×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Never Call Retreat: Lee and Grant: The Final Victory
  • Alternative view 1 of Never Call Retreat: Lee and Grant: The Final Victory
  • Alternative view 2 of Never Call Retreat: Lee and Grant: The Final Victory
     

Never Call Retreat: Lee and Grant: The Final Victory

3.7 30
by Newt Gingrich, William R. Forstchen
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times bestselling authors Newt Gingrich and William R. Forstchen conclude their inventive trilogy with this remarkable answer to the great "what-if" of the American Civil War: Could the South have won?

After his great victories at Gettysburg and Union Mills, General Robert E. Lee's attempt to bring the war to a final conclusion by attacking

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Never Call Retreat 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although I deplore Mr. Gingrich's politics and had real reservations about buying this book and the two that came before it because I thought that the subject wouldn't be treated in a calm, reasoned manner, I am very happy to admit that I was completely surprised and pleased with the whole trilogy. I literally lost sleep because I couldn't put them down. Some of the dialog seemed a little forced, but not enough to detract from the overall work at all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was one of the best, and probably, the most exciting book I ever read. As a history buff, and a fan of alternate history, I have read a great deal about the Civil War. The authors show a great knowledge about both, the events and the people involved in the War. The authors in this book, have constructed an extremely plausable scenario of how the War could've taken a very different turn. I started the book and just could not put it down. In the last 150 pages, I was on the edge of my seat. (And this was after I already knew the ending. I peaked). In fiction of this kind, there is generally an effort to portray both adversaries evenly. It almost becomes the author's version of a mutual admiration society. In addition, there is usually no clear winner. In Never Call Retreat, the primary protagonists are portrayed acurately, warts and all. And there is very definately a clear winner and loser. Take my advice. Pick this one up at your bookstore. You won't be able to put it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read the first two of Newt's series and enjoyed the second far more than the first. I'm biased in that I thank the Lord that the North won. Anyways, the ending of the third book is what I had expected. There are side episodes for PC. Although for actual command behavior of U.S. Grant, I recommend that folks read Keegan's 'The Mask of Command'. Grant is IMHO America's greatest military commander... Great read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Posted for Bill Greenbaum: Never Call Retreat is the third volume of the Civil War trilogy written by Newt Gingrich and William Forstchen. I read this book over a two day weekend. I could not put it down. It is a great read. The book continues an alternative scenario that started in the first volume with the clash of forward elements of the opposing armies at Gettysburg. This book continues the saga to its climax. The book is overwhelming in its detailed battle descriptions. Small unit tactics and strategic deployments are handled with equal finesse. The reader can easily transport himself back a century and a half and visualize the combatants in their glory and tragedy. The book is extremely well written. It is understandable to the civilian and satisfying to the enthusiast. It will fill the reader with emotions in a positive way. Don¿t miss it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not read the 1st in the Trilogy, Gettysburg, but read the second and third. (Grant Moves East is number two)) I really enjoyed the writing style and the authors found a great balance between history and fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mleesdad More than 1 year ago
This series (there are 3 books) tells of how history may of turned if Lee had acted on Longstreet's suggestions of going around the Union army during the Gettysburg campaign. This books starts with the actual history and then statrs the turn down the other possible track. If you are interested in a good story that could have shown a different road to the civil war then this is the series for you
kansas1959 More than 1 year ago
I am a devoted fan now of the Gingrich/Forstchen historical novels. They are easy reading and make the reader feel as though they are there. It is easy to see that they are researched very well and the characters come alive. Great mixture of facts and fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
After a nice buildup in the first 2 books of the series, the events in the last book are absurd. The series attempts to be a serious look at a realistic alternative history and then goes off base in the concluding novel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed all three books in the trilogy and found the stategic and political situation very believable. Differences in men and material do not play as significant a role as they did in the actual conflict. In this alternative history, the armies are more evenly matched. Both strategic planning and transportation limitations become key factors in the end. Lee stayed in Maryland because having won several major victories he could not retreat from Grant with the possibility of a final victory at hand. In addition, Sherman was destroying Bragg and the South was being gutted, a final victory in the north and the occupation of Washington D.C. were critical to the southern cause. Considering the scope of the novel, the characters are well developed and consistent with their historical personas. This is a well written alternative history.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great, the series shows how one decision can save and kill thousands. Good take and insight on History. Only plausable ending.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was very clear from the first novel in this trilogy, that the purpose of these books was to pit a Lee, (still with troops and a prayer) against a Grant who 'might' have lost. The frustration of all union sympathizers has always been that the South had better generals and the North more or less won by weight of numbers. The South could have won about three times, twice during the Penninsular campaign, and following the first major battle outside of Washington City. None of these times are included in the series. It is obvious from the beginning where the author's sympathies lie. They give the North more characters, sympathetically portrayed,and paint the usual picture of Lincoln the saint,and Davis an unsympathetic dilletante,(untrue by the way). There is no question today that slavery is a great evil, but at the time of the Civil War defacto slavery existed in the North and toa greater or lesser degree disfigures our nation today. Is the USA better off as a huge country where Democracy is almost impossible, than in a cluster of small nations? Lee , at least, fought for his state, not slavery, and many others felt the same. It is rather disengenuous to decry slavery in the South without at least acknowledging the defacto slavery in the North. What would the Northern factory owners have done had Southern Congressmen suggested sharing factory profits with the employees? The worst thing about these books is the lack of anything original, and the overwhelming waving of the flag.