bryson book I ever read, and the return of Katz in another novel was great - both men are hilarious, and it is even better knowing that they're actual people. Neither Here Nor There is poignant and has the ability to spark the travel bug in anyone, let alone someone like myself. His accounts are humorous while also being informative - I would have decided to be a history major long ago if every textbook was written by Mr. Bryson. I love the biting and sarcastic tone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago