×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Night to Surrender (Spindle Cove Series #1)
     

A Night to Surrender (Spindle Cove Series #1)

4.2 119
by Tessa Dare
 

See All Formats & Editions

“An engaging love story with strong, believable characters. I can’t wait to read the sequels!”
—Mary Balogh

“Prepare to fall in love.”
—Julia Quinn

Presenting the winner of the Avon FanLit contest, the immensely talented Tessa Dare! Tessa’s first Avon historical romance, A Night to Surrender, is a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Night to Surrender 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 120 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a book you will want to reread! I somehow read the second book first and loved it! Thought this one couldn't be better, was wrong! You will fall in love with spindle cove and all the inhabitants. Loved Bram. Susana and Dinner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy Tessa Dare's writing. It's so refreshing to find romance novels that are well written with enjoyable, consistent characters. Nothing feels rushed or fake. Dare lets her characters develop naturally. This and the next Spindle Cover novel, Once Upon a Winter's Eve, are two of my favorite romance novels.
AAR More than 1 year ago
A NIGHT TO SURRENDER by Tessa Dare is an exciting historical romance set in Spindle Cove,England. Book #1 in the "Spindle Cove" series. It is the story of Spindle Cove,where the ladies are unconventional,the men are in their prime and eagerly brave at times. It has witty banter,romance, sweet sensuality,ladies who are shy,geology hunters,disenchanted wives,easily enchanted with young men,have medical issues or a disfigurement. In "A Night to Surrender" we meet the leader lady of Spindle Cove, Susanna Finch, who is determined to keep this little village free of unruly men.She is fiesty,high spirited,scarred but beautiful.And Victor Bramwell,the new Earl of Rycliff,a wounded war veteran and who is ordered to gather a militia in Spindle Cove.While, Bram is building his militia with a makeshift Army he is also fighting his attraction to Susanna,who is also is father's best friend's daughter.The characters of Spindle Cove will capture your heart.A must read that will have you turning pages,and laughing out loud with their antics.Received for review from Good Reads. Details can be found at Avon,an imprint of Harper Collins Publisher and My Book Addiction Reviews. ***Spindle Cove Christmas novella! Once Upon a Winter's Eve will be released as an e-book on November 15, 2011*** ***COMING IN 2012 A WEEK TO BE WICKED***
EllaGracen More than 1 year ago
Tessa has a flair for wit and spice, and this book doesn't disappoint. I highly recommend all of her books (two previous 3-book historical series and a paranormal e-book), but I think this one was my favorite. I love the premise of Spindle Cove. Definitely looking forward to the next two books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is only my second book from Tessa Dare, but it won't be my last! I just love her writing and her stories are very sweet and had me laughing out loud. She has a way of making her characters jump off the page at you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Tessa Dare! This is a great beginning to a new series about Spindle Cove. Spindle Cove is a place where women go when they are not able, prepared or want to find a husband. Or...they have a husband and want to escape! This is the story about Susanna and Victor. She is a happy spinster and he is the new Earl of Rycliff. Victor is in charge of forming a militia to protect the Spindle Cove area. This story had sexual tension, humor and a budding romance. I look forward to reading the other Spindle Cove books! I originally wrote this review for another e-book website.
SuperBookish More than 1 year ago
Good story line. Very well written. A great summer read.
Acanoffleas More than 1 year ago
Redonk Nutshell: Recovering soldier vows to return to his post but gets sidetracked in a quiet coastal town and the woman who keeps it running It's near impossible to go wrong with Tessa Dare. She's a master at telling stories that are funny, heartfelt, and romantic. It's safe to say that the romance blogging community sighed with rapture when Dare's latest release, A Night to Remember became available at the end of August. I know I was anxious to get my hands on it. Lt. Colonel Victor Bramwell travels to Spindle Cove to enlist the help of renowned firearms specialist Sir Lewis Finch to help him get his post back after recovering from being shot in the knee. What Bram doesn't count on is this: sheep. Oh, and a woman. Particularly the daughter of Lewis Finch, Miss Susanna Finch. Lewis bargains with Bram, challenging him to whip the residents of Spindle Cove into a militia. Upon completing, Lewis will write his letter of recommendation. Bram accepts and is shocked when Lewis bestows the extinct title of Earl of Rycliff to him, fully passing the responsibility of the militia. Irritated with the setback, Bram sets out to enlist local men only to realize that the men available to him are...well...cowed. Spindle Cove has served as a sanctuary to women who never found welcome in the ton, thus earning it's nickname"Spinster's Cove." Susanna has run Spindle Cove for years, helping women like her who never fit in with society's standards. With the arrival of Bram and his ragtag cousin, Colin, and his friend and corporal, Thorne, the quiet town is shaken from its slumber. Quite literally. The three men make a grand entrance on the coattails of a grand explosion of gun powder used to startle a herd of sheep from blocking their path. "The beastly, teasing, handsome sheep-bomber. Who was the man, and what did he want with her father? Hopefully just a polite social call. Though she had to admit, Bramwell didn't seem the tyupe for polite social calls." What really makes this story a gem is the humor and the blossoming attraction between two very hard-headed characters. These two enjoy sparring, constantly challenging the other to think or act in a manner that they had not done so before. It's riveting, especially because these two are both comfortable in their skin and recognize their own imperfections. Bram immediately recognizes Susanna's intelligence and comes to rely on it, while Susanna sees the softer, compassionate interior beneath his strict and hardened military shell. What we get are some pretty intense exchanges, laced with wit and passion: "That's absurd," he scoffed, "You're just begging to be taught a hard, fast lesson in what it means to please a man." "You're just longing to put your head in my lap and feel my fingers in your hair." He backed her up against a rock. "You need a good ravaging." "You," she breathed, "need a hug." They started at each other for long, tense moments. At first, looking each other in the eye. Then looking each other in the lips. "You know what I think?" he said coming closer. So close she could feel his breath wash warm against her cheek. "I think we're having one of those vexing arguments again." "The kind where both sides are right?" "Hell, yes." A Night to Surrender is a wonderfully wicked read. Rating: A Romance: 4/5 Raunch: 4/5
LilyElementBookReviews 4 days ago
A Night to Surrender is book one in the Spindle Cove series. I adore Tessa Dare's books though have to admit that the ones I've read have all been read out of order. I thought I'd backtrack and read them in order and just see how the series goes. This installment was the introduction to Spindle Cove and all about the lady that pretty much runs it. Susanna Finch and the ladies of Spindle Cove are going about their weekly schedule when they hear a loud bang. Susanna goes to investigate when she sees a group of men trying to clear sheep from the road. It doesn't take long before the leader of the men (Victor Bramwell) is titled the Earl of Rycliff and sent on a mission to gather a militia. Susanna and Victor butt heads throughout the novel but the chemistry between the two is there from the start. Susanna's beloved town is changing with Victor's militia and she's wanting Spindle Cove to stay a safe haven for the ladies that are different and need somewhere to stay and be themselves. Victor Bramwell, the new Earl of Rycliff is trying to get his orders to go back into war. He was wounded in the past and still building strength in his injured leg. With the promise that if he forms a successful militia that his desire will come true, he's determined to get the few men that enlist into a cohesive unit. He can't seem to keep his thoughts from Susanna though and I couldn't wait to see how their romance played out. A Night to Surrender is a wonderful start to a series I've come to love. As I mentioned earlier, I've already read several of the books in this series, though out of order. That being said I know you can skip around if you want/need to. Spindle Cove is such an interesting place and the ladies really make the story shine in each book. If you're a fan of Historical Romance and haven't tried this series yet I think you'd love it!
Crazybooknerd 10 months ago
A Night to Surrender by Tessa Dare (Audio Edition) Narrated by Carolyn Morris Spindle Cove, Book 1 3 Stars - I had higher hopes for this book as I have really enjoyed other stories from this author. There were some funny parts, some tender moments and some good banter. However, Bram and Susanna were both stubborn characters and I found it felt like they were at constant odds, and just when they seemed like they might make a go of it.. Some dire drama was put into the story.. I kinda wish they had just let them come to terms without that. The narrator really did help make the story come alive with her many voices and enthusiasm. I have heard there are some really good books in this series, so I am sure I will pick up the next one soon enough!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
B
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Common, it starts with English officers setting off an explosion to move a flock of sheep! Great fun, great dialogue, and great passion. Another good one by Tessa Dare
skelley55 More than 1 year ago
This series by Tessa Dare is set in Spindle Cove - where young ladies who do not "take" in the Ton are sent by their families to regroup. The characters are charming. In this book, our hero is a wounded soldier determined to return to his military position. The only life he has ever known. However, he finds more than he can handle in Spindle Cove.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm doing something with this book that I practically never do - I'm quitting in the middle - just can't take one more page, paragraph or word! HATE it. Shame on you Ms. Dare.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
camaibarb More than 1 year ago
I actually read the third one first and then bought the rest of them. I really liked this one. Bram and Susanna are a delight. Susanna had a lot of things to over come and she did with flare. She was admired and loved by the entire Village of Spindle Cove. Her idea for the village for women was awesome. Bram a flawed hero but came about in the end. I loved him and how he dealt with his issues. All the sub characters were great. I am reading the second in this series now, and have finished the third. Love them all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the most recent book in this series first, because Amazon has it as one of the best romances of the year, and it was a much better book. I liked it so much that i decided to go back and read thru the series. This book was disappointing. The characters were pretty bland, storyline never really caught me, not nearly as funny as Any Duchess Will Do. I'll try the next one in the series and hope for better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago