×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

New Atkins for a New You: The Ultimate Diet for Shedding Weight and Feeling Great
     

New Atkins for a New You: The Ultimate Diet for Shedding Weight and Feeling Great

3.6 256
by Eric C. Westman
 

See All Formats & Editions

THINK YOU KNOW THE ATKINS DIET?
THINK AGAIN.
THE NEW ATKINS IS...

POWERFUL
Learn how to eat the wholesome foods that will turn your body into an amazing fat-burning machine.

EASY
The updated and simplified program was created with you and your goals in mind.

HEALTHY
Atkins is about eating delicious and healthy food &

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

New Atkins for a New You 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 255 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My husband and I went on the Atkins some years ago when Dr. Atkins' original books came out. They were some 'technical' reading and not an easy read, which left them easily misinterpreted by the lay person. It was an overload of information for most people. We did however, succeed tremendously on the diet, not only losing weight, but lowering cholesterol and improving overall health and energy levels. This book is much simpler and yet has all the pertinent information in it. It leaves out much of the very technical aspects and sometimes confusing verbage. It includes some new findings, which make the diet even easier to use. A very "user friendly" book that answers many of the questions people may have about the diet without getting carried away. Simple answers for simple concerns. This book takes a less rigid approach and simply states the requirements, along with the rationale for having them. Very objective in its presentation without a lot of hype. (doesn't read like an advertisement) And the best part? IT WORKS. My daughter could never wade through the other books on Atkins and sort it all out, so she continued to remain skeptical. She read the first part of this one in one setting and is on her way! (first part explains it all and makes a believer of you - second part is the meal plans, etc.) If you are really into the history and validity of this diet, and are a discerning reader, I would recommend, in addition, the original Atkins books, written by the man himself. They are extremely "educational". To simply use the diet and be a "success story" yourself, stick to "The New Atkins For a New You" - it will do the job! I personally find the history of the whole thing fascinating and am excited that it is finally having some of the respect it deserves! And if you do buy the book, be sure and use the connected web site - it is all free and an easy way to track your progress, find more recipes, etc. It is given in the book. www.atkins.com
jsthrower More than 1 year ago
At 275 pounds at the start of July, I decided it was time to change my eating habits. I picked up my 2002 version of the New Atkins Revolution book and started reading it. I also went to the Atkins.com website and discovered a wonderful forum community that I visit each day to communicate with others living this lifestyle. Much to my surprise I discovered throughout the years more research and studies had been performed and I was now suppose to eat more vegetables than I previously thought, not near as much protein. I took the knowledge from both sources and have now dropped 76 pounds, am eating healthy whole foods, and I am never hungry or lacking energy. The great thing about this NEW book is it brings all the information past and present into one easy read. Written so everyone can understand the process and the science behind this program. If you are overweight and truly want to do something about it, buy this book and start a new lifestyle. Don't believe the hype throughout the years about low carb dieting being the death of us all. My doctor told me as far as he knows nobody has every died from eating to many vegetables and reasonable amounts of protein. I have the blood work to prove it. Pick up this book and change your life! You will find the NEW YOU.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I HAVE SEVERAL OF THE OTHER ATKINS BOOKS, BUT BY FAR I LIKE THIS ONE THE BEST. IT IS BETTER ORGANIZED,EASIER TO LOCATE INFORMATION AND SEEMS TO ME TO BE MORE THROUGH IN CONTENT. IT IS GREAT FOR THE BEGINNER ATKINS PERSON BECAUSE IT EXPLAINS MORE CLEARLY THE PHASES OF THE DIET AND HOW TO DO THE BEGINNING PHASE.
Mpres84 More than 1 year ago
The only reason someone would not support this is if they cant handle dieting and low carbs oh and PhyllisLA i read your review they noted if eating processed meat be careful not to buy anything with add sugar and nitrates this diet is not meant for processed meat it is meant for natural wholesome cooking (HINTS: them putting low fat meats like turkey, bison and venison)and to getting all your veggies and fruits and protein while limiting your carbs then slowly adding them back to figure out which ones make you personally gain weight so you know which ones to avoid or eat much less of. If you want this diet to work follow it to the T it will work and look at the ingredients on the package for help.
Sugar_Cube More than 1 year ago
I have had success in the past with Atkins and the new book includes lots of information for following a good, low-carb diet of quality protein and carbohydrates. It does include vegetarian or vegan diet options as well that are well organized and not an afterthought or add-on. Atkins is not for everyone but for those of us who are the most successful with the low carb diet, this new book has lots of motivation from success stories, as well as simple explanations of what works and why for people like me. The menu plans are doable and consist of normal food. The book includes advice on eating out and recipes for those of us who like to play in the kitchen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even if you already own one of the older DANDR books, you should read this book. It has updated guidelines and is well laid out in an easy to understand and logical format. I learned so much new information from this updated version. Had tried Atkins in the past without much success. This new approach, focusing primarily on vegetables and eating a well balanced diet of whole foods (no processed flours, sugars, etc.) makes sense on so many levels. I am very glad I purchased this updated book. The plan is easier to follow, healthier, eliminates cravings, and is more effective. If you want to lose (or even maintain) weight and stabilize blood sugars, lower blood pressure, and improve lipids, I highly recommend this book.
Trooston More than 1 year ago
I lost weight years ago (and lowered my cholesterol) on the Atkins diet. In trying to jump start my weight loss again, I purchased this new update. It is current in information with new recipes and information. Certainly worth a look to anyone searching for a diet idea.
BetteJ More than 1 year ago
Someone had given me an old copy of the Atkins Diet from back in 1990's, and I was using that. I really liked it also, but this new one is more inspiring, I believe. It's easy to read and understand, and the website is free and very helpful, to go along with it. You can ask them any questions you have and they are extremely supporting and helpful. While you are getting this THE NEW ATKINS FOR A NEW YOU --- be sure and get the JOURNAL to log in each day and write down what you eat. You can do that online, too, but a drawback of only doing that online is that your paperback journal is handy and you can go back and view what you had in the past at anytime night or day without turning on your computer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've done the Atkins diet years ago without reading the book and was successful in losing weight. Just following the basic rules of no carbs, lots of meat and vegetables. I stopped doing the diet because I had joined the military and it wasn't feasible at the time. I am now looking to drop 15 or so pounds and am always looking for easy, manageable, ways to do so while also being healthy. I knew I had success last time and wanted to give it another try but this time I wanted to do it right, by the book, so to speak. I saw that this new book was out and it was supposed to be more current on latest finds in studies regarding nutrition. It is also claiming to be more flexible than it's previously super strict counter-part. I bought the book and began reading immediately. Everything was laid out very well and in terms any newby would understand. They site a lot of motivating success stories which I love to read about and it describes a slow and steady way of following the diet so it's not too overwhelming. I'd recommend this book to anyone considering a low-carb lifestyle.
cbt1 More than 1 year ago
This book is very informative and explains how our food choices affect ;ur energy,work and athletic performance. This diet is very specific and lets the reader know exactly what needs to be done. In Phase 1 you will find out what to eat and how your choices will determine weight loss. Next you learn how to keep the weight off through lifetime maintenance. What I like is the fact that you learn what you can eat out in the real world. I became aware of the fact that carbohydrates and sugars are the culprits in weight gain. By eating protein you will gain energy and will not feel hungry between meals.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I tried doing the Atkins diet years ago, but felt very restricted with what to eat and not eat. Now years later, having a 9 month old (and pregnancy weight to lose), and being gluten intolerant, thought about trying the Atkins methods again to attempt to lose weight. This book is very well organized and makes the reader understand that there are different levels of Atkins depending upon how much weight you have to lose. For my goals and nutritional needs, this book has worked very well!
njr102000 More than 1 year ago
LOVING THE ATKINS BOOK & DIET!!!! 3 MONTHS AND 30 POUNDS GONE!!!
MM1019 More than 1 year ago
I'm glad I picked this up. I have followed Atkins for many years. I was off the plan for a long time. I had heard that this book did have some new information, than the one that was published several years ago, and it does. It's a much easier read, and has easy, useful information.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even if you've read previous books on Atkins, this one seems to motivate and renew your interest and motivation. It brings you up to date on the "good carbs" and how they work to help you lose weight. It encourages healthful eating as opposed to the "meat, butter, cheese" concept of Atkins. A great resource and weight loss tool.
bratdogs More than 1 year ago
I love this book, I am not a big reader and was concerned about reading enough of this to follow the diet. However this book is set up in a way where you can access the information you want to when you need to. Also the diet is a lifestyle change and after the initial 2 weeks of changing habits you can really taylor it to your needs and preferences. Love it, highly recomend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I went on Atkins and lost 100 lbs in 10 months.  As some have said about  processed foods causing cancer.  YES, process foods do  cause cancer because of the nitrates. You can do this diet but use fresh foods. Not processed. I lost that weight 8 yrs ago and have  stopped following it and gained back 35 lbs. So I am going back on it.  My blood work from my physical is so great that my doctor said to keep it up.
Sarah_JaneMA More than 1 year ago
I found the original Atkins Diet Revolution book to be well founded but hard to understand at times. This book is very easy to understand. Plus it helps me visualize the path I need to take, if I want to maintain a healthy weight. The first book inspired me, but didn't help me commit. I wish that some of the recommendations had carried over, such as: avoid nitrates & go for organic. But being able to drink caffeinated coffee is a big plus! The authors recommend (often) that you read the book as a whole, not stopping after you're current with your step. That means that you read about yummy things that you can't eat yet. That's the only problem I have with this book. Low-carb isn't for everyone; I favor individualized nutrition planning. For me, however, my skin has improved, a heart fluttering has decreased (with my weight loss, of course), and my bank account is bigger b/c I don't have to buy ever-larger clothes. My body just starts to feel and work better when I cut out the carbs.
mayasmommy More than 1 year ago
Lost 7lbs in 7 days with renewed energy.. give it a try!
Brizzy13 More than 1 year ago
I like the recipes throughout the book, I try one each day. It's a great read and the I must admit it makes so much sense. I have been doing Atkins for 3weeks now and I have NEVER felt better. I've had Arthritist for 25 years and after only 3 weeks I don't take any medication for it NOT even a Panadol!!! I'm off my Blood Pressure Tablets as well. It feels so surreal to think that this has happened in only three weeks, if at all!!!! My Husband can't believe it! and I'm so thrilled. The other amazing thing is, I never crave food anymore. This is a first ever!!!! Why was this hidden all my life....why arn't Doctors taught to look at the other side of the coin. People like me would have been so much better off. The other thing is, I have never enjoyed so many greens in my life. Right there is a major Bonus. I'm so happy I read the book and put into practice what I read. Thank you Dr Atkins
Bex New More than 1 year ago
This is easier to follow and a much better read. I think anyone with a george foreman grill or basic cooking skills could have great success with this lifestyle change.
SciFiLover More than 1 year ago
I was 22 years old when I first utilized the Dr. Robert C. Atkins "Diet Revolution." I lost lots of weight and kept it off for years. Since that time, when the diet was mislabeled as dangerous, much has been discovered about low carbohydrate diets and this book "The New Atkins for a New You", not only redoes the diet, it explains the science behind the health benefits and weight loss. The Doctors who have compiled and organized the information in this informative book have done Dr. Atkins proud, as well as themselves and all of the others involved in its developement. If you want to lose weight in a healthy, enjoyable sustainable way, get this book, follow the plan, and you will not be disappointed.
Baylor More than 1 year ago
Well thought out and planned, This book addresses everyone who may be considering Atkins. It is written in a way to make the plan easy and accessible. With all the veggies and ways to go about doing Atkins, It is a good first read for anyone new to the plan. For me a seasoned Atkins eater, It is a welcome addition to my Atkins library with updated research and guidelines to allow more flexibility while eating perfectly on plan! A MUST READ for anyone who has struggled with weight or wants to improve their health!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No matter what you try, a reducing diet is always hard . This new Atkins helped me very much . I am a male senior over 65 and keeping my weight low also keeps my blood-pressure low .I had to do something that worked .To loose 30 to 35 lbs is very hard ,with this new book I am half ways there .Thank you Doctors .I feel good now and will feel great when I reach my goal . M.W. Tuch
Tom_fg More than 1 year ago
Do Atkins. Lose weight without starving. Eat well. Keep it off. Feel better. Look better. Have better health. Prevent nasty disease. Do Atkins.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My husband and I enjoyed this book and the information in the book works. I know his diet plan has been around for years, but it is the first time I have followed the plan and it is working for both my husband and me. The book spells out the details of what to do and if you follow the plan, you will get results. The book is clearly written and we are glad we purchased it.