×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Night Circus
     

The Night Circus

4.3 2387
by Erin Morgenstern
 

See All Formats & Editions

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Night Circus 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2387 reviews.
mt_employee More than 1 year ago
As I work at Barnes and Noble, I take full advantage of my perks with the books. As a result I read about 5 or so books a week. This summer I read a few books I was really impressed with, some of the best of which are: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculier Children, and Wonderstruck--that being said, The Night Circus blew them all out of the water. Truly, a book with just enough romance (oh how tired I have grown of those predictable books about naughty dukes with images of girls clutching their extravagant gowns as a man..you know), just enough history, just enough magic, and just enough something else to make it more than a lovely, refreshing read- it is important, significant, somehow.
BluHawk More than 1 year ago
This story was so beautifully told, that am certain I will be rereading it for years to come! The author excels at capturing your imagination by creating a world where everything is possible and everyday things can be magical! I have never read another book quite like it; it is uniquely wonderful! The story has elements of romance, mystery, and the paranormal which blend together seamlessly. Because of this, I would recommend it for book clubs of all fiction genres, and also to anyone who is eager for something original!
Alli_N More than 1 year ago
I took my time finishing this book because I didn't want it to end... I enjoyed being absorbed into its magical world. It is a rare book that can pull you in, keep you guessing, and still have a surprising and satisfying conclusion. It is a grief to me that while I can, and will, read this book again, I will never again have the experience of reading it for the first time...
VioletteReads1 More than 1 year ago
I know I am going to reflect the minority here but I did not love the book as much as I wanted to. Maybe it was the repeated hype and build-up, or maybe it was my own excitement, but I really expected a lot out of this book and it did not deliver. First of all, it took me about 100 pages to get into the book, which was longer than anticipated. I kept reading but it took me a while to get into the energy and flow of the back-and-forth dialogue enough to be truly excited about picking it back up. While the writing and description were wonderful, the characters struck me as rather bland. I felt this especially about Marco and Celia, who - as two of the more magical people - could have been focused on more, and given more time in the book. The whole storyline is centered on this competition that both Marco and Celia are unwilling participants in. Instead of pity or empathy, I could offer no emotions for the two protagonists as they did not come off as tangible people. I understand this is supposed to be "magical" but what good is magic if there is no element to tie it to the reader? My favorites, by far, were the secondary characters - Bailey, Herr Thiessen, Poppet and Widget, and Tsukiko. The colorfulness of these characters, added to the overwhelming blandness of the gray mood of the circus as a whole. While we get bits and pieces of their overlapping stories, Morgenstern chooses to do so in a disjointed time-frame that is often confusing. Her narrative jumps forwards and backwards, but there is really very little reason for her to employ this technique, as the general flow of the story is very linear. My absolutely favorite thing about this book was the imaginative scenery and the circus as a whole. The smells, sights, and sounds of it were so beautifully explained, that I could almost smell caramel apple as I sat reading it. The many different tents that were a part of the circus were so creative and wonderful that I found myself longing to be a part of that world. The ice garden, in particular, was so beautifully explained. I loved that this book made me imagine the circus so vividly. While the descriptions help, it left just enough out that I am sure my version of the ice garden is different from that of anyone else. I would recommend this book to other readers who love a fairy-tale like story but are not looking for too much emotional involvement or character substance. I have heard that the rights to the movie version of "The Night Circus" have already been bought and I think that is fantastic! The book is so visual, that I just hope that the studio who will be responsible can do it justice.
enticed More than 1 year ago
Wonderful read! It's not my normal taste in books so I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked this book.
slavy1 More than 1 year ago
Erin Morgenstern has created a hauntingly, magical book. To try to describe it only will trivialize it. It's more than a book about a circus or magic or love. Trust me when I say, you won't be disappointed!
BookstoreGirlMH More than 1 year ago
This was a highly imaginative and romantic story, filled with magic and lots of Victorian and steampunk details (all that clockwork!). It reminded me a lot of The Prestige, with a romance embedded in the middle of it. And the little chapters done in 2nd person POV sprinkled throughout the main story makes the reader feel like he/she is attending the actual circus--a really unique touch! All in all, a very good read. Perfect if you like a little magic and fantasy in your fiction (but not all-out sci-fi).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading all of the reviews, and the interesting story line I was ready to absolutely love this book. The idea of magicians competing in a circus to the death was so interesting I couldn't wait to read how everything played out. In reality there was nothing remarkable or enthralling about the competition. I was expecting a really fast paced, suspenseful competition between amazing magicians in the circus, and what I got were two boring characters who were rarely around eachother, competing from different locations . There was nothing interesting about the magic they were doing. It was more like magical interior decorating. The romantic story line was equally ridiculous and boring. They "fell in love" the second or third time they were around eachother (mind you, they had hadn't spoken much to one another during their encounters). There was nothing romantic or believable about their tale of forbidden and, ultimately, devastating "love". Aside from that, I didn't understand why they couldn't be together, or why the competition had to be to the death. The entire thing was incredibly pointless and didn't make sense. I found myself more interested in the minor characters, particularly the psychic twins and the farm boy, who would one day play important roles in the circus. I do have to commend the authors style of writing. Her descriptive words made me feel like I was actually there, and while some have found the chapters hard to follow since they go back and for through the years, and involve numerous characters (probably too many if you ask me), I quite enjoyed that. Too bad the book wasn't as enjoyable. It was ok, but I would recommend not going into it with high expectations.
BookHounds More than 1 year ago
ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT The Night Circus is a mysterious and magical place, full of wonder and acts that create awe in anyone who buys a ticket. Marco and Celia have been preparing for battle since their youth and when both are placed in the circus arena to battle, neither one is exactly certain what this competition is about, nor are they sure about the rules or how a winner is declared. So they both began to create special tents in order to impress each other, not the judges and in essence become love letters. The story is told almost in a circular fashion, with flashbacks and forwards to help bring the reader to a conclusion. There are also a few minor characters that play important roles, yet you won't connect them together until almost the very end. Tsukiko, the tattooed contortionist, is one to keep your eye on since she knows exactly what the circus is and gives cryptic hints towards the true meaning of it's existence. The twins, Poppet and Widget, born when the circus first starts, are wise beyond their years and are inborn with a natural sense of order for the circus. Bailey becomes infatuated after visiting the circus and soon becomes a Reveur, a group who follow the circus, which are a fascinating group on their own. The descriptions are lush and I found myself going back to reread this book just for the beautiful words. I am NOT a fan of overly descriptive novels, but this one was really worked for me. I couldn't quite figure out where the story was going until it was over and it didn't matter, I wanted to join the circus. Oh, forget the review. THIS IS THE BEST BOOK I HAVE READ THIS YEAR. Or...at least I can't remember one I liked better so far.
FuzzyCoffeeBooks More than 1 year ago
What I Liked: 1) Let's begin with the cover. The contrasting black and white with the splashes of red, while not only fitting completely with the story, are enticing enough alone to warrant a glance while on the shelf. 2) The prose. The story was written with an elegance that was beautiful and completely befitting the time period. 3) The descriptive writing. The story came alive from the pages because of how great the descriptions were. It was as real to me as if I was living the story myself. 4) The eccentricities of the characters. Miz Morgenstern made certain that none of her characters were mundane or generic. Each and every one of them took on a life of their own, and were so well developed that not one of them fell flat. 5) Celia. I have to take a minute to talk about Celia, the girl that we watched grow up throughout the story. She was the character that everyone is going to feel for, the relate to, and to root for as the story goes on. 6) The romance. Oh. My. Gosh. If there is anything to take away from this story, let it be this: love is magic. The romance that blossoms between Celia and Marco begins long before they even realize it themselves, and as a reader I was so involved in the story, that I was left breathless by their passion. 7) The idea. Authors astound me frequently in their creativity and their ability to come up with a new and intriguing story, and this is no exception. What I didn't like: .............nothing............... Overall thoughts: Wow. That was my initial reaction. When I finished reading and closed The Night Circus, I just had to sit for a few minutes and absorb what I'd just read. Everything about it was truly incredible, from the enchanting love story, the captivating magic, and the spellbinding plot. This is a story that weaves its way into your heart and leaves you mesmerized. One word of caution: make sure you pay close attention to the dates at the beginning of the chapters - they don't always flow chronologically. This has got to be one of the best books I have read all year, and know I will read this story over and over. It's found a permanent home on my bookshelf!
Meli_Green More than 1 year ago
The Night Circus is an elaborate and amazingly well written story, of magic, and romance. The detail in this story is amazing and t some points might seem overwhelming but in the best way to where in imagery is literal jumping from the page as if the story was to play before your eyes. With multiple points of view throughout the story, the reader is constantly on changing perspectives, which makes the story more enthralling. With so many points of view going on throughout the story, the end of the tale magnifies the main conflict in the story as all the pieces finally come together. Aside from the story itself, the characters are well developed and the constant change in locations as the circus travels allows for constant movement in the story. Overall this story is fantastic and I was sorry to see it end.
JGallagher1983 More than 1 year ago
I read this book in two sittings and that's only because I had another engagement - I would have read it straight through if I could. Ms. Morgenstern's debut is a beautifully written literary gem. Her story captivates you right from the start, the vignettes about various aspects of the circus, the quotes, her character development - are amazing. I cannot say enough good things about this book. The twists and interlacing of the plots (and the parallel story lines) are intricately woven to say the least. Her detailed descriptions of the sights/sounds/smells/tastes of the circus made me think I was there. I can picture everything in my mind. I heard a rumor that there is a film in the works - I'll be going to see that. Amazing read, I would recommend this to anyone.
Jenifer40 More than 1 year ago
This was a captivating read. It was total pleasure to read. I found myself spell-bound by The Night Circus. There was romance, but not lusty. There was total enchantment, and not far out to burst your bubble. what a pleasure this was to read.
Icecream18 More than 1 year ago
This is one book a reader should buy a ticket too. The main characters, Celia and Marco, have been girded for battle for a very long time. However, when they are finally put in the arena, they find that they do not know what they are fighting for or what they want the outcome to be. Instead, they choose to construct elaborate tents...they end up impressing each other and are unconcerned about the judges. Their romance builds slowly, but steadily in the novel. The reader will love getting to know the individual characters as well. In a circus, there are many odd characters and the author remains true to this theme. The secondary characters are intriguing and often know much more than they tell...the reader will have fun guessing about the plot of this story and the perfect ending. The main characters complement each other perfectly, it seems perfectly natural that they would fall in love. The events are fast-paced and structured so as not to overwhelm the reader with the awesome that is in this book. The reader won't be confused by the sub-plots or the much larger plot that has many hidden secrets tucked away. The author writes very concisely, leaving just enough details to keep the reader on his/her toes. The ending is both perfect and surprising. This book is perfect for teens/young adults/adults.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't wait to find out what happens and yet I didn't ever want it to end! This book is one tht I will cherish and reread forever it was that good. I don't want to give anything away just if you like a writer with AMAZING creativity and books that you can feel, smell and picture yourself in everything that is going on...Then this is the book for you!! ENJOY!!
lorikbr More than 1 year ago
This book was so highly touted that I couldn't wait to read it. I'm halfway through and I'm giving up. It's all build-up with no substance. I can only suspend my disbelief for so long, then I become irritated. This is honestly the first time I have been so disappointed with a book that was so highly recommended, and I can't help but feel like something is amiss. Who wrote all of these reviews? How has this been so popular when I find it SO vacant? I think it's a marketing circus. If I read my own review, it probably wouldn't have stopped me from buying the book (because I'd see how many were so positive), but I've now looked back at some critical reviews, etc., and they all say the same thing I have said here. At least I'll save money on the movie tickets!
irishais More than 1 year ago
You will not (and should not) want to put this book down-- the spell Morgenstern weaves with her enchanting tale is something that will linger with you long after you've reached the end. A gorgeous, stunning triumph of a novel, The Night Circus is wicked, poetical, lyrical and all-around magical.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just read a review describing the sense of sadness of not getting to read this book for the first time again, and I totally agree. I also prolonged reading the last 100 pages of the book, so I wouldn't finish it too quickly. It is an absolutely beautifully written novel - definitely in my top five. The world Morgenstern creates is practically tangible. While you're absorbed in the pages, you'll be a 100% believer in magic. You will feel like you are part of the Circus, part of each of these characters. After you're done, you'll linger in the wish that you could wander through Le Cirque des Rêves for real. I haven't been this attached to a book in many years. It will be one I re-read annually. Do yourself a favor: read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would not get into this book with great expectations of romance and adventure. I found the characters boring and devoid of any real feelings for each other. I keep reading this book waiting for the real story to start so that i would not feel that i wasted time in my life that i can not get back. I love a great Fairy Tail or Pararomance novel but this one i do not recommend. What I do recommend is The Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautiful, Magical, and Romantic in surprising ways. Not what I expected. The end felt a little anti-climatic to me based on how much build up there is in the story, but i enjoyed the book a lot regardless. Very enjoyable read and hard to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book!!!!! It takes you on a fantastic journey of magic and romance.  After reading this book I really wish that this circus existed because it is truly amazing!!  I would highly recommend this book to anyone especially those with a fantastic imagination.  In the right hands this book becomes a wonderful visual feast that adds to the story! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was really disappointed with this book. I had to force myself to finish and had hopes the ending would make up for the rest. It was long winded and jumped around too much. I would not recommend this book to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read so many good reviews on this book and couldnt wait to read it. YES IT WAS MAGICAL AND IMAGINATIVE....but it jumped around and became very boring and I couldnt wait till I finished it! Give me a good thriller or murder mystery to read....this was just not my cup of tea!
SusanThies More than 1 year ago
I must have missed something when I read this book. Our book club was given the book for discussion. We all had difficulties bouncing from character to character. I evidentially missed the "love story" part of the book. Please find another book to read, don't waste your time on this novel! There are so many wonderful books to read, UNBROKEN by Laura Hillendbrand immediately comes to mind.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was unable to be transported into this magical place the author claimed the night circus would be. Could not identify myseld with the main characters. Star-crossed lovers? not until the last chapters. Book goes back and forth in time making it difficult for me to follow. Only Bailey really called to me.Took me almost a week to read. Been looking forwad to read this book for months! Sad, Sad Face :( Try and see if you can find something I did not...more than willing to lend so that you do not have to spend the $13.99 I did!