×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Night Moves (Doc Ford Series #20)
     

Night Moves (Doc Ford Series #20)

4.0 32
by Randy Wayne White
 

See All Formats & Editions

Doc Ford has his share of secrets. One of them has returned with a vengeance…

While trying to solve one of Florida’s most profound mysteries, Doc Ford is the target of a murder attempt by someone who wants to make it look like an accident. Or is the target actually his friend Tomlinson? Whatever the answer, the liveaboards and fishing guides at

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Night Moves 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Night Moves" begins and ends with a bang!A terrific new Doc Ford thriller by New York Times best selling author Randy Wayne White. Doc, Tomlinson, and top- notch seaplane pilot Dan Futch are on a personal mission to discover what might have happened to Flight 19, five naval torpedo bombers  that took off from Ft Lauderdale in 1945 and mysteriously vanished. In "Night Moves" opening scene, Doc, Tomlinson and Futch are flying over the Florida Everglades searching for clues when suddenly there is a big bang from the rear of their plane and they are in a downward roller- coaster ride that could kill them. They survive but who is trying to murder who? The wild things in the Everglades are dangerous enough, but back home in friendly Dinkin's Bay the plot thickens with more characters no one should trust.  Each new Doc Ford book is a a deeper study of characters Doc and Tomlinson, their unique pasts and their unusual friendship. The ending gave me a chill! "Night Moves" is a must read!
jwc2 More than 1 year ago
I could feel the characters, they are so believable. The scenes were developed beautifully. The way he relates to animals, and nature in general, is wonderful. I've been to the area in which his stories are set, Sanibel, Captiva, etc., several times, and the stories make it even more interesting to be there. They give me a better appreciation of the history and attitude of the area as well. Incidentally, I've also been to both Doc Ford Rum Bars (Ft. Myers Beach and Sanibel Island). The food is excellent, and the atmosphere is very pleasant at both.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Doc Ford and Company continue to evolve as does RWW's style! This is no linear, perfectly simple beach-chair read, so don't expect to sit down and read it mindlessly. This is historical fiction, mystery, action and romance all woven together in this finest of settings that only RWW can captue (setting is EVERYthing for me!). Enjoyed the added dimensions to the characters, as well as the new ones. Looking forward to White's future endeavors!
silencedogoodreturns More than 1 year ago
Excellent read. I admit I had never heard of the Doc Ford series before, and this was my first read of it. Having no background on him at all did not detract at all from the book. I could tell there were several back stories, but book flowed well and kept the interest going throughout. Nice twist on a series - having a super secret agent, but the book is NOT about that, it's just about him in his new life. The story of the missing Navy torpedo bombers was an inspired theme for the book, though the author errors in claiming that the Navy pilots were really Army officers. Don't know how he could make such a bone-headed claim, but the book is a fun read. Though having gone back and read the first four books now, the earlier books seem much more deep and philosophical, and I can see why back then they were calling him the new John MacDonald. Not so much now, but then, the character here IS over 20 years older now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The descriptions of the area around Sanibel Island are always entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
White's writing style is gripping and keeps your interest while a couple stories are intertwined.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And have been for years. I have to admit the plot seemed a bit far fetched. That being said all was redeemed with the ending!
gloriafeit More than 1 year ago
This is the twentieth novel in the series featuring Marion “Doc” Ford, marine biologist, and his hipster neighbor and friend, Tomlinson [or, more formally, the Rev. Sighurdhr M. Tomlinson, an ordained Zen Buddhist teacher, among other things]. The main thrust of the plot deals with five Navy torpedo bombers that had vanished in 1945. Five planes (and fourteen men), the disappearance of which gave rise to the perhaps mythical Bermuda Triangle. There followed “the largest land-and-sea search in the nation’s history.” Apparently ever since the tragedy, there has been a contingent who believe the planes had disappeared in the Gulf or the Everglades, and Doc and Tomlinson, with their pilot and friend Dan Furch, undertake to try to solve the mystery, seventy years after the fact. Things become more complicated when their plane is sabotaged, and the big question is exactly which of the three of them was the primary target of a murder attempt. Doc and Tomlinson’s backgrounds each include what are referred to as “covert lives,” sufficient to cause Doc to wonder “Had a foreign agency or a terrorist cell issued orders to kill me?” The tale includes at least two men who are traveling under aliases, with unsavory and possibly criminal elements, a Germanic (Nazi?) Brazilian, “a Haitian drug-dealing witch doctor, . . . a strange boat, missing planes, a married mistress, and a filmmaker who seemed to have ulterior motives,” as well as Crunch & Des, the communal cat at Dinkin’s Bay Marina, where Doc keeps his boat, and an apparently well-trained retriever who had “ended up in the middle of the Everglades, hunting for food and battling snakes to survive” before Doc and Tomlinson rescue him. This was my introduction to this author’s writing, about which I’d heard so much. It was an original story, with fascinating characters, but for this reader, the minutiae of fishing in Florida waters, WWII-era planes, and assorted other plot lines proved too much for this reader, and I’ll have to leave it to others who might better appreciate this particular effort to extol its virtues.
jp1025 More than 1 year ago
Shameless. That's the only word that comes to mind. People have been insisting that this series jumped the shark five years ago, but I was too stubborn to listen because I'm such a big fan of Mister White's earlier work. But the way that he's using the "Doc Ford" series as a tie-in to his new "Hannah Smith" series is abolutely SHAMELESS. Since when do we get cliffhanger endings in the Doc Ford series? Could it be that "All Will Be Answered In Hannah 2"? The first "Hannah" book was so pooly reviewed that I almost didn't read it, but I acquiesced out of loyalty to Mister White. I now wish I hadn't. He seems to have a very difficult time writing from a woman's point of view. That doesn't make him a sexist, but if it's not in his bailiwick why bother? And in "Night Moves" we suddenly have Doc pining for this woman whom he barely knows? And by the way, according to the first "Hannah" novel Hannah Smith should be in her early 20s. Doc is AT LEAST in his fifties. I think Mr. Ford stopped aging Doc in real time a while back, but it doesn't matter. Enough has been written about Ford and Tomlinson being products of the hippie sixties. So we have fifty something year old Doc swooning over twenty year old Hannah? Sounds like a bad reality show, but it's not. It's just bad writing. Bad and shameless writing. One star, but only out of loyalty to a once great series.And if the Hannah character and books continue, I'm done.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not my favorite of this authors books. Character development did not seem up to his usual standards. Enjoyed the ending which provided content for the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy the Doc Ford books you will find this to be a fun read. The book is not exceptional, however it is an interesting  continuation of Doc's story. The plot is engaging and well-developed and I thoroughly enjoyed the book. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago