×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Nonfiction Book Proposals Anybody can Write (Revised and Updated)
  • Alternative view 1 of Nonfiction Book Proposals Anybody can Write (Revised and Updated)
  • Alternative view 2 of Nonfiction Book Proposals Anybody can Write (Revised and Updated)
     

Nonfiction Book Proposals Anybody can Write (Revised and Updated)

4.0 8
by Elizabeth Lyon
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sign the contract…then write the book. The good news is that almost every nonfiction book published is sold by a proposal. In this comprehensive yet accessible guide, you will learn exactly what a proposal is, what it must contain, and how to pull yours together into an informative, persuasive selling package. Already a favorite for thousands of aspiring

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Nonfiction Book Proposals Anybody Can Write: How to Get a Contract and Advance Before Writing Your Book 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Elizabeth takes the foggy world of publishing and clearly describes how to write a book proposal which will get your book published. Although I have written and published dozens of business articles, I have never attempted to publish a book. I was referred to this book by a published author, and found it to be extraordinarily helpful. The format takes you through the preparation of a book proposal in the sequence in which it should be written, citing web sites, books and and other reference materials readily available. That information alone has saved me days and weeks of time searching for resources as I pull together the proposal. I highly recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is terrific! The author makes the process of writing a book proposal manageable. Using this book I was able to produce a clear, professional proposal to send out. Even better, the questions provided in each chapter helped me better understand my story and easily explain it to agents and editors.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Writing a proposal is very different from writing a book, and requires a 'selling' mindset. This book made the transition of perspective much easier as I jotted down almost a whole notebook of ideas while reading the book. There is a plethera of helpful advice and sources in these pages. This book was recommended by several friends of mine, including writing instructors and an agent. Everything about proposals is answered in this book, and if you follow the guidelines, you will be way ahead of the game, because Lyon is thorough! Stuffed with ideas on how to describe and sell your book so that the market will seem to be asolutely waiting for your book's release... the market may need my book indeed, but I needed this one!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's hard to imagine there could be anything about writing book proposals that's not in this book. Thorough, authoritative, extremely well organized, yet written with a gentle, helpful style. It's like having a colleague in the book business whispering in your ear telling you what to include, what to discard, and how to package it. Highly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great piece of work. I bought Elizabeth's book because two publishers requested a proposal from me and I did not know A THING about book proposals. Well, thanks to Elizabeth's book, I am happy to report I finished writing my proposal and sent it out two days ago. And I can honestly say I feel completely confident with it. The proposal was A LOT of work, but with Elizabeth inspiring me and evoking the best out of me, I wrote a beautiful proposal. I owe a GREAT thanks to you, Elizabeth!