Customer Reviews for

NOOK HD Tablet Smoke 8GB

Average Rating 4
( 830 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(443)

4 Star

(165)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(103)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

422 out of 439 people found this review helpful.

I've been a part of the Barnes and Noble Nook family since the v

I've been a part of the Barnes and Noble Nook family since the very first Nook was released. I started out with the Nook WiFi. Within a year and a half, I upgraded to the NookColor. The Nook Color was a new reading experience. And honestly, after the Nook Tablet came ...
I've been a part of the Barnes and Noble Nook family since the very first Nook was released. I started out with the Nook WiFi. Within a year and a half, I upgraded to the NookColor. The Nook Color was a new reading experience. And honestly, after the Nook Tablet came out, I was a little disappointed. It wasn't the best experience.

Now I am on the Nook HD. This tablet is the best for the money I spent. Barnes and Noble has made a mistake in it's marketing, though. They never showcased the Bluetooth connectivity! That is the best fataure, and I had no idea that the 7inch Tablet had it. Imagine my surprise when I was able to connect my bluetooth keyboard to the device with ease!

I've been able to chat with my friends using great Apps, and update Evernote anywhere I go easily, and quickly. This is the best product Barnes and Noble has come out with. It's an amazing little tablet for the money. Thank you, Barnes and Noble, for making such a quality product. Your loyal Barnes and Noble customer, Heather

posted by Hkantz1781 on November 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

145 out of 293 people found this review helpful.

Having read half of ONE book (Nate Silver's "The Signal and

Having read half of ONE book (Nate Silver's "The Signal and the Noise"), I've experienced numerous problems.

Some are B&N website problems, I assume, not specifically Nook problems, but the competition has better solutions across the board.

a) The reader...
Having read half of ONE book (Nate Silver's "The Signal and the Noise"), I've experienced numerous problems.

Some are B&N website problems, I assume, not specifically Nook problems, but the competition has better solutions across the board.

a) The reader has refused 3 times to page forward, and once it refused to page forward OR back.
Paging is the SIMPLEST thing a reader should do, and it's disgraceful for Nook to fail at it.
b) The best font size I can find (third from right) is too small to avoid eye-strain.
c) The next size up is FAR TOO BIG.
d) Most of the font size choices are useless to any imaginable human being.
e) This text box on the website doesn't even work properly … since it doesn't allow carriage returns half the time.
f) Shopping is difficult because I can't focus a search on, for instance, apps until AFTER I've entered the search.
 That means the website has to exhaustively search for "image comics" across all product types, THEN I can filter it to apps, and THEN I find that there are none.
 That's backwards for me as a user, and backwards for B&N in terms of efficient searches.
g) When looking at "Nook recommendations", I can't mark those I already own or have no interest in.
 Hence, it will take a long time for B&N to determine what I like … and that's very important.
 
Why didn't I see reviews like this before I bought the product, I wonder?
 Will this review see the light of day? 

posted by DrMajorBob on December 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 443 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 23
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love my Nook HD! (No, this comment isn't meant to be helpful.

    I love my Nook HD!

    (No, this comment isn't meant to be helpful. It's only an expression of total contentment.)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    I was a very happy owner of a Nook Tablet.  I really loved the d

    I was a very happy owner of a Nook Tablet.  I really loved the device, how usable and versatile it was.  Don't get me wrong, I love my e-Ink reader as well, but my Nook Tablet allowed me easy access to my books as well as a decent web browser and a wonderful Netflix device.  

    When I saw the Nook HD demoed at our Bookland, I was very impressed at how nice the interface and screen were, so after scrounging up my giftcards from Christmas I had a big chuck of the cost to upgrade so away I went.  I've not yet regretted switching.  I very much enjoy reading on the device, and the browser is light years better than the browser on the Tablet.  
    My only negative comment wouldn't even be about the device, but about the covers.  I absolutely loved the Nook Easel style cover that I had with my Tablet, and I would love for someone to make one available for the HD.  I like the fold back stand covers, but I honestly spend much more time reading at tables or desks and much prefer the portrait orientation rather than the landscape.
    Still, I don't think that you can really go wrong by upgrading from either the Color or the Tablet.  Now off to read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    My nook was a Birthday Gift from my boyfriend last month. We wen

    My nook was a Birthday Gift from my boyfriend last month. We went to the store to purchase it and ended up ordering it online as there was a wait list. (The sales girl was fantastic though. She was both knowledgeable and helpful)  I received it just in time, (faster then I anticipated) and I love it

    I got it to replace my nook 1st generation, which I clung to for so long because I love the 3g feature. I use it mainly for reading, (the shop function is much improved; however on my previous nook any books added to the 'e-wish list' online would go to the devices wish list and on the new one I have to find them again in the shop and read them to a wishlist.  

    I love my nook. I've experienced a couple little hiccups; when turning it on out of sleep the screen will sometimes flash from black to the unlock screen, and my books won't 'open' right away from time to time on the first try. They are just small glitches that so far have no lasting effect. As for positives the battery holds a surprisingly long charge even while in sleep mode (I hardly have wifi enabled). It's light and easily portable, and while reading it is incredibly easy to highlight,  passages or add notes, which you can relocate easily from anywhere in the book with the pop up menu.

    There are so many good things about this product, I'm so glad I waited to replace my nook and get this one.   

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    I bought it primarily for e-reading, I love the font, formatting

    I bought it primarily for e-reading, I love the font, formatting and background choices, easy on the eyes. I've devoured three books in the week I've had it. The clarity of movie, comic and catalog content on the beautiful screen was a nice surprise. I was also surprised by the Bluetooth capability, I now read while listening to appropriate music streaming with the Pandora or Spotify apps. Bliss!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    I just got my NOOK HD and love it! I was going back and forth be

    I just got my NOOK HD and love it! I was going back and forth between the Kindle Fire HD & the NOOK HD. Did some research online, read reviews on both, went to compare side by side and am very happy with my NOOK. I wanted an e-reader but didnt want a black and white one - The Kindle Fire & NOOK offer similar features but I found the NOOK to fit what I needed.

    I steered away from the Kindle Fire HD because: I didnt need/want a camera (I have an iphone), you have to pay an extra $20 for a charger plug-in, no home button, didnt need time limiting abilities, have to be an amazon prime member to get best deals, has pop-up ads (need to pay an extra $15 to get rid of)

    I like the way the NOOK displays, you can adjust font/size/background color while reading, defining words is extremely easy/fast, theres a home button, didnt have to pay extra for charger, B&N gives out DAILY FINDS for NOOK books (which is fantastic & very inexpensive!!), expandable memory available if you need it, not restricted to B&N.

    My advice if you can't decide: read reviews on different sites & BE SURE TO LOOK AT DATES OF REVIEWS!! (The NOOK HD came out in Nov. 2012) & compare some side-by-side

    You wont be disappointed with the NOOK HD

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    I have owned the iPad Mini and discovered it was nothing more th

    I have owned the iPad Mini and discovered it was nothing more than an iPhone stretched out. So,I got rid of it, but I was also wanting something that could reduce the clutter in our house, we have 100s of books, everywhere. So, I purchased a Nook HD and enjoy the feel, customization, and how well the books read compared to other devices. My only complaint are the apps that I do not want seem to keep popping back up! I love it and keep up the great work B&B and thank for letting me loan books to my pals, super awesome! 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Overview While it may not look like it, the Nook HD should be a

    Overview
    While it may not look like it, the Nook HD should be a game changer in a tablet market dominated by "mini" tablets such as the iPad Mini, the Kindle Fire and the Google Nexus 7.


    The Nook HD is the lightest tablet I have ever held. Comparing the device to other makers would be worthless. The high build quality, which makes the Nook a comfort to hold, feels great to hold and makes you think you have something more premium in your hand.
    Battery life is stellar! The Nook HD can last up to 3 days with moderate to heavy use, during which I watched a movie, read 2 books, and played Jetpack Joyride for 3 hours. In a market of tablets, computers, and even phones that can barely last 2 days this is an unexpected surprise.
    Speaking of watching movies the bundled video, music and gallery app really took care of my needs. When watching "Star Trek" I really enjoyed that it was in HD. Slight glitch in sound at the first 3 seconds but other than that it was fine. And the sound nearly blew my socks off. Until I went outside. Then it was kind of weak.
    The software could be better however. Barnes and Noble has included a custom proprietary version of Android 4.0 which runs rather well on a device that supposedly is only for reading. And, with the new addition of Google Play, I found a whole lot of reasons to like the tablet, especially since I bought it at $129 + tax. However the app selection in the built in Barnes and Noble store is weak at best and some apps in Google Play don't run.
    The Texas Instruments OMAP ARM v7 Processor inside and the 1GB of RAM hum along nicely with the included Nook software, which is based on Android 4.0 "Ice Cream Sandwich". However for those itching to get a true tablet and are wishing to save some money, with a little help from notable sites such as Android Police or XDA Developers this device can easily become your cheap yet high quality E-Reader/Multimedia Tablet on the go. Roms available are CyanogenMod 10.1 "Jellybean" and Carbon Rom, an Android 4.2 "Jellybean" spinoff.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    I have owned the original, dual screen 3g Nook ereader for the p

    I have owned the original, dual screen 3g Nook ereader for the past 3 years and decided it was time to upgrade. I will still keep my original nook for reading outside in sunlight, but the Nook HD tablet is far superior in all other respects. Magazines/Catalogs look fantastic on the screen. Seeing the book covers in color is a plus. Being able to change the font size, color and background color of a book page is great for different reading conditions. I also LOVE the new design of the Nook HD 7". I never liked the squarish look of the nook color or the nook tablet. I like the more curved desing of the Nook HD and the cleaner lines. And I appreciate haveing a physical home button (n) and external volume rockers and power button. The nook is easy to hold with a nice, grippy, curved back. It's very lightweight compared to my first model. I love the new interface on this nook. I thought the nook color & nook tablet had a nice interface, but the androidesque application of this new nook is much better aesthetically. I really like how the carousel is done on the home screen, and I like that it retains it's thumbnail shape when turned to landscape mode (as opposed to being stretched larger). It has a classy look to it. Being able to customize the home page is a nice feature. The web browser is very smooth & fast on this model. Movies look fantastic. All in all, I'm very pleased that I waited to upgrade my model. This one is a true winner! It goes with me everywhere. I highly recommend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    I have the original nook that I got when they first came out tha

    I have the original nook that I got when they first came out that still works great but wanted the nook hd for the new features. I have had it for about three week and have not had any problem with it. I use it to check my e-mail and surf the web. I down loaded a free clock app so now my nook hd is my alarm clock. I read around six books a month and now I can read in bed with out having  to have a light on  while my wife is trying to sleep. I also like being able to adjust the back light and having it auto read to my grandson.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    I LOVE THIS THING!  I don't know why I waited to get it... don't

    I LOVE THIS THING!  I don't know why I waited to get it... don't get me wrong, I love real BOOKS, but this tablet is amazing... and for watching HULU, and netflix - there is nothing better.{

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    I've never owned an e-reader. I intentionally avoided them becau

    I've never owned an e-reader. I intentionally avoided them because I thought it would dampen my reading experience. I like to hold books, smell them, feel the pages (yes, I get into it). As much as I love electronics (had a small addiction for a while, upgrading things every three months) this is one I didn't immediately gravitate towards. The idea of an electronic device replacing my books was out of the question. Unitl the sale. I figured why not go for it while the gettin' is good? If I don't like it, return it. I am SO happy I got the Nook HD. It is convenient, fast, and fun. I can take several reads on a trip using only one device, rent books from my local library, play games, and use other fun little apps. I have started to use Nook Friends and can't wait to use the "Lend Me" feature. The viewing angles on this thing are phenomenal, it's quite difficult to lose clarity. I have small hands and it is very nice to hold and doesn't get heavy and uncomfortable. All in all, a great buy! Oh, and for those of you who feel/felt like me, remember that just because you have a Nook doesn't mean it will REPLACE your books :) It's a nice addition.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Have been using a Nook Color since it came out. Added the N2A ca

    Have been using a Nook Color since it came out. Added the N2A card to help achieve a more Android experience. That helped, but the limitations of the processor speed of NC slow loading web down, among other things. When I saw that Nook HD added Google Play, that was the game changer for me. With the deal going on now - upgraded! So glad I did. I considered a straight  Android tablet (Samsung Galaxy Tab 2) at the same time, but the look, feel, and Nook interface appealed to me so much more, plus it's HD resolution. I didn't need "another" camera, either. Glad I made the jump. You will be too. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    This is my third Nook and I love love love it.  With the additio

    This is my third Nook and I love love love it.  With the addition of Google Play, it is a fantastic little tablet for the money.  I love having the Overdrive App so now I can check ebooks out from the public library directly onto my Nook without having to use my PC and drag them to the Nook with the usb cable like before.  Best NOOK yet!     

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    I just have received the Nook HD as a gift from my boyfriend and

    I just have received the Nook HD as a gift from my boyfriend and let me tell you, I absolutely love it. I have not had this very long and I can not put it down. The picture is very clear, the variety of books is beyond I imagined. I love to read and thought it'd be strange to not have a physical book in my hand as i'm reading. It isn't strange at all.  I would recommend to anyone who was thinking of purchasing a Nook HD, to purchase it. I wouldn't hesitate at all! It's everything one can imagine.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    This 7 inch tablet is great and amazing!!!! It is so great that

    This 7 inch tablet is great and amazing!!!! It is so great that every time I have a different family memder at my house I make a profile for them!! To bad that you cant make more than 6 profiles ;( !!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    I absolutely love this e-reader. I have a nook simple touch and

    I absolutely love this e-reader. I have a nook simple touch and a nook color. When the new Amazon Kindles came out this fall, I bought a Kindle HD and a Kindle Paperwhite, in order to have access to the kindle line. This past weekend, I bought the Nook HD in order to replace my Nook Color. The Nook HD is a high-speed device, stylish device. It's an excellent e-reader, especially for magazines. I like Free Fridays, with the opportunity to get both a free app and a free book every Friday! This is something that Amazon does not offer. The Kindle is fine, if you want access to Amazon's offerings, but it is definitely a clunkier device. The format of the Nook offerings is much nicer. Some have complained that Barnes and Noble does not offer a sufficiently large electronic library. Most everything that I need or want is available on the Nook. The presentation of the offerings and the style of the device is much nicer than those of its competitors. I hear that Barnes and Noble may have trouble, as Nook sales have not been as high as they had hoped. I hope that others will give the Nook HD a chance. If I could only choose one of my e-readers, it would be the Nook HD.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    I'm a college student with many PDF and novel based classes. I w

    I'm a college student with many PDF and novel based classes. I was looking for an easier way to carry around my many readings, save paper and still take notes in margins, etc... I purchased the 8BG this semester and wish I'd done it earlier!!! The ezPDF Reader app is PERFECT- it has a million features and it's how I read all my class PDFS.  The screen resolution is beautiful, and the web browsing is super fast.I mainly just use if for school books and readings but because of it's other cool features, I would definitely say it's worth the extra $30 for the 16 BG, think I'll be doing so myself. Couldn't be happier with this purchase!!! 

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    We purchased a Nook HD for my soon to be 8 year old book-worm of

    We purchased a Nook HD for my soon to be 8 year old book-worm of a daughter and have not been disappointed BUT we also did a lot of research and understood that this would not be an iPad or other expensive tablet with bells and whistles. She reads, has a couple of magazine subscriptions, should be able to take out library books once we get her a card, and has a couple of games. I like that I am able to lock down certain applications (such as internet and email) and buy content for the Nook HD and very easily select whether or not she has access to it. We've never been disappointed with the video or sound quality and she's able to watch movies through Netflix. If you understand that you're not getting a fully functional Android tablet then you'll be pleased. If you're expecting iPad or full Android tablet capabilities this would not be the product for you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Purchased Dec. 2012. I am rating this 5-stars because as an e-r

    Purchased Dec. 2012. I am rating this 5-stars because as an e-reader, it is awesome! Even compared to my Nook Color, the Nook HD is easier on the eyes when reading. LOVE the screen resolution! I have done some web browsing & used some of the other functions, and it seems to work as expected. I was pleased to see the Status bar (while reading) was added back with the latest update! I haven't had any issues with mine, so can't comment on customer service. Also, as it would be IDEAL to have a perfect "all-in-one" tablet/e-reader with all the apps, etc., the Nook never claims to be this. I am stumped by all the negatives by folks complaining about the lack of apps or it not being a good "tablet," etc.--did you not do any research before making your purchase?? I researched & compared between this & the Kindle & iPad Mini and this most closely met my needs. It was exactly what I was expecting & am enjoying it thoroughly. For others, it may not be what you are looking for--if possible, I would suggest comparing at a local store (Walmart or Best Buy, etc.)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    We have a color, tablet, and HD in our house. I love my new HD!

    We have a color, tablet, and HD in our house. I love my new HD!! The screen is fantastic!! I use mine mostly as an ereader but I do use the web on it almost daily. Haven't watched a movie on it yet but I did watch a show on hulu and it was perfect. I got the 8GB model along with a SD card for a some extra memory. I will definately tell my friends to buy one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 443 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 23