×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The New Jewish Wedding
     

The New Jewish Wedding

4.3 10
by Anita Diamant
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Definitive, Completely Up-to-Date Guide to Planning a Jewish Wedding
Since its original publication in 1986, The New Jewish Wedding has become required reading, assigned to engaged couples by Conservative, Reform, and Reconstruc-tionist rabbis alike. In this new revision, Anita Diamant, one of the most respected writers of guides to Jewish life,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

New Jewish Wedding, Revised 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a non-Jewish bride planning a Jewish wedding, this book was indepensible to me. It outlines everything that goes into the wedding planning process. I found the outline of the ceremony (with different translations for different blessings) to be the most helpful. It's really a must-have for anyone planning a Jewish wedding.
JanetRHeller More than 1 year ago
I found this book very helpful when cousins asked me to explain the Jewish aspects of their interfaith wedding. Anita Diamant thoroughly explains the symbols of a Jewish wedding in beautiful and lyrical prose. This book is well written and well researched. I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was recommended by our cantor and was a really interesting and useful read. The author explains the traditions in a Jewish wedding and offers ways to modify them, if desired, for a modern twist on a Jewish ceremony. She also gives sample invitation wording and shows sample ketubahs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bookworm1228 More than 1 year ago
My husband and I referred to many sections of this book when planning our wedding. It was helpful in many ways, but primarily in helping us think about what was important to us in terms of bringing our religion into our wedding and our marriage. The sections themselves are also highly practical. The book gave us some great ideas on how to design our invitations (which ended up really reflecting who we are as a couple), on important aspects of our ceremony, and even on how to pick a date. The book also briefly touched on the Brit Ahuvah ceremony, which we ended up using for our wedding. I was glad this was discussed as a valid option in a widely used book on Jewish weddings, as it was an important and meaningful alternative for us. Overall, a great book that gives couples many different options for thinking not only about how to plan a wedding, but also for how begin a Jewish marriage.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very informative book with updated information on the Jewish Wedding.