×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Night Tourist
     

The Night Tourist

4.4 29
by Katherine Marsh
 

See All Formats & Editions

Jack Perdu, a shy, ninth grade classics prodigy lives with father on the Yale University campus. Smart and introverted, Jack spends most of his time alone, his nose buried in a book. But when Jack suffers a near fatal accident, his life is forever changed. His father sends him to a mysterious doctor in New York City--a place Jack hasn't been since his mother died

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Night Tourist 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book. It kept me hanging on with every single word. I was in my schools library and i really just wanted to leave so i grabbed a random book off thw shelf and it turned out to be this one. I read it and loved it. When i saw there was a sequel i immediatly returned to the library an got it. I finished those books in a day!! I definitly reccomend this book to others.
BookWizz More than 1 year ago
This story really catches your attention and tells you a lot about New York's history. The story really keeps you reading, and that's what authors should do. If you get emotional or laugh or show any emotion, you know that you're reading a book written by a great author, such as Katherine Marsh. The Night Tourist has a mixture of fiction and non-fiction in it. I would like to tell you more, but you'll just have to read it for youself!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The writing was great, especially alongside the well researched mythology. It was not only intelligently written, but very easy to follow whether or not you know they mythology. The characters are unique and you suffer along with them. Great book, a must read. I can't wait for the second one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing! It is not too long and is an adventure all the way through! Were so happy there is a sequel coming out soon, plus, a movie!! They are going to be awesome!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Night Tourist is a must-read for sixth, seventh, and eighth graders, their teachers, librarians, reading specialists, and anyone who enjoys excellent young adult fiction. It is the adventure of Jack Perdu, a smart ninth grader who lives with his father on the campus of Yale University. Due to a near-fatal auto accident, his father sends him to Manhattan, a place he hasn't been since his mother's death there eight years earlier, to see an unusual doctor. Later, in Grand Central Station, Jack meets Euri, a peculiar girl who takes him on a search for his mother through New York's ghostly underworld. Much magical action also takes place in the night sky above the modern-day landscape of Manhattan. The Night Tourist is an intelligently crafted work of fiction. Marsh writes with a deep understanding of adolescents. The author is masterful in her development of a bonding friendship between Jack and Euri. At times, the reader will smile or even laugh out loud at the touches of humor and word play. Unexpected plot twists and suspenseful action keep the reader intrigued right up to the last page. A sequel is a must.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was truly impressed with the emotion of the book and how it made me keep reading. All in all this is a great book and i hope everyone checks it out.
olympianartist More than 1 year ago
i love this book!!!! i picked it up on impulse from a sale rack and found it amazing> i thought that it didnt have so much to do with greek myhtology, just, like, a land of ghosts. i was so sad about what happened to euri. ill DEFINITELY look into a sequel!!!
beckaa_boo More than 1 year ago
The Night Tourist, written by Katherine Marsh, was an outstanding book. A boy, set out to meet a mysterious doctor discovers he may be in a more spectacular place then just his mothers resting home. How his mother died? He's just not sure anymore.
Mother-Daughter-Book-Club More than 1 year ago
Jack Perdu, whose last name means lost in French, is a loner, a ninth-grader who is an expert on Greek classics and lives on the Yale University campus with his archeology-professor father. One winter afternoon, while he has his nose in a book, he is nearly killed when a car hits him in a crosswalk. Mysterious things start to happen to Jack after that. He finds a strange man in his father's study¿a man who disappears without a trace from an upstairs window when he spots Jack. Then his father sends him to see a doctor in New York City, a place he hasn't visited since his mother died there eight years before. But while he's waiting for his train to return, he meets a girl named Euri who takes him on an adventure into the mysterious realm of New York's ghostly underworld.

As Jack dodges Cerberus, the three-headed dog who's mission is to eliminate the living from the among the dead, her tries to locate his mom before he has to return to the world of the living or remain permanently in the world of the dead. An interesting twist on the story of Orpheus in Greek mythology, The Night Tourist by Katherine Marsh will have you looking over your shoulder at dusk and paying attention when you feel you're being watched but no one's there. It's morbid subject matter never becomes too dark overwhelming, and it asks questions that are great for group discussion: What happens when you die? Why is it important to treat life as a gift? Why do your family and friends need to know how much you care for them? The ending feels a bit rushed, but the fast wrap-up can provide good possibilities for conversation of what happens to Jack after his adventure.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After escaping death in a serious car accident, Jack Perdu realizes that he is different. He can see and hear ghosts from the underworld. Using his new talent, he decides to search for his deceased mother. During his quest, he befriends a troubled ghost named Euri, and together, they try and solve the mystery of the underworld and those who dwell there.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was one of the best books I have ever read, and is a quick read with a thrilling turn after each amazing chapter. I would recommended this to any person that loves an adventure.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Night Tourist is a great book for all ages. It will keep you on the edge of your seat and not wanting to put it down. I totally recommend it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although, you would find it in the 8-12 year old section, It's a fantastic read for anyone!You never know what will happen next, for example, If Jack has time to reach his mother, and if he even finds her. I love how it is actually short, quick read. Jack doesn't exactly know what he is doing, as long as he finds his mom.Overall a great plot and book!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Night Tourist is a fantastic read for all ages. Young readers and teens [adults too] will love this story. The plot includes unexpected twists and turns, keeping you engaged until the last page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago