BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

NOOK HD Tablet Smoke 8GB

Average Rating 4
( 860 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(457)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(111)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

426 out of 443 people found this review helpful.

I've been a part of the Barnes and Noble Nook family since the v

I've been a part of the Barnes and Noble Nook family since the very first Nook was released. I started out with the Nook WiFi. Within a year and a half, I upgraded to the NookColor. The Nook Color was a new reading experience. And honestly, after the Nook Tablet came ...
I've been a part of the Barnes and Noble Nook family since the very first Nook was released. I started out with the Nook WiFi. Within a year and a half, I upgraded to the NookColor. The Nook Color was a new reading experience. And honestly, after the Nook Tablet came out, I was a little disappointed. It wasn't the best experience.

Now I am on the Nook HD. This tablet is the best for the money I spent. Barnes and Noble has made a mistake in it's marketing, though. They never showcased the Bluetooth connectivity! That is the best fataure, and I had no idea that the 7inch Tablet had it. Imagine my surprise when I was able to connect my bluetooth keyboard to the device with ease!

I've been able to chat with my friends using great Apps, and update Evernote anywhere I go easily, and quickly. This is the best product Barnes and Noble has come out with. It's an amazing little tablet for the money. Thank you, Barnes and Noble, for making such a quality product. Your loyal Barnes and Noble customer, Heather

posted by Hkantz1781 on November 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

148 out of 298 people found this review helpful.

Having read half of ONE book (Nate Silver's "The Signal and

Having read half of ONE book (Nate Silver's "The Signal and the Noise"), I've experienced numerous problems.

Some are B&N website problems, I assume, not specifically Nook problems, but the competition has better solutions across the board.

a) The reader...
Having read half of ONE book (Nate Silver's "The Signal and the Noise"), I've experienced numerous problems.

Some are B&N website problems, I assume, not specifically Nook problems, but the competition has better solutions across the board.

a) The reader has refused 3 times to page forward, and once it refused to page forward OR back.
Paging is the SIMPLEST thing a reader should do, and it's disgraceful for Nook to fail at it.
b) The best font size I can find (third from right) is too small to avoid eye-strain.
c) The next size up is FAR TOO BIG.
d) Most of the font size choices are useless to any imaginable human being.
e) This text box on the website doesn't even work properly … since it doesn't allow carriage returns half the time.
f) Shopping is difficult because I can't focus a search on, for instance, apps until AFTER I've entered the search.
 That means the website has to exhaustively search for "image comics" across all product types, THEN I can filter it to apps, and THEN I find that there are none.
 That's backwards for me as a user, and backwards for B&N in terms of efficient searches.
g) When looking at "Nook recommendations", I can't mark those I already own or have no interest in.
 Hence, it will take a long time for B&N to determine what I like … and that's very important.
 
Why didn't I see reviews like this before I bought the product, I wonder?
 Will this review see the light of day? 

posted by DrMajorBob on December 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 170 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    I love my Nook HD. I had the Nook 1st Edition and switched over

    I love my Nook HD. I had the Nook 1st Edition and switched over just recently. There are a couple of things, however, that I would change. I actually prefer having my clock and battery power showing on the top of the Nook instead of being hidden, and I also like the way you could archive a book you had read easier on the 1st Edition. I am only giving it 4 stars because it is just not as easy to navigate as I had hoped.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    I love this Nook!  I received a Nook HD for Christmas after tel

    I love this Nook! 

    I received a Nook HD for Christmas after telling my boyfriend for months that I wanted on and was planning on purchasing it when I get my taxes back. I absolutely love this Nook! I never thought a 7 inch tabled had so much detail! I love my nook, no one touches it! lol

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Got the tablet last xmas and purchased the hd this xmas.  love t

    Got the tablet last xmas and purchased the hd this xmas.  love the screen is a joy to hold and read.  but...there are several glitches....some apps have crashed...can't get seesmic to load. have to access facebook thru web....and when i want to comment it wont show what i type and its so annoying.  this is great as a reader but if uwant more as a tablet i dont recommend....think this is my last nook.  

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    I have had my NOOK since Dec. 2013, I absolutely love it. I wish

    I have had my NOOK since Dec. 2013, I absolutely love it. I wish there had been a better user guide, I went to Barnes and Noble and received a lot of information from the woman behind the help counter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    I love my Nook HD.  When went on vacation I could keep up on all

    I love my Nook HD.  When went on vacation I could keep up on all my email making returning back home and to work much easier.  Also like being able to read when it starts to get dark.  I like the games as well.  Only thing I do not like is the reflection in sunlight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    I'm really enjoying my Nook. I was in a family book exchange.

    I'm really enjoying my Nook. I was in a family book exchange. I would read something, then give it to my sister-in-law, she would read it, then give it to the other sister-in-law, then it went to the used book store where they were traded for more books for us to read. Now, one sister has passed away and the other is in an assisted living place so our little family exchange is over. My point is telling this is to say that now I have four bank boxes of books in my bedroom with no one to give them to. So many wonderful hard cover books, read once, with no new home to go to. SO, finally, one of the best things about my Nook is that there will be no more books languishing in the bedroom. I can read all I want and then save them in the Cloud or delete them. Now, I can try new authors without spending a lot of money. I'm crazy about the Scandinavian authors...great story tellers. So, I'm very happy with the Nook system of ordering and their selection of books.
    Only one thing...if my hand hovers over the page, sometimes it turns the page when I'm not ready.
    Also, sometimes it won't turn the page for me when I do want it to. I think I just have to get used to using the right touch. I love the Nook and am looking forward to many more hours of great reading.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Plusses include a fine display that makes reading (books or webs

    Plusses include a fine display that makes reading (books or websites) pleasant and access to the Google Play Store for a broad range of apps.

    Minuses include the limited control over the device as a result of the Nook interface, which limits us from even some Google Play apps,  And of course without a camera you can't video chat or scan in a check for electronic deposit with your bank. to no advantage I can see for the owner except perhaps that it's a bit simpler than most Android tablets to learn..  This "locks in" a series of apps (Facebook, Google +, Netflix)  I never use, yet cannot delete.

    Still, discounted as it has routinely been to $100-$140, this is possibly the best tablet available..  With some trepidation but no serious glitches, I unlocked it by installing an open source version of Android, curing most of the minuses I listed above.

    On balance, there is much to appreciate and not much to whine about.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    I love the Nook HD. However, there are two problems I have foun

    I love the Nook HD. However, there are two problems I have found. One is that the charger gets really hot, but only once in a while. And it makes a buzzing sound. The other problem is that I lose my Wi-Fi connection almost every time I stop using the Nook for a while, and then go back to using it, the connection is gone. I just have to reconnect, but it's kind of a pain. There are a few other little quirky things I do not care for. There are not as many free apps as Apple. And I do not like that they try to get you to set up a Google account, for a variety of reasons. I did not do that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    I love my nook hd. I virtually carry it everywhere which is easy

    I love my nook hd. I virtually carry it everywhere which is easy because 
    It is lightweight and it fits in my purse. If you want a reading device, go with the
    Nook color because while the nook hd allows you to read, the quality is better on 
    The nook color. The biggest flaw of the nook hd is that if while in the settings 
    Section and I lower notifications to mute it still rings when I get one....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Things I love about this nook: - Expandable Micro SD card.  Make

    Things I love about this nook:
    - Expandable Micro SD card.  Makes it easy to fit some of my movies on it without eating up all of my data.  8 gigs runs out quickly when you start adding movies.
    - The text-to-speech function, while still in Alpha, is a great feature.  I hope they continue developing that further.
    - I love that you can change the font, "paper" color and spacing.
    - Feels good in my hands, looks professional and clean.
    There's a few things I would change:
     - I don't like that there is a proprietary 30 pin port.  I would much prefer it have the same port as my nook simple touch (and phone and pretty much everything else I have).
    - The internet is so unbearably slow I don't bother with browsing with my nook.
    If it weren't for the charging port I would give it a solid 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    The Nook HD itself was fine. The gripe I have is the way it was

    The Nook HD itself was fine. The gripe I have is the way it was shipped. I guess Barnes & Noble forgot that it is nearing Christmas day. A standard B&N box would have been fine except that the box had Nook written all over it. That was a big "duh huh" to my wife on what her Christmas present was about to be, good job blowing Christmas out the water for me B&N. Then I take it out of the shipping box and its wrapped in Nook wrapping paper...DUH HUH. "You'll never guess what it is honey!!!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    I bought a Nook 1st Edition for my disabled friend for Christmas

    I bought a Nook 1st Edition for my disabled friend for Christmas 2 years ago. It is still working and she loves it. I bought a Nook Color for me because I wanted more
    than just a reader and I wanted games and magazines. When the Nook HD+ came out, I bought one. They all still work...to a point. While I very much believe that the Nook
    is a much better product than the Kindle, it is first and foremost a reader. It is not a tablet as stated so I cannot give it 5 stars. I get tired of turning it off/on to get it to unfreeze or to make the 
    wi-fi work (per trouble shooting guides) . If you are looking to but, be prepared that it has many limitations on what it can and cannot do as a "tablet". I have a severe hearing loss and so I was very happy to see that my
    bluetooth headset and even my Phonak Icom works with the Nook HD+. It is something that BN should talk about more than they do because the sound from the speakers is pathetic. I recently discovered that a bluetooth keyboard would also work with it and I am thrilled with that ability. But I am going to invest in a true tablet because the Nook HD+ just does not
    cut it as a tablet and leaves me without a lot of things I want to do. I give it 4 stars for the e-reader that it is and the vivid color and huge library of books available. If you are looking for a tablet in every sense of the word look somewhere else...something that has a true Android OS.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Bought it for my husband. He likes it a lot but wishes the sound

    Bought it for my husband. He likes it a lot but wishes the sound went higher/louder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    I purchased my NOOK HD to replace my original nook 3 months ago.

    I purchased my NOOK HD to replace my original nook 3 months ago. I absolutely love it...great resolution, easy to manage and use...A few weeks ago, it would not turn all the way on..it would power up to 99% and just stay there. I was livid and frustrated! Finally I tried the online chat help service available in the 'manage my nook' portal of b&n, to get help. The representative, Kenneth< was very helpful and within 5 minutes the software glitch was fixed and I am a happy reader once again! I would recommend this product and the online support, very highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    This is my third NOOK and by far the best for a tablet. The add

    This is my third NOOK and by far the best for a tablet. The addition of Google Play makes all the difference; I can now load the apps that I use on my Samsung Galaxy Phone on my NOOK.

    There are two things I don’t like on this tablet:

    The font sizing in the reader, it goes from really small to really large with some sizes missing in the middle that were available on the NOOK tablet and Color.

    The other thing that bothers me is that you can’t charge it with a standard Micro USB cable like the one for my phone, so now I have to carry and purchase separate cables for my phones and NOOK.

    Other than these two issues I really like this tablet and I can tell that BN is listening to their customers and making a great effort with this product.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    I use this not as a reader but a low end tablet.  As this it is

    I use this not as a reader but a low end tablet.  As this it is good, and convenient . Mine dosen't freeze or skip but my boyfriends does, but he loves it anyway.  This is why it got 4 stars. Otherwise it is fun and convenient.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    clear and fast. Bought one for my husband and now I want one. Ju

    clear and fast. Bought one for my husband and now I want one. Just want one alittle bigger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    my first tablet I think the nook is great, I am an avid reader a

    my first tablet I think the nook is great, I am an avid reader and am enjoying all the books now available to purchase but I also really liked that the nook came pre loaded with 100 of the classics.  I also really like the HDMI cable that I purchased which enables me to plug my nook into my tv.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Now that the Nook HD has Google Play, it takes the lead in the A

    Now that the Nook HD has Google Play, it takes the lead in the Android Tablet market. One thing still missing is a camera. Also, wondering what is going to happen to Nook HD now that B&N has announced that it will be turning over the manufacturer of the Nook HD's (Not the Nook e-Readers) to someone else. Waiting to see what is going to take place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasantly suprised with what I can do with the Nook HD. I am us

    Pleasantly suprised with what I can do with the Nook HD. I am using the Nook HD much more than I thought I would.
     It is much more than just a reader. ......
    Chrome browser is what I use on my laptop, so it was nice to see that Nook HD uses Chrome.
    Email updates, crossword puzzles, etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 170 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9