×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

No, David!
  • Alternative view 1 of No, David!
  • Alternative view 2 of No, David!
  • Alternative view 3 of No, David!
<Previous >Next
     

No, David!

4.7 65
by David Shannon
 

See All Formats & Editions


When David Shannon was five years old, he wrote and illustrated his first book. On every page were these words: NO, DAVID! . . . and a picture of David doing things he was not supposed to do.
Now David is all grown up. But some things never change. . . .

Over fifteen years after its initial publication, NO, DAVID! remains a perennial household favorite,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

No, David 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
wynnapooh 7 months ago
The David books were my twins' favorite books. We even said, "That is David!" when inappropriate things happened. David Goes to School was also a great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought that this book did a wonderful job of addressing behavior problems at a young age. David has trouble finding things to do that are not going to get him in trouble, so his mother is often telling him &quot;No,David!&quot; David reminds me of my siblings. 7 of them have special needs and are often doing or saying things that they should not. It is difficult for my mom to keep herself from just repeating &quot;no!&quot; to them. I think that children like this book because they can relate to David. No matter what stage of life a child is in, they will, at some point, feel as if they are constrained by people telling them &quot;no&quot;. It is important for children to know that this guidance is for their own good. A child needs to understand that sometimes adults make mistakes as well. This book does a great job of showing a child how they are similar to David, and hopefully it will help them see why adults sometimes get frustrated with them. A key lesson that needs to be taught when reading this book to your child or student, is that correction is not always a bad thing, and regardless of how many times they cause trouble, you are still there to help and love them.   
FunFiction More than 1 year ago
Excellent book--I keep hearing the word &quot;No&quot; echo in my head.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is must for any child's collection.. show's no matter how much a child is told no they are still loved.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must have! Both for little boys and girls. Although there are not many words to the story, little ones are totally entertained by the bright, funny illustrations. Expect a bunch of giggles!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
liznicknes More than 1 year ago
Got this book for my 5 year old son for Christmas and it has been his favorite book ever since. He has already memorized it and it has sparked his interested in wanting to read. Thank you for recommending it B&amp;N!
Shanella More than 1 year ago
How many ways can you say, ¿No!¿ to a toddler? This book shows you a few, and then some. This endearing little book is great for parents and children to read together. The images are amusing and the story touches on something that parents and kids will always share, the word, no.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is my two year old exactly! He loves it! Mainly because he can relate to everything that David gets in to!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book makes a great gift for a 3-5 year old boy. Grandparents can get a lot of mileage out of this story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
nileriver More than 1 year ago
No.David ! is a Caldecott award winning book that kids would love because it takes you on a funny zany adventure of a young boy who gets into chaos around his house getting into trouble with his mom by doing crazy things , and touching stuff that he know he shouldnt be doing . He makes the reader feel that they are in his crazy world getting into mischeif with him !!! So i highly recomend this book to kids to read because they will just love it and want to read more david books !!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sammark More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for my grandsons, ages 2 and 5. They love it and want it read over and over. It teaches such a wonderful lesson. The lesson that no matter what you do, Mom will always love you!
SHELLI28 More than 1 year ago
Every night he wants to read this book! He LOVES it and laughs every time. Very easy read! It's a good one to share a laugh with your 2, 3, or 4 year old sons....they think David's pretty funny and they see themselves in David so it's just a fun book to read and have a little laugh with your kids type of a book. =)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whatever410 More than 1 year ago
My daughter started reading the "No, David" series of books at school. When she started quoting the book at home, I decided to buy one for our home library. She asks to read this book at least once a day. We use David's bad behavior as a way to teach our daughter lessons we want her to remember: chew your food, no coloring on the walls, etc...
aebonham More than 1 year ago
My six year old nephew found this book at the public library. He loved it so much that he read it over and over in the back of the car on the way home. The text of the story is short enough that a beginning reader can read it independently, but it also makes a great story time book that an adult can read to a child. The story is about a small boy who seems to get into trouble constantly, but despite all of the scolding he gets from parents, teachers, etc., the message reinforced here is that he is still loved and that he is in many ways a very typical little boy. The design of the book and its illustrations are superb and work together with the text to deliver a wonderful story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My son's teacher was reading this to him at daycare and he LOVES this book! I had to buy it for him and now we read it all the time. It is a very cute and touching book and is just right for little boys who have the knacj for getting into trouble. Great book to read out loud and for kids to interact with.