Customer Reviews for

NOOK GlowLight

Average Rating 3.5
( 595 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(237)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(140)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

318 out of 328 people found this review helpful.

I actually bought this Nook and therefore am doing a proper revi

I actually bought this Nook and therefore am doing a proper review.  I love this new nook, I am so ECSTATIC that they've fixed the screen! I was on my 4th or 5th glow light with that nasty issue of the "tear" in the screen that leaked light with the glow, tho ...
I actually bought this Nook and therefore am doing a proper review.  I love this new nook, I am so ECSTATIC that they've fixed the screen! I was on my 4th or 5th glow light with that nasty issue of the "tear" in the screen that leaked light with the glow, tho Barnes and Noble was great about replacing them, having to do my shelves over again sucked a ton but still better than Kindle.  The screen is uber responsive, I know some people, who hadn't bought it, complaint about the buttons to turn pages, but I only used them because the screen wouldn't always work, this one is great! You can still tap or swipe.  It's so thin and light! (lighter than Kindle, .06" fatter) It feels like a dream and after adjusting to any menu/operating changes it's very easy to use.  Also, if you're a Baen Books fan, you'll know how you have to buy the files and load them on your Nook and then they sit in the documents and you may even forget they are there.....well Now they appear in your library and you can put them on shelves! Yes it doesn't come with an outlet plug for the charging cable, a lot of devices don't anymore, and it's USB so the old Nook plugs will work, or Apple ones or whatever you have.  I love the trees screensaver, it's a small thing but it makes me smile.  Some of the fronts have changed and I think the words might not get as small, tho the really tiny text might be when the publisher's defaults screw with the custom setting even when they aren't selected.  The glow is brighter and easier to adjust.  IT feels like a dream, it's truly a tactile wonder, the silicone side wrap and the mildly textured front and the silky micro-suede-esque feeling back!! The ONLY thing I don't like is that a case is not available at the same time as the Nook, because I know I for one want to protect all my technological babies right from the get go and HATE when manufacturers don't take that into account with their new gadgets!!!!!  All and all a GREAT GREAT GREAT e-reader, and SO worth upgrading form the previous Nook!

posted by 3757926 on November 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

208 out of 312 people found this review helpful.

The elimination of the side buttons and lack of Micro SD Slot ma

The elimination of the side buttons and lack of Micro SD Slot make this actually a downgrade in terms of functionality.  The screen may be better, but I chose the nook over the Kindle (I'm on my 3rd Nook) specifically because the buttons are better/more ergonomic for on...
The elimination of the side buttons and lack of Micro SD Slot make this actually a downgrade in terms of functionality.  The screen may be better, but I chose the nook over the Kindle (I'm on my 3rd Nook) specifically because the buttons are better/more ergonomic for one handed reading and the micro-SD slot for adding books from Project Guenberg, Google, Baen Free Library and other places.

It's a real shame, because I was looking forward to the new screen.  But I'll be holding on to my current Nook for now, sorry B&N,

posted by DreadPirateJeff on October 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    It would be prefect except I need expandable memory. It seems th

    It would be prefect except I need expandable memory. It seems there is no real room for anything but Nook Store content and since I like to read fanfiction on my nook. This doesn't do me much good. Bring that back micros SD slot as a feature and I would buy this in a heart beat.

    76 out of 118 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    I just don't get it when people say that not having physical but

    I just don't get it when people say that not having physical buttons or an sd slot is a "deal breaker" so they say they're going to get a kindle instead... which has no physical buttons or an sd slot. How does that make any sense?

    58 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    I was really looking forward to this.  It's now better than Kind

    I was really looking forward to this.  It's now better than Kindle Paperwhite, but I was hoping for a larger screen, like the Kobo Aura (but that has its own problems).

    Compared to the previous Glowlight, there's no side buttons, no microSD, and it doesn't come with a power adapter.   Better display (sounds like its more durable, previous one was much too easy to damage).  Not sure why doubling memory from 2GB to 4GB didn't add on an extra 2GB to amount available for content, looks like they grabbed an extra 500MB for the OS.

    57 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Looks like a nice unit, but the lack of side buttons is a deal-b

    Looks like a nice unit, but the lack of side buttons is a deal-breaker for me. I love laying on my side in bed with the previous Nook, and being able to turn pages with the press of my thumb. Removal of the SD is no big deal for me, but removing the side buttons is.

    36 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    I was so excited when I heard that B&N had released a new No

    I was so excited when I heard that B&N had released a new Nook, however I was quickly disappointed by a few things. The removal of the SD card slot is a very big let down. The SD card slot was something that propelled the Nook above the rest to me, The removal of the physical buttons is also a disappointing change.

    I hope that B&N decides to bring back these features for any future Nook glowlight devices. To me the SD card and physical buttons were what made the Nook a winner for me. I think I will be keeping my Nook Simple Touch w/ GL.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    Good news that B&N has updated the Glowlight. I own the fi

    Good news that B&N has updated the Glowlight. I own the first generation and I love it but very bad news that they didn't listen to their customers regarding how much everyone loved the page turning buttons and opted to leave them off of the new version. Also, the Micro SD was very important to me and the fact that it is no longer available on the device makes this a "no buy" for me. Which is a shame because I love the shape and the new color is cute!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    I don't have the glowlight, but I do have the original nook and

    I don't have the glowlight, but I do have the original nook and the HD+ tablet. I use the original as much as I do the HD+. That said, I would not get the new glowlight unless the side page turner buttons were added as well as the SD card slot. I eat alone much of the time and I read while I eat. Keeps me from staring into space over my plate. The side page turn buttons keep my screen from getting messier than it should if I happen to get something on my hands. I made the mistake of using my HD+ while eating a messy sandwich and got a bit of mayo on the screen and the screen went nuts because it didn't know if I wanted to go forward or backward on a page turn. It was hilarious! Yes, side buttons. Miss them a lot on the HD+.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    I played with one in the store, and the overall look and feel is

    I played with one in the store, and the overall look and feel is much better, especially the rounded edges and the improved screen resolution and backlight.
    However, I am not going to purchase this model though due to several other shortcomings.
    In order of importance:

    Storage - if most of your non B-N library is epub, 500mb for user owned content should be enough, but unfortunately, I am using my current NSTGL on the job to hold all of my service guides and repair manuals which are all PDF and combined total almost 2GB in size and reside on my SD card. Either bring back the SD slot, or offer more available storage for user content, 3GB would be nice. I purchase a lot of material via B-N, but the space requirements are reversed, I could easily fit all of my Nook books in the 500mb partition, and use the remaining 2 plus GB for my larger documents. Maybe offer an 8GB model with the space split down the middle?

    Lack of page turn buttons, my hands get fairly wet or dirty on the job, and I would prefer not to have to wash/dry my hands every time I need to turn a page.

    Please offer a choice of colors, preferably black or gray in addition to white. See above, my use would have it turning grey after a few weeks of use anyway!

    Hopefully this is just a transitional model, and they will offer another one closer to the holidays. I would gladly pay a little more for physical buttons and better storage options, because I really need to upgrade my current NSTGL due to being on my third warranty replacement for the screen issue.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Bought this today and it's much faster and more responsive than

    Bought this today and it's much faster and more responsive than the previous Nook Simple Touch. Unfortunately, there appears to be a slight tear (or random hole) in the lighting. I expected better...

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    It is also offset crazy to give five stars rating because somebo

    It is also offset crazy to give five stars rating because somebody think because they can't install another dictionary.  I will give 3 star neutral rating to make it fair. Fairness is so important. I am sure this is a 5 star product to me. but how can you rate something you haven't see in person. People write review for something they haven't touch is dumb overall.

    5 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    I just bought one yesterday from my local store.  It is very, ve

    I just bought one yesterday from my local store.  It is very, very light.  The text is slightly more crisp and the light is slightly more evenly distributed and a warmer, more pleasant color.

    The improvements in the text and light are slight, though.  The light has a dark strip along the top, which I find more distracting than the slight unevenness of my previous generation nook.  The lack of side buttons is a real issue, since a touch on the left part of the screen turns the page back and there is no way to change that.  If you often hold your nook in your left hand and press the button to page forward, you'll either have to change your habit or skip readers.  The lack of buttons and lack of an SD card slot seem like cost-saving measures and are in line with the cheap feel of the reader in general.  Compared to the last nook, this nook is slippery, with unevenness of gaps around the gasket that wraps around the nook.  I like the light weight, and when I say this feels cheap, I'm not responding to that.  Also, the loss of the concave back, coupled with the less rubberized (cheaper) materials makes this thing hard to hold.  The kicker is the $20 optional cover.  What a joke.  

    I urge you to try this in the store before you buy.  I may actually keep it.  I don't know.  I like the light weight a lot.  I'll try a few evenings of reading to see if I can warm up to it.  Make no mistake, though, in terms of build quality it is a downgrade.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    I purchased the Nook Glowlight in November of 2013. It has been

    I purchased the Nook Glowlight in November of 2013. It has been a great buy for reading at the beach and reading at night. However I wish I would've gone with the Kindle since my nook frequently freezes(and only unfreezes when I connect it to my computer) and it came with a dead pixel. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    When it is working I absolutely love it; however, I have had to

    When it is working I absolutely love it; however, I have had to have it replaced with a new one twice now because it just stops working. Even with a full battery charge the problems always start with it refusing to light and then move on to it jumping forward 20 or 30 pages and then refusing to let me back up to where I left off reading. It will only go forward no matter which side of the screen I tap. Also, it will not let me bring up the contents bar on the bottom and will not let me return to the home page. Barnes and Noble have been wonderful about giving me a new one each time this happens and I do love it when it is working and am hoping that my latest replacement will be my last. I was slow to get a Nook being one of those people who kept saying I liked the feel of a book in my hand but after receiving this GlowLight as a Christmas present I am hooked.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    A friend loaned me her old Kindle so that I could try e-books.

    A friend loaned me her old Kindle so that I could try e-books. She also suggested that I look at the backlit NOOK. After reading the reviews I'm not sure I will buy one.
    The micro SD for external storage sounds like a good feature to me, especially if one wants to read material from multiple sources.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    I had the first generation, it died, B&N took it in trade fo

    I had the first generation, it died, B&N took it in trade for a new Simple Touch, which was the newest model at the time.  I used a book light.  LOVED IT!!!  Wife bought a Simple Touch with glowlight.  I hated how the page looked.  Decided to purchase a "best Nook yet" and hoped for the best.  I feel like I am cheating on the Simple Touch.  I should have just stayed with what I love.  No SD card, no side buttons, and flimsy look and feel to the new Glowlight made it a silly purchase on my part.  My 13 year old nephew will love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    The only criticism I have about the new glow light is this ... T

    The only criticism I have about the new glow light is this ... The only available cover stinks !!!
    I can't stress enough how disappointing that lack of foresight is.  I have been to local B&N stores and have had clerks tell me that at this point they believe none are on the way. 
    Third party products don't fit. Older Nooks had those little tabs at th top and bottom to hold your Nook and they also don't fit the new one.  The best feature about an E-reader is its portibility and without a proper case to protect it while traveling undercuts the whole reason to have a Nook in the first place. 
    B&N please rectify this !!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    I have now owned 4 Glowlights in the last 1.75 years. The first

    I have now owned 4 Glowlights in the last 1.75 years. The first worked perfectly until, just after a year of owning it, the screen started peeling away on the underside. I'll give B&N props for immediately replacing it and the extra friendly staff at the store who helped me. The second Glowlight (the replacement for the first) is the new generation model. While I delighted in being given the latest and greatest available I immediately noted two flaws: side buttons are gone (I really miss this feature), no SD slot. I can live with these unpopular changes, however bigger issues are present. This new model has had major technology glitches. I have found that several times a day the pages will only move in one direction despite where I press on the screen, followed by the machine actually freezing up completely resulting it is being unable to turn off (even when I press both buttons to reboot). Thinking this was a fluke I took it back, (thankfully it froze up each time just before I spoke with the manager) demonstrated this issues to the manager, and accepted a replacement Glowlight only to have these same issues happen again on 2 more replacement Glowlight devices. B&N are very surprised by the issues that my device is experiencing but are unable to do anything but replace it for me. I am hoping that one of these replacements will actually work without problems. I am not interested in other products on the market because of the super LONG BATTERY LIFE and the Glowlight feature on a screen that is easy to read in daylight or darkness. B&N please fix these issues . . . the marketplace it too saturated with these devices to keep customers loyal to you over these types of issues (and I am trying to stay loyal).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    Just bought mine yesterday, so this review is of initial impress

    Just bought mine yesterday, so this review is of initial impressions. (As background, I own one of each Nook e-reader there is all the way back to the original one, along with a couple of the HD and HD+ tablets, so I am a longtime customer and fan of Nooks.)

    First impressions once I got my new NOOK GlowLight home: REALLY noticed and was surprised by how gray the background of the screen is compared to my Nook SimpleTouch and SimpleTouch Glowlight! It is possible I have a defective unit (more on that later), as I did not notice the screen being so gray when I was looking at demo models in the local B&N store before I bought mine. Initially wondered if grayness was a matter of contrast compared to the new white case color, and perhaps some of the effect is that, but laying it side by side with my old Nook SimpleTouch Glowlight, and even overlapping the screens with the exact same content displayed on both, it is NOT just an optical illusion based on the different case border colors. Note that this was all without using the GlowLight feature on either Nook. Once you turn on the GlowLight on the new NOOK (at about the 50 percent level) the new screen whitens out significantly and things look fine. (By the way, then new GlowLight is MUCH better than the previous GlowLight, in brightness, whiteness, and evenness, so I really do like that improvement!)

    OK, so I kind’ve hate the new grayish screen, but it is fixable if I choose to leave the Glowlight on at half brightness all the time. According to battery life specs from B&N, it seems like that won’t affect time between charges much. But, I can’t understand why the new NOOK should take a step backward when it comes to basic screen contrast.

    Next problem (which makes me think I have a defective unit) is that right out of the box I had lots of problems with the touch screen not responding. Particularly in the SHOP mode, it was simply impossible to get the NOOK to respond by touching one of the book icons when browsing through the store or in a list of books found using the Search tool. Funny thing is, all other parts of the touch screen would work—you could use the back button or select another search, but trying to bring up a book in the SHOP application just wouldn’t work. Once I did a full reboot, I did get this to work, but it has intermittently failed several times since then. So, based on that alone, I will need to take this NOOK back for an exchange…or just a refund if I can’t get over the gray screen thing (I will look again at store models to see if the screen grayness is less pronounced—again, maybe I just got a defective unit).

    A few quick positive comments: LOVE the sharpness of the new screen and the fonts look great; much improved GlowLight as mentioned above; form factor is nice…though I wish it still had either the manual page turn buttons and/or a reconfigurable touch screen to handle page turns better; like many others, I wish it still had microSD card slot, but I can live without that; very happy to see the increase in on-board memory.

    So, in summary, and sadly, this is the first NOOK purchase with which I have been really disappointed. Each time before, every NOOK purchase was a great experience where I was thrilled with the new features, better readability, faster response, better form-factor, etc. This time I am trying to decide if it’s worth keeping.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    I like the size and weight of the glowlight. It is more difficul

    I like the size and weight of the glowlight. It is more difficult to search for books 
    then on my nook color. It is lighter and easier to tuck into my purse then the nook
    color, but at home I usually prefer to read on the nook color. I would give it 3 stars
    because it is easy to read on, but I miss the home feature that the nook color has.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    It was purchased specifically for the glowlight feature. This i

    It was purchased specifically for the glowlight feature. This is the second glowlight nook reader that was purchased for my husband. The first developed a small pin hole on the screen. My husband preferred his first glowlight nook because the features were better. This one seems to be a downgrade from the first. The glowlight feature is what sold us on it because he reads in bed and this does not require any additional reading lamp because it can be adjusted and doesn't bother me when I'm trying to sleep

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4