×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

No True Glory: A Frontline Account of the Battle for Fallujah
     

No True Glory: A Frontline Account of the Battle for Fallujah

4.4 35
by Bing West
 

See All Formats & Editions

"This is the face of war as only those who have fought it can describe it."–Senator John McCain

Fallujah: Iraq’s most dangerous city unexpectedly emerged as the major battleground of the Iraqi insurgency. For twenty months, one American battalion after another tried to quell the violence, culminating in a bloody, full-scale assault.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

No True Glory 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I recently got a copy of this book. My son was in the Marines. He was in that fight in Fallujah, He was wounded on April 26 2004. He lost his arm and had other injuries. He is blessed to be alive. He won't say he is lucky he says God brought him home. I am so glad someone wrote this book It was a living hell for my son but I am so happy he got to come home.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Hard, cold, honest and heartwrenching narrative about the war in Iraq and, in particular, the fighting that took place in the city of Fallujah, and the United States Marines who fought and died there. If your basic understanding of the war comes to you via the morning newspaper or the six o'clock evening news, reading No True Glory will bring you a much needed dose of reality. It is a terrible tale of the honor, courage, sacrific and brotherhood of U.S. Marines that can only be told by another Marine. Bing West does this admirably, with style, grace, and clarity. It is beautifully and accurately written by one who knows his way around a battlefield. Buy it. Read it. And go thank a Marine for what he or she has done for you lately.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story, though not as extremeley complex in its description of events as let's say 'ChickenHawk' or 'Black Hawk Down' ever was, but the tales of the men who died were heartwrenching. Despite the brief detail, it was just so sad to realize that men and women alike die everyday for people they never know. I highly recommend that you read this book. It is guaranteed to enlighten you on the horrors of the Iraqi War. It certainly did for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is good because it is base on a true story. My dad is in the army. He got deployed in febuary to afghganastan. He is the best dad i ever had. He is a true hero. My dad is strong and works really hard. He buys me and my brother toys,food,books,board games,and all that good stuff. My dads father use to be in the united states marine corps. We call him big daddy. My dad keeps us really safe. He gives us shelter and all the other good stuff that keeps us alive. My dad is always there for me. He is always there for me when i need him. We do lots of fun stuff. Me,my mom,my brother,and my dad goes geocashing. Me and my brother call it treasure hunting. I miss you dad love you and i hope days go past fast because i really want to go back to geocashing and i am helping my mom out. My back hurts from lifting heavy stuff. I hope you face time us. My nook goes to my dad email so if say anything bad about me think again. My dad will get over here real quick and beat you up from afghaganastan. Love you dad. Love tyler caffrey
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a former Marine I read this book with great interest. No added bravado or BS. Just Marines doing the job. It also shows how stupid civilian leadership can be. Marines are not political pawns. We are for one thing. To close with and destroy the enemy. Nothing else.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book gives readers a very good idea of what it was like. The city of Kharma was still home to insurgents in 2007, and the city of Fallujah wa vastly different when visited in 2005 and 2007. It helps the public understand the sacrifice tha we paid for our duty to country, but more importantly, for each other.
ski00m More than 1 year ago
In No True Glory, Bing West shows us what the soldiers and Marines went through in the battles for Fallujah and how the triumphed. No True Glory is a well researched and a touching story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be very captivating. The author definitely did his research. I would highly recommend this book for a first hand account of the Fallujah fight.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A gripping account of what a real dog fight our soldiers were in and I was amazed at their devotion to duty and each other. It was probably the best account I've read of what an up close and personal urban battle is like.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a former marine and someone with a degree in Military History, I found 'No True Glory' to be a very well written book. The author truly covers the incidents at Fallujah, from Washington to the local sheiks, very well. As history books go, this one rates very highly in my mind. The book contains some great info on what was going on in Fallujah between the local leaders and the Marine commanders, months before the battle took place. I found it really comforting to know that there are so many Iraqis that want to help us out in removing the terrorists. The only reason why I cannot give this book 5 stars is that the real battle of Fallujah takes place during the last 50 pages of the book. While these last 50 pages are worth the wait, I was hoping for a little more. Stories in the last 50 pages, like ¿the House from Hell¿, read like the scenes from 'BlackHawk Down' and it is very hard to put the book down. I just wished that there was more of that in the book. So, just as a quick review...Awesome history book that details the whole picture of what went on from Washington to the dirt alleys in Fallujah but could have had more marines' remembrances.
MommyOfMunch More than 1 year ago
This was a frontline account of the battle for Fallujah. I had a friend there during this time and he mentioned this book, so I read it. I'm pleased to say that I understand better the conflict that occurred there. It was very frustrating to read how over and over again the Marines were practically sacrificed for the sake of politics. There was dialogue from the soldiers, descriptions of their battles, and a glimpse into their lives as they waited for orders to take Fallujah or to fall back. I feel more educated having read this book, and of course, feel immense pride in our armed forces.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book examines in detail the battles of Fallujah, and, to a lesser extent, Ramadi. It pulls no punches in criticizing the confused lines of command and communication.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An excellent account of the battle from the gorund up. You truly develop an idea of what the grunts on the ground are going through and how our policy-makers could learn from listing to them. Alot of bloodshed could probably have been avoided by listening to men like Gen Mattis. Its a shame we can't have political leaders like him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely not worth it. If I were you I would buy this book if your life depended on it. :D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago