×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Never Knowing: A Novel
  • Alternative view 1 of Never Knowing: A Novel
  • Alternative view 2 of Never Knowing: A Novel
     

Never Knowing: A Novel

4.1 169
by Chevy Stevens
 

See All Formats & Editions

FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF STILL MISSING COMES A PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER ABOUT ONE WOMAN'S SEARCH INTO THE PAST…AND THE DEADLY TRUTH SHE UNCOVERS.

?

All her life, Sara Gallagher has wondered about her birth parents. As an adopted child with two sisters who were born naturally to her parents, Sara never had an ideal home life. The

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Never Knowing 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 168 reviews.
jdogjojo04061956 More than 1 year ago
JUST A QUESTION? ISN'T A REVIEW WHEN U WRITE WHAT U THINK ABOUT THE BOOK & SAY WEATHER OR NOT U ENJOYED THE BOOK OR NOT ? WHY DO PEOPLE WRITE & TELL U WHAT THE BOOK IS ABOUT INSTEAD OF YES I LIKED IT OR NO I DID NOT ENJOY IT????? ANY WAY MY REVIEW READS (LOL) STARTED AT 7:00PM AND BY 3:00 I WAS DONE SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD I COULD NOT STOP READING IT/ WAS VERY WELL WRITTEN & WAS JUST A PAGE TURNER ONE AFTER THE OTHER/ I'M JUST SORRY THAT SHE HAS ONLY WRITTEN 2 BOOKS/ NOW I DO NOT HAVE ONE TO READ TONIGHT/ JUST HOPE U ENJOY THIS BOOK AS MUCH AS I DID/ THANKS FOR LISTING
GeorgaCTSmom More than 1 year ago
I won't say what this is about so as not to ruin it for those who have not read it. Just read it...you will not be disappointed. I stayed up until 4 this morning because I could not put it down! How will I find another book as interesting as this? So well written...the author made it feel like I was there....experiencing what Sara did......wow is all I can say and you will be glad you read this!!!!! Bravo.....now I'm going to see what other books this author has out.
Jenn_Lee More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down. I started reading at 10:30pm, thinking I'd get a few chapters in and then go to sleep, but I read until 3:00 am! Sara was adopted, and never quite fit in with her new family. Her adoptive mother is sick and her father is a distant, cold man. One sister is passive, the other a b*tch. With her upcoming wedding to Evan, she becomes increasingly curious about her birth parents. That curiousity puts her and everyone she knows in mortal danger. Sara has tunnel vision and can't stop her quest, even when she discovers that she was the product of a brutal rape. Her birth mother is in hiding, and her birth father is a serial killer who was never caught. Her search brings him out of hiding, and he wants to make up for lost time. This novel was creepy. How do you stop a terrifying situation when your choices are to protect your family or protect innocent women from becoming a killer's next victim? The twist at the end was predictible and felt rushed, but the overall story was still excellent.
lsmeadows More than 1 year ago
What would you do if you woke up one morning and found out that your father was a serial killer? That is the question that Sara Gallagher has to wrestle with in the second book by author Chevy Stevens. Sara is the oldest of three girls in her family, and the only one that is adopted. As such, she has always felt that she never quite fit in and wondered what her birth parents were like. What takes place in this story is definitely a case of "be careful what you wish for" as once Sara discovers her birth parents there is no turning back. How could she ever have imagined that they would be who they were? Or that her father would be a celebrated serial killer? As Sara makes contact with her birth father and grapples with the many issues that raises, we are taken on a thrill ride. Ms. Stevens definitely has another hit on her hands with Never Knowing. Like Still Missing, this book is told from the main character's viewpoint, as if she were talking to her psychiatrist. It is a unique way to tell the story, and one that Stevens certainly has the knack for. Also as in Still Missing, the main character in this story is scarred, which makes for an interesting protagonist. Unlike the first book, though, Sara is not abrasive, and the book never drags from beginning to end. Best of all, once again, Stevens finishes with an ending that I didn't see coming. I highly recommend this one.
RaeLM More than 1 year ago
This is one of those books that once you start reading it you find it very hard to put down. I loved it!! The story is very gripping and the characters are well-rounded. Everything is spelled out in such a way it is hard to let go. Great reading. Chevy Stevens is terrific!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please keep writing - you are a VERY GOOD author
kcbren More than 1 year ago
Chevy Stevens quickly became my new favorite author. This book makes you so involved, you see things in a totally different light. I highly recommend this book, you won't be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chevy Stevens is an amazing author and story teller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another interesting offer from Ms Stevens. Definite page turner.. nature over nuture and all the effects of both ideas on those living with the theories. Creepy, without being judgemental.. Looking forward to her newest.
shayrp76 More than 1 year ago
Never Knowing by Chevy Stevens July 2011 ISBN 978-0-312-59568-5 Reviewed by Shannon Pease (shayrp) Thirty-three year old Sara Gallagher can finally see the pieces of her life falling into place. She has her own business, a six year old daughter, and she is about to marry the man of her dreams. When she decides it's time to find her birth mother those pieces start to tumble around her. Finding the woman who gave her away turns to disappointment but finding the man, who never knew he had a daughter and who by the way is a famous serial killer, turns life frightening. As she struggles to keep her father from getting to her and her family; she also struggles with her own emotions of feeling neglected by her adoptive father. The story is told through sessions with her therapist, Nadine, so the emotional side of the book seems very raw. All of which are realistic but not overwhelming. Like real life, the book is an emotional rollercoaster ride. Ms. Stevens could have made fear the dominating emotion and that would have worked, but the little laughs thrown in, the unmistakable love story, and the tears made it all the more real for me. The characters were easy to get to know and to read. They could easily be the family next door. Everything flowed well and the timing was impeccable. I did not want to put this book down for a second. As soon as I opened it I was enveloped. I even put my phone on silent this morning so I could finish it. I found a lot of similarities in the emotions of the book and myself. Plus, I have a dog who likes to hump stuffed animals. This one is also one that I am going to be recommending to anyone who will listen; maybe even beg people to buy it when it hits shelves just so I can talk to someone about it. I will not forget this story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What if your dad is a serial killer?
Anonymous0031 More than 1 year ago
couldn't put this book down!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love Chevy Stevens my new favorite author. This books keeps you guessing with a mind blowing ending. You will not be able to put it down. U
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very good book. The story is so unusual, but very interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GeorgiaGirlDK More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this and all the other books written by Chevy Stevens. It just keeps you interested and wanting more. It is what you would refer to as a "real page turner" that you just don't want to put down. Written from a different perspective than most stories gives it a fresh twist. I hope Ms. Stevens keeps writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Everyone must read all of CHEVY STEVENS books!!! I promise you that they will be hard to put down. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I gave this book 3 stars because I did not feel that it held the same suspense and drama that "Still Missing" did. It was still a good book, but not nearly as riveting as Chevy's other books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book
bmamca36 More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by Chevy Stevens and very much enjoyed her writing style. I am definitely interested in reading her other novels. This book has an interesting plot. Like many adopted children, Sara Gallagher is curious about her birth parents. She finds her birth mother and much to her chagrin, she finds out her father is a serial rapist and killer. Well worth reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago