×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Nocturne
     

Nocturne

3.8 39
by Syrie James
 

See All Formats & Editions


When Nicole Whitcomb’s car runs off a Colorado mountain road during a blinding snowstorm, she is saved from death by a handsome, fascinating, and enigmatic stranger. Snowbound with him for days in his beautiful home high in the Rockies, she finds herself powerfully attracted yet mystified by him, filling her with apprehension.

Who is Michael Tyler? Why

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Nocturne 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
rabidreaderWS More than 1 year ago
The cover of Nocturne is a beautiful and dramatic cover. There are trees, snow, darkness is implied (scenery) and one single rosebud with some blood scatters in the snow. Dramatic. Good cover. Nocturne has just been released January 4th (2011), in hardcover by Syrie James. The story reminds me a bit of the old gothic stories I used to read when I was young in the 1970's. They were the precurser to the romantic suspense that is popular today. There was a bit of a formula to them...a dark mysterious hero- is he dangerous? a killer? A woman, sometimes rather naiive, usually smart who ends up having to spend a lot of time with a mysterious man who is at times pleasant and other times unpleasant; who makes her feel safe and yet at the same time makes her feel like she's in danger. She's attracted to him and yet afraid of him... In Nocturne, a woman who has just spent a ski weekend with her friends is trying to drive to the airport through a Colorado snowstorm...not a good thing to do. She ends up going off the road, crashes, injured and bleeding, getting colder and colder she loses consciousness. A man, who lives by himself and has some distrust and self-loathing for some of his past actions sees the crash and even though he doesn't want the complications, (or to be exposed to her) saves her from freezing to death. The snowstorm turns into a blizzard, and lasts for some time, so Nicole and Michael then spend some time stuck with only each other, going from one end of the trust/mistrust spectrum to the other. At times funny, other times dramatic, Nocturne is an interesting book. On the whole, I enjoyed it. There were a few things that had me chuckling...the dramatic tone to Michael's few rages....the reaction of Nicole to Michael's rather extreme changes of mood. Nicole herself is hiding something from her past; there are memories - quick memories when all that's mentioned is blood - blood everywhere, but it's not til later that you find out what happened, and it wasn't what I expected. The ending of the book is bittersweet - definitely not a happily ever after, but rather two adults who make decisions and follow through. This was different from your average paranormal novel, mainly because the characters do not always do what you might want them to. This isn't what I would call a paranormal romance, although there is a bit of romance - or an urban fantasy, although there is some supernatural goings on. Rather it's a work of fiction with fantasy, romance and suspense elements all blending together. Most of the dialog was believable (dialog is a thing with me) and yet there were a few instances where I found myself rolling my eyes at Michael's behavior; and yet, who hasn't rolled their eyes at an especially dramatic scene from their man? I would recommend this to those who enjoy the unexpected. There isn't a lot of gore, or raging fights....there is a very different pace to it, and it felt like a good old-fashioned gothic romance,and yet it wasn't. Confused? It was a good read. Try it for a change of pace from the blood, gore and fighting of horror or urban fantasy books, and a change of pace from straight up fi
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing!! I will have to warn you that it wil make you cry. I really hope there will be another one!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Nicole Whitcomb came from the San Jose area to attend the wedding of her friend in Steamboat Springs, Colorado. Since the meteorologists said the weather would remain fine, she decides to stay for an extra day of skiing. When she leaves for the Denver Airport, the weather remains okay, but soon snow begins to fall. The precipitation turns heavy and her rental fishtails out of control. She cuts her head and honks her horn hoping someone will rescue her. Michael Tyler was cleaning off his driveway when he saw the idiot crash. He has never let anyone into his home so considers leaving the driver to die, but cannot. He reluctantly brings Nicole into his isolated house. They are attracted to each other from the first meeting. However, she senses something wrong about her host as she knows in her gut he thought he made the wrong choice bringing her into his home. Nicole also wonders why a hunk like Michael resides alone. Other signs seem to make no sense, but she ignores their warnings as Nicole quickly falls in love with a man who seems to know her better than she knows herself. He knows he cannot love anyone and never has; yet this is different as he falls hard for Nicole, a new undesirable feeling for him. However, he struggles to control the beast inside while also needing her to want him with all her soul. This is an engaging star-crossed romance as the Rocky Mountains' blizzard isolates the pair in his home. Nicole finds clues to as who her host is and why he chose to live as a hermit, but her logical mind rejects her conclusion until perhaps it is too late. Readers will relish this strong romantic suspense thriller wondering how this relationship will end. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In my opinion there was no depth to this book. It was truly immature writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I've read all year. I absolutly loved it. I defently recommend it to Any one into vampire love.
Tammie Griffith More than 1 year ago
I love this book very heartbreaking i cried for days i truly hope she will write another book to continue this story it just cant end like that
whelm More than 1 year ago
This book was very well written, but so boring because of its predictability. Wish I hadn't wasted my money. Oh well, lesson learned.
Mands23 More than 1 year ago
ok so for everyone who thinks its going to be another twilight...its not. I read this book in two days i couldn't put it down. if u like dark, kind of mysterious love stories i highly recommend this book. There are only two characters which most people would probably think to be hard to read through but somehow syrie james does a fantastic job in keeping the reader interested and guessing. This book had me flipping each page franticly wanted to know more. The end is very different than any other vampire/human love story. I was saddened a little bit but thought long and hard. Life is a struggle for everyone and doesn't always have happy endings. This book is made up of fiction but entails real life decisions in between the lines. It is a beautiful story of two people coming together due to certain circumstances, doing their best to live with it and end up not wanting to leave. It teaches us that sometimes the best moments in life are those unexpected stolen days away from every day life.
azalea15 More than 1 year ago
i thought this would be something like twilight but it was semi different. it does have to do with a human/vampire relationship but the way their relationship is made and the passion between the two is amazing!! i finished this book in a day, i couldn't put it down there was so much detail and though put into the book it was like watching a movie!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ChambersGirl More than 1 year ago
Trudging her way down a blizzard stricken Colorado mountain pass, Nicole suddenly loses control of her rental car and careens off the road and into an embankment. Cold air is gusting through her car from the shattered driver's side window and Nicole asks one fear filled question before losing consciousness - "Is this the end for me?" Trying to stay ahead of the massive snow storm, Michael is plowing his private road when he sees a vehicle spin and crash violently. Instinct sets him in motion toward the wreckage and instinct is what has his pulling the driver from her car and saving her life by removing her from the below freezing weather. And so begins Nicole and Michael's relationship. There are secrets, there are revelations, there is a strong sexual tension, and some juicy love scenes. Ah, the beginning of a beautiful friendship, right? Well. Maybe. Nocturne held moments of sheer poetic beauty, moments of stalled story, and ended with a thud. Ms. James definitely has a way with words and a highly detailed style of narrative. The description that comes first and foremost to mind when recalling her poetic touch with words: "weeping wound". Those two words paint such a vivid picture in my mind. weeping wound. It's words such as those that really had me applauding the writing. It's also words and overindulging descriptions that hindered the story telling, resulting in me skimming paragraphs or passages, wondering if her portrayals of activities or scenery were still being told or if the story had finally picked up again. At times, I felt as though I was lost in a blizzard of words, trying to catch my breath through the thick and overly thorough paragraphs, and losing sight of the plot. Can two people realize they are deeply in love within two days? For a fictional work of art? Sure, we'll say it's possible, just not plausible. How about that for compromise? And, really, in this case, it might be dead-on since Nicole and Michael were nearly the same person (same likes, interests, passions, talents, etc). For all the beauty and all the appreciation for the deep-level connection Nicole and Michael discovered in Nocturne, I was really surprised and very disappointed by the ending. (Oh, and I believe I can say this since Twilight came out before Nocturne: there were definitely some STRONG similarities between the characters, actions, and conversations from Twilight. Intentional? I don't think so. Was I purposely looking for a link between the two? Nope, I sure wasn't... They just happened to pop up here and there.) Overall 2.5 stars
zooteacher More than 1 year ago
If you loved the Twilight series, this is for you. If you hated Twilight, skip this book and read Dracula, My Love (also by Syrie James) instead. It's more passionate and romantic, and is a good retelling of Bram Stoker's Dracula from Mina's point of view.
NocturneWraith More than 1 year ago
The concept of arrogant vampires is a tradition in romance, which makes this above the rest. The characters are adorable and fated the moment they get together. It's a soul searching road towards one getting over fears from the past and the other dealing with the limitations of what he is. I enjoyed this book until the end. I felt it was a let down. Both had realized their dreams come true yet, because he's vampire there could be no happy ending. Very few romance stories end up this way so I find it difficult to accept it as one. The writer hints at the end that she would like to believe these two got back together a week or a month or somewhere down the road. I would like to have had an epilogue to that end too. Oh, well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BlkosinerBookBlog More than 1 year ago
Nocture was a dark but still sweet book. It's plot was unique in that there are only two characters and it spans over four days. This is a unique challenge and James does it well. I still cared for the characters, and in fact, I was able to learn so much more about them. I really enjoyed the little details that made Michael's character believable and likable. He is a complex character with a history and hobbies and interests. Even though Nicole is not a teen, I was still able to connect with her. She had a great voice, and believable reactions. I like that she acts in fear and questioning like I probably would if I happened to be in that situation. The ending is bittersweet. I appreciate what they did and why they did it. It is unique and has stayed with me. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a paranormal romance with vampires, with a bit of a new twist.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago