×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Night to Remember
     

A Night to Remember

4.1 80
by Walter Lord
 

See All Formats & Editions

She was the world's biggest-ever ship. A luxurious miracle of twentieth-century technology, the Titantic was equipped with the most ingenious safety devices of the time. Yet on a moonlit night in 1912, the "unsinkable" Titantic raced across the glassy Atlantic on her maiden voyage, with only twenty lifeboats for 2,207 passengers. A Night To

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Night to Remember 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 80 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read many books abou the Titanic, but I feel I've never really known the truth about what happened that late April night until I read this book. A Night To Remember, by Walter Lord, tells a very accurate minute by minute account of what happened. His interviews with First Class, Second Class, and steerage passengers as well as crew members gives many points of view to the events that occurred the night. Although the constant name changes and recollections can become a bit overwhelming, the message he's trying to get across is apparent. Everyone reacted differently. He also tries to inform readers that if any little thing had gone differently, hundreds of lives could have been saved.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The first time i picked up this book i knew it was going to be good. As a history lover and Titanic freak this book had me from the first word. Walter Lord captures the truth of the night from points of view varying from the crew to first class leaving no story untouched and as for that sam guy on the page... you suck. How could anyone not like this book, it phenominal!.
Robert-E-Lee More than 1 year ago
An excellent read for the history buff who loves the story of the Titanic. This author was the one who started the search for the ship
madmarlton More than 1 year ago
This book has been around for a long time. The thing that shows its age, though, is in the epilogues, where survivors of the Titanic are quoted. Of course, there are no more survivors. The ship sank over 100 years ago. But this narrative, without falling prey to the standard approach of creating fictitious characters to focus on at the expense of the real-life characters who sailed on that fateful crossing, keeps the reader riveted right to the end of the story; i.e., when the Carpathia returns to NY with those pitiful few who survived. What follows is somewhat less riveting, although the section on the fanciful stories that proliferated at the time is fascinating. (I loved the one about the Newfoundland dog who swam next to a lifeboat, leading it to the Carpathia!) The book also lists every passenger by name, italicizing those who survived. If you ever go to Halifax, NS, check out the Titanic cemetery. It's amazing...and spooky. Anyway, this book is one of the greatest accounts of the disaster that there are. Highly recommended.
easyreader50SV More than 1 year ago
This is a classic, and still worth reading. Of all the books and movies around about Titanic, this was written from interviews with survivors, information from newspapers and actual paperwork at the time, facts and fallacies alike. Of all the news reports on the event, only the Times actually said Titanic had sunk.Lord did not focus on any one passenger or group, but tried to give the reader an understanding of all those involved. Be sure to see the movie by the same title. Very well done with no known stars at the time. (David McCallum who played Bride, went on to become the more familiar Ilya Kuriaken in the Man from U.N.C.L.E. and more recently, Dr. Mallard of NCIS.)
clemmy More than 1 year ago
I thought this would be morbid and utterly depressing, but I needed AR points. I love that this book is largely about the people who survived. Since eighth grade when I picked it out, I have read it three times and bought myself a copy. If you want something dramatic without too many tears, this is the book for you!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought the book A Night to Remember was great. There was a lot of suspense, which I liked. It kept me reading more and more without wanting to stop. It was very detailed to the smallest measure. There was so much detail that it took forever to get to the next big part. What I disliked was that it was very list for example the author would say Bruce Ismay got his watch and Charlotte Barkis got her jewels and so on. The book also doesn¿t have a main character it was all listing random names. I definitely think the author should have added a main character. I rate this book a four because it as to listy otherwise it would be a five.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is my fourth read-around for 'A Night To Remember.' Each time I become more absorbed with the people; their thoughts, their background & their actions aboard the ill-fated luxury liner. I liked the fact Walter Lord didn't focus on any one person but as many of the passengers & crew as warranted to keep the story moving at a brisk pace. His extenisve research is quite evident. A list of the passengers on the 'Titanic' is included. It would have been nice to also include a list of the crew. Due to the fact Lord's chronology bounces back & forth I found myself reverting to previous pages to assure I didn't miss anything. I didn't miss the eerie fact the captain of the rescue ship 'Carpathia' was Walter Lord (no relation). This book is a gripping & chilling (pardon the pun) page turner without a doubt. 'A Night To Remember' is a book to remember & read, read, read. And there you have my point of view.
Bookworm1951 8 days ago
One of the better accounts of what happened to the Titanic. Based on interviews with survivors. A lot of information other than just the technical facts that everyone knows. Done in an easy to read format that will keep you interested. Would recommend this book to all Titanic history buffs. Well edited.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has so much detail about the night and it has many different perspectives of what was happening. Its a little hard to understand at first but after awhile its easier to get into. If you were wondering, the book has 10 chapters of the actual book the rest is facts and the table of contents. Altogether it was about 160ish pages. Thanks for reading?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I felt like the story was accurately told and that the author did his research. It did get slow after the retelling of the sinking of the ship but it picked up again and i couldn't put it down. Very short book. Not sure if i would buy again but i would go to the library for it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book it is on my special bookselve for only amazing books, and its worth the money!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The exciting nonfiction book, A Night To Remember by Walter Lord is a great read of anyone. A Night To Remember has all the detail about the sinking of the all famous Titanic. Walter Lord writes about the perspectives of real Titanic survivors. The theme of this great book are that things are not always what they seem. On the night of April 14, 1912, the mighty Titanic sent sail for her maiden voyage, but suddenly there was a collision with a iceberg. Most of the passengers were sleeping away in their cabins when a ¿grinding jar¿ noise came in the White Star Line ship. Some barely heard the noise, others heard the noise and knew it the ship hit an iceberg, and most of the passengers heard it and either went back to sleep or doing some sort of business. The crew and passengers didn¿t know what they were in for when the bow of the Titanic was leaning forward and the 2207 passengers had lifeboats for only 1157 passengers. One passenger quoted, ¿God Himself could not sink this ship.¿ The textual support of this book was excellent because Walter Lord himself interviewed many of the titanic survivors to get many kinds of views during the commotion and feelings in the ship. There was many connections people had in the ship, like some had there honeymoon there, but had to be separated because women and children had to go on the lifeboats first and maybe some men. It¿s like when you have to depart from your husband in the airport, but worst because he might not find another lifeboat for himself. But some wives wanted to stay with their husband instead of being safe in the lifeboats. The part when the almighty Titanic hits the iceberg, Walter Lord describes it very thoroughly and has many views from the passengers and crews to make the reader image and understand the actual crash of the ship. At the time when the chunks of ice flew on the White Star Line¿s deck, the passengers didn¿t scream and make a commotion, but instead picked up the pieces as ¿souvenirs.¿ When I was reading that part, I thought shouldn¿t they be scared because now there¿s a big hole in the ship that will sink the whole ship? Because of the sinking of the Titanic, nowadays in cruise ships the crew have an hour long safety procedure and the ship has enough lifeboats for all of the passengers and crew. A Night To Remember has the real and true facts about the crash of the Titanic.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A Night to Remember was definately the right choice to learn about what really happened that memorable night on the Titanic. There were so many personal experiance that were not told or known that are mentioned in this memoir. Many of the Passangers thought that the Titanic was unsinkable, but boy where they wrong! Since all of the passangers on the ship thought that the gigantic boat was to have no problems, when told to go up on the main deck for safety, they left some of their most prized possesions in their cabins. They left things as valuable as jewlery costing up to $2,000! They left these things thinking they would come back to them, but once they were up there was no going back. As the water level kept on rising people started believing that something this tragic could happen to the Titanic. All in all the memories told in this book, were very helpful in understanding more about what went wrong that night and what people did to try and keep themselves together.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A Night To Remember, to me, seemed that it was all based on facts. There weren't really any characters like a story, more of a telling of what happened the night of the sinking. I think that's what the author was trying to do, though. It would have been a bit more interesting if the book had added some fictional characters to the story and told about their life on board. However, the book had great details about what went on that night. I give it 4 stars.
InTheBookcase More than 1 year ago
This book is a wealth of information. It tells about the sinking of the Titanic as seen and quoted by the real passengers that survived to tell the tale. Some people contradict each other with their stories and this adds to the overall mystery of the Titanic. The only thing I didn't like is that perhaps half a dozen quotes that the author incorporated used mildly inappropriate words. Aside from that this book is great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Titanic has captivated me since I was a child. This book is well written, carefully thought out and put together. It's heartbreaking; yet, the overwhelming compassion and determination of the human spirit shines through.
The_Lady_Likes_To_Read More than 1 year ago
If you are a fan of the true story of the Titanic then this book is for you.  I have read this book many times and have not found it boring.  I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was one of the best
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KatrinaO More than 1 year ago
A non-fiction book on the true events of the sinking and final hours of the Titanic. Well researched and compiled, this may have been the primary basis of other Titanic stories ever made.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A nice feeling that you are there on the Titanic
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book really really good. The reason why I gave it four starts was because there are so many characters meanchened, that it was hard to keep up with them all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago