×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Next Best Thing (Gideon's Cove Series #2)
     

The Next Best Thing (Gideon's Cove Series #2)

4.1 641
by Kristan Higgins
 

See All Formats & Editions

Lucy Lang isn't looking for fireworks…

She's looking for a nice, decent man. Someone who'll mow the lawn, flip chicken on the barbecue, teach their future children to play soccer. But most important: someone who won't inspire the slightest stirring in her heart…or anywhere else. A young widow, Lucy can't risk that kind of loss again. But sharing

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Next Best Thing 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 645 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading "Just One of the Guys" so much so that I downloaded "The Next Best Thing". I found this book to be rather farfetched and depressing. Lucy needed a psychologist. Too many flashbacks and much too much talk about the dead husband. The family focus on everyone being widowed was much too much as well. I am anxious to read "Too Good To Be True".
Niff More than 1 year ago
It was a lovely book, but I found myself skipping chapters at a time because of the ridiculous amount of flashbacks. I wish she had spent more time addressing the relationship between the two main characters, than focusing on the woman's relationship with her dead husband. *sigh*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read 1 of Kristan Higgins' books and it was pretty good. This one however just kept going and going and going. Honestly, about 1/2 through I wanted the male character to just walk away and find someone that didn't treat him like crap. Inevitably they would get back together everything was fine then she would treat him like crap again. I'm not sure if K. Higgins wanted you to sympathize with the lead character...but it's hard to pull for someone that uses people the way she did. She had her reasons but still. You just don't treat people that way. After reading this book, I'm not sure I'll read any of her books again. Kind of disappointing because I thought I'd found a new author to read. Oh well, the search continues.
RZAZ31210 More than 1 year ago
This is probably the least favorite book by Kristin Higgins.sadly. I still enjoyed it, and I am sure many people can relate to the main character after losing a spouse. I did feel bad for her and Higgins did a good job portraying her emotions throughout. I thought though that Higgins dragged the book out with having the main character go back and forth, back and forth. It was also kind of weird that she had a fling with her deceased husband's brother. But, like I said, I did enjoy it. I like Kristan's writing style. Her books are usually comical, romantic, and sad/heartfelt. I now think I have finished all of her books.can't wait for more!
tracynurse13 More than 1 year ago
The Next Best Thing is by far Kristan Higgins' best work. You'll fall in love with Ethan, Lucy, & the rest of their crazy family. It will make you laugh out loud & shed a few tears. Great read! Highly recommended for those who love a good romance.
AuthorKellyMoran More than 1 year ago
Author Kristan Higgins is an award-winning author of several published books in the romance genre. Other titles include: Too Good To be True, Just One Of The Guys, Catch Of The Day, and Fools Rush In. She resides in Connecticut with her firefighter husband and two children. Lucy Lang has been a young widow long enough. Finally feeling like it's time to settle down again and remarry, she says goodbye to her 'friend with benefits', Ethan Mirabelli, and hello to the dating scene. Except finding the right guy for her isn't as easy as she thought. After all, all she wanted was a nice guy with whom she could have kids and not form a deep attachment to. A broken heart once was enough. But much to her dismay and delight, Ethan isn't going anywhere, and Lucy knows he's the one man who could break her heart again. And this time, she may not recover. First person point of view typically isn't my first choice, but this is a perfect example of what stellar writing is about. If you haven't laughed, cried, and sighed with contentment a hundred times while reading this, then there's something wrong with you. The hero and heroine are relatable, and the secondary characters are memorable. From the setting to the story-line, this is impossible to put down. Bravo. Recommended. Kelly Moran, Author of SUMMER'S ROAD
romance_addict82 More than 1 year ago
I have become a fast fan of Higgins but I was ready to pluck my eyes out with nail clippers halfway through the book. ANYTHING to distract me from the utter patheticness that is Lucy Lang. Okay we got it, you lost your husband, yeah we got it he was the love of your life, yeah we got it you are a push over who doesnt know how to say no except to the ONE man who loves you and with whom you have been involved longer than your husband. The weird thing is that the book has a good recipe to be liked, the crazy sister, the lovable ex girlfriend, the crazy old biddies, the slew of weird dates, the baking, the hungarian thing...but for some reason it falls so incredibly flat. I liked Lucy, I think she had a good heart but was so damn determined to be miserable halfway there I just wanted to say, okay FINE BE miserable, I don't care. I cannot imagine what it would feel to lose my husband and the mere thought makes me short of breath but I would hope that by my 6 years of him being dead I would not have a panic attack when walking by his cemetery or that I would be so consumed by grief that I would be so incredibly blind and selfish to the emotions of others. Lucy was weak and selfish. Not the worst character flaws in a person but definetly bad flaws to have if you are a character in a novel. I have read a third of the book and only because I hate not to finish books I will finish it. I actually am hoping that Ethan will stop being such a pansy and will walk away from her and be happy. This is almost in the realm of abusive behavior. No matter what she does he comes back for more. I have not gotten there yet but I am very close to the point where I am going to dislike him too and stop caring that she hurts him. That being said, whatever Higgins writes in the future I will read because I have read all her other books and I know the heights she is capable of.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was irritating for me to read a book with a main character who was annoying and often unlikeable. She is incredibly self centered and lives in a fantasy world. No one is that perfect, referring to dead husband Jimmy, even if only married for 9 months. Love the Author, but this one did not work.
JLMaughan More than 1 year ago
Lucy can't seem to get over her husbands death and the curse of the Black Widows seems to hang over her head as she attempts to start a relationship with his younger brother Ethan. Delightfully funny as the a group of her aunts and mother are lovingly called the Black widows (because their maiden name is Black and they are all widows) bicker over everything and Lucy isn't sure she wants to expand their business at the family bakery with her bread through a whole foods executive who looks just like her late husband. Ethan struggles himself as he tries to have patience for the indecicive woman he loves and hopes she will choose him and a life of happiness rather than a life of comfortable widowhood. A lot of laughs and even more tears in this book. I loved it and the recipes too!
ElizabethSD More than 1 year ago
This one was a bit different than Higgan's other books. The main character was not as loveable as in other stories and just downright stubborn for the entire book. Still a great read, just not as humorous as her other titles. This is my 4th Higgan's book and I'm still heading to the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the first couple chapter's of this book and set it down diciding I didn't like it. But a couple of day's ago I gave it another try. And dispite the slow start and the sad flashbacks i'm glad I gave it second try. I thought the ending was so great that it actually made up for avrage majority of the book. Overall I think you should give this book a try if only just to witness everything come into place and form a happy ending after so long.
Momof3boysKA More than 1 year ago
This is the 3rd book I've read by Kristan Higgins. I thought all the character's in the book were great. It did drag some through the middle, it was alot of I'll be with you, I can't be with you and then back to I'll be with you. All and all though I loved it. I've read To good to be true, and Fools Rush In, The next best thing and now I'm on to Just one of the guys. Happy reading!
risuena More than 1 year ago
I read this book once and highly enjoyed it. I didn't give it 5 stars because I thought some of the anguish moments may have dragged on a little too long or repeated a bit much. But after reading it a second time, the book grew on me more. The relationship between the main characters were developed in more detail than a few of her other books. It made me appreciate the depth of their love.
dhaupt More than 1 year ago
Kristan is known for her quirky characters, and everyday heros and heroines and of course the dogs, cats and other animals that play such large roles themselves in her stories and you will get that and more when you dig into this wonderful read. Lucy has something that runs in her family, on her mother's side, a lot. She's a widow and it happened early in her marriage and in her life just like her mother and two great aunts it's their own private club and no one wants to join. Well Lucy has made a decision and unlike the rest of the "Black Widows" she's decided that she wants to remarry, even though Jimmy was the love of her life, but before she does that she'll have to stop sleeping with his younger brother. Gotcha didn't I. Those of us who love Kritan's romances have come to expect her witty descriptive dialogue where she makes her characters and settings pop off of the page and makes us laugh out loud and cry. Her story line is unique in the fact that these "Black Widows" aren't murdering psychopaths but female family members who jointly own a bakery in a picturesque little town. So let's talk about her characters they are a cast of unforgettable folks from the kooky great aunts, the overly cautious sister, the vogue mom, the old school Italian In-Laws, the cute confused heroine and the hot hunky hero. And they all have a major role to play in the telling of the tale. Her romance is funny, sad, serious and so full of pitfalls you're constantly looking forward to the next disaster. Her love scenes are hot and spicy, but also very tender and sweet. So if you've never read Kristan Higgins, what's wrong with you get this book. And if you're an old fan re-discover just what it is we all love about her writing and get this fall on your face funny and cry in your coffee tear jerker together in one incredible novel, you won't be sorry you did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The beginning of the book was very catchy. I enjoyed reading it at first and then realized I was in the middle of the book and the same details were reoccuring. I found myself able to skip some pages by quickly reading the first and last sentence on the page. I felt the story was far too long and could have ended very quickly without being so windy at the end.
kenzizzle More than 1 year ago
I read this book because I had read "Too Good to be True" from the same author and loved it. I felt that this book wasn't as good, but I still enjoyed it nonetheless. I loved the characters and there were some times when I just wanted to shake Lucy (the main character) and say "What are you thinking???". I guess that means Higgins did a good job with the story and character development if I was getting that into it, huh? :) Anyways, I really enjoyed this book and I think anyone else will too...especially if you like romantic comedies. I will definitely be reading more books from Higgins.
Nursebug More than 1 year ago
Kristan Higgans consistantly creates heart-warming romances with extremely likeable characters. While The Next Best Thing is not my most favorite of Higgans' books, I did get caught up in Lucy and Ethan's relationship. The cast of supporting characters as always were good additions to the plot.
BBMN More than 1 year ago
Have enjoyed her other novels but this was NOT GOOD.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is a great read! Kristan Higgins wont disappoint.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked the book. Ethan was very selfless. However, this book has been reissued. It was issued in 2010 and 2013. I am disappointed that I bought it twice. I would have liked to buy one of her other books with that money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another thing....the past few kristan higgins books ive read all state something like "oh hes/shes average looking i guess. Nothing that stands out blah blah blah" when one main character is talking about the other main chatacter that they end up falling for. While i realize that thats realistic prolly most of the time, it sure would be nice to read one where they characters actually thought the other was physicaly attractive and had some kind of pull towards eachother.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago