×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The No-Cry Potty Training Solution: Gentle Ways to Help Your Child Say Good-Bye to Diapers
     

The No-Cry Potty Training Solution: Gentle Ways to Help Your Child Say Good-Bye to Diapers

4.0 23
by Elizabeth Pantley
 

See All Formats & Editions

Say good-bye to diapers and hello to fast, effective potty training, from the parenting author millions trust

Potty training your child doesn't have to be a stressful experience. Parenting authority Elizabeth Pantley helps your child get on the road to bathroom independence without frustration, confusion, or tears.

Elizabeth Pantley's easy no-cry solution will

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The No-Cry Potty Training Solution: Gentle Ways to Help Your Child Say Good-Bye to Diapers 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a working mom of 2 kids, ages 4 and 2. When we were potty training our eldest child, it was a nightmare. It seemed like I did everything wrong. There were arguments and it got to the point where she was refusing to sit on the potty. Shortly after our son was born, she started peeing on the potty all on her own and I was pleased but then it took almost a year before she would have a pooh on the potty. (It was the not pooping on the potty which led me to buy The No Cry Potty Training Solution, because I was convinced it would never happen.) Well of course, she eventually started to poop on the potty and all is well now. So the real story starts with my son. After reading your book, I realized, I started too early with my daughter. I tried to force the issue and everything got really ugly. (Partly, I blame my mom for this who still rambles on about how when I was a toddler, if children weren't trained by age 2, there was something wrong with 1. The child or 2. The parent. And I didn't know any different.) So when it came time to train my son, I decided to read this book from start to finish before I even got started. This really enforced why things had gone so badly with my daughter. After doing the quiz, I knew he was pretty much ready. I reminded myself of the 2 most important things: the patience of the teacher and the attitude of the teacher. What a completely different experience it was. 1. I didn't even start training him until he was 31 months. 2. I was completely laid back about the whole thing and had a positive attitude. Within a week of talking about it, and a little bribery with a sticker chart and jelly beans. (1 for sitting on the potty, 2 if he peed.) and he was trained. One Saturday he peed on the potty for the first time and by Monday, he was heading down to the potty without telling anyone and going pee by himself. I was in disbelief. I truly think it was because of this book. He still asks for a diaper for his poops, but I'm not worried, I know this will come eventually. He's only been trained for 3 weeks now. I just wanted to thank Elizabeth and let others know that I really felt her book helped me get through this experience so much more painlessly than the first time. And although I'll continue to hear my mother repeat her stories about how my sister was trained by 15 months and I was trained by 18 months bla bla bla. I will know deep down, I did things the right way this time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is ok but not great. Common sense advice, nothing ground breaking.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a first time mother of a two year old son who is gearing up for potty training. I was all ready to take vacation time, invest in the potty training supplies, and get him trained in a weekend. This book alleviated so much stress and is making the "process" enjoyable. What I learned is there is no magic deadline; I do not have to be concerned with how old so and so was when they were out of diapers, etc. The quiz revealed my son is not quite ready. We are taking it slow and having fun learning together.
Gayl More than 1 year ago
The No-Cry Potty Training Solution is a must read for parents who are getting ready to undergo potty training with a little one or who have been working on potty training unsuccessfully. I potty trained my first child "by the seat of my pants" not really knowing what to do. We were eventually successful, but it took much longer than it probably should have and was a frustrating process. This book focuses on the parents and what we should do to facilitate this process for our child. If we are getting frustrated, then we need to look at what we are doing rather than what our child is doing. The author begins with a quiz for parents to assess both their readiness and their child's to begin potty training. Again, the importance of the parents in this process in emphasized. The author gives lots of great tips on encouraging one's child and making potty training a fun, learning experience as well as encouragement for parents. As a believer in attachment parenting, I love that the No-Cry approach is fully in-line with my parenting. My husband is reading the book now as we begin potty training with our two year old. I strongly recommend this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The No-Cry Potty Training Solution book is just amazing!! If you are a parent who is starting the process of potty training, OR going to be starting the potty training in the future, you will NEED this book. I have read a couple of books about potty training, that had some ideas here and there, but this book has ALL of the ideas and assistance in one very easy to understand book. During my potty training of my daughter, I had some stress and no patience. After reading this book I realized that I needed to control my patience, and once I did and had the correct tools it did not take long at all for my daughter to succeed, and with few accidents. Elizabeth Pantley gives you creative ideas to help along the potty process, my favorite (and my daughters) was a box of wrapped little presents (i.e., play dough, crayons, coloring book) and whenever my daughter used the potty she got a gift. She loved that positive reinforcement!! Another great thing in the book is a quiz about Potty Readiness that you can take from the beginning to see where your child is on the potty training. From a mother of 2 with 1 successful potty trained daughter, and a son who will be starting within the next year, I highly recommend The No-Cry Potty Solution book from Elizabeth Pantley to all the moms and dads who are getting ready to start the potty training and even for the expecting moms to have something GOOD to look forward too. Mother of 2
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My daughter is 18 and still poops her pants!
EmilyR1 More than 1 year ago
Totally in love with this book! Such a nice easy read. I felt like I had a goal plan very quickly. I knew this would be the book that I used because I had amazing success with "the no-cry sleeping solution" book! Fantastic job once again! You nail it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The reviews made this sound like an all around helpful book to get us started. Not really. Given, I am a pediatrician so I know more than average but I've never potty trained a child before so being a pediatrician is useless in this regard. The book has good tips, especially if you are pushing hard and your kid is refusing, on how to settle it down and keep it low key. But it mostly covers what to think about when starting and gives very little info on what to actually DO after you start. We have chosen a pretty low-pressure system with our spirited, strong-willed 32 month old boy and give a jellybean when he sits and more jelly beans if he goes (which he hasn't). But beyond that the book just tells me to be patient and don't make a big deal out of it or intimidate him. These things I knew already. So we are doing the exact same thing we were doing before this book. Waiting till he shows me he can handle more aggressive training. And that's all she wrote.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MHub More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I have purchased on potty training, and after reading it, I feel confident it will be the only one I will ever need. Although I am in the very early stages of potty training my daughter, I feel the book covered all of the basic information that I need to get started, and also covered numerous additional topics I would have never even thought of when it comes to potty training. Two features I really like about this book are the Quick Guide at the beginning of the book, and the Readiness Quiz. The Quick Guide gives a great brief overview of the entire potty training process. The Readiness Quiz helps you determine if your child is ready to begin potty training or not. There are numerous factors to take into account to help determine if your child is ready or not - not simply that you as the parent are ready to start the training process. The book provides numerous excellent and creative ideas for working through the potty training process. I like that there is such a wide range of ideas, so that if one idea doesn't work for you, there are many other ideas to try. There is also a great section at the end of the book with many common questions about everyday issues parents may face during the potty training process. Finally, I really like that Pantley included a bathroom safety and childproofing checklist at the end of the book. When I first realized that potty training was looming in the near future, I was quite apprehensive about it, and didn't know exactly where to start. But after reading Pantley's book, I feel far more relaxed and confident about the whole process. We've been taking the training slowly, at our daughter's pace, and so far it has been quite relaxed, and even fun, which I never expected!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Confident More than 1 year ago
I purchased Elizabeth Pantley's book when my first child Matthew was 2 yrs old and ready to be potty trained. I really like Elizabeth's book because she shows you signs of readiness to be potty trained. The book also covers parents questions and concerns. She has many different approaches that may work for your child. And great introduction strategies. This book helps give you confidence as well as your child. Now I have a daughter who is just about to be two and by using Elizabeth's strategies, she is enjoying her potty training experience. Thank You, Elizabeth for giving mom's like me the knowledge and confidence to introduce potty training in a positive way!
Caroline_Mom_To_Many More than 1 year ago
After reading this book and taking the quiz I knew my daughter wasn't ready yet... She had just turned 3 years old... However when she was ready I knew and could help out where she needed me too... She will be 4 in a few months... There have a been a few bumps along the way but no tears from me or her... ::grin:: I couldn't recommend a better book (I've read a dozen or so)...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Easy to read with clear ideas on how to positively support your toddler(s) through what can sometimes be a challenging step. Elizabeth addresses topics parents really need to know about, e.g. constipation and bed wetting. A must-have reference for every parent's library.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Elizabeth Pantley¿s No Cry Potty Training Solution is one amazing book. She knows exactly what a parent needs to succeed in teaching their toddler to use the potty. I have twin boys and I never thought I would be able to get them to stop peeing on the floor and into a potty. Elizabeth¿s book helped me do that. The one thing that I like best about the book is that Elizabeth has real families telling their potty problems. Wow!!! I¿m not alone, real people, real problems but with Elizabeth¿s help, a real solution. That is what I love about the No Cry Potty Training Solution. It is easy to follow and the quick reference guides are wonderful. Most importantly, Elizabeth eloquently describes that you don¿t have to follow a set standard on how or when you should potty train. She simply states that it is ok to follow your child¿s cues and do what works best for you and your family. Only you know your child best. I however, think that Elizabeth knows every child best. I recommend that if you are even thinking about potty training¿look no further, run out and get this book right away. I promise you won¿t be able to put it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was having the toughest time training my 3 year old daughter. This book helped us problem solve and work through her fears and apprehension and offer fun filled tips to say by bye to pull-ups. In just a few weeks, she mastered the skills and now wears her pull ups only at sleep time.