×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ninja: 1,000 Years of the Shadow Warrior
     

Ninja: 1,000 Years of the Shadow Warrior

4.5 28
by John Man
 

See All Formats & Editions

The first major pop history of the Japanese stealth assassins, John Man's Ninja is a meticulously researched, entertaining blend of mythology, anthropology, travelogue, and history of the legendary shadow warriors.

Spies, assassins, saboteurs, and secret agents, Ninja have become the subject of countless legends that continue to enthrall us in modern

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ninja: 1,000 Years of the Shadow Warrior 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Anonymous 22 days ago
THIS is a katana, shell-for-brains.
Anonymous 29 days ago
Sami wants to chat tell her to go the next open res if someone is already at one
Anonymous 29 days ago
"Hello" they said
Anonymous 30 days ago
Can i join the team. I am the master of light.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Medetates, wind swirling his grey robes and dark brown hair.
Anonymous 6 months ago
A Friend. By ZneMasterOfIce739 All I could think was cold, cold, ice and bitter darkness. I looked up and saw that I was in a large ice covered cave. I then saw two glowing blue eyes in the darknees. Suddenly the eyes came flying twords me the owner of the eyes becoming visible; a huge silver and white dragon. It snarrald and berred its teeth. It glared at me than started to come twords me, faster and faster than. I opend my eyes sudden blush light lit up the dim cell I was in. Than suddenly I realised that I did not now who I was or whare l came from. I moaned and brought my head up to stare at a heavy woulden door. " It was only a dream" I said thankfully I felt releved dispite the cool atmousphere "Its amazing that you dream" said a sudden voice " l have always wonderd what it was like" I felt puzzled and I looked up and saw a small barred hole up near the roof, looking into the next cell. " whare am I?" I asked "who are you?" "I- I'm Pixal" said the voice sounding worred "a friend"
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please stop posting in rps ~Moonstar,Nightcloud Galaxy moon mosswisker silver paw and silvermist)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want to be ninja
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good book by some standards. A little slow. Still a good book for anyone interestested in history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im the real zixzan not the imposter
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Greetings
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Yes. My parents were ninja. But I didn't know until I was fourteen. Even then, I wasn't exactly the best ninja, either." I finish that sentence in time to see the girl in the back- big, green eyes, straight brown hair down to her hips- shyly raise her hand. I was at Sensei Darius' Dojo, giving my normal speech, the one more about my life and past than ninja and self-defense. "Yes, you have a question?" She nods. It's funny how much she looks like my uncle and my mom. "Grace, ma'am, erm..." I could see my cousin Esme now, the shyness and beauty. "So, do you have any moves to teach us? Or, at least tell us the important moves you did in the most defining moments of your life?" I gave her a soft smile, noting that, despite her quietness, another person, a young boy about her age, was sitting right next to her. "Well, my defining moments are mainly about family and friends. But when I met my husband at age fourteen, I was actually doing the army crawl. Through a vent." She gave a wan smile, nodded firmly once, then looked back down, her hoodie pulled over her hair, fingering something in her pocket. ~-~ "So, I think you did a great job, and you actually got Trystan to say more than she usually does. I declare it a success." Evan, the student teacher, stated. I shook my head. "Wait a second. Trystan, she's the girl in the back, right?" He nods. "May I talk to her privately, really quickly?" Of course, I had all the time in the world. But Grant would be sort of worrying. We live all the way across New Ninjago City from here. This is sort of the slum of the city. I wish it were different. He nods again, and calls up the stairs. "Tryst!" She slowly descends the stairs, nodding to both of us. Then she follows me as I enter the main room, taking the window seat facing the park. "Hey. I just wanted to say that I am proud of how you braved asking that question to a stranger. I kind of gather that you're not a people person." She nods. "I guess you're kinda my idol, Grace. I can't even stand my family. That's why I ran away. But you stand all of your cousins, your aunts and uncles, your parents, and found your other family. And manage to keep your sanity for public and for your own husband and kids." I gave her another light smile. "That's me. And you're you. Do you get that?" She nodded. I didn't care that she'd just called me her idol. I wanted to help this girl in any way I could. She reached into her pocket again, pulling out whatever she was fingering. A locket. It was golden, the heart with a pink bow above it. She clicked it open. "This is my family. Ma gave it to me when I was little. This is me, and that's my grandma, who I apparently look like." I studied it before I gave a gasp. The face belonged to my daughter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
o--|============> um rate this 1-5 thanks - thuggninja144
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
O====|::::::::::::::::::::::::::/ T_T
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Meh, not helping. Oh, um, Sunsetpaw is kitting at camp. That's where she is. And I'm not going to be at camp for it...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Helo im new...... im also looking fer a mate
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sighs
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS IS MY KATANA BLADE!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You little B#$%& i dont know who you think your talking too but mabe you should get your facts straight and think because zixans BROTHER was using his name you stupid skank!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Waks in. Is so stealthy that even Ninjastar doen't notice him come in. Stands in a corner and says, "Greetings."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Go to reunion res 2. We have kat celestia and rissencrest
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
U on?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bye