Customer Reviews for

NOOK HD Tablet Smoke 8GB

Average Rating 4
( 853 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(453)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(109)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

426 out of 443 people found this review helpful.

I've been a part of the Barnes and Noble Nook family since the v

I've been a part of the Barnes and Noble Nook family since the very first Nook was released. I started out with the Nook WiFi. Within a year and a half, I upgraded to the NookColor. The Nook Color was a new reading experience. And honestly, after the Nook Tablet came ...
I've been a part of the Barnes and Noble Nook family since the very first Nook was released. I started out with the Nook WiFi. Within a year and a half, I upgraded to the NookColor. The Nook Color was a new reading experience. And honestly, after the Nook Tablet came out, I was a little disappointed. It wasn't the best experience.

Now I am on the Nook HD. This tablet is the best for the money I spent. Barnes and Noble has made a mistake in it's marketing, though. They never showcased the Bluetooth connectivity! That is the best fataure, and I had no idea that the 7inch Tablet had it. Imagine my surprise when I was able to connect my bluetooth keyboard to the device with ease!

I've been able to chat with my friends using great Apps, and update Evernote anywhere I go easily, and quickly. This is the best product Barnes and Noble has come out with. It's an amazing little tablet for the money. Thank you, Barnes and Noble, for making such a quality product. Your loyal Barnes and Noble customer, Heather

posted by Hkantz1781 on November 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

148 out of 298 people found this review helpful.

Having read half of ONE book (Nate Silver's "The Signal and

Having read half of ONE book (Nate Silver's "The Signal and the Noise"), I've experienced numerous problems.

Some are B&N website problems, I assume, not specifically Nook problems, but the competition has better solutions across the board.

a) The reader...
Having read half of ONE book (Nate Silver's "The Signal and the Noise"), I've experienced numerous problems.

Some are B&N website problems, I assume, not specifically Nook problems, but the competition has better solutions across the board.

a) The reader has refused 3 times to page forward, and once it refused to page forward OR back.
Paging is the SIMPLEST thing a reader should do, and it's disgraceful for Nook to fail at it.
b) The best font size I can find (third from right) is too small to avoid eye-strain.
c) The next size up is FAR TOO BIG.
d) Most of the font size choices are useless to any imaginable human being.
e) This text box on the website doesn't even work properly … since it doesn't allow carriage returns half the time.
f) Shopping is difficult because I can't focus a search on, for instance, apps until AFTER I've entered the search.
 That means the website has to exhaustively search for "image comics" across all product types, THEN I can filter it to apps, and THEN I find that there are none.
 That's backwards for me as a user, and backwards for B&N in terms of efficient searches.
g) When looking at "Nook recommendations", I can't mark those I already own or have no interest in.
 Hence, it will take a long time for B&N to determine what I like … and that's very important.
 
Why didn't I see reviews like this before I bought the product, I wonder?
 Will this review see the light of day? 

posted by DrMajorBob on December 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 853 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 43
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    I have been using a NookHD for several months now.  A major soft

    I have been using a NookHD for several months now.  A major software update was just forced on me that added many new apps and removed the old browser.  With the loss of the old browser also went ALL of my bookmarks.  This loss of user data is completely unsat and shows a lack of respect of B&N customers.

    26 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Not happy I can't get google play on my Nook Color!! Just becaus

    Not happy I can't get google play on my Nook Color!! Just because a new product comes out we should not have to buy a new one to have the same benefits. It's not fair because my Nook Color is amazing and nothing is wrong with it. How about an upgrade so we can benefit for some of these items.

    23 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Nook HD parental controls are NOT as advertised.  I have three n

    Nook HD parental controls are NOT as advertised.  I have three nook HDs for my three children.  I created one account, expecting to be able to use it as described by the sales person, with three unique profiles.  Each nook has access to all child profiles, none of which can have a password.  So, my seven year old can access my twelve year old's books right from her own nook.  Additionally, she can access his profile and view any of the video content I set up for him.  (ie she can watch PG and PG 13 simply by choosing to drag his icon to open her own nook.  I spoke with customer service regarding this issue and they suggested I get each of my children their own account, which btw is prohibited since they are all under 13 years of age.  Why can't barnes and noble allow  passwords for each profile.  I also tried to set up separate acounts by using my husband on one account and myself on another but that just meant we could not share anything we purchased.  So we are faced with a dilemma, pay twice for everything or allow our seven year old to read and watch everything our twelve year old has access to.  And to think I bought nooks because they told me all about the parental controls! 

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Do not buy the Warranty!!! Totally useless. They will only let

    Do not buy the Warranty!!!

    Totally useless. They will only let you replace one thing, even with the extended warranty. My USB cable came apart and I called trying to get a new one. They told me that if I applied the warranty it would use up my entire warranty plan. So if I later dropped or damaged my nook device (worth a lot more than a $15 USB cable) I wouldn't be able to replace it. I was then transferred to buy a new cable, but they were out of stock. They offered to check a local store for me, but all they could provide was the phone number, they couldn't even check the stock because they "don't have control over their retail stock". What?! If they don't then who does? Don't waste your money.

    21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    I have a Nook Tablet and would never buy another Nook again. I

    I have a Nook Tablet and would never buy another Nook again. I have gone through 3 chargers because they stop working or the tablet melts the cord. Took it to the store for help, but since I had already used the warranty once, I couldnt use it again to get it fixed!! Now the tablet wont turn on because it wont charge. I wish I would have just bought an iPad instead. It would still be working and I would still be able to read the book I am in the middle of. I now have a paperweight!! I have been a loyal Barnes and Noble customer for at least 15 years now, but I am so unhappy with this product that I probably wont even buy my books there anymore.

    19 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    Do not buy a NOOK! My husband bought me a nook color for Christ

    Do not buy a NOOK! My husband bought me a nook color for Christmas 2 years ago, and because all the nook power cables seem to be crap, the cord broke off. I have contacted customer support and barnes and noble, called every store in Colorado, and looked everywhere online and the power cables cannot be found for love or money!! I cannot charge my nook at all. If you purchase a Nook HD, be aware that they will probably stop making the power cords after the warranty expires, so that you have to purchase the next new device instead. I loved my Nook, but this is terrible customer service. I will get a Kindle next time. I am not giving B & N my money ever again. My device worked perfectly, but now I have no power whatsoever.What a waste of money!

    17 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    Love the Nook, but UNBELIEVABLY bad customer support. I ordered

    Love the Nook, but UNBELIEVABLY bad customer support. I ordered and received my Nook HD fairly quickly. I was able to set it up without any problems; however, the power adaptor shipped with the Nook was defective and would not work/charge the nook. I contacted customer service, they gladly said they would ship out a replacement. Several days later with no replacement received, I contacted customer service again and was told the replacement charger had been ordered and would be at my door in a day or two.  After a week, I called customer service again and was told my replacement order was CANCLED because the item wasn’t in stock. No notice, no call, no email. NOTHING. Now that it is back in stock, they’d be more than happy to place an new order and have it shipped back out in 5-7 business days. Really?  So, I get to wait ANOTHER 2 weeks to begin to use my Nook HD? Sorry, returning it to the store since it is defective. I’ll let you replace my entire Nook over a $20 cable.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    I travel extensively and purchased the Nook HD for two purposes:

    I travel extensively and purchased the Nook HD for two purposes: to monitor real-time traffic info via the web, using a Verizon JetPack for mobile internet. And for watching movies during down time.
    The One-Star Rating is due to the very limited number of very specific video formats and codecs that will play on the Nook HD. It is a VERY OBVIOUS design to force the Nook purchaser to purchase Barnes and Noble, Netflix etc. material, even though the description states that you can transfer your personal files onto the Nook!

    Sure, you can do this after spending more money on Video Conversion software, and spend countless hours converting all of your favorite videos! Seriously considering returning this one!

    14 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    I loved my nook color but upgraded to the nook HD mainly because

    I loved my nook color but upgraded to the nook HD mainly because of the ability to create profiles and the scrapbook feature. I was really excited about it at first b/c it was so light and bright. the scrapbook feature (allows you to "tear" out a page of a magazine) worked as I thought. I was extremely disappointed in the profiles feature. Yes, I could create different profiles for different family members, but I couldn't lock them. I could lock the device, but not the profiles. That meant there was no way to keep everyone's reading list private, which sort of defeats the entire purpose of having different profiles. Therefore, that feature became useless to me.

    I found the browser glitchy in that I could not use desktop mode for facebook. I hate the mobile version of many sites, and while I could pull up the desktop version of FB, I couldn't click on the notifications. That same issue applied to other sites, too. Also, I could no longer get apps that I had paid for and used frequently on my nook color, such as Scrabble. It simply wasn't available for the nook HD.

    Lastly, I HATE that you cannot archive books and magazines from the device. Yes, you could "send to cloud" which removed the material from the nook, but the cover was still on the shelf....so the screen was cluttered with books and magazines I had already read, and I had to scroll past them all to dig out the ones I hadn't yet read. I *really* wanted to like this, but the software is a mess. I returned my nook HD for a refund and made my husband give me back my old nook color. I'm going to save up for an iPad mini instead. :(

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    I guess my review is more of Barnes & Noble, but the tablet

    I guess my review is more of Barnes & Noble, but the tablet itself is at the root of the problem, so I only give one star. After owning the Nook HD for about 2 months, it developed tiny micro-cracks on both sides of the charging port, running from the bottom corners of the port and "snaking" up to the bottom edge of the device. The tablet was used only by me, a 42 year-old attorney and mother of two. The ONLY thing done to the tablet was the charger being GENTLY stuck in and pulled out as necessary. I bought the nook for MY use only, with a Nexus 7 and 2 iPads always being used by my children. I took the nook into my local barnes and noble, and the clueless guy behind the nook counter took it, called a number an described the damage, and then told me the cracks were not covered by the standard warranty. I did not buy the extended warranty because I new I would be the only one using the device. I have NEVER had this kind of a problem with apple (or other devices). I have even sent Kindles away that were damaged and were fixed and returned - no extended warranty needed. EXTREMELY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. Very disappointed. They broke my Barnes & Noble-loving heart.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    I have a Nook Tablet and just purchased the Nook HD. I've had

    I have a Nook Tablet and just purchased the Nook HD. I've had the HD for a week now and the screen is pretty awesome. It's going to take me a bit to get used to navigating it as it is set up differently from the Tablet but I think that will just take time. I was able to set it up in almost no time and everything from the Tablet loaded with no problems, including all the apps and games that I had.

    Here's the thing about all of the Nook products- if you're looking for more apps and access to more movies and music get an iPad or another, similar device. The reason I purchased a Nook product in the first place is because I wanted an e-reader that I could watch Netflix or Hulu+ on without having to get a cellular data plan or spending a ton of money.

    I have an iPad and like it as well, but comparing it to the Nook is a bit like comparing apples to oranges. Most of the negative reviews I've seen are easily fixed. If the sound is bad, get some headphones or a different case (I'm not a fan of the iPad's speakers either). If your device can't support something it should be able to, bring it into the store- one of the reasons I chose the Nook over the Kindle is because you can get an actual person at B&N to help if you bring it in.

    All in all, the HD has a better screen, is lighter and faster than my Tablet. I'm pretty happy with it.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Love my Nook Hd but am ready and waiting for an update. I've com

    Love my Nook Hd but am ready and waiting for an update. I've come across a ton of glitches that I never experienced on the NC. And why is Plants vs. Zombies listed as a Nook HD app but doesn't actually work on the Nook Hd or HD plus? If the app isn't ready, you should not be advertising it or selling it :(

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    I had the Nook tablet for a little over a year before it died an

    I had the Nook tablet for a little over a year before it died and decided to replace it with the HD tablet.
    I bought it and left on vacation with it the next morning. The picture was great and it only took a little bit to get used to the new home page layout. Unfortunately I couldn't get the cover off the SD slot. When I was finally able to wiggle it out only one side was attached. Hmm, kind of a dumb design I figured, but I'll work with it. When I returned from vacation I went back to the store I had bought it from and looked at the SD cover on the demo model. Upon discovering that both sides of the cover are supposed to be attached, I assumed the cover was broken and that was why it had been so hard to open. The staff at the store cheerfully exchanged my broken Nook. The door on the new one wasn't much better and now it too is broken. Everything else has been wonderful. If you are planning to access the SD card a lot you may not want this tablet.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    The Nook HD 7" Tablet represents the very best tablet curre

    The Nook HD 7" Tablet represents the very best tablet currently available on the market and here is why: Yes it is true that the Nook HD lacks a camera,  a micro USB port, and 3G or 4G connectivity, but (a very very big but) those features don't mean squat when compared to what you get in this awesome product. First : The Nook HD is small, lightweight, durable, fun, easy to use, and best of all costs less than half of what you would pay for other like models. Second: The Nook HD has a razor sharp screen. Market Product Testers have discovered that when they compare the Nook HD screen and video playback with other models the Nook HD is by far the best HD Screen for any 7" tablet. Third: Nook HD has gone Android. A recent Barnes and Noble Nook HD update shocked the market when it was announced that Barnes and Noble was pairing up with Google. Now Nook HD users have unfettered access to Google Play and the infinite number of applications available for purchase. Fourth: new WiFi and Bluetooth products like a WiFi WebCam, or a Bluetooth Keyboard can kick this Nook HD into overdrive. Five: Nook HD has built in microphones! Using the Andoid app like ListNotes, or Dragon and you can turn your Nook HD into an instant dictation machine that recognizes speech and instantly converts it into editable text. Sixth: The Nook is a mini Art Pad. Another shock to the market was how awesome the Nook HD worked as a Digital Art Pad. Using Android Apps by Autodesk, Adobe and etc… and what you have is a portable digital canvas that Artists can use to create masterpieces on the fly anywhere. The Nook HD is also a photo editor! Android Photo Editing Apps like PicSay, give users the ability to creatively edit their photos.  Seventh: The Nook HD can easily connect via WiFi with online drive services like Google Drive, Microsoft Skydrive, Dropbox, Box, and etc… thus allowing the user instant access to all of their documents, photos, music and videos. Eighth: The Nook HD is a music player so while you cruise the Internet you can also Rock out listening to your favorite music.    Add all that up together and what you have is an insanely powerful minicomputer starting at $200. 

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    I'm only giving it a star because it won't let me post the revie

    I'm only giving it a star because it won't let me post the review without it. It deserves zero. I'm on my 4th Nook HD since Father's Day. Each one has progressively gotten worse. It started with randomly turning itself off several times in a row for no reason...I got this one yesterday, set it up this morning, was doing great for 10 min, and it shut itself off, failed to reboot and told me the install failed, please power off and power back on. When it finally rebooted it was back to factory settings. I give up.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    I LOVED this new NOOK when I got it. Light weight, beautiful re

    I LOVED this new NOOK when I got it. Light weight, beautiful resolutions - a joy to use. Then it turned itself off one day and that was it. A lot of money for a piece of that lasted less than 3 months.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    I would rate this product as a -1. So far I have saved up to bu

    I would rate this product as a -1. So far I have saved up to buy one for my invilid mother (my father also has cancer),. They are in their mid 8
    0's and I live with them. The only way my mother can read is with very large print.
    From day one her color nook began doing weird things.
    I checked it out and it did them to me too. I called the store and they sadid it had to be operator error.
    It gets worse.
    When I bought these two, I was told in no uncertain terms that these were products that would be outdated, but around for at least two more years. Due to my own medical conditon I had to give up driving and it takes over an hour to get to the store.Both nooks would do things like flipping to the next page and suddenly finding yourself in another book, or freezing up, etc. The batterly life is almost non working.So far I went back with one to have it exchanged for anew one and was told I could only get a used one. The sales person had to surch for a second one in stock that worked. Then I went back this last weeki and the sale person was not very friendly. Instead he just said he would again replace both wi6th used ones. So now we have takien on sosmeone eless problems.He spent over an hour working on b oth and said they were ok. Now they are doing it all again. It is not all the time but hit and miss. Other weird things happen as well, like turning a page and finding yourself on the home page. I am a colledge grad and far from stupid. I know how to work these things. I was told that I could keep coming back andd receive replacement used ones until they run out. What part of it takes an hour to get there don"t they get?Then I was also told if I paid extra they could see what could be done about turning these problem color nooks for a used newer tablet type model that sales for $199.00.By the way I had paid $160 for each nook in August & two months later they were $140. I am on a very limited income and so I had to really save up for this. I do not want to keep going back and forth every month for exchanges to other used color nooks. The sales people claim they are good. Ha! Be very careful before you buy any of Barnes and NObels products!! You will be taken for a ride. Too bad because I had realy thought mayabe they would be more helpful and try to work with the customer better.I have no idea what to do next. I will call AGAIN tomorrow and tell them that these new -used ones I just picked up are doing the same things. By the way one of the sales people told me that other's had also had similar issues with the colore nooks. This was when his upper boss was not around. All in all, I was very, very nice about the whole thing. I make it a point not to be rude to other's, as I do not like to be treated that way.Again, do not be talked into buying from them. You will be sorry!!If my name or e-mail is published, you will hear from my attorney - who lives next door and would not charge me as frienhd.

    9 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    I notice the reviews that were low on the rating scale were b/c

    I notice the reviews that were low on the rating scale were b/c of customer service issues, not with the device itself. Well the device is amazing and runs beautiful. I did some comparison with the Kindle HD and the kindle didnt compare...it runs slower,smaller e-book library and it doesnt have the an SD slot to add more storage like the Nook does. I also didnt have to pay to remove ads...with that I perfer the Nook!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    I was going to get an IPAD but didn't want to spend that amount

    I was going to get an IPAD but didn't want to spend that amount of money. After some research I decided to get the Nook HD. I am very happy with it. The setup was easy. I can copy files from my laptop to
    the nook by drag and drop so that is very easy. The quality of the screen is exceptional. I do not regret this purchase.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    I currently own two 7" Nooks. One is the standard and the o

    I currently own two 7" Nooks. One is the standard and the other is the HD. The standard Nook works flawlessly. The HD however died within three months of ownership. I was reading and needed to stop for a moment when the screen just died. There was no picture, nada, nothing. I contacted customer service after trying all the reboot/reset procedures and was told to do all the all the same procedures again. Nothing! So after a lengthy deliberation the CS rep told me it was a defective device. DUH! OK so now he/she sends me an RMA and label to return the "defective device" to them and if it is determined that I did not drop off a building, take it for a swim or put a "hack" saw to it they wold replace it promptly. OK so that was three weeks ago. I just this moment got off the phone with another articulate CS rep who informs me that they only received my "defective device" last week. I promptly inform her that this was not the case. In fact it was received May 21st @ 9:40am and even gave the name of the employee who signed for it to which she replied "As I said it was received by us last week and it will be another two to three weeks before you will receive you replacement." This is , in my opinion, piss poor customer service. It is the last device I will ever buy from B&N.    

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 853 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 43