Customer Reviews for

NOOK GlowLight

Average Rating 3.5
( 776 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(319)

4 Star

(130)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(168)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

386 out of 399 people found this review helpful.

I actually bought this Nook and therefore am doing a proper revi

I actually bought this Nook and therefore am doing a proper review.  I love this new nook, I am so ECSTATIC that they've fixed the screen! I was on my 4th or 5th glow light with that nasty issue of the "tear" in the screen that leaked light with the glow, tho ...
I actually bought this Nook and therefore am doing a proper review.  I love this new nook, I am so ECSTATIC that they've fixed the screen! I was on my 4th or 5th glow light with that nasty issue of the "tear" in the screen that leaked light with the glow, tho Barnes and Noble was great about replacing them, having to do my shelves over again sucked a ton but still better than Kindle.  The screen is uber responsive, I know some people, who hadn't bought it, complaint about the buttons to turn pages, but I only used them because the screen wouldn't always work, this one is great! You can still tap or swipe.  It's so thin and light! (lighter than Kindle, .06" fatter) It feels like a dream and after adjusting to any menu/operating changes it's very easy to use.  Also, if you're a Baen Books fan, you'll know how you have to buy the files and load them on your Nook and then they sit in the documents and you may even forget they are there.....well Now they appear in your library and you can put them on shelves! Yes it doesn't come with an outlet plug for the charging cable, a lot of devices don't anymore, and it's USB so the old Nook plugs will work, or Apple ones or whatever you have.  I love the trees screensaver, it's a small thing but it makes me smile.  Some of the fronts have changed and I think the words might not get as small, tho the really tiny text might be when the publisher's defaults screw with the custom setting even when they aren't selected.  The glow is brighter and easier to adjust.  IT feels like a dream, it's truly a tactile wonder, the silicone side wrap and the mildly textured front and the silky micro-suede-esque feeling back!! The ONLY thing I don't like is that a case is not available at the same time as the Nook, because I know I for one want to protect all my technological babies right from the get go and HATE when manufacturers don't take that into account with their new gadgets!!!!!  All and all a GREAT GREAT GREAT e-reader, and SO worth upgrading form the previous Nook!

posted by 3757926 on November 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

260 out of 378 people found this review helpful.

The elimination of the side buttons and lack of Micro SD Slot ma

The elimination of the side buttons and lack of Micro SD Slot make this actually a downgrade in terms of functionality.  The screen may be better, but I chose the nook over the Kindle (I'm on my 3rd Nook) specifically because the buttons are better/more ergonomic for on...
The elimination of the side buttons and lack of Micro SD Slot make this actually a downgrade in terms of functionality.  The screen may be better, but I chose the nook over the Kindle (I'm on my 3rd Nook) specifically because the buttons are better/more ergonomic for one handed reading and the micro-SD slot for adding books from Project Guenberg, Google, Baen Free Library and other places.

It's a real shame, because I was looking forward to the new screen.  But I'll be holding on to my current Nook for now, sorry B&N,

posted by DreadPirateJeff on October 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    I picked this up on Friday and have been using it all weekend. G

    I picked this up on Friday and have been using it all weekend. Granted that is rather a short time to evaluate the e-reader but I thought I'd at least post my initial thoughts. I have had both the Nook SImple Touch and the Simple Touch with Glowlight previous version. I gave the older glowlight to my nephew just a week or two after I got it because the ink seemed so faint on the screen. I didn't have "bleed" issues but I did struggle with having crisp font. I replaced it with a regular NookST and have been using that with a M-Edge case and light. I am primarily a Kindle user and have had all the Kindle iterations except the original. However when BN took over fictionwise I found myself with 700+ books on the nook and it seemed prudent to get a Nook to read them (I detest backlight for reading). 

    This new Glowlight is everything I wanted the original to be. The color doesn't bother me and it doesn't affect my reading. I had a Kindle that was white a couple times - and it didn't bother either. As far as size this is kind of short and chubby but it is comfortable to hold. The touch screen is very responsive - but it did loose a star for the fact it is three "zones" and you can really only page forward with the right side of the screen. Since I read in bed or laying down a lot I prefer to have that functionality available to me from both left and right sides. The page refresh is excellent and barely noticeable. I thought I'd hate not having buttons but, truth be told, my NookST buttons are rather hard to push so I found myself not using them as much anyway. This is of a shape and size that I don't miss the buttons (and that means a lot coming from me because I LOVE buttons and really am not too fond of touch screens in general - call me old school)

    The MicroSD card is not a big deal for me - as I've learned to be lean and keep just a hundred or so side loaded books on my e-readers. It always seems with more book on it that there are slow downs (including on Kindle). I find both the Kindle and Nook interfaces to be fine, although different. I cannot say I prefer one over the other except for a few things and that is I do like the collections ability on the Kindle. I find it helpful. However this one scrolls through my library lickety split so overall that is negligible. Overall I am very satisfied. I read approximately 500 or so books per year - so have no problem spending money on e-readers that make my life much easier. I appreciate both the Kindle and Nook for what they bring to the table and really enjoy them both! 

    75 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    What were you thinking B & N?? No SD card slot is a deal bre

    What were you thinking B & N?? No SD card slot is a deal breaker. I have been waiting patiently for two years for an upgrade to the Simple Touch e-reader. I almost bought a Kobo Aura, but I still wanted to be able to lend books to my husband. So, here comes what I thought was going to be the perfect answer. How disappointing to find they have taken things away and not given us much in return. No SD card slot is a HUGE problem. Also, the page turn buttons are really handy when you are holding the device in one hand and you want to turn the page without using your other hand.

    52 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    I love my Nook Glowlight and was waiting for an upgrade. I've r

    I love my Nook Glowlight and was waiting for an upgrade. I've read all the reviews on B&N site as well as third party reviews of this Glowlight and Kindle Paperwhite (what does Paperwhite even mean, BTW?). As usual, Nook seems to edge out the comparative Kindle product. Two things I am immediately disappointed about though: A) the color and B) they eliminated the button page turning option. I didn't always use them, but it was a very nice option. For instance, if I'm holding the Nook in my left hand with a cup of coffee or tea in the right hand (my favorite way to read, especially in the colder months--hot beverage in one hand and Nook in the other), I could turn the page by tapping the button with my left thumb May seem a silly thing to bring up, but that option, among many others, is an advantage over actual books. I'm hoping they consider bringing it back with future upgrades. If I purchase this new Nook Glowlight, I'll miss that option.

    32 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    I really have not been happy with my e-ink Nooks since the N1. I

    I really have not been happy with my e-ink Nooks since the N1. I had to give this new Glowlight a try and I love it. I did like the buttons on the NSTWGL but losing them is no big deal to me. I see what B&N is doing with this new reader. They make a reader like the Kindle (no page turn buttons and no sd card slot) but sell it cheaper (no ads), double the storage and make it lighter.
    I was not a fan of the look until I saw this in person and handled the device. It is comfortable to hold and a big step up from the NSTWGL. I don't know if it will draw new readers to the B&N shop, but I can see many upgrading to this Nook. B&N has made a few missteps and at first glance this may seem to be just one more. I think however that this is a device one must see in person to appreciate.
    I am just glad B&N is still producing e-ink devices.There is no perfect ereader, especially one that meets every readers wants. This new Nook may not be perfect but it is a new ereader and that is always welcome.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    I have no idea why in the hell people are so upset about 'only'

    I have no idea why in the hell people are so upset about 'only' 500MB of space for user content. I just looked in my Calibre library and I can fit all 298 books I have in that amount of space.Yes, the removal of the buttons sucks. But that doesn't warrant a one-star rating. As far as not including a power adapter, you can always charge from a computer, and to be honest who doesn't have a USB to AC adapter laying around?

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    I have had my Nook Glowlight for about 2 weeks now and figure I'

    I have had my Nook Glowlight for about 2 weeks now and figure I've had it long enough I can give a fairly realistic review.  




    I've had a first generation Nook, and a Nook Simple Touch, so I skipped the Nook Simple Touch Glowlight step, meaning I have no previous experience with the backlight.  Overall, I'm pretty happy about the upgrade.




    Pros:
    --The display is very sharp- Between the Simple Touch and the new Nook Glowlight, I can see a noticeable difference in the crispness of the text. Something I would have noticed if I hadn't upgraded, but still nice.
    --Very light-  The Simple Touch isn't heavy by any standards but I can feel a difference in extended reading sessions, which is appreciated.
    --Love the backlight – As I said before, I never had the first generation of backlit screens but I am happy with the screen on this one. It seems very even except around the edges where there isn't any text anyways, and I can read with the backlight on for a few hours and not have any issues, I was worried it would give me headaches like reading on a computer does sometimes but I've yet to have that issue.   




    Cons:
    --No SD slot- several reviews mentioned this. I have no idea why B&N would take a step backwards technology wise and take out removable storage.  Not a huge issue, I can't see a situation where I would read a couple hundred books before I have a chance to connect to wifi or my computer, but still a little odd.
    --Color- Yes, this is minor too. I enjoyed the black Simple Touch and am not a fan of the white.  I've already been asked twice about what kind of Apple product I am using.  Which is good if you are an Apple fan I guess, a little irritating for an Android user.  That's what skins and cases are for though, and how I managed the first generation Nook's coloration. Not a big deal.
    --No side buttons -  This is honestly my biggest complaint.  I hadn't realized how much I used the side buttons until they weren't there anymore.  I really miss them, wish this one had it. The main reason I am giving it 4/5 stars.  Most noticeable when attempting to read laying down in bed.  That awkward thumb wriggle to try and change the page without dropping my Nook on my face, I could do without. 




    Overall I'm happy with the upgrade.  There are some steps backwards for no apparent reason, but the ability to read in less-than-perfect lighting with the same ease as my Nook Simple Touch makes up for it for me personally. 

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Infra-red touch remains. That is a deal breaker for me. If it we

    Infra-red touch remains. That is a deal breaker for me. If it were capacitive touch, I would have bought it.

    6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    I purchased this device as an upgrade to the Nook Simple Touch.

    I purchased this device as an upgrade to the Nook Simple Touch. The device itself is attractive to the eye, and the texture on the back and the rubberized edge feels comfortable in my hand. It's very light too. I did notice that while reading the Glowlight sans cover (because the covers available right now are disappointing) it felt like there wasn't enough space for my fingers to rest comfortably - my thumb kept wanting to drift over to the screen, where it would have kept turning the pages. I had the same issue with the NST so that's not a big deal. The WHITE sides do make the screen look washed out and grey compared to the NST's black casing. It's an optical illusion, but it's very noticeable when I read. Turning the glowlight on negates that effect. I did notice one glaring design flaw (or factory error, maybe): The hole cut in the rubber edge for the micro-USB port is not cut exactly in line with the charger connection. You can connect it to charge, but it makes the bottom of the edge look odd and when you pull the USB cable out, it sometimes tugs the rubber part out of place. I imagine an X-Acto knife would be able to cut a tiny piece out of the rubber to fix the problem, but right now it's not a big enough problem to bother with. Overall, I'm happy with my Nook Glowlight and I'd recommend it to those who want to purchase e-books from B&N.  

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am so happy that it is white. I have missed white since the f

    I am so happy that it is white. I have missed white since the first edition. Someone said it is harder on the eyes - no its not and dark colors influence the experience of reading for me too much. I want to know I'm not just holding another tablet but a book. That is what I always have loved about the e-ink nooks. Its designed for reading first. And now its back in white! Yeah! Will miss the sd card. I know it has more room now but it would have been nice to just transfer the card. But its white! And the light is awesome, I can't read back light for that long. And its white!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    For those who are concerned about not having a side button to tu

    For those who are concerned about not having a side button to turn the pages, there is an alternative to swiping across the screen. The User Guide, page 29, explains page turning, you can swipe the page or tap the right or left side of the screen to turn pages.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2014

    I recently bought a GlowLight and was asked to share my thoughts

    I recently bought a GlowLight and was asked to share my thoughts on it.  My only problem is with the
    cover.  It is a clip-on cover that covers the face.  It provides zero protection to the back or against shock.  
    The other Nooks have covers that surround the Nook and provide a bit of shock protection in case you
    drop it.

    I was pleasantly surprised at the background lighting which gives this model its name.  The glow is
    variable to give you the intensity you desire.  It can even be turned off so you can use pure ambient
    lighting if you wish.  That was my biggest anxiety with getting it.  I read a lot, so I was concerned that the
    battery wouldn't last because of the glow, and that direct sunlight would wash out the text, but that isn't
     the case.  It is just an eink display with a backlight.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    Screen on my STR/GL kinda split itself so I can see the lower pa

    Screen on my STR/GL kinda split itself so I can see the lower page, but the upper half is frozen. For a while, it retained the words from the top half of the page active when whatever happened, happened.

    We were traveling at the time, so used my iPad for reading.  Boy, having to charge every day to read it a pain it the rear.  Also used the iPad to find that the new Glowlight had come out, so read the reviews.

    B&N in Bakersfield, Ca was willing to work with me on the STR, but tech support was closed down by the time we had encamped at our motel and wandered over to B&N.  When we got home, the Northgate B&N said "broken screen. You can call this number, but it won't be covered under warranty" and couldn't shove me out the door fast enough, so we went over to Best Buy (too early, not open) and then Target (open) and bought the Glowlight.

    So, now that I've played with it, here's my take:

    Missing MicroSD - so what? Got a 2g card for the STR/GL and find I only have 250m books on it to begin with.  Mostly read library books, anyway, (My "ebook settlement was only $5) and haven't really gotten thru many side loaded books, which have been the same ones since my first ereader (not nook) 5 years ago.

    Only real bother is now is that nook books and side loaded content are mixed together when viewing "books" in the library.  I just opened the all so they show up as the most recent, and then created a shelf for them.  But for the most part, I'm only going to be interested in whatever I just loaded.

    Was kinda nice to be able to see the nook books by selecting the "nook" button, and see the side loaded content by pressing the "card" button, but its no big deal.

    Digital Edition (library books) still have to be located by going into My Files and opening up the DE folder.

    Shelves shouldn't disappear anymore, like they did when on an SD card, but we'll have to see.

    Page turn buttons -- Oh, the STR had page turn buttons? (just kidding).  But, really, I only used them when I decided that maybe I should since they were there, and maybe they would be handy.  But I always went back to page-turn-swiping with my thumb.  

    Now, I happen to be  left handed, but I really don't see it makes a difference. I pretty much always hold the nook in one hand and when its time to turn a page, I just swipe the screen with my thumb (left to go back, right to go forward) and presto-changeo, new page.  I won't miss the buttons because I kept forgetting they were there, anyway.

    And I don't really care what color the unit is.  I do kinda like the white for a change, tho.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    really like this device. I just wanted something to use for read

    really like this device. I just wanted something to use for reading that was light and portable. Been using it for at least 2 weeks and i am impressed. no complaints here. i would recommend this product and bonus plus plus :-) on the glowlight because i love to read in bed at night.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    I love my new Nook Glowlight. I've been using it for about 2 wee

    I love my new Nook Glowlight. I've been using it for about 2 weeks. I only ran into one problem, it froze on my once and I was afraid it was permanent. But, I just restarted it and it worked again. I love the light and how you can adjust the brightness. It's so light. I've owned the Nook HD and this is way lighter. The battery lasts so long.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    To give some background I have owned the nook classic, nook simp

    To give some background I have owned the nook classic, nook simple touch, and nook simple touch with glowlight. I was hesitant to upgrade to the newest model as I simply did not see enough of an upgrade to justify the money. Having finally taken the plunge, however, I can't see what took me so long. This newest model is simply superb, besting all others my no small margin. The ghosting issue has been completely resolved (I have tested it in full daylight as well which is when I found this issue to be most prominent) the pages turn quickly, and the glow is even and white. Add the extra storage and ease of holding with the silicon bumper and I'm thrilled. It is also noticeably lighter than any previous version. WONDERFUL!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2015

    I would recommend this ereader to anyone looking to buy one. I r

    I would recommend this ereader to anyone looking to buy one. I really like the backlight and the Nook is lighter than the Simple Nook. I do wish it had the side buttons that the Simple Nook has for easy navigation.  Definately a good product.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    I really like the light. It is so good in the dark rooms at nigh

    I really like the light. It is so good in the dark rooms at night and also cloudy days! This Nook is lightweight
    too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    This is my third Nook.  I find it easier to read with the white

    This is my third Nook.  I find it easier to read with the white edge.  Even though I only share my bed with the cat, I like having the glow light that will turn itself off the along when the ebook times out.   Not sure I like the slip style cover. Haven't travelled with it so not sure how hard it will be to keep track of the cover.   

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2014

    I have had my Nook now for several months and I like it a lot. T

    I have had my Nook now for several months and I like it a lot. The e-ink, glowlight, and anti-glare screen make it easy to read in any lighting condition, and I have taken this thing everywhere. E-ink is so much easier on the eyes than a computer screen or smart phone. One of the most frustrating things about the Glowlight was trying to find a case to protect it properly. There aren't many options. Finally recently BN had a padded neoprene case I have hope for. At one point the Nook silicone band broke and I found there was no way to order new band other than used ones from ebay so I just glued it back together. For general reading the processor speed is just fine but sometimes I wish it were a hair faster updating when returning to the "reading now" main screen. (It takes about five seconds to refresh how far along you are in the last book you opened on the main screen.) I love this device and have used it almost daily. I was skeptical about the battery life claims for e-readers but I have been pleasantly surprised. Since I don't use the wi-fi much a charge will last quite awhile.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    The lighting is good and it's so lightweight. Much lighter than

    The lighting is good and it's so lightweight. Much lighter than two previous ones I've used. At times I wish the print was bolder or that I could have the option of making it so. Also, because it's touch screen, sometimes I think my finger is only near the screen and the page turns, who knows. I do love the "find" feature. Being able to look up someone or something that I've read earlier in the book but can't quite remember how it connects, the find feature shows you every page with that word or name in a partial sentence and all you have to do is touch which page you want to see to refresh your memory. Sometimes there's enough information in the partial sentence to take care of that and then you can just go back to reading where you'd left off. It's great! Overall, I love it. Had one before that wasn't backlit and spent a fortune on batteries for a clip light in order to read it unless I was in the sun.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7