×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

New Favorite
     

New Favorite

4.6 13
by Alison Krauss & Union Station
 

See All Formats & Editions

Not only does New Favorite exceed the high standard Alison Krauss set for herself with 1999's solo masterpiece, Forget About It, but it finds the members of Union Station upping their game, too. And don't think Krauss hasn't noticed; she wisely shares the spotlight. Dan Tyminski -- who

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

New Favorite 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While I can appreciate the talents of Tyminski, who takes lead vocals on several tracks, it does bother me that each of the songs that Krauss sings have the vocals placed further back in the mix--the music is often at the point of drowning out her vocals. She isn't known for a loud, penetrating voice to begin with, but all of her vocals sound like she was 4 feet from the mike when she was singing. Far from thinking that it's never a good idea to branch out, I'm a little disappointed that Krauss' violin playing is pretty much absent and the album as a whole has a slicker, over-produced feel than their earlier work and certainly seems to lack the warmth and emotion of her solo effort 'Forget About It'. Perhaps the burgeoning popularity gained by the success of 'O Brother Where Art Thou' has caused a temporary deviation from the bluegrass roots that have fueled both Krauss and Union Station to the top of their game without making them seem desparate for commercial popularity---God I hope this is TEMPORARY.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was invited to see Alison and the Union Station Band in New Haven, CT about two weeks ago. I had heard of hear, but wasn't familiar with her music. It was a great show! I immediately bought the CD. I'm not a big fan of contemporary ''Pop'' country as we here it today. Alison is able to bring sweet melodies together with great playing, without all of the ''extra'' production. It's straight forward, raw talent. It was beautifully recorded and has a nice variety of songs. Enjoy the CD, you won't regret the purchase.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can now say I have heard an Album with balance. Because Alison and Union Station have got it all in this album. From the sweet songbird Alison is. To the raw bassey and guttsy voices of her male companions in the band. Strong bango,slide guitar, and fiddle playing. I remembered first longing and that I WAS THE LUCKY ONE.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Alison's voice is as clear as crystal and as soft as velvet. There are some great songs on this album with varied pace and moods. Instrumentation is wonderful. I was given the CD ''Forget About It'' as a gift (my first bluegrass album) and it will always be my personal favorite.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Alison Krauss and the members of Union Station are individually all masters of their instruments. They produce a sound that is traditional and modern at the same time. ''Acoustic Rock and Roll'', Alison Krauss called it. This album is full of excellent and memorable tracks - I love the hard driving sound of ''the Boy Who Wouldn't Hoe Corn'' and ''Momma Cried'', but I also appreciate the eerily beautiful voice of Alison Krauss on ''Lucky One'' and ''Let Me Touch You for a While''.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This Recording is not your average bluegrass back to roots album-it is all of that yet it is poetic and finely istumented. there is nothing simple about this album. Alison's voice is beautiful and haunting with members of union station (dan timinski) preforming more tradtional songs reliving the artistry of ''oh Brother where art thou.'' This is the bluegrass album for bluegrass, adult contemporary, blues, country and gospel listeners.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Alison Krauss and Union Station never fail; they are stellar and this album proves it once again. The title song, ''New Favorite'' is hauntingly beautiful. Don't miss this one; and while you're at it, get the rest of this group's CDs!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are a Alison Krauss fan, her new CD ''NEW FAVORITE'' is what you need to get. I think it is awesome. It is very relaxing music. most of it anyways. I love Alison Krauss and hope to get more of her CD's.
Guest More than 1 year ago
GREAT MUSIC +++++++
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been following Alison as long as I can remember. This album is simply INCREDIBLE! Her best to date. Jerry Douglas is also a nice touch. Simply INCREDIBLE!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago