×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

No More Dead Dogs
     

No More Dead Dogs

4.4 60
by Gordon Korman
 

See All Formats & Editions

Eighth-grade football hero Wallace Wallace is sentenced to detention attending rehearsals of the school play. He becomes wrapped up in the production and begins to suggest changes that improve not only the play but his life as well.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

No More Dead Dogs 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 60 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I picked it out at the library at school, I didn't realize how much I would like it! And I agree with Wallace, in all the books I've read that had a dog as the main character dies. I read the book in two days (mostly because it was time for bed). I actually liked Wallace's honesty about everything. And the ending was what I thought it would be (in a way). I my self didn't realize/guess (blank) was the one who was sabotaging the play. I would DEFIANTLY recommend this book to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was awesome! It had a fun, spunky twist to it that keeps you on the edge of your seat. The plot was exciting and suspenseful. This book is a definite read!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A one sitting book for anyone who wants to read it, No More Dead Dogs is a book that will have you laughing your head off as you read it. When Wallace Wallace gets in detention for writing a truthful, but cruel book report on Old Shep, My Pal, he is immidiately kicked off the football team until he rewrites his report. Because he truly hated the book and refuses to lie about how he felt about it, he is stuck in detention watching the drama club prepare for a play of the book he is supposed to write a book on! While still refusing to write the book report, he gives the drama club tips on how to improve their play, and also succeeds on driving his teacher and one of the actors, Rachel, crazy. Suddenly, crazy tricks start happening and Wallace is blamed for them. After finally being banished from the opening night of an extremely different play, he sneaks in when he realizes that there would be a trick done to ruin the play. The drama club members realize what an impact Wallace made on their play and his parting words when he left the play rehersal for the last time 'Old Shep shouldn't die.' They put a plan into action, changing the play so that Old Shep lives but the trickster planted a smoke bomb on 'Old Shep' and Wallace barely manages to save the play and figure out that his true friends were on the drama team, and not the football team. The trickster is caught, and the book finishes with a brilliant and successful yet different play.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Okay, so when I was in fourth or fifth grade, we had a book fair. I had no idea what books were good and what books weren't, but I specifically remember choosing No More Dead Dogs because I liked the title so much! Later, I read the book, and found out that I enjoyed it very much and was in love with it. Ever since then, I've read it about five times, and I plan on reading it again! I recommend this book to everyone... it changed my life!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting, my daughter loved this book. She read it and it kept her interested.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't say that this book was the best book I've read but it is a very good book. If you are looking for a book that you don't have to think about and you can laugh at, this story is for you. The plot is very simple. The characters are all have a very distinct personality and the story is just plain funny. No, it won't be that one special book that you hold close to your heart, but it will be one you remember.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wallace Wallace is that type of person who no one understands. The fans think he¿s a hero, but he and most of his teammates think that it was a lucky catch (that made them win the championship foot ball game). Anyway, I love this book and I think whoever reads this book next will give it 2 thumbs up I know I would. Well, I hope you take note of what I just said and buy this book or please just rent it. Thank you. = )
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Did Wallace do it? I idk
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How does one not like this book?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
HELP ANIMALS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
all i can say it is just awesome =awe
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is hilarious! I've read Everest by Gordon Korman and he almost made me fall over! The exact same thing happened in this book. I just think the ending should end when Wallace makes an even more spetacular touch down than the last season and Rachel is cheering madly. But over all, it is a fantastic book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I was in 6th grade,(now in 9th), I loved this book. I read it in language arts for 'readers stuido.' This is one of these books that I could not put down. I recommend this book for everyone who enjoys a good laugh.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the funniest book I've ever read! I told my mother last night as we left the library that I was going to check it out until she buys it for me! Now that is commitment to a book, and why not? It's cleverly written, and the dog doesn't die! Well, sort of.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was great book! I read this book bcuz i had 2 read 2 books 4 my book report ova the summer.. I luved the book and i could not believe how well the writer explained the book in details and everything..I mean but the fact that somebody had never lied in their life that was a little hard 2 believe! Overall it was a good book it shows the life of a middle schooler and how he goes through evryday life! I luved it! The book was AWESOME!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are a 13-year-old and want to read something other than, the boring; could care less about books @ school. Pick this book up @ Barnes & Noble. Trust me it's worth it. The first two pages get you. Actually makes you stop to laugh, that's how great it is.
Anonymous 6 months ago
It's funny and interesting and also sometimes just ewww.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I Sad I am a dog lover OMG
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SecretRin More than 1 year ago
Okay, so, how many times do I have to say that I completely agree? I am like one of the biggest Gordon Korman fans (more of his modern books and not the older ones) and I love that name, Cavanaugh, how awesome! I can't picture him though! And I love that name, Wallace Wallace, how funny, I mean seriously! I want to write books, but whenever I read books like these, I get WAY too jealous. Lets see, I'll answer these writing tips. I read this when I was like in 3rd,4th,or 5th grade, but I have been told that I am an old soul (whatever THAT means...) so I guess that it is a good book for kids, but not too young, because it does have some very, super, duper mild language (just 'cuz I don't like language like, well not like anything bad to anyone else, but like, its bad for me I guess,) I don't know if they learn anything in this book other than to stick with what you think is right. You can make a change no matter what people say, and no matter what they put you through. Then again I do tend to find deep meanings in things 'cuz I like to over think many things (maybe thats what they meant?) Anyway, I'm not a parent, but no I don't reccommend a parent to read this unless they want to, I mean many parents can enjoy Gordon Korman. Good job Gordon Korman on another good read. =) =) =) =) =) =) =) =) =) =)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tatally awsome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago