×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

No Higher Honor: A Memoir of My Years in Washington
     

No Higher Honor: A Memoir of My Years in Washington

3.9 58
by Condoleezza Rice
 

See All Formats & Editions

From one of the world's most admired women, this is former National Security Advisor and Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice's compelling story of eight years serving at the highest levels of government. In her position as America's chief diplomat, Rice traveled almost continuously around the globe, seeking common ground among sometimes bitter enemies, forging

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

No Higher Honor: A Memoir of My Years in Washington 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 58 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dr. Rice writes candidly about her tenure with the Bush administration, explaining policy and admitting mistakes. The nicest thing about this book is that she stays away from the score settling with which so many political insider books are filled.
Joyachiever More than 1 year ago
Condoleeza Rice eloquently tells her side of the story surrounding various policy-making decisions in the book “No Higher Honor”. I am a former active duty navy veteran who plans on rejoining the military via a part-time component between the time period of December 2012-February 2013 (shaped by my intent to permanently live in the D.C. area). This influences me to feel a responsibility of learning what I can about politics the longer I reside here. Reading about some of the difficult decisions she faced going into the Iraq and Afghanistan conflicts gave me further insight on what indirectly happens in all of the military branches (in terms of the aftermath regarding the military surges, manpower goals etc.). The following are some of the vivid points made in her memoir: Pages 1-12: Dr. Rice describes her first meeting with George W.Bush, and shares why she admires Dean Acheson. A heartwarming moment is illuminated during the discussion of encouragement from her father (John Wesley Rice Jr.). With joyful sentiment, she shares how John Wesley Rice Jr. inspired her achievements. Tragically, he passed away during the Christmas Eve of 1999 (before the beginning of her tenure as George W. Bush’s national security advisor). Page 61: Condoleeza Rice’s first meeting with Vladimir Putin is mentioned. On page 85 she candidly tells her discovery that Osama Bin Laden had fought for the Soviet Anti-Resistance. Page 116-117 discloses the essential capture of Abu Zubaydah. It is listed that Abu Zubaydah was the mastermind behind the al Qaeda guide on holding the line against interrogation techniques. Page 118 features information on the capture of Khalid Sheikh Mohammed. Mr. Mohammed was said to have bragged about being Daniel Pearl’s executioner. For those who might not have heard of the original story, Condoleeza Rice mentions that Daniel Pearl was a Stanford graduate and journalist who was kidnapped in Pakistan and killed in 2002. Dr. Rice also notes the emotional challenge of being chosen as the one who had to break the news to Mariane Pearl (Daniel Pearl’s widow). Page 208 (Ouch!): Vice President Dick Cheney had invited some of his close buddies to a party that commemorated the freedom of Iraq. Scooter Libby and Paul Wolfowitz are a couple of the names that were invited. Apparently, Vice President Dick Cheney excluded both Colin Powell and Condoleeza Rice from his list of people to invite for the gathering. Many more informative details feature in this book. “No Higher Honor” by Condoleeza Rice is best for the open-minded who want to increase their political understanding on what can drive a high level policymaker.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author gives a very perceptive, personal insight in her role as a national security advisor and secretary of state. Her 24/7 dedication to the the President and to the nation is really remarkable. We should be grateful to her for doing her share in protecting us in the tumultuous times after 9/11.This book should be a must-read for all of those who are critical of government employees in high positions.
Howard-R More than 1 year ago
Dr. Rice has packed a lot into her young life and this memoir reflects that. She does a great job of describing her encounters both as President Bush's National Security Advisor and later, Secretary of State. She has clearly groomed herself for the roles she had. Her dealings with leaders all over the world and the many issues they negotiated over her 8+ years in office are well presented. It is her presentation of current history and may read as a little self-serving in instances. I think this is subjective, however. There is a lot to read. I have read President Bush's, Don Rumsfeld's, and Vice President Cheney's books and they were interesting reads. Condi's book gets into more detail about people, policy, and issues than any of the other three.
Mike-in-Ala More than 1 year ago
Excellent book, Ms. Rice is a very smart lady and an excellent writer. I enjoyed her perspective tremendously.
SuperDuperNY More than 1 year ago
Terrific Read
Anonymous 19 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wish she would ran for President
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wilVD More than 1 year ago
As an American and moderate Republican I wanted get a better understanding of the decisions made by the Bush 'White House". I was not only disappointed but concerned that Pres. Bush seemed to not be concerned with the factions in his staff.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AndyLaurel More than 1 year ago
Condoleeza Rice provides depth and character thru grace that reflects the true American spirit of her contribution to U.S. government and her uplifting personal panoramic life. Many an American will contribute their life to literature though Ms. Rice will forever uphold what is right and spiritual in an ever growing ehthical world she helped build with her country, proudly delineated in her biography.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago