Customer Reviews for

nook Matte Screen Film Kit

Average Rating 3
( 723 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(122)

3 Star

(156)

2 Star

(125)

1 Star

(193)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

148 out of 148 people found this review helpful.

Works Well

What can one say about a screen protector? It does it's job once it's applied and does it will. Covers the top screen except for a small bit around the edges (about 1mm), but this is expected and typical of most any screen protector.

Application is typical of any s...
What can one say about a screen protector? It does it's job once it's applied and does it will. Covers the top screen except for a small bit around the edges (about 1mm), but this is expected and typical of most any screen protector.

Application is typical of any screen protector of this type. I've applied many screen protectors over the years on various devices and it does take some practice and prep.

My Tips (applies to any screen protector):
1) Clean your work area before hand to remove any dust or dirt you may pick up.
2) Clean all smudges of the screen. Angle it to the light so you can see better.
3) Use some canned air to remove any dust particles/hair/etc just before applying the protector.
4) Hold the protector by the edges as suggested by the instructions!
5) Use a credit card to smooth it down gradually from one end to the other.
6) Any minor bubbles can be worked out by rubbing them towards the edge with the credit card or your finger with the cleaning cloth.

The hardest part is getting it started. Once you have it lined up you should be good to go. It usually takes me 3 or so times to get it started the way I want.

On last though, the large protector for the eInk display can be hard to handle by the edges due to it's size. Don't take off the entire back when getting ready to apply it, peal it back only part way so you can hold onto it better without touching the adhesive site.

Screen protector application is a bit of an art and takes practice and patience.

posted by Rignes on July 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Don't Buy This!! Invisible Shield Instead!

First, recommend you install in a "clean room." the adhesive literally picked up dust out clear air which is impossible to get off resulting in a few bubbles that are now permanent. Worse, however, is it simply does not allow for smooth operation of the touch screen. *...
First, recommend you install in a "clean room." the adhesive literally picked up dust out clear air which is impossible to get off resulting in a few bubbles that are now permanent. Worse, however, is it simply does not allow for smooth operation of the touch screen. **Edited** Just found at that Zagg has released the Invisible Shield for the Nook. BUY THE INVISIBLE SHIELD!! My entire family is sold on IS. I have it on my iPod Touch and Palm Treo. We bought the "whole" cover for my son's iPod Video since he hates covers. It's awesome.

posted by Gadget10A on January 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 723 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 37
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    Awful!!!

    After lots of tries I gave up. I would love something that covered it and protect it without the bubbles.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    Waste of money!!!

    I just bought my second one of these. I will be returning both. I followed the instructions exactly, but, unless you apply this in a completely sterilized room, there will be dust! This will create air bubbles which will create a glare. A complete waste of money!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    Not worth the price or the headache!

    With tax this purchase came to $16.00. In the directions it says, "Debris on the screen surface can cause air bubbles..." Boy were they NOT kidding. The tiniest particles cause air bubbles that you can not get out. I tried my hardest to clean the screens with the cloth. when I thought they were emaculate, I put the protectors on. I handled them by the edges as instructed and tried my hardest not to touch the sticky part. Also as instructed. When all was said and done...I had bubbles all over that were caused by these tiny dust particles that a normal person would need a magnifying glass to see. The protectors did a great job of showing me where the dust was. Good luck putting them on perfectly. You would have to be in a completely dust freesspace wearing gloves so you don't get fingerprints on the sticky side. They should just put these screen protectors on at the factory. Cause I feel I have now ruined the screen protectors and wasted $16.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    a must buy

    BUY this and put it on BEFORE you do anything. dust, hair, anything can show up so its important to do before anything else.
    the trick is to start at the very top and center it while massaging it as you go to get the bubbles out. take your time and lifting it is ok to redo BUT only if you do NOT let it all touch the screen. once it all touches you have to scrape it at a corner which will deform it and then it wont stick so well. the bottom is eaier as its small and you can manage it easier.
    this will make it nicer to clean and keep finger prints and smudges off and drastically reduce scratches.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    Crappy

    Aggravating application. Small dust particles on first try better on second try but peeling off the nook bends the plastic and now the corner doesn't stick down. Not worth the trouble.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    I wish I had skipped this

    This product is outrageously expensive. You only get ONE set of films and a 3.75" sq cloth--the markup must be astronomical--and there's no member discount. Worse, it's *extremely* difficult to install. I put these on while my nook was still in its box, and went to lots of trouble to make sure the screens were spotless. Still, free-floating dust somehow adhered to the back of the films as I was installing them. Once dust is stuck to the film, there's no dislodging it, and it looks terrible. If I could return this product, I would. As it is, I feel ripped off.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    Not very good

    It took it off after 1 day - I adversley effected visibility/readability by giving the screen a very grainy look. It needs also to fit better - there was too much space around the edges which made it hard to alighn properly - distracting. I got an easel type cover instead, which is really really good.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Must have Screen film kit

    Love how this protects the reading screen and the selection area. Does not hinder the reading or touch. With the film on the swiping for turning pages works great. Fingers move over film smoothly and easily. Take your time when installing and clean screens first. Wish there was two sets in the pack for the price.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    DON'T WASTER YOUR MONEY

    I purchased this item to protect my screen on my nook. Its expensive first of all and no matter how much you smooth it out there are tons of air bubbles.


    It is also unfair that Barnes and Noble members don't get the 10% that you would on non Nook items. Barnes and Noble should do better to maintain customer loyalty.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    Save the money for a good cover

    I opened the protective film before I even opened the nook. I carefully read the directions. I put on latex exam gloves, non-powdered. I opened the nook and used the included microfiber cloth to remove a couple specs of dust that were on the screen. I put on the film... I wanted to get my money back. I can only assume there were specs of dust it picked up from the air, because there were places on the film that just would not go away. I have used the nook for the last three weeks without the film because it is too difficult to read and interact with the film applied. Save the money and just get a nice cover and a microfiber cloth.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    At least it protects PART of the screen...

    First, for a custom-fit, nook-specific screen protector, this thing isn't sized very well. There is a fairly huge, definitely obvious lack of screen protector on the top and side edge (when I tried to apply it starting at the bottom right corner). This applies to both the e-ink screen AND the touch-screen covers. This doesn't protect the entire screen, and the edge of the "protector" is fairly eye-catching.

    Second, OH GOD, THE BUBBLES!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    Almost perfect

    I was able to apply this without air bubbles on my third try of laying it against the nook screen. My only issue with this protective sheet is that it doesn't cover the entire screen...kind of odd.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I was disappointed with this product, expected more for the price

    I purchased one of these when I bought my nook. My husband applied it and it was impossible to get it on without trapping dust specks underneath it. I ordered two more kits in hopes of protecting my screen without having annoying specks on the picture. The first screen already had dust/dirt specks stuck to the adhesive before we even peeled it off the backing. I was able to apply the second one, but it still had specks. Thankfully, these were at the top and don't interfere with my reading experience. Anyway, at 15 bucks a pop, I expected more out of these screens. My husband is an expert at applying similar screens to our cell phones and we have never had this much trouble applying one without air bubbles or dirt. It wouldn't be such a big deal if they included more of them, but you only get one screen cover and one touchscreen cover in each package.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    Protects Well, However cannot scroll to turn pages

    I applied the protective cover screens to both screens on my nook. They went on easily. I can scroll Book Covers, but my Nook will not scroll to turn the pages of a book. I emailed Customer Service and this is a direct quote from them: "In order to be able to turn pages on your nook, the plastic protective screen covers must be removed." Hope this helps.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Don't waste your $$

    I bought this product hoping it would be similar to a product I already use on my phone. But I was bitterly disappointed when I attempted to use this product. I had a hard time getting no bubbles to appear, even with a good cleaning of the screen as directed by the directions. The larger flim does not fit all the way to the edge of the screen, so even if you get the film on your nook there will be an edge that is still susceptiable to dirt collection and scratches. Do yourself a favor, don't waste your money. Just becareful with your nook. You'll be much happier without this product.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    Don't get this.

    First of all, you get one screen. For 14.95 I thought I was getting a few screens. Second, make sure you install it in a microprocessor clean room. One speck of dust and it looks like the screen developed small pox. Third, make no mistakes because you have just one chance to get the application right. If you try to reapply--like the directions say you can--the screen looks like you're reading through several inches of pond water. Just not worth it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    I want to pull my hair out...

    I cleaned the screen with my own microfiber cloth and then the cloth in the packet. But as soon as I put the film down it looked like a land mine field! Even the tiniest speckle of dust makes a huge bubble! And was irritates me all the more is it's smaller than the screens! Waste of money and a half an hour!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Works as Advertised

    The protector over the touch screen section is particularly useful in allowing trouble-free scrolling, especially in the up direction. (Perhaps it increases the capacitance between your finger and the touch screen?) There is a little difficulty in applying, just as in applying phone screen protectors, compounded by the larger area that the nook protector covers, but if you are careful and squeeze bubbles out as you go, it works just fine.

    The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of a 5, is that for the price two of each size (reading screen & touch screen) should be included in the package to allow for trial-&-error in application.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    Better than the reviews!

    I almost did not buy this because most people are so negative about the product. The secret to making it work properly? Patience!! I am complusive about specks on my nook so I was doubtful of the kit, but I cleaned it throughly in very bright light, so I could make sure at all angles it was spotless. Then I peeled back only HALF of it and started to apply it while using the cloth to push bubbles to the edges with slight pressure. I did not just stick it all on at once. You can't even tell I have one on. I put it on and let my husband borrow my nook and he had no idea until I told him hours later.

    I love it, it just takes time and a steady hand. Don't slap it on there and think you can push the bubbles out. Do it slowly, steady, and push bubbles out as you go and it will be perfect.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    Wish I'd read the reviews before I wasted my money

    I was very disappointed in the screen protector. It is diffult to apply , next to impossible to get all the air bubbles out and when I finally did get it fairly well applied there were specks trapped under it that could not be removed at that point. (And, yes, I did clean the screen carefully before application.)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 723 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 37