×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

No Greater Ally: The Untold Story of Poland's Forces in World War II
     

No Greater Ally: The Untold Story of Poland's Forces in World War II

4.9 7
by Kenneth K. Koskodan
 

See All Formats & Editions

There is a chapter of World War 2 history that remains largely untold: the story of the fourth largest Allied military of the war, and the only nation to have fought in the battles of Leningrad, Arnhem, Tobruk and Normandy. This is the story of the Polish forces during the Second World War, the story of millions of young men and women who gave everything for

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

No Greater Ally: The Untold Story of Poland's Forces in World War II 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
gandalf1369 More than 1 year ago
An extremely well written book about the exploits of the Polish Armed Forces during World War II. Covers the beginnings of the war up through the final German surrender. A must read for all history buffs and those interested in learning more about the pivotal role that the Polish people played in helping to defeat the Nazis.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Doesn't get better than this if you are into WW II history ...RjP
In-Quest More than 1 year ago
Good coverage of the efforts of the Polish armed forces in WWII. Their efforts have often been forgotten or over looked by many histories of WWII. Nice to read they have not been totally forgotten. Thanks to the author for his efforts on their behalf.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Peave More than 1 year ago
The Poles have always been a breed that got flack because of the stereotype of being "not the brightest bulbs". As a Pole myself, I can speak from experience of that. This book shows just what we (Poles) are really made of and are capable of. The book describes the struggle and strife, the sacrifice and devotion, the horror and over comings that the Polish people had to go through and deal with. Not being just a normal high school lecture like you'd find in a textbook, this has real people giving information about the things that went on in the those times who survived. I cant speak for everyone else in the world but it surely makes me proud to be Polish after reading this book. There's more to Pole's then just the stereotype and a million jokes about them, not saying their not funny.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Swiderek More than 1 year ago
"Mea culpa, mea culpa, mea maxima culpa!" For a cast-off nation that endured so much hardship, we, the United States, owe the Poles so much more than they, and we, know. Truly this is a long overdue "history" that is worth reading for it dispels, in no uncertain terms, the major part Poland played in winning the European War. But it is a "history" that never should have been written if our President, FDR, and the U.K.'s Prime Minister, Churchill, were more vigilant, caring, and not intimidated by one bullying, "Red Bear". This one, "nearly" land-locked nation fought a two-front war by "themselves" for 6 weeks, against Hitler's western Nazis and Stalin's eastern communists, when Britain and France vacillated and did nothing for 9 months by, reneging, on their word. For the Brits to arm on 8/23/39, 8 days before Poland was attacked and WW2 started, and tell the Poles --- NOT --- to arm against the Nazi menace on 8/30/39, or 2 days before Hitler's forces struck on September 1, 1939 is sure hypocrisy. No other word will do. One can only wonder why. Time and time again Poland's 3 main allies, the U.S., Britain, and Russia deserted her and ignored her pleas. Why? I was shocked to learn that France and western Europe, backed by the British and French armies, when Poland had no such support, had "capitulated" to Hitler in less time than it took for Poland to fall to the Nazis. If Britain and France had lived up to their alliances and their "false" promises in September 1939, especially France, than Hitler may have been stopped and WW2 over by Christmas 1939 and 50,000,000 lives may not have perished. These vanquished people, the Poles, helped other European peoples win this war, and then those nations turned their backs on Poland. How can we, in a free world, live with ourselves when we see what little, America and the United Kingdom, did to help these people? FDR, in his grave, should be ashamed of how he bent over to "Uncle Joe Stalin" and caved in to this communist, who twisted words. On every front these impoverished people, the Poles, fought with valor, bravery, and dignity. So how could we, in the Land of the Free, have turned our backs on "No Greater Ally" in keeping us "free" while they were not? And in so doing, they lost so much of their land, and their freedom without any say for 50 years. We, in America and Britain, should be embarrassed and ashamed of what little our predecessors did to acknowledge those who fought and died to cast this Nazi and, then, Soviet menace aside. And I know I am, and I am sorrowed, yet "proud" the true story of Poland's great contribution to assuring that victory is finally being told. This is a book that should be compulsive reading for every person who lives in a free country to --- never forget --- how much the Poles did when called upon, and what little we, Americans and the Brits, did for them in turn. I'm proud of these people, yet also very ashamed for they were our "best" ally in this war. The Poles untiringly gave "all". Can "we" (American, Brit, French, and Russian) say the same? "Sto Lat, Polska! Sto Lat Polska! Sto Lat, Polska!"