×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

New Rules: Polite Musings from a Timid Observer
  • Alternative view 1 of New Rules: Polite Musings from a Timid Observer
  • Alternative view 2 of New Rules: Polite Musings from a Timid Observer
     

New Rules: Polite Musings from a Timid Observer

3.3 32
by Bill Maher
 

See All Formats & Editions

2007 Grammy® Nominee - Best Spoken Word Album

FROM HIS HUGELY POPULAR HBO SHOW, REAL TIME WITH BILL MAHER, COME MORE NEW RULES. NO ONE IS SAFE FROM MAHER'S SCATHING HUMOR IN THIS HILARIOUS COLLECTION. NEW RULE: Former drug addicts and alcoholics have to stop saying "I almost died." No. Cancer survivors almost died.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

New Rules 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Im so glad that bill maher's career has reached such heights. It is really refreshing to have a liberal who isn't scared of telling the religious nuts and hypocritical republicans the truth. I just read the other reviews from typical RUSH and O'reilly fans. The fact that they were all offended by this book makes me cheer for more. These same people probably love Ann coulter's republican slander, but are all pissy that someone finally punched back. I love it. Cant wait for his movie called religulous. I cant wait to see how many christian groups go crazy and protest. I love it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Being somewhat right of center myself,I don't always agree with bill's obvious left of center bias. But 'NEW RULES' is a one sitting read and bound to make all but the staunchest right winger laugh outloud.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Don't know what the fuss is all about,we don't think the rules aplly here in Misisipi.I think Fox News is grate and any liberal Yankkee that comes here is going to get lynched.Did not like the book, but then, hoo can read or think for that matter. He hee hee.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is a quick read but really funny and insightful novel. I just could not put it down. This guy says what he thinks....You have to love that! A must read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Knee-slapping commentary delivered in a condenced and pithy way. Maher's witty take on issues are ironic, scathing, yet very sensible. A must read for anyone who ever finds themselves up in arms with the status quo.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the funnier books I've read in a long time. I recommend it to anyone who has ever laughed because I can almost be certain beyond doubt that you will laugh out loud at least a few times while reading this book. Whether you are left-wing, right-wing, or niether.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I haven't laughed so hard in months. I loved this guy on his HBO special, and now I don't get to watch him. It was great to read his book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Such a great compilation of things that everyone always thinks, but no one ever says. It was hilarious...read it all in one sitting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Did you ever see any of Coulter's books win anything as prestigious as a Grammy? Or O'Reilly? I thought not.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it! The observations are simply hilarious.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
If I didn't feel like going out on a Friday night, I was watching 'Real Time with Bill Maher.' When I did feel like going out on a Friday night, I set the timer for 'Real Time with Bill Maher.' I love this dude, and I'm tapping my fingers now that his show is off for the season! He and I agree on so many issues, including legalizing same-sex marriage, the Bush administration, religion, Republicans being busybodies, and the injustice in the prison system. It's almost like I never have to open my mouth again when it comes to politics. I can just tell folks to watch 'Real Time with Bill Maher' and get all my thoughts out. This is the ONE political host who would talk about the truth of the Jena 6. As much as I support Obama, Bill Maher spoke louder and prouder about it. In addition to that, he always has guests that I'm interested in learning more about as well as some of my favorite people (ex. Mos Def and Cornell West). While there are times when I disagree with him (MySpace fight, all black folks loving gin and juice [that's so mean!], all Democrats being spineless), I can respect his views even if I (very seldomly) don't agree with him. At the end of his show, the New Rules always make me laugh. I have yet to watch his show and not leaned over laughing so hard that I didn't have to wipe my eyes. If you want to know the truth about the justice system, please check out his show on HBO or his website. And if you want to peek into this book, look in the Y section under 'Hard Cell.' That one is the most onpoint of all of his rules! Note: I did not know that the photo on page 176 was a young girl burned. Thank you to the reviewers who told me that. Although I still loved the book, I can add that to the small list of things I don't agree with Bill on.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I met Bill Maher at a book signing. Shook his hand. I'm the youngest published sci fi novelist in America, Ken Eng, and I can honestly say that this is the best book I've read in like ten years. I am a very opinionated person, and this is the first time I've ever read a book that had opinions identical to mine. In fact, I only disagreed with two of the jokes. Man this was only 2000 words and is almost as great as my book Dragons: Lexicon Triumvirate. And Paris hilton does only have one facial expression, I've noticed that for a while.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I believe in reading all kinds of books...although im a Conservative Republican I still read it... wouldnt buy it though....I was given it... I personally think he is honestly messed up...he is funny... but an idiot