×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Nomansland
     

Nomansland

3.4 14
by Lesley Hauge
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sometime in the future, after widespread devastation, a lonely, windswept island in the north is populated solely by women. Among them is a group of teenage Trackers, expert equestrians and archers, whose job is to protect their shores from the enemy—men. When these girls find a buried house from the distant past, they're fascinated by the strange objects they

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Nomansland 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just found this a fascinating story; set in distant future; but with all the difficult questions that girls face in our time.
wordforteens More than 1 year ago
When I first saw the summary for Nomansland a while back I was awfully excited; I love weird dystopian societies. But I saw Kristi's less than enthusiastic review (along with a few other reviews) and tempered myself; it wasn't going to be as good as I initially hoped. I still wanted to read it. Honestly, I don't think it was worth the read. I read it in one sitting, but that's only because the book itself is so very small. In 243 pages, Lesley sets forth what has the potential to be this intriguing dystopian society where women rule and men are nonexistent, but she crams too much into a short period of time. You learn little about the most interesting characters, and relationships are so hastily made that they're hard to believe. The society itself doesn't make much sense because nothing is elaborated on or explained. The only reason I related to the main character was because I was as confused by everything going as she was. Even when they find the relics from times past - make up, high heels - they seem to figure out what they're meant for automatically. If they really are so disconnected from what people used to be, they shouldn't have. They should assume that high heels are some weird sort of glove-weapon or something, even if there are images to help them. (And even so, how do you figure out that mascara is meant for your eyelashes? It could have been for anything.) All in all, everything moved quickly and I was left with a feeling of indifference at the end of it. The world and the characters had potential, but they weren't elaborated on, and I ended up not really caring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As my dad used to say; "I like what your trying to do" This book has a good idea but its pretty boring and no action whatsoever. Ithink a love story would have been a bit better. The ending did not feel final and was not sad or happy. Three stars.
ChelseaW More than 1 year ago
Keller is training to be a Tracker, those who patrol the outer ridges of Foundland for the enemy. In this case, the enemy is Men. Keller lives in a society of only women, hard work, and survival. No one is permitted to have fancy first names, and all must adhere to the Seven Pitfalls (much like the seven deadly sins) if they do not want to be punished. It is a dreary, boring life, but it is all Keller knows. Until one night, when fellow Patrol member Laing takes her to a hidden underground house from the Time Before, and it is filled with colorful magazines of women and men wearing and doing things Keller has never seen before. Suddenly everything Keller knows about life is tipped upside down, and she must quickly find the strength to carry on with or without the answers she seeks. I thought Nomansland was fascinating dystopian YA lit. Lesley Huage portrayed a bleak, grim picture of a possible future - one not only without men, but also without so many material things to keep people happy. I was surprised at how seriously this book took itself, keeping with the strong biblical references to Eve and the snake. I am also always surprised at how strict the rules are in these imagined dystopian communities. So harsh! Keller's character is deep and incredibly well written. She goes from being completely compliant of her place in life, to thinking on her own and making her own wise decisions. I kept trying to imagine myself in Keller's position and wondered if I could have been as strong as she was. Hauge has written a fantastic book for teen girls to read and share with each other. I will be keeping my eyes peeled for more from this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an cool book and all but really... why was it written? There wasn't much of plot, no action/fighting scenes, and no romace. I liked the idea of it and the summary got me excited but honestly... it could have been mindblowing. This isn't the best book but it is definitely an interesting read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im about mid way through the book and i can say that the idew is good, but geting to the point of the novel in proving to be a slow process. I wish a little bit more action was in the book...
Jasmyn9 More than 1 year ago
The year is sometime in the future. The place is Foundland, an island somewhere north. There has been some kind of apocolypse, but either no one knows, or no one is telling, what exactly happened. Foundland is populated by the select few. The females that have not mutated. They are taught to depend on no one but their community. They hunt, farm, and have special trackers to watch and chase off the men that may find their shores. While I found the story interesting, there was a little too much mystery about the circumstances leading up to the community on Foundland. As the young women the story focuses on, Liang and Keller, find a house full of artifacts from the time before (the apocolypse). They are amazed to see photos and make-up and start visiting more and more often, which is strictly forbidden. As the girls try to avoid being caught sneaking away, committee members are looking for the very thing the girls already found. An interesting look into a controlled community, but not enough detail or follow through to really catch my interest. 3/5
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Keller has been born and raised in Foundland, an island composed entirely of women. She, along with everyone on the island, has learned of the pitfalls - reflection, decoration, coquetry, triviality, vivacity, compliance, and sensuality. She normally follows the rules, her accidental glimpse of an image (which is forbidden) while in the library aside. She is a tracker, currently in training to help keep the enemy away, if it ever dares set foot on Foundland. The enemy? Man. Then Laing, a fellow tracker, shares with Keller a forbidden dwelling from the time before. She and a few others begin to frequent the place, silently sneaking away from their dwellings, being careful not to get caught. Keller is torn. The things they see and do are against everything they've been taught, but the forbidden images, of women and men from the past whose lives look so different from her own, compel her. Strange things begin to happen, and the world as Keller knows it is changing rapidly. She will have to find out who she is and who she should trust. Her decisions will change her life, irrevocably. Debut author Lesley Hauge's dystopian novel takes readers into a world where women's values are very different. In this world, friendship is something to be avoided, a sign of weakness. Love and family are foreign concepts. I kept waiting for a man to swoop in and save the day, but no. This is a story about female strengths and weaknesses, of self-discovery and finding out what you'll do when you think no one is watching. Suspenseful and thought-provoking, NOMANSLAND is a book that will spark many conversations amongst its readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a very good woman pride book. I thing it is a very good book but i did not like the ending. The ending would be like way beter if there was a second book. Grate for peiple who wont an interesting book and kinda a mistory when the girl find the lost things.
highland_lass More than 1 year ago
Misinformed Bible bashing, feminist trash. Don't waste your money, I read about half way through, was bored out of my mind the whole time and then reached the point where the undeveloped characters start bashing the Bible, shut the book and took it back to B&N because I won't waste my money on such nonsense. Lesley Hauge please let this be your LAST book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
?