×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Nightwalker
     

Nightwalker

3.7 158
by Heather Graham
 

See All Formats & Editions



One night, desperate for money to support her grandfather, Jessy Sparhawk places the bet that will change her life forever. Just as she's collecting her winnings, a man stumbles through the crowd, a knife protruding from his back, and crashes into her, pinning her to the table.

Hired to investigate the murder, private detective Dillon Wolf finds himself

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Nightwalker 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 158 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great entry into the series. Good read on it's own, but better if you know the back stories to the series.
bmamca36 More than 1 year ago
This is the first book that I read by Heather Graham and I look forward to reading more of her work in the future. She had a smooth, enjoyable writing style and this book has a very unique plot. The characters were all very interesting and well developed. The plot was really interesting with the nightwalkers who can see and relate to the dead and the the impact of the current generations had on the past. It was definitely worthwhile reading with its assortment of romance, friendship, family and the supernatural. It is the first e-book that I have read and need to figure out how to archive so I can read again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I actually don't care for the author's style too much but when i saw this book, i read the back and it interested me so i figure i'd give it a shot. From the beginning, it reeled me in. I think it took me only about 2 or 3 days to read. I liked the characters and the plot and all. It's not bad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this author and her writing. I have read all of her books I believe. She keeps the action going and makes a reader just want to keep going and forget everything else. I enjoy writers of the paranormal. I know many people do not believe in the paranormal but I do and to find out different "talents" fascinates me. I don't like the dark writings though so this just suits my taste. I guess it could be said reading is my hobby so it takes a bit to for a reader to keep my interest. I was glad to find this book.
char26 More than 1 year ago
i love heather graham when writing of ghost or powers to be. this book was enjoyable fun to read and overall great. again love figuring out who do it. just figuring out how the book will end. i just loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When reading Heather Grahams books she has a style and plot that is always very similar from book to book. But I love it. She is one of my favorite writers. This was a good book, but I have read better by her. My favorite so far being Haunted.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heather Graham continues her saga of the paranormal with this new book. She brings back characters Nikki DuMonde and Brent Blackhawk to help in the investigation of this new mystery along with characters Jessy Sparhawk and Dillon Wolf. Tanya Eby Sirois and Fred Stella do a great job in the narration of this story.
jjmachshev More than 1 year ago
Reviewed for queuemyreview.com; book release Apr09

¿I see dead people.¿ That line from The Sixth Sense, delivered by that child actor, has become one of the more famous, and infamously parodied, in recent history. It sent chills up my spine when I saw the movie and even now, just remembering gives me the shivers. I¿m not sure what the continuing lure is for stories about ghosts, but it¿s certainly an enduring part of every society and every generation. Heather Graham¿s latest romantic suspense, ¿Nightwalker¿, provides a peek into her take on ghosts and those who can communicate and see them. Luckily for us, they use this power for good.

Jessy is a native of Las Vegas, so she¿s well versed on the odds of winning a bit pot at the craps table; and when it happens to her, she¿s thrilled¿until seconds later a stranger crashes into her and dies¿trapping her under his body and the word ¿indigo¿ uttered with his dying breath. Now all of a sudden, she¿s seeing the dead man everywhere. And the starkly handsome private investigator who dragged the dead body off her is dogging her steps for information¿and maybe just a bit more.

Dillon sees dead people, and that¿s NOT a joke. For him it began after the death of his parents, and he was lucky enough to meet up with a man who understood and nurtured his talent. Now he works for that man with a group of others like him¿the Nightwalkers. They provide assistance for the ghosts, helping them to move on. Dillon is in Vegas working on a case when he spots Jessy at the craps table. Something about her draws him in and it¿s not just her gorgeous looks. Both Dillon and his ghostly pal have a baaad feeling that Jessy¿s in danger as it looks like whoever killed the dead man is doing a little clean-up since everyone who came in close contact with him is dying¿violently.

This story begins in the distant past in a Wild West saloon, and ends a few miles away in Vegas. Most everything in the story has meaning to both the past and the present. I found it fascinating the way Graham¿s plotting pulled in descendants of the original story for the spine-tingling finale. The book is really more of a mystery/suspense with a bit of romance than the other way around, so if this is something that bugs you, consider yourself warned! The hints and clues to the mystery are sprinkled throughout the read and I didn¿t fully figure out `whodunit¿ until the author¿s dénouement.

My only complaint with ¿Nightwalker¿ would be the dearth of back-story development of the main characters. We only get a glimpse into the `whys and wherefores¿ of the whole `seeing ghosts¿ ability. Ditto for anything other than the most cursory exploration of the backgrounds of the hero and heroine. I still enjoyed Heather Graham¿s latest for what it is¿a good mystery, with some action, suspense, and a tinge of romance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVED THIS BOOK!! Well written book by Heather. She nailed all emotions with this one. And what a great plot line.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First time I've read Heather Graham, won't be the last. Good mix of mystery, superstition, and a touch of graphic 'romance'. Ok, so the romance was blah - but Native American ghosts recreating a massacre in order to recover a vein of gold for a tribe that needs the cash? Sure thing. Granted, if the title were "Indigo" I would have read it sooner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the back and expected a mystery and was plesently surprised by the ghosts simple to say it was not what i expected it was better! Its a marvoulse romance thriller that keeps u guessing till the very end!!!!
Pika_ More than 1 year ago
Heather Graham's very great talent is for atmosphere. The people and casinos featured in this Las Vegas/ Southern Nevada contemporary romantic suspense may be fictional but Heather struck a dead ringer for what it's like living and working in Las Vegas. It's downright erie how realistic she gets it. Other authors create series of new worlds that I enjoy suspending reality and slipping into but Heather Graham is one of the few authors I've read who is able to bring in paranormal elements like ghosts and still leave the reader feeling like all the action is taking place in the same world we inhabit today. She's succeeded in that yet again with this novel. I absolutely felt immersed in the action. I might even be glancing out my window just now to see if there's another killer out there! Maybe I'll do some research in the library and try to head out to a real ghost town with my dog one of these weekends! I think you might enjoy this book as well. Maybe it'll inspire you to get out and do some living outside of the pages too, just like it has for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am quickly becoming a Heather Graham follower. I enjoy her books and they always keep me up late reading until I get to the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago