×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Nicholas: Lord of Secrets (Lonely Lords Series #2)
     

Nicholas: Lord of Secrets (Lonely Lords Series #2)

4.0 33
by Grace Burrowes
 

See All Formats & Editions

Nicholas Haddonfield has something to hide...

After a wild youth, Nicholas Haddonfield, Viscount Reston, has promised his ailing father he'll finally take a bride, though doing so will force Nick to make impossible choices and face old, painful wounds.

Leah Lindsey is glad to find refuge from her own desperate situation in a marriage

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Nicholas: Lord of Secrets 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy Grace Burrowes' books. She has entertained me for many hours. Her regency romances are a cut above the norm. However, I was a little confused with the plotline of this particular book. The characters have so many " secrets", some of which seem obvious even before they are revealed. The hero's problems that seem to have plagued him for his entire life really could have been cleared up earlier by conversations with the older folks. And the heroine never learns why she is so despised by her father, though it is revealed to the reader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't judge a book by its cover. While I am not a fan of this cover, I still had to read the book.  I have read and loved all of Grace Burrowes' books and this one did not disappoint. This book has a very sweet love story that is a nice change from  most romance stories. There is no big intrigue going on and no one really trying to thwart the couple, just a nice look into a couple coming to terms with things in the past and learning to love each other. The hero is a gentle giant and the heroine desperately needs someone to love and cherish her. If you are looking for a change in your romances I would highly recommend this book and any others by Grace Burrowes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
why are the three remaining books in this series comes only in ebook form? I loved the first one Darious and her other books.. I prefer reading my books on paper.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was lucky enough to get a copy of this, the 2nd book book in the Lonely Lords series: Nicholas. I loved it. The hero is an Earl-in-waiting who's been taking care of himself, his family, and much of the business of the earldom. When he meets the troubled Leah - he can't help but want to take care of her problems as well. One of the things I enjoy most about Grace Burrowes in this new series is how she weaves characters and plots we've come to know and love from other books and series. This book takes place during the same time frame as "Darius". While this book is great as a stand alone, it should definitely appeal to those who are already enjoying the world of the Windhams and their friends. Can't wait to find out what happens to Ethan in the next Lonely Lords book!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love author but this is not her best work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the Nicholas character so much. Different story line too. LORRAINE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just as book 1 in series started off with a scenario that screamed nothing but heartache could come at the end, this second installment took that scenario and made it blossom into a beautiful and deeply moving lobe story. I look forward to book 3!
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Rachel Book provided by NetGalley for review Review originally posted at Romancing the Book Miss Burrowes, you are seriously cutting into all my other activities during the day, including but not limited to, eating, cleaning, doing dishes–you get the picture. This book started out a bit slower to me than Darius, the other one I read in this series, but not in a bad way. I really think Miss. Burrowes had to set the story. I kept reading only because I had liked Darius so much that I knew she would pull through with this second installment of the Lonely Lords and let me tell you- I was not disappointed. I fell in love-IN LOVE– with Nicholas. He was like a regency Thor. If you are a historical romance fanatic you’ll know that most regency men were quite short, not attractive, and definitely not Thor like. Nicholas was EVERYTHING a girl could want in an English lord, fiercely protective, hilarious, quick witted, rich, and an all around good guy. My heart broke for Leah in this book. Several times I caught myself crying over her situation. Here this amazing lord offers his protection by marriage but withholds the one thing she’s wanted her entire life–love and acceptance. She loves him despite his ability to give her what she needs and then in the end sacrifices their relationship in order to protect them both. I may have bawled. I can’t remember. I think I blacked out from severe emotional trauma. The book had an amazing happily ever after and both Nicholas and Leah were beautifully drawn out as living, breathing characters. If I could give it more roses, I would. I recommend this for anyone who loves a good historical romance. There is some swearing, though minor, and a few love scenes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was not one of grace burrows best it was really lacking in everything and the plot just did keep you interested really disapointed!!!!!!!!
Doodlebug4444 More than 1 year ago
As posted at THE READING CAFE as a combined review with DARIUS and ETHAN 31 Jul 13 5 out of 5 for this reader folks! WOW ... just WOW!  Does Grace Burrowes know how to write a beautiful story with intriguing characters and story lines. Right from the get go I am completely captivated and drawn in. This review consists of the first three books of her new Historical Romance Lonely Lords Series, Darius, Nicholas and Ethan.  Our setting is early 1800's, England (be it city or country) and our story revolves around a gentleman who is lost is many ways and finds his lady (through the usual angst, drama, seduction and action).  Each book is interconnected and you should to read them in order.  As a matter of fact the first and second book run parallel to each other. Okay on with the reviews! :) REVIEW Nicholas is a naughty, slutty, dreamy, flirt, large LARGE built, hilarious Lord.  He took me right in and by the 10th page I was IN LOVE!  LOL  Nicholas comes with many secrets, and many reserves which make him a complex and complicated man.  Leah and Nicolas meet in a quiet room as both are trying to escape their prospective futures while attending a ball.  This meeting is brief, honest and ends with a kiss.  They are both quite taken with each other. Nicholas is about to inherit an earldom and and has promised his ailing father that he will marry.  Leah is in a desperate situation of her own where her life literally is hanging in the balance.  As the two build the foundation to a beautiful friendship (and falling in love) Nicholas feels protective and responsible for Leah.  This leads to the proposal of marriage.  HOWEVER .. this is to be a "white" marriage.  Meaning, no consummation, no children (Nicholas harbors serious secrets and fears).  While Leah agrees to these terms, she believes she can break him down. These two are something else to read.  They are most suited and I loved the bursts of shock and secrets that came out throughout the story.  There was some serious heat between them as well and Nicholas character in general just has so much appeal.   We are also introduced to Nicholas's brother Ethan in this story and you can see the set up for book 3.
LBP49 More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy Grace Burrowes books especially when we revisit characters that have appeared in other books and I have wondered what their story is. Nicholas has either been mentioned or appeared in other books particularly with Val Wyndham. What I like about Nicholas is his desire to reunite his family. They need healing and he very much wants to make that happen. If you like your hearoes with a real sensitive side you will enjoy this story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great series from Grace Burrowes. Can't wait to read the rest of the books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RomanticReadsandSuch More than 1 year ago
Nicholas    Nicholas is a must for readers of historical romances, especially those about big, strong, deluded men and the women smart enough to love them long enough for them to come to their senses.  Full review available at BookTrib or RomanticReadsandSuch (dot) wordpress (dot) com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great second story if the series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have yet to find a book by Grace Burrows that does not speak to my heart
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago