×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The New Thought Police: Inside the Left's Assault on Free Speech and Free Minds
     

The New Thought Police: Inside the Left's Assault on Free Speech and Free Minds

4.6 17
by Tammy Bruce
 

See All Formats & Editions

Stop the Left from Policing Your Mind
Our freedom to speak our minds is under attack. Like the Thought Police of George Orwell's 1984, powerful special interest groups on the Left are mounting a withering assault on our rights in the name of "social equality." Liberty has been turned on its ear as the rights of the few restrict the freedom of everyone. In

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

New Thought Police: Inside the Left's Assault on Free Speech and Free Minds 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is refreshing to hear a liberal talk about the problems of how the media and academia are subverting freedom of thought and freedom of speech. Maybe more people who have been hoodwinked into thinking that they are supposed to agree with the media and with teachers because they are 'liberals' will learn that, though they may be liberals, the media and the teachers are not. Tammy Bruce calls them 'the Left' and clearly distinguishes them from liberals. I wish conservatives would learn to do the same instead of lumping everyone who disagrees with them into the category of 'left-liberal' or just plain 'liberal.' There are books with more detail, like Who Stole Feminism? and The Shadow University, which everyone should read next; and for a comprehensive picture of what's going on and how it got that way, read the novel (by a liberal) The Rape of Alma Mater. But this book is a good place to start.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I invite everyone to read this book. It will be worth your time. Ms. Bruce has changed my life and has taught me so many crucial lessons. She clearly exposes many things that most of society hasn't yet been able to see. Because of this book, I have realized areas where I myself had been brainwashed and I have become much more patriotic as a result!!! Again, what a wonderful wonderful book! If every college freshman had to read this our country would be so much better off immediately!!! Give it a chance!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw the spine of the book first and thought the title intriguing. I picked it up and saw that it was written by Tammy Bruce. I have rarely agreed with Ms. Bruce but took my chance and bought her book. I am glad I did. This book should be required reading on college campuses across the country. Ms. Bruce has written a serious and often amusing book on a problem that is slowing killing our society and rapidly trampling on our first amendment rights. Laced with person stories, Ms. Bruce comments on, and analyzes how, the Left is suppressing every American's right to free speech and free thought. Anyone concerned with the first amendment and the freedom of speech and thought should read this book. Outstanding!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mandatory reading for everyone who values free speech. Tammy and I do not agree on many of the Liberal social issues. But we do agree on the fundamental values upon which this nation was founded: individual freedoms and responsibilities. Very well written and insightful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book offers insight into a clandestine attack being waged on our first ammendment rights. I truly cannot understand why this book hasn't received more coverage and acclaim. A must read for anyone who values equality and free speech.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Speaking as someone raised by Democrats. As I was reading this my first reaction was "So, I'm not crazy". This book's author is a Lesbian and the former head of the L.A. branch of N.O.W., so no one can call her conservative. Tammy points out, from her own experiences as an activist, what the National Organizations are doing. She points out, quite accurately, how "Political Correctness" is all but Identical to 1984's "Thought Crimes". What she calls "Misery Merchant" exist only to keep the pain of Race, Sex, and History alive - to as she puts it "Rub Salt in the Wounds" From her own experiences she tells how the National Activists for Civil Rights and Women care more about their alliances than about achieving anything. How the Left is financed and controlled by corporations, same as the right. How their allegiance to the Democrats is so strong that they seek to minimize Republican Members. This points out quite clearly that the National Liberals have no plan for advancing what their 50's and 60's counterparts achieved, and how they can't afford to. The National Activists exist only because of Racism and Sexism. They can never allow those to cease to exist, and they can never allow the pain to heal. Tammy speaks of how for the last few decades there has been intense assaults on Civil Rights and Women's Rights in the name of Civil Liberty and Women's Liberty. That is insane, and it's very real. As someone raised by Democrats, I can say "This book is Truely Liberating"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A lesson in being aware of how our thoughts could be manipulated by the main stream media. Tammy Bruce encourages each of us to do our own homework & make our own conclusions. She gives great encouragement to those that want to stand firm in their convictions.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This should be required reading for all high school and college students. Ms Bruce has great insight into our culture and the motivations of those who would force political correctness on society. Written by a former insider of the women's lib movement, the author is a credible source of education with lots to teach. A great source of conversation for the next few months after reading it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a gay conservative, I can only say that this book has made me feel like there is FINALLY someone who is like me and can proclaim the truth without fear of retribution from the left.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've had this nagging feeling that my thoughts and speech have been increasingly controlled, and Ms. Bruce gives all the evidence that it has been...and it's scary! A very insightful book for all Americans.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I got this book because I am a progressive feminist, like Tammy Bruce and could not figure out, with a title like this, where she was coming from. Not only is it an enjoyable read (which surprised me) but I was astounded by how much I agreed with her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a great book! I repeat. What I great book! Finally a book that says what any person with common sense is thinking but told by a liberal, which leaves out the argument that all conservatives are fascist and so on (you know, what liberals will say of anybody that doens't follow the line). I can only thank the author for giving priority to common sense instead of singing the mandatory song of the liberals. Read it, it's a must.
Guest More than 1 year ago
insightful and honest- a must read for those who value (and desire) freedom in America. Great work!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
You have to give this lady credit for telling it like it is!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Every citizen of Earth needs to read this book! Especially anyone who votes in America, so they may see what a vote for a 'liberal' does to us.