Customer Reviews for

nook Matte Screen Film Kit

Average Rating 3
( 723 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(122)

3 Star

(156)

2 Star

(125)

1 Star

(193)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

148 out of 148 people found this review helpful.

Works Well

What can one say about a screen protector? It does it's job once it's applied and does it will. Covers the top screen except for a small bit around the edges (about 1mm), but this is expected and typical of most any screen protector.

Application is typical of any s...
What can one say about a screen protector? It does it's job once it's applied and does it will. Covers the top screen except for a small bit around the edges (about 1mm), but this is expected and typical of most any screen protector.

Application is typical of any screen protector of this type. I've applied many screen protectors over the years on various devices and it does take some practice and prep.

My Tips (applies to any screen protector):
1) Clean your work area before hand to remove any dust or dirt you may pick up.
2) Clean all smudges of the screen. Angle it to the light so you can see better.
3) Use some canned air to remove any dust particles/hair/etc just before applying the protector.
4) Hold the protector by the edges as suggested by the instructions!
5) Use a credit card to smooth it down gradually from one end to the other.
6) Any minor bubbles can be worked out by rubbing them towards the edge with the credit card or your finger with the cleaning cloth.

The hardest part is getting it started. Once you have it lined up you should be good to go. It usually takes me 3 or so times to get it started the way I want.

On last though, the large protector for the eInk display can be hard to handle by the edges due to it's size. Don't take off the entire back when getting ready to apply it, peal it back only part way so you can hold onto it better without touching the adhesive site.

Screen protector application is a bit of an art and takes practice and patience.

posted by Rignes on July 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Don't Buy This!! Invisible Shield Instead!

First, recommend you install in a "clean room." the adhesive literally picked up dust out clear air which is impossible to get off resulting in a few bubbles that are now permanent. Worse, however, is it simply does not allow for smooth operation of the touch screen. *...
First, recommend you install in a "clean room." the adhesive literally picked up dust out clear air which is impossible to get off resulting in a few bubbles that are now permanent. Worse, however, is it simply does not allow for smooth operation of the touch screen. **Edited** Just found at that Zagg has released the Invisible Shield for the Nook. BUY THE INVISIBLE SHIELD!! My entire family is sold on IS. I have it on my iPod Touch and Palm Treo. We bought the "whole" cover for my son's iPod Video since he hates covers. It's awesome.

posted by Gadget10A on January 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    Works Well

    What can one say about a screen protector? It does it's job once it's applied and does it will. Covers the top screen except for a small bit around the edges (about 1mm), but this is expected and typical of most any screen protector.

    Application is typical of any screen protector of this type. I've applied many screen protectors over the years on various devices and it does take some practice and prep.

    My Tips (applies to any screen protector):
    1) Clean your work area before hand to remove any dust or dirt you may pick up.
    2) Clean all smudges of the screen. Angle it to the light so you can see better.
    3) Use some canned air to remove any dust particles/hair/etc just before applying the protector.
    4) Hold the protector by the edges as suggested by the instructions!
    5) Use a credit card to smooth it down gradually from one end to the other.
    6) Any minor bubbles can be worked out by rubbing them towards the edge with the credit card or your finger with the cleaning cloth.

    The hardest part is getting it started. Once you have it lined up you should be good to go. It usually takes me 3 or so times to get it started the way I want.

    On last though, the large protector for the eInk display can be hard to handle by the edges due to it's size. Don't take off the entire back when getting ready to apply it, peal it back only part way so you can hold onto it better without touching the adhesive site.

    Screen protector application is a bit of an art and takes practice and patience.

    148 out of 148 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great protection!

    So far I like this screen film kit as it comes with a cleaning cloth and it helps protects the screens on my Nook. However, it was a little cumbersome trying to adhere to the screens without air bubbles. Additionally, (it may be just me) but with the film on the lower screen, when swiping your finger across to turn the pages it doesn't register and you have get your swiping just right to turn the pages in this manner. Overall, I like though as it protects the screens.

    47 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not the Best, but Not the Worst Either

    First off, I love my nook. yay! That being said, I have the Jonathan Adler cover, the lycra light, and picked this up since it was in stock. As everyone else has said the film is a tad smaller than both of the screens- BUT- I had no problems with dust or air bubbles and am satisified because the film does exactly what it is supposed to do...maybe because I worked at a cell phone store for 7 years and could probably put the films on blind, who knows. I appreciated the pull tab on the film which helped me not put my fingers on the film.

    A great hint is to use a credit card or grocery discount card and lightly rub towards the outside to remove any bubbles you might have...light pressure and you are good to go.

    And BN Members should get their discounts on nook accessories...that is just plain annoying and rude, I can understand the not on e-books concept, but accessories...if I got my discount I would probably buy more stuff...just a thought.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Only using the touch screen portion

    Not really much to say about this product: if you've ever used any of these type products for your cellphone or mp3 player, you pretty much know what you're getting. I'm only using the portion that covers the touch screen so that I don't scratch it. I also have the Industriell cover, so I don't feel a need for upper portion.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Must have Screen film kit

    Love how this protects the reading screen and the selection area. Does not hinder the reading or touch. With the film on the swiping for turning pages works great. Fingers move over film smoothly and easily. Take your time when installing and clean screens first. Wish there was two sets in the pack for the price.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Works as Advertised

    The protector over the touch screen section is particularly useful in allowing trouble-free scrolling, especially in the up direction. (Perhaps it increases the capacitance between your finger and the touch screen?) There is a little difficulty in applying, just as in applying phone screen protectors, compounded by the larger area that the nook protector covers, but if you are careful and squeeze bubbles out as you go, it works just fine.

    The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of a 5, is that for the price two of each size (reading screen & touch screen) should be included in the package to allow for trial-&-error in application.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Covers screen great! Way too high priced.

    I have read the reviews for this and I also found it a tad hard to get the bubbles out of. I had to try three times and even with a credit card to smooth as I went along, I still have a few in there-nature of the beast with this type of screen. Cell screens are a bit more tacky with film than nook. Nook has a matte finish glass or whatever and harder to place.
    I read from other people that they didn't think the film covered the whole screen and left spots uncovered? where?? Mine covers the whole area perfectly! plus the lower half fine too. Whatever you guys are doing, you trying to cover the black band with nook logo too? I don't get it. The millimeter left on bottom isn't anything to worry about. Film fits fine.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Glad I decided to purchase it!

    I was skeptical after reading the initial reviews, but decided to purchase it anyway. For me, fingerprints were a major problem. It's one of my pet peeves.

    What was helpful for me to really take my time putting them on and more importantly, giving the screens a good cleaning beforehand. I did it right in the B&N Cafe as I was drinking coffee.

    Before peeling off the backings, I placed them on the screens just to have an idea of where to put them. It was even more helpful standing over the Nook, which made the placement even easier. There were only a couple of bubbles and they were at the ends. The key is not to just lay the sheets directly on the Nook, you have to slowly place them.

    I think you just have to take your time and make sure there are no distractions.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    Works great

    This is very similar to screen protectors you'd put on PDA or cell phone screens. The instructions to apply it are kind of vague, so I can see why a few people mentioned problems with air bubbles. You need to peel off just a bit of backing- enough to expose a few millimeters along one entire edge (top edge for reading screen; side edge for color screen). Then, apply that edge of the protector (sticky side) onto the nook screen to position the protector. Finally, slowly peel the rest of the backing away from underneath the protector while you use a stiff piece of cardboard about the size of a credit card (not included) to smooth the protector down onto the nook screen. Do it slowly and gradually, forcing out any air bubbles as you go, and you shouldn't have any trouble with air bubbles.

    Nice and should do a good job of protecting the nook. Does not significantly affect the screen "brightness" or quality at all.

    I only gave it 4 stars because it only comes with one cover for the reading screen and one for the color screen. With PDA protectors, you usually got several protectors in one package. But, since you don't use a stylus on this device, the one should last a really long time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    Difficult, Unforgiving, but still an Excellent Screen film

    Many reviewers vent about the difficulty of application, and not without cause: I won't deny that getting the film on without dust or bubbles can be maddening. But I've learned that patience cures these ills. Perhaps more patience than some are willing to invest. Clean the Nook until it's immaculate. Clean a little more. Wash your hands. Dry. Then be prepared to spend about 20 minutes massaging the air bubbles away. I watched a B&N employee apply one for the first time: she bent the first and started over with a new set. She got it on with minor adjusting, then spent 20 minutes or so massaging the bubbles away until the screens were flawless. She did this on her second try. She was careful and patient and I learned a lot just watching. So, consider the preceding when you want to purchase and apply a screen cover. It can be done.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    Matte Screen Film.....avoid the glare!

    I am happy to report that the Nook Matte Screen Film really reduces the glare on my nook screen. I have noticed that is much easier on the eyes while reading outdoors in sunlight and it especially helps when I am using a reading light at night. I have also found that the matte screen film protects the screen from scratches and makes it easier to wipe away smudges. The matte screen film is also easy to apply. It is already cut out to fit both the upper and lower screens perfectly and, once in place it stays that way. No worries about it slipping off. So, if you want to protect your nook, you might want to check this product out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    protects nook screen

    I always buy screen protectors for everything----contrary to other reviews, it wasn't that hard to apply. If you clean the screen really well, peel the backing slowly off the screen protector and apply it, it's not that bad.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    nook safety

    I wanted to ensure that I didn't put a big scratch across my nook so that my eyes would always have to look through it when reading. I think this product is perfect and protects the nook investment. It is perfect to look through too, keeps the nook looking like a page of a book.

    I would have given it 5 stars, but I have seen that you can buy this product a lot cheaper if you buy it bundled with a nook case or something else. If I had seen that before, I would have gone that route. Ultimately, really glad I have the safety film.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    Works fine

    Both screen protectors have been on my nook for a few weeks now, and are performing as expected. They are both slightly smaller than the screen they protect. I suppose this is necessary for placement, but can be quite annoying on the reading screen when the text goes all the way to the edge.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    Insurance For My Nook...

    The Nook Matte Screen Film Kit does exactly what it is suppose to...it protects the screen. The upper film goes on very easy with few air bubbles and the ones that are there are easily pressed off. The bottom section fits well but I had a little bit more difficulty getting it to be EXACTLY right (OCD on my part), because I kept removing it to get it just right it then had fingerprints on it and that was just too much for me...again most people wouldn't care...however, I finally gave up and left is off mainly because it is easier to flip pages without it on...just my choice. Overall, I'm very happy that the reading section is protected.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Nook Matte screen film kit

    I just returned from three weeks in Mexico and had applied the film to my Nook before going. The film kit worked very well protecting the Nook's screen while I was on the beach. The only issue I have is that I haven't been able to get 100% of the bubbles out from under the film. Even with this issue I recommend the product.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    Just what I expected.

    Covers nicely... Just what I expected it to do!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    A good product. Works well.

    Does what it is supposed to, and does it well. Easy to install.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    Works good

    My advise to people is immediately put this on after you take your nook out of the packaging. This limits the dust that you have to clean off. When you put it on, slowly roll it on, rubbing from side to side as you go. Do not put it on flat. If you do that i don't see any way you will get air bubbles, other than if there is something left on the screen. It went on fine for me. Only complaint is that they make it smaller than the screen. I didn't realize this so i didn't center it as good as i should have.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    I Like Mine

    After trying a cheap knockoff that eventually went into the garbage, I went to my closest B&N, sprang for this kit & had a salesperson install it for me. No air bubbles, no glare, no aggravation. 15 bucks is pretty pricey though which is why I knocked off a star. I'd recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7