×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Night Reigns (Immortal Guardians Series #2)
     

Night Reigns (Immortal Guardians Series #2)

4.5 199
by Dianne Duvall
 

See All Formats & Editions

Dianne Duvall portrays a world of temptation, loyalty, and heartbreak. . .a world where danger and desire walk hand in hand. . .

Ami isn't much for trusting strangers. She has a hard time trusting anyone. But she's no coward, and she's no pushover in the protection department either. So when she comes across a mysterious warrior taking on eight deranged vampires

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Night Reigns 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 199 reviews.
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Review by Shannon: If you read Darkness Dawn, the first book in the Immortal Guardians series, you will remember Marcus. He helped Roland and Sarah by letting them stay in one of his houses, but was always very morose. We had learned then that he was mourning the leaving of the woman he loved, Bethany, six years prior. When this book begins, it¿s 18 months later and Marcus is still mourning. Mourning and missing his best friend, knowing that she¿s with the people she loved. But Marcus is not in a good place. So when Seth assigns him a Second and it¿s the small red-haired woman who helped him during a fight with eight vampires, he¿s irritated and suddenly having feelings he didn¿t know he was still capable of feeling. We were also introduced to Ami in Darkness Dawns. She was rescued by Seth, David and Darnell when they broke her out of a research facility where she was being tortured. They were able to find her because she was telepathically screaming out in pain and terror. They saved her, but you had to wonder if the small, quiet woman would ever be able to recover. Fast forward two years and this is where Night Reign picks up. Ami is now out and about, living a somewhat normal life. She¿s still terrified to be in a room with people she doesn¿t know and she absolutely do not trust doctors or labs, but she¿s moving forward. When she senses a fight happening not far from the video rental machine she was at, she investigates and immediately senses and Immortal Guardian in need of help. She assists with her guns and then leaves when she¿s able to. What Ami doesn¿t realize is that Immortal Guardian is soon going to be her assignment. Seth, the leader of the Immortal Guardians, brings Ami to Guardian Marcus Greydon¿s house. No one is more surprised than Marcus when Seth announces that Ami is going to be his Second. He¿s done giving Marcus any leeway with his grieving for Bethany, so he¿s instituting the rule that every Guardian has a second, which includes Marcus. Marcus tries to fight having Ami in his house, because having her there stirs up feelings he didn¿t think he could feel anymore. But when Ami shows up to save him twice during a fight, he realizes that having her at his back feels right. But soon those feelings grow to something more than friendship and appreciation and Marcus begins to question if he can follow those feelings with a woman he knows he¿ll only have for a short period of time. Marcus, Ami and the rest of the Immortal Guardians are soon in fight with vampires as someone new, the Vampire King, has taken over and is attempting to organize an army. But what that army wants comes into question when Ami realizes that drugs that are being used on Guardians during fights are the same as what was used on her when she was captured. Soon the Guardians are closing ranks to protect their own and determine who exactly is involved.
kopsahl More than 1 year ago
Ami witnesses an Immortal Guardian being attacked by vampires. Since I haven¿t read the first book in this series I was wondering why Ami knows about these supernaturals and also why she is carrying a Glock with a silencer. We are given a brief history lesson about the supes and it is given in a way as not to detract for the storyline and the reader is not bombarded with information but given enough to make the story flow. The second installment introduces us to Marcus¿s story and brings back Ami from book one. Marcus has noticed that there is rise in the vampire attacks and that they have been organized which is highly unusually. Seth, the leader of the Guardians, sends Ami to be Marcus¿ Second much to the dismay of Marcus. Ami too is not too happy with this arrangement. Both have been betrayed before and are not trusting of many people. As they help each other they find that maybe they can trust again but first Ami must share the secret that only she and Seth know. There are many characters that the reader becomes involved with and to review them all would take pages. Trust me when I say that if you enjoy anything my J.R. Ward or Laurell K. Hamilton, you will not be disappointed in Dianne Duvall¿s series. A lot of twists and turns make this a fantastic thriller that will leave you panting for more. There is never a lull in the story and the reader is instantly transported into the supernatural world that Duvall has created. The reader wants to know and experience everything that the characters do. I have officially found a series that I love as much as I love J.R. Ward¿s Black Dagger Brotherhood series.
Daphsmomma More than 1 year ago
I loved this book.. honestly I believe that I loved this book more than the first one Darkness Dawns! This one is about Marcus who is as close a best friend as possible to Roland (from DD). Ami who we learn is the mystery girls name from DD is the heorine in this book! We find out so much that was left hanging from the first book. We know what Ami is, what SETH is!!!!! You have got to read this book if you like Darkness Dawns! It was so good! I just finished it about an hour ago. Some of the plot reminded me of Stargate SG1! which is the best sci-fi show ever! and I couldn't read it fast enough. Funny, suspenseful, on the edge of your seat action! and the "romance" scenes... hello!?! absolutely fabulous! I will def read this book again and again.. I have to say it is one of my top 5 paranormal romance reads.. now I'm hoping that we get another book maybe w/ some more on Seth? Bastien? and David???? totally love Seth! Hope you enjoy this book as much as I did!!!
TSteiner More than 1 year ago
Ok two days and two books and on the third day, let there be reviews. Yes, I have done nothing but devour these two novels. I have been captured by this amazing new universe and I am officially in love with the characters. They feel like friends that I could cherish forever. Yes, I will admit I love my fictional characters. I know I¿m not the only one out there that would love some Hunters or Brothers. If you are like me, you know EXACTLY who I am talking about, so no mocking. Marcus has lived a long time, over eight hundred years. In that time, he has loved only one woman, Bethany, a woman that was destined to never be his, but to eternally break his heart. In his whole existence there has only been her. Having her in his life platonically, not once but twice, was all he could ever have. Now he has lost her for the last time, eight years ago. His chance to ever find love has disappeared forever. All that changed the moment he set his eyes on a fiery red head that had talent with a gun and the ability to set his pulse racing. Not unfamiliar with the world of vampires and Guardians, Amitiska, ¿Ami¿, isn¿t surprised when she comes upon a scene of chaos, an Immortal Guardian taking on eight vampires. What does surprise her is the awestruck brilliance of the man himself; long dark hair, vibrant amber eyes, and full sensual lips. She is left speechless. Too bad it won¿t be the first or the last time in one night for her. She is shocked again later that night when she is assigned to be his Second, a human personal assistant and guard for an individual immortal. Wow, she didn¿t see that coming! Attack after attack, Marcus and Ami begin to work together in synchronicity and harmony. Too bad their inner feelings are getting in the way. Both are falling for each other and are unable to control the new urges that are burning within them. Ami is constantly surprising Marcus with her abilities and courage. She is more than she appears, but she is terrified to lose him to the truth. Can they build a relationship that will last forever if she is not able to trust him with who and what she is? Ms. Duvall has actually improved from the first story, and I gave Darkness Dawns a 5 star rating. So what does that make this one, a 5++ star story? She is keeping it exciting by revealing some secrets but not all of them. Truthfully I am not sure if I love that or not. The ¿long story¿ still has not been exposed, but a bit more is known. Seth, the leader of the Immortal Guardians, is a mystery that will likely not be uncovered anytime soon too, but we did get a glimpse of his background. Ms. Duvall you are such a tease, but a very good one! This woman can¿t write fast enough for me. We need to form a posse and catch her and tie her to her desk and make her get busy. You hear that Ms. Duvall ¿ chop, chop. From online posts it doesn¿t look like we will get another novel until October 2012, *sob*. But please don¿t let that stop you from reading this awesome series. Just think of how many times you can reread and enjoy the boys by next fall. I mean seriously, this will be a repeat read for me. A keeper all the way!
Para-Fan More than 1 year ago
Her first book, Darkness Dawns, was so great that I didn't think she could top it. I was wrong, this book not only meets but exceeds her first book. I couldn't wait to find out who Ami was and Marcus was such a sad hero in book one that it was wonderful seeing his code of honor being rewarded in this book. I read Night Reigns straight through and then re-read it ensuring I didn't miss anything the first time thru. It was even better on the second read. Don't miss this series and author, Dianne Duvall will be liked for her books as Christine Feehan and others of this ilk are loved. She has adopted everything we have ever read about vampires and shook the bag and her Immortal Guardians fell out giving us a new author and series to cherish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a wonderful read I couldn't put down.i would totally recommend it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the first book of the immortal gurdians and fell in love with Roland & Sarah. I was glad to read that this next book would feature Marcus & Ami who were both introduced in the first book. I would highly reccomend these books.
Blythe Wilson More than 1 year ago
I've read the 1st book 3 times and i loved it.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
TJ_Shaw More than 1 year ago
Wow! This is really turning out to be an interesting story. I didn’t see the new plot twists coming at all. I really enjoyed Marcus in the first book, DARKNESS DAWNS, so I’m glad he got top billing in NIGHT REIGNS. Ami is an intriguing heroine who I’ve rooted for from the very beginning. So glad they got their happily ever after. What I find so fascinating about this series is the overall story that is developing throughout all the books. Ms. Duvall gives the reader just enough hints to tantalize, but not enough to solve the puzzles. I’m so curious to see where she takes this series as a whole and the surprises she has in store for the reader. What a great different take on the vampire/immortal genre. Focused. Strong. True.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one if the best books I've read in a long time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic Series!! A must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read, yet a bit heavy on the author's environmental views. Towards the last few chapters there were some holes or plot jumps that made me feel like I skipped a few pages when I didn't. Overall I would still recommend the book with those warnings attached. I liked the unique twist surrounding Ami's character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gorgeous Guardians! Left me wanting more!