×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Night of Knives (Malazan Empire Series #1)
     

Night of Knives (Malazan Empire Series #1)

4.3 31
by Ian C. Esslemont
 

See All Formats & Editions

The small island of Malaz and its city gave the great empire its name, but now it is little more than a sleepy, backwater port. Tonight, however, things are different. Tonight the city is on edge, a hive of hurried, sometimes violent activity; its citizens bustle about, barring doors, shuttering windows, avoiding any stranger's stare. Because tonight there is to be

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Night of Knives (Malazan Empire Series #1) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
charlirahe84 More than 1 year ago
I came across the Malazan series through Erickson's books and I wish they had emphasized ICE's books too. It answered a lot of questions I had and I've now started all of ICE's books and I think all the begging questions are going to resolved. If not, he's still an excellent writer and the Malazan series just doesn't get boring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was an easy read and drew me in. I liked his style of writing
Bach More than 1 year ago
well written and a must read for anyone who loves the malazan empire books. This really fills in info on Dancer, Kellanved and how Surly came to power.
Wurmfood More than 1 year ago
I'm a big fan of Steven Erikson and found this book very enjoyable. It's a much quicker read however, kind of similar to an R.A Salvatori book (much much better though). It's the type of book you may need to reread just to see if you've missed anything. It also fits in very well with the the Malazan story line. Over all I'm looking forward to more efforts by this author and hopefully the next installment is out soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a much less involved read than any of Erikson's Malazan series, and not nearly as lengthy, but still gives a good read. The characters are developed in a similar way to the Book of the Fallen series, as well as the setting, so that you know you are dealing with the same world. Esslemont's style still conveys the dark humor and cynicism of the empire, but doesn't involve the massive quantity of detail found with the world's co-creator's work. Not a bad way to break new readers into both series, and an enjoyable read.
Ring-fan More than 1 year ago
This ought to be a quick read for the fans of the Malazan Book of the Fallen. Ian Esselmont had the first book in Erikson's series dedicated to him and in this novel he fleshes out elements only touched on in the prologue of Erikson's sprawling saga. He has his own writing style and should not be compared to Erikson as his writing is just as fluid and concise keeping up with the Malazan Empire. An impressive debut to an equally awaited series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Action packed and very engaging I really enjoyed this book. If you have not read Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson, read it first. The are both set in the same world and Erikson does a great job of introducing you to that world but i think Esslemont does a better job of telling stories in it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago