Customer Reviews for

Nook Matte Screen Film Kit

Average Rating 3
( 723 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(122)

3 Star

(156)

2 Star

(125)

1 Star

(193)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

148 out of 148 people found this review helpful.

Works Well

What can one say about a screen protector? It does it's job once it's applied and does it will. Covers the top screen except for a small bit around the edges (about 1mm), but this is expected and typical of most any screen protector.

Application is typical of any s...
What can one say about a screen protector? It does it's job once it's applied and does it will. Covers the top screen except for a small bit around the edges (about 1mm), but this is expected and typical of most any screen protector.

Application is typical of any screen protector of this type. I've applied many screen protectors over the years on various devices and it does take some practice and prep.

My Tips (applies to any screen protector):
1) Clean your work area before hand to remove any dust or dirt you may pick up.
2) Clean all smudges of the screen. Angle it to the light so you can see better.
3) Use some canned air to remove any dust particles/hair/etc just before applying the protector.
4) Hold the protector by the edges as suggested by the instructions!
5) Use a credit card to smooth it down gradually from one end to the other.
6) Any minor bubbles can be worked out by rubbing them towards the edge with the credit card or your finger with the cleaning cloth.

The hardest part is getting it started. Once you have it lined up you should be good to go. It usually takes me 3 or so times to get it started the way I want.

On last though, the large protector for the eInk display can be hard to handle by the edges due to it's size. Don't take off the entire back when getting ready to apply it, peal it back only part way so you can hold onto it better without touching the adhesive site.

Screen protector application is a bit of an art and takes practice and patience.

posted by Rignes on July 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Don't Buy This!! Invisible Shield Instead!

First, recommend you install in a "clean room." the adhesive literally picked up dust out clear air which is impossible to get off resulting in a few bubbles that are now permanent. Worse, however, is it simply does not allow for smooth operation of the touch screen. *...
First, recommend you install in a "clean room." the adhesive literally picked up dust out clear air which is impossible to get off resulting in a few bubbles that are now permanent. Worse, however, is it simply does not allow for smooth operation of the touch screen. **Edited** Just found at that Zagg has released the Invisible Shield for the Nook. BUY THE INVISIBLE SHIELD!! My entire family is sold on IS. I have it on my iPod Touch and Palm Treo. We bought the "whole" cover for my son's iPod Video since he hates covers. It's awesome.

posted by Gadget10A on January 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 156 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Nook matte Screen film kit

    This is great once you get on the nook. I screwed putting the bottom one on and it has a bunch of air holes I can't get out. The bigger one was much easier to put on and it protects very well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Nook Matte Screen Film Kit

    Was a little hard to put on, but does a nice job of protecting the screens on my nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Its OK

    I hated the top portion of it but the bottom part is a good add on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Helpful Protection

    This does help protect the screens for damage. Could do without but again additional protection for the Nook. Not easy to get bubbles smoothed out and screen must be clean when installing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    fits great

    This fits great and keeps the screens clean however, applying the matte perfectly without and debri underneath is practically impossible. I have had my matte screen on my nook for over a week now and the bottom corners are already peeling off the touch screen section.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    nook-Matte-Screen-Film-Kit

    Like the way it keeps the screen safe, but hard to put on straight and if you move it the corner getting it off never sticks on again.
    Still would rather have it then not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Hard to use but protects well

    It keeps it from being scratched, but it's really hard to place and hard to get rid of the bubbles. Overall I'd rather have it because it's great for protecting the screen from scratching and i have NO PROBLEMS WITH USING THE TOUCH SCREEN which I was worried about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Nook Matte Screen Film Kit

    This is a good idea in thought but not in execution. Picks up every little foreign object on the screen, the microfiber cloth does not remove all foreign objects on the screen and it makes the screen look awefull. Also when you take it up to try to clean the screen better, it picks up objects in the air ( dust or something I suppose ) and looks even worse on the second try. I left it on anyway to protect the screen buy I will be trying another companies product at some point.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I am thankful it protects my screen...

    esp. the one you are not supposed to touch, but it was really hard to get on and I have some air bubbles I cannot get out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Nook Matte Screen Film Kit

    Fits the screens nicely. Fairly easy to install. I did wind up with two very tiny air bubbles but otherwise it looks good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Good Idea, but not great

    This item is a good idea to protect the screens on your nook from dirt and scratches. The film for the reading screen is great. It was easy to apply, has protected the screen from getting scratched by sand and other debris. It even reduces glare on the screen on sunny days. The touchscreen film, on the other hand, is good, not great. You can still operate the menu functions easily with the cover on. However, if you prefer to use "touch flip" to turn pages, the film reduces the screen's sensitivity so the function doesn't work. I ended up removing this film to use this feature. If you prefer to push the page buttons, this is a good product to protect the touchscreen from being scratched.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    Better than no protection.

    Film is difficult to align/place on first attempt because of static cling (like saran wrap). This product should have some "break-away" tabs in the corners to avoid finger marks in the corners that occour during installation. Also, make sure you clean the screen completely (if that's possible). Even lint clinging to the screen will show once matt is placed. Once placed, the matt is secure and does not curl or come loose. For the price the value is there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    Good Product

    Great product to keep screens safe but is very easy to get dirty.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    So-So

    Following the instructions, lead to fibers being applied to the screen and I now have little bits of stringy substance on the sticky side of the film and cannot get them off. I tried removing it and using tape to pull them off and got some, but not all off. The film would be really nice if there was not debris under it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    But it somewhere else.

    It was definitely not worth the money. For 15 dollars I could have bought another kit, trimmed the film and had two or three extras left over in case I needed to replace the one I put on. I suppose it does the job but it is not a good value for the money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Disappointed

    I was not able to get all the "bubbles" from beneath the screen. Also, the directions say that you can reposition the screen, but it is hard to do that without touching the underside of the screen when lifting it up, which leaves fingerprints.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    Great and not so great...

    The smaller portion of this product, for the touch screen, works excellent. Something about the big one though, I just had a big problem getting it centered and stuck down with out stuff under it. I would buy it and try it again but it's too expensive. Maybe another time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    Not bad, but could cover a bit more

    I ordered this when I ordered my nook. Because I was one of the first to order the nook- I did not have many options for screen protectors.

    I do have to say the protector goes on easily, you can lift it up to get those little pieces that get stuck under there while you are applying it...however my only complaint is that the bottom screen protector, the one that goes over the touchscreen, could cover a bit more or be a bit bigger. One would think that this protector would cover the entire area from the edges of where the nook meets the screen, but it literally only covers the touch screen.

    All in all- I am picky about application and having "bubbles" under the protector- and this one was great as far as that was concerned- the rest I can deal with until another protector is available.

    And- it is a bit pricy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    It Works

    The cut sizes of these films is just a tiny bit too small. That works fine for the reading screen that doesn't get touched. But, the touch screen film (also being a bit small) feels weird when your fingers run off the edge of the film.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Decent Product At Best

    I find it funny that anytime you buy a new electronic product there are three things you HAVE to figure in to the price: A protection plan, taxes, and a screen protector. By the time you are finished at the checkout counter your 259 dollar purchase is now 359 and you still have the worst part coming, attempting to get that screen protector on straight. How one little piece of plastic (or in this case two, EVEN MORE FRUSTRATING) can cost so much and cause so much frustration is beyond me. You would think that if the products were built to scratch so easily they would come with their own screen protector. Anyway, on to the actual review.

    The Nook Screen Protector comes in two pieces, which means twice the frustration of trying to get them aligned to the screen. The price is not too bad as far as screen protectors go and you are getting more screen protector for price considering the larger size of the Nook compared to a cellphone or iPod. However, I find that if you put your Nook in a good outer case and don't touch the upper screen you can get by without using a screen protector on top. However, since you get the top one anyway, this allows you to attempt to put the top screen protector on without bubbles (which will be extremely noticeable on the Nook) but if you do get bubbles you can take it off and leave it off without too much fear of scratches. If you do manage to get it on without bubbles then the product does the job well protecting while not causing any additional glares.

    The bottom screen is another story. Although you will likely want to use a screen protector here, I found that after putting on the protector the screen lost clarity. Also, the protector only covers the actual display area which makes it very difficult to get straight and ends up looking kind of funny.

    My final thoughts on the product are give it a shot, you will likely want to use it for awhile (until the new toy feeling is gone) but after a month or two I imagine you will end up taking it off and just being careful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 156 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8