×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Nocturnal
     

Nocturnal

4.7 56
by Scott Sigler
 

See All Formats & Editions

Scott Sigler reinvented the alien-invasion story in his bestselling novels Infected and Contagious… rebooted the biotech thriller in Ancestor…now, in his most ambitious, sweeping novel to date, he works his magic on the paranormal thriller, taking us inside a terrifying underworld of subterranean predators that only his twisted

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Nocturnal: A Novel 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 56 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So I am a HUGE fan of Infected and Contagious....I think they are some of the most creative and well written sci fi horror books I've ever read. The characters are extremely well developed, the dialogue is witty, but the thing I like most about Sigler is that his attention to the science behind the fiction is fantastic. He provides the reader a "believeable" delivery...even though the story is way out there.....you feel it's possible the whole way through!! Now, enough about Sigler as a whole, and more about Nocturnal specifically. I almost feel like this was two separate books. The first part is the "build up" to the big revelation of what's really going on, and the second part plays out the story. I was on the edge of my seat while reading the first part of the book....always intrigued and saying "what the hell is going on, here?" At the same time, I was becoming very involved with the characters, which is what you want as a fiction reader...to get drawn into the story. Sigler punches you in the stomach with a huge narrative hook in the middle of the book, and then takes you on a great finishing ride the rest of the way through. Yeah, yeah yeah.....there's action and blood and guts and all the stuff others mention when it comes to Sigler.....you know you're getting a dose of gore. But it's his writing style and wonderfully creative stories that makes him an awesome author. I cannot wait for Pandemic.....I hear it's being released Oct 1st of 2013. Hope Sigler keeps churing them out!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At first I wasn't sure if I was totally sold on the idea of a "tortured" cop, but since I love his other books, I thought I'd at least give it a shot ... and this book was SO good I had to write a review on it. Kept me guessing in the beginning as to what or who was the bad guy, but I liked that, and some parts forced me to turn on extra lights, not just a flimsy book light. AWESOME.  He really makes you feel for and fall in love with the characters. I would recommend this book in a heartbeat      
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another GREAT novel from Scott Sigler! I've read and enjoyed his others as well. NOCTURNAL is gory, humorous, engaging, and just plain freaky. Loved it! ~DO~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the last of Scott Sigler's books that I decided to tackle. I chose to do it last because of the size of the book.  True to Sigler fashion the chapters are short and exciting. This is a great read for the modern day science fiction reader. 
Panoply More than 1 year ago
You'll enjoy this book if you like horror. I read it in one night!
Wetlander87 More than 1 year ago
I've read and/or listened to everything Scott has put out and the original podcast edition of Nocturnal has always been my favorite. I've been waiting for Nocturnal to come out in print since 08 and its well worth the wait. I will admit that I do have some issues with certain changes and edits to this edition but all in all this is one fine book. Certain character and sub plot absences in the print edition take away from the over all story but this really only applies to old school Sigler fans who listened to the original podcast. The biggest and most disappointing change was the major redo of the climatic fight scene. Those who listened to the podcast know what I'm talking about. The original podcast ending was epic and unique while the print version in my mind not only jumped the shark but also was cliched and was the only real smudge on this other wise awesome book. On the plus side I did enjoy the addition of John Smith's sub plot arc of facing his fears as well as the expanded romantic arc between Bryan and Robin. If your new to Sigler be warned he is not PG or politically correct and the book will go down some dark twisted places. But if hardcore horror and gore don't bother you be prepared for an awesome read.
LSchwitzer More than 1 year ago
Scott Sigler presented this story a few years ago as a free podcast. He's re-worked the story and gotten it published. Based on my past experience with Scott Sigler novels, this is a great thing! I'm looking forward to reconnecting with some of my favorite "Siglerverse" characters.
Anonymous 21 days ago
Kept me interested. Sorry to see it end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not stop turning the page!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoy it. Well written, well edited. Good character development and an entertaing story. Kat
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing plot, characters & creatures!! When's the sequel coming out?
Reogar More than 1 year ago
I wasn't really sure at first if i'd enjoy the book. Once i really got into it though i loved it. It's a great book and i'd love it if Mr. Sigler turned it into a series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Part, detective buddy story. Part, I want my MOMMIE !!! Mutant Cannibal serial killer horror. Braised breast of Bag lady anyone? How about a young and tender frickaseed flank of Beefcake...... anyone?
JerBear88 More than 1 year ago
This is a great book by Scott Sigler. I first heard of Scott on MOSTER TALK podcast. He also has some great short stories available as well. You will not be disappointed.
cme102 More than 1 year ago
This is the 4th Scott Sigler book I have read and I've enjoyed them all. I thought the first 3/4 of the book were great, but the ending was a bit predictable and convenient. Without giving away the plot, obviously the characters and setting require you to use your imagination, however there were a bit too many convenient leaps of logic, etc. And much was left unexplained. It was almost as if, after a great set up, he rushed the ending because we realized the book was getting long.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sigler is a unique storyteller! Great new book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From the first moment I was introduced to Scott's work, there was no turning back! This book is no exception!!!!