×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

No Way Out (Karen Vail Series #5)
     

No Way Out (Karen Vail Series #5)

4.7 23
by Alan Jacobson
 

See All Formats & Editions

When a potent firebomb destroys part of an art gallery in an exclusive London district, FBI profiler Karen Vail is dispatched to England to work with Scotland Yard on drafting a threat assessment to head off future attacks. But Vail soon discovers that at the heart of the bombing lies a four-hundred-forty-year-old manuscript that holds clues to England’s past

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

No Way Out 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
AnitafromPA More than 1 year ago
Alan Jackson has done it again. I loved this book, a new twist for gent Karen Vale. Would like to see more like this. However I do also like when she tracks serial killers. I recommend his books to everyone. Anita from PA
ytaylor More than 1 year ago
This book was so full of high octane action!!! Karen Vail is sent to England to help run a profile on a bombing suspect, and that's not all!! From the minute I picked up this book, I did not want to put it down....
Dukewife More than 1 year ago
Just suspend belief and run with the story.  Love the Karen Vail series!  Great beach read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EFTBanker More than 1 year ago
I rarely start a book and don't finish, but this book is exceptionally bad.  The main character, a "brilliant" FBI agent, is too stupid to understand that "way out" means "exit".  There may be a plot buried under all the jingoism, but I didn't ever find it.  Right-wing conspiracy theorists will love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great read. Can't wait for the next one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mystery/suspense author, Alan Jacobson, transports us into the shadowy international world of terrorism, thanks to some very strong characters – led by FBI Profiler Karen Vail. Mr. Jacobson weaves an intense story of shocking revelations and the never-ending moral dilemma of whether the ends justify the means. England and Spain are rich environments in this fast-paced tale with Karen Vail often challenged with whom to trust vs. following her gut instincts. Add to this some veteran characters (ex., Hector DeSantos; Aaron “Uzi” Uziel) and we begin to see the importance of trust, quick thinking and the ultimate in teamwork. Many times I was placed directly in the action, leaving me breathless and wanting to resolve some tough questions along the way. In my opinion, No Way Out is an excellent book, full of high-energy action, well-placed humor and an admirable red-headed heroine (and heroes) for our times! Believe me, we WANT someone like Karen Vail and her associates – on our side.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I Love Karen Vail, you will as well !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished No Way Out on my Kindle. Once again, I don't know how Alan does it. I'm convinced his writing must be a God-given gift. His writing paints pictures in my mind with words that are like watching a marathon of episodes of 24! Only READING is much better since my mind gets to choose the colors, faces & scenery. Karen Vail & Co. got very close this time to being GONE FOR GOOD. I loved the description of the Osprey and the USNS New York. They were so detailed I felt like I was on the deck of the ship watching them wobble in for a landing. Pilots have a saying, "If you can walk away from it, it was a GOOD landing." I just can't imagine the amount of research it took to write this one. I found myself planning my work day around having time to read. At the beach, at the coffee shop, at home.....and then like a good movie I was disappointed when it was over. I'm looking forward to the next book.
frcndfrk More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book very much. Great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read all of Alan Jacobson's books and loved them all. The Karen Vail series in particular. I was hooked from the first book in the series and always eagerly await the next. The twists, the true to life details are both things that make the books in this series winners! No Way Out has become my new favorite, can't wait for Alan's next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read many Alan Jacobson novels, and is Karen Vail series will hook you right from the start. One of the best things about Jacobson's writing, is the great detail in each story.  You can tell that the man does his homework before beginning a novel. He makes sure you feel like your are right there, in the story, with the characters. I love the character of Karen Vail, as well as all of the supporting characters helping her out  of trouble (or even sometimes getting her into trouble).  If you purchase this book, No Way Out, you will not be disappointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Karen Vail series is one that draws you in to get to know the characters. You are rooting for her while at the same time you are wanting to kick her butt!!! No Way Out is a very dramatic fast paced book that teaches you so many of the nuances that come into play while fighting crime. It's almost so well researched you feel like it's a true story account of an actual event. There is an element of right/wrong that makes the reader think about choices and what they would do in that type of situation. It is an excellent read and very well worth the purchase, you will want to read it more than once.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the Karen Vail character and the stories created around her. There was never a good time for me to put down this book. I did not want to stop and I didn't. From beginning to end I was engaged and entranced. I was exhausted the next day, but I managed to smile as I daydreamed about the story. I could not stop thinking about the book. There was no way out of No Way Out. This week I am so sad to learn Tom Clancy passed away. This fact makes me even more thankful for this wonderful series. I can't wait for the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So hapoy to have a new Karen Vail story to add to my collection.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book
LivSafe More than 1 year ago
Karen Vail has become one of my favorite heroines. Her brassy tough persona alienates her from many of her colleagues, yet that's exactly what keeps her alive, and above all--a fantastic protagonist. No Way Out delivers a knockout punch as it takes the reader inside the world's most sophisticated and secretive organizations and exposes their strengths and shortcomings. Alan Jacobson's novels demonstrate how meticulous and thorough his research is. No Way Out is no exception. The techniques, the lingo, even the British mannerisms and customs are spot on. And the premise of the story is so controversial that one wonders how Alan ever came up with it. The tale travels down a myriad of paths , which doesn't allow the reader much time to figure out who the bad guys are. No Way Out is a brilliant whodunit, packed with excitement and plenty of action. Alan Jacobson has become known as one of the best thriller writers for a reason--his stories deliver.
tlcaz1 More than 1 year ago
I stayed up until 3a.m.!! But, I just had to go to sleep! I just now finished it, here in Tucson, AZ! Great book! Really good characters! I loved Karen Vail, Hector DeSantos and Reid! Not giving anything away - after passing the details on the manuscript - the book  kicked into high gear and was extremely fast moving, edge of your seat, thriller!!! I loved the repartee between Hector "GQ" and  Karen! This book would definitely make a great movie as well! You did a great job, Alan, as always! Congratulations!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No Way out No Way Out is a fact paced action thriller as with all of the other Karen Vail books.  The main character Karen has evolved and has gone international.  The story line involves FBI, CIA and the British equivalent saving Britain from a terrorist attack.  The story is told at a fast pace with action in every chapter. No Way Out is truly a good name for the book because Karen and her partner DeSantos seem to get deeper and deeper into trouble with No Way Out until the very end. When I pick up an Alan Jacobson book, nothing gets done until I finish the book.  I cannot wait for the next Karen Vail book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whether you are a longtime Alan Jacobson fan or you are new to his writing, No Way Out will keep you on the edge of your seat, racing through the novel to keep up with the action. Jacobson’s unique ability to endow readers with a fly-on-the-wall perspective inserts them directly into the action, which leaps off the page so brilliantly they will think they are wearing 3D glasses. In No Way Out Jacobson teams gutsy FBI profiler Karen Vail with rough-and-tumble covert operative Hector DeSantos to interdict a group of international conspirators who are planning mass murder on an unprecedented scale. Warning: Once you pick up this book, you probably won’t be able to put it down. It’s that good—a terrific story full of breathtaking action, memorable characters, witty dialogue, painterly descriptions, intricate plot, and touching moments.
BasingstoneBook More than 1 year ago
Very good action thriller with all the normal fight scenes, car chases and James Bond type action. Good story line of CIA/FBI/MI5 operatives saving Britain from a terrorist attack. The main character Karen Vail I believe has been overworked as to me she was very unlikeable, gobby, know it all, with ego to match. She could have been toned down a little to make her acceptance with her peers more believable. Written for an American audience the author added various references to the differences between English and American English, one or two of these changes in language use is fine and makes the point, overuse makes them irritating, as does calling police cars "cruisers" . The story was told at a fast pace with action in every chapter. This is the kind of story ideal for making into a movie, however I not sure Karen Vail would have the same appeal as James Bond. Although I have some misgivings the book is very enjoyable and therefore meets my criteria for recommendation.
Russ_Ilg More than 1 year ago
  No Way Out By Alan Jacobson Reviewed by Russell Ilg   No Way Out is the latest and greatest installment of the FBI Profiler Karen Vail series. In this best novel of the year contender, Karen is taken out of her comfort zone and sent to England to help Scotland Yard with a threat assessment. On the surface, it looks to be a quick in-and-out job. But this simple case takes on a life of its own that soon becomes a much more complex, challenging, and dangerous matter that puts her in a tough position: there appears to be No Way Out for her—and, quite literally, getting home may never happen. There is nothing you can do to get ready for what lurks around the corners in this thriller. It’s fresh and original, and even makes you think—about our history, about personal and governmental security, even about enhanced interrogation.   All of Alan Jacobson’s novels are two-read books for me, and No Way Out was no exception. It starts off with a bang and the pacing is exceptional. The twists and turns occur so rapidly, and frequently, that I found myself reading faster and faster because I had to know what was going to happen next. As with Jacobson’s other novels, I galloped along with its breakneck pace, and after reaching the end, I took a day to absorb it all. I then started reading it again, from page one, to find all the small things that I missed the first time. I find it a great way to enjoy Jacobson’s books.    As with all the Karen Vail novels, this is by far one of the best reads of the year and stands head and shoulders above the crowded field of new releases this fall. No Way Out will have you reading way longer than you had planned, well into the night. One of the reasons is Karen Vail. Not only do we respect her as a gifted profiler, but she feels “real” to the reader. She’s not perfect as an individual or as a law enforcement officer, but she possesses a dogged tenacity that compels her to get to the heart of what’s going on. It’s this quality that makes her so good at what she does as she forges her way forward, looking for a way to get to the bottom of the hardest cases that come her way.   And just what is going on in No Way Out? Jacobson covers so much ground that it’d be impossible to recap the story, certainly without giving away key plot elements, because everything in this book builds on itself. Simply stated, it starts off with the find of a rare manuscript—one over 400 years old—that has significance to world history. More than that I won’t say. But before you know it, there’s a full-blown catastrophe afoot, and Karen Vail, and her covert operative friend, Hector DeSantos, have to sort it out. Will they? And will they do it in time? Equally important, who can be trusted?   Alan Jacobson is one of the very rare authors that writes what I have started to refer to as “fact fiction,” where the novel is based on real places, capturing the way the local people really live and act, which makes the setting come alive. There is only one way Jacobson can do this and that is by spending a huge amount of time in the area to learn all he can about the place and its local culture, with the help and support of the police and other major agencies. You know that the areas where his novels take you are all real because he has been there and walked the streets and talked with people in each location. The result is that you learn how things really happen, whether it be a prison in the US or some country in Europe. There are very few authors who take the time, expense and effort to do this, and it adds levels of depth to the characters, setting, and dialogue that can’t otherwise exist. That’s one thing that makes No Way Out, set in England and featuring the clash of British and American cultures, a standout thriller.   No Way Out is a must read for all thriller fans, by far one of the most exciting novels of the fall and the perfect book to take on vacation. You will not read a better book this year.