Customer Reviews for

nook Matte Screen Film Kit

Average Rating 3
( 723 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(122)

3 Star

(156)

2 Star

(125)

1 Star

(193)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

148 out of 148 people found this review helpful.

Works Well

What can one say about a screen protector? It does it's job once it's applied and does it will. Covers the top screen except for a small bit around the edges (about 1mm), but this is expected and typical of most any screen protector.

Application is typical of any s...
What can one say about a screen protector? It does it's job once it's applied and does it will. Covers the top screen except for a small bit around the edges (about 1mm), but this is expected and typical of most any screen protector.

Application is typical of any screen protector of this type. I've applied many screen protectors over the years on various devices and it does take some practice and prep.

My Tips (applies to any screen protector):
1) Clean your work area before hand to remove any dust or dirt you may pick up.
2) Clean all smudges of the screen. Angle it to the light so you can see better.
3) Use some canned air to remove any dust particles/hair/etc just before applying the protector.
4) Hold the protector by the edges as suggested by the instructions!
5) Use a credit card to smooth it down gradually from one end to the other.
6) Any minor bubbles can be worked out by rubbing them towards the edge with the credit card or your finger with the cleaning cloth.

The hardest part is getting it started. Once you have it lined up you should be good to go. It usually takes me 3 or so times to get it started the way I want.

On last though, the large protector for the eInk display can be hard to handle by the edges due to it's size. Don't take off the entire back when getting ready to apply it, peal it back only part way so you can hold onto it better without touching the adhesive site.

Screen protector application is a bit of an art and takes practice and patience.

posted by Rignes on July 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Don't Buy This!! Invisible Shield Instead!

First, recommend you install in a "clean room." the adhesive literally picked up dust out clear air which is impossible to get off resulting in a few bubbles that are now permanent. Worse, however, is it simply does not allow for smooth operation of the touch screen. *...
First, recommend you install in a "clean room." the adhesive literally picked up dust out clear air which is impossible to get off resulting in a few bubbles that are now permanent. Worse, however, is it simply does not allow for smooth operation of the touch screen. **Edited** Just found at that Zagg has released the Invisible Shield for the Nook. BUY THE INVISIBLE SHIELD!! My entire family is sold on IS. I have it on my iPod Touch and Palm Treo. We bought the "whole" cover for my son's iPod Video since he hates covers. It's awesome.

posted by Gadget10A on January 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 193 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    Don't get this.

    First of all, you get one screen. For 14.95 I thought I was getting a few screens. Second, make sure you install it in a microprocessor clean room. One speck of dust and it looks like the screen developed small pox. Third, make no mistakes because you have just one chance to get the application right. If you try to reapply--like the directions say you can--the screen looks like you're reading through several inches of pond water. Just not worth it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    I want to pull my hair out...

    I cleaned the screen with my own microfiber cloth and then the cloth in the packet. But as soon as I put the film down it looked like a land mine field! Even the tiniest speckle of dust makes a huge bubble! And was irritates me all the more is it's smaller than the screens! Waste of money and a half an hour!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    Wish I'd read the reviews before I wasted my money

    I was very disappointed in the screen protector. It is diffult to apply , next to impossible to get all the air bubbles out and when I finally did get it fairly well applied there were specks trapped under it that could not be removed at that point. (And, yes, I did clean the screen carefully before application.)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    DO NOT BUY THIS - I wish I would have read the reviews first

    I picked this up at a B&N store on a whim. I had not looked at reviews but figured that it would be similar to installing the film screen on my droid. I'm pretty good at installing these types of screens and have always been able to get screens on my phone and my husband's iphone on the first shot with no bubbles, straight, etc.

    I applied this inside in sunlight while sitting down and was very careful to make sure that my nook was perfectly clean. Yeah, waste of time. Like others have said, the film picks up dust particles from the air. We have a less-dusty-than average home due to a fancy whole-home air filter (asthmatic husband!). Once the dust particles get on the sticky side, it's over for this thing. There is no way to get them off. I even tried using the tip of a thin knife, knowing that using my fingers would magnify the problem. Nope.

    It also doesn't fit the screen. It is noticeable at a glance. It really ruins the sharp look of the nook, which is one reason I prefer my nook over my husband's Kindle.

    What a giant waste of money. Don't even both unless you are okay with reading through air bubbles. This product is a piece of overpriced junk. I wish I could give it 0 stars but I settled for 1.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Don't waste your money

    I cannot believe I wasted $15 on this. It's pretty much useless unless you're in a completely dust/crumb free environment. I ended up having to throw away the piece for the larger screen because it instantaneously attracted stuff that caused air bubbles to form. Any air bubbles at all are nearly impossible to get rid of. At least it comes with a nice wiper cloth.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Waste of money

    Extremely difficult to install without air bubbles, shows fingerprints too much, reduces clarity of the reader screen. I threw it away after just 2 hours.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    Don't waste your money

    Love my nook and thought I was going to protect it like a baby. The nook has such clarity on the reading screen. I think this film hampers that. It is difficult to install. I had to keep trying. With each attempt I got particles of hair on the back which could be seen on the reading screen. Air bubbbles are nearly impossible to get out and that hampers the clarity of the reading screen. I used the film cover for a week and decided I didn't like it. Touch screen cover was easier to get on and I am using that. Invest in a Nook cover to protect your e-reader. When not in use put it in that and that should be adequate protection.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    Wish I could give it 0 stars

    I love my Nook. Love the Nook case I got from B&N. I hate this film. I have applied protective film to phones with no problem. This is a terrible product. I thoroughly cleaned the screen. I blew canned air across the screen. I got bubbles and dust specs on my screen. I tried to reposition the film and the problems became worse. I find the bubbles extremely annoying and will be removing the film. Adding to the annoyances of the film is the fact that it doesn't exactly fit the screen or the touch screen. Every time I use the touch screen to turn a page, my finger catches on the ill fitting corner.

    Save your money and don't buy this film. I'll be looking for an alernative.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    Do not buy this - VERY DISSAPOINTING. VERY DISSATISIFED CUSTOMER.

    1.) the size is smaller than the screen
    2.) if you reposition it jacks it up
    3.) if you get the smallest piece of dust under the screen the air bubbles won't go away and if you try to get the dust out it makes it worse
    4.) You can't return it if it gets messed up in installation

    IF you do buy this have them install it for you in the store!
    This is the worst waste of 15 bucks I have ever made.
    VERY DISSATISFIED.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Don't waste your money

    IMPOSSIBLE to get on perfectly --- I ended up throwing it away.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    Not worth the money

    14.95 is too much for what you are getting with this product. You get 1 film for the top and 1 for the bottom part of the nook screen as well as a cloth to clean the screen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    Film over keyboard does not work

    The film over the text works great because the screen is recessed, therefore it stays down. The film over the keyboard is not recessed so it won't stay down and smooth. It curls and gets caught on everything and didn't stay flat, therefore it could not be used. The keyboard section is the most import for the film to protect the screen, where finger and fingernail contact occurs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    Blech

    They say it is custom cut but it is not. It is still smaller than the actual screen so there is that little border around the edges that can catch dust and dirt. I had to take the part that covers the touch screen off and replace it and this left a nice gooey residue that was a huge pain to clean off. Bottom line: If you put this on as soon as you open your nook before you ever use it or expose it to an any environment it might be worth the $15 investment but since I've had my nook for 2 weeks or so I find that my case will prevent scratches and it's much easier to clean the screen without this awful film on it. I'm upset at my loss of $15 for something I thought would work much better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Nook Matte Screen Film Kit

    This product is OK if you do not own a Nook Book cover. It is not pleasant to read through and the conners of the film curl up. I suggest buying a book cover instaed of spending your money on this product. Happy Reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    Nook Matte Screen Film Kit

    I don,t recommend it. Was unable to clear all air bubbles
    Returned to store

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Would never recommend.

    Very Difficult to place without air bubbles happening. Any speck of dust prohibits easy placement. Too difficult to then lift back up. If do lift back up then mess up the screen since can't really clean it up. Wasted 5 of them before finally accepting the last with still a tiny air bubble.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Warning don't try to fix if you mess up.

    it's next to impossible not to get some bubbles which totally ruin it and if you mess up then trying to peel the thing off and adjust just ruins one of the corners and it won't sit properly. having said that, if you do mess up, i would just live with it because at least if you mess up it'll probably be pretty close and at least stay in place with out an edge sticking up. obtw, you only get once chance because there's only one screen for each display. i would save my money for something else. don't bother. i think the screens are pretty tough anyway, no need to waste your money on protection you won't need.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    Read around the bubbles

    This is a great concept, but smooth application of this screen film is difficult at best. I was not able to apply this film cleanly without many air bubbles. No amount of smoothing eliminates the bubbles. I had no difficulty getting a smooth application of the protective film on my iphone when it was new. In my opinion, this nook screen film is a waste of money. I would not buy this again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    Horrible waste of money

    If you have access to a hermetically sealed clean room, this product might work fine. Failing that, it picked up specks of dust and lint and was simply impossible to apply without pockets of air caused by these specks. I found it unacceptable and unusable. Of course, if lumps and air pockets don't bother you, this film will probably protect your screen just fine. But I found it distracting once it was on. I also found it WAY overpriced, considering you only get one complete set of film. If you make a mistake, bend a corner, or get lint on the film, too bad. My advice? Get a good case and a cleaning cloth instead.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Waste of Money

    I have never had issues putting this type of thing on other devices, but this was difficult to get on and kept bubbling. Looked so bad on, had to take it off....Definitely not worth the money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 193 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10