Customer Reviews for

NOOK HD+ Tablet Slate 32GB

Average Rating 4
( 1467 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(799)

4 Star

(250)

3 Star

(113)

2 Star

(107)

1 Star

(198)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1085 out of 1114 people found this review helpful.

I absolutely adore my Nook HD+! The Nook HD+ is an e-reader on

I absolutely adore my Nook HD+!

The Nook HD+ is an e-reader on steroids, packed with features like a stellar HD screen (beats out the Google Nexus, iPad Mini, Kindle Fire HD, etc), apps (10000 and counting!), expandable memory, HDMI compatible, 10 hour battery life, an...
I absolutely adore my Nook HD+!

The Nook HD+ is an e-reader on steroids, packed with features like a stellar HD screen (beats out the Google Nexus, iPad Mini, Kindle Fire HD, etc), apps (10000 and counting!), expandable memory, HDMI compatible, 10 hour battery life, and it's one of the lightest 'tablets' on the market. But one thing needs to be clear, the Nook HD+ is an e-reader FIRST, tablet second, and it behaves that way. If you are purchasing this device expecting a full-featured Android OS, look elsewhere.

Lack of apps seems to be a major concern with some buyers, which isn't something that I've been bothered with since I'm not a huge app user. Angry Birds, Evernote, Hulu Plus and Open Explorer are my apps of choice, but it all depends on what YOU plan on using this device for. I can access my e-mail easily and the stock web browser does its job. Don't like the browser? No problem, hit up the app store and get the Dolphin browser or any of the countless other options available.

The Nook HD+ really shines for a few reasons. It's one of the only devices in its class with expandable memory, and due to its 'Retina-like' display, the screen is really super-sharp and the colors pop, perfect for, well, reading. Another reason is customer service. Because Barnes & Noble has actual brick and mortar stores, if you are having problems with your Nook, you don't have to call a customer service number, you can bring your device to your local Barnes & Noble and a Nook specialist is always on staff to help. Also, since it's one of the lightest devices in its class, it's easy and comfortable to hold with one hand. And while some people may say the build (specifically the back of the device) is 'plastic-ey', I find it stylish, plus it keeps it light and separates it from the endless black rectangles that now flood the tablet market.

I'm very happy with my Nook HD+, and those little extra features like being able to take it into a B&N store and be able to read ANY book for free on the device (even items that they don't actually have in stock) is a cool plus. I recommend it for any avid reader who wants a bit of color!

posted by KrissyD on November 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

424 out of 609 people found this review helpful.

I bought a Nook HD+ today and might end up returning it tomorrow

I bought a Nook HD+ today and might end up returning it tomorrow. The screen is great. No doubt about it. But everything else is not so hot. It's not user-friendly and there aren't many apps available. For me, the worst thing is that you can't create folders to organ...
I bought a Nook HD+ today and might end up returning it tomorrow. The screen is great. No doubt about it. But everything else is not so hot. It's not user-friendly and there aren't many apps available. For me, the worst thing is that you can't create folders to organize your stuff. Well, you can CREATE them, but the Nook doesn't DISPLAY them. This has been problem for a while and they still haven't fixed it. ?!?!?!?!?

They also advertise the HD+ as being GREAT FOR FAMILIES because you can set up different users. So your spouse or kids can have their own accounts and their own books. I thought this would help because of the no-folders thing. Well, my daughter wanted an original Nancy Drew book (#8 in the series). Fine. But it didn't appear search results when we searched in her account. But it DID show up when we searched on my account. ?? Someone flagged most of the older Nancy Drew books as being adult content. Okay, fine. I removed the "kids only" restriction in her account. It STILL didn't appear in the search results. I called the store. They told me to just make an adult account for her. Err. This kind of defeats the purpose of setting up an account that will suggest the kinds of books she likes to read. Not to mention if she's an "adult" they can collect all her information aggressively.

And when I read the ten-page privacy policy, it said that they collect information on kids under 13, "so you should tell your kids not to write anything personally identifiable if they're using our online apps." Eek!

And don't even get me started on some ebooks being more expensive than actual books.

posted by 16676992 on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    I purchased the product with the intention of reading textbooks.

    I purchased the product with the intention of reading textbooks. However, textbooks cannot be purchased through the "shop". Renting a movie costs between $3.99 and $5.99 in order to be disappointed by the sound quality. Screen resolution is acceptable, but the speaker system is inferior to the one in an Apple i-phone 5. Wi-fi connectivity is also unreliable. The system fails to connect to the wi-fi, while the iphone 5 is connected and functioning. Further, the CSC representatives are not qualified to perform their simple duties. I am extremely disappointed with my purchase for the reasons stated. Consequently, the tablet is completely useless and B&N lost my business permanently.

    118 out of 277 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    It appears that this table is made for anything but the web brow

    It appears that this table is made for anything but the web browsing. How can it be so bad at one of the most important function that tablets are supposed to do (i.e. browsing). It is only when you try other tablets you realize that how good the iPad is. Sorry folks, this tablet didn't work out for me and I had to return it in just 3 days.

    90 out of 202 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    DO NOT BUY THE NOOK!! I have both the nook and the kindle. I pre

    DO NOT BUY THE NOOK!! I have both the nook and the kindle. I prefer the kindle. My kids prefer the kindle. My husband prefers the kindle. But beyond all that the worst part of all is their customer service. They are liars and cheats. I paid for the extended warranty and they did not fulfill their deal. They offered me a $10 gift card to use towards Nook ebook purchases. What good is that to me if I don't have a product to use it on?? They made me do 3 separate hard resets on 3 separate occasions and also mad me go into a store before they would even consider giving me a replacement. That was on 11/25/12. I am still waiting for the replacement. I made my 3rd phone call today and was on the phone over an hour and had to yell and scream before they told me they would release the shipment. They claimed they didn't have the product and then all of a sudden they did have it. LIARS! They also told me when I purchased the extended warranty that if they did not have my model they would send a current model out. LIARS! They will not last... Kindle will. Any type of issue I have had with the kindle (and I have had very few) have been resolved very quickly and easily. And I don't even have the extended warranty on the kindle. Do yourself a favor and get an ipad or kindle. Nook will not be around in a few years. I guarantee it. In this day and age you can not have customer service like they do and stick around.

    62 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    I purchased a NOOK HD Plus and I love the product. However, I p

    I purchased a NOOK HD Plus and I love the product. However, I purchased an e-book that did not work, and Barnes and Noble has issued me a refund which they refuse to apply to my account. When I call them they state that the refund has been issued and there is nothing else they can or will do. Although I love the product, Barnes and Noble refuses to stand by their product or their e-books. The customer service is terrible- I would be cautious about buying this product due to the lack of service and support that Barnes and Noble provides.

    51 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    I originally ordered a Nook Tablet on November 29 with expedited

    I originally ordered a Nook Tablet on November 29 with expedited shipping so I could get it for my mother's birthday. When 5 days passed and the shipment status never changed I contacted support. They told me the Nook Tablet would be shipped within 48 hours. 48 hours passed and I called again. I was then told that the warehouse would not release until they were good and ready. When I asked to speak to the support person's manager, the manager never picked up the phone. After being on hold for over 20 minutes I hung up and decided to cancel my order. I AM SO DISAPPOINTED!! I've been going to B&N forever and their customer service is HORRIBLE!!!! I never received the product because B&N decided to remove the Nook Tablet, never ship me the one I ordered SO THAT I WAS FORCED to buy an HD tablet (yeah I know how marketing works) which contains features that would never be used. My mother has 56" TV and lives in the middle of nowhere. She has no need for HD and can barely do wireless. She only wanted to read books. F.U. B&N I've cancelled the order and my account!!! And I will shop at Amazon or in hell before I ever bother with you jerks again!!!!

    40 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    Don't waste your money. I was impressed by the screen so I bough

    Don't waste your money. I was impressed by the screen so I bought a Nook HD+ and quickly regretted it when I realized that the B&N App Store is a joke. Basically, the Nook HD+ is the most expensive e-reader you'll ever buy; I wouldn't call it a tablet. I feel sick everytime I think about having spent that much money on a piece of trash.

    38 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    not a review of the nook HD+ per say, for i never received it, B

    not a review of the nook HD+ per say, for i never received it, B&N shipped nook via ups who turned over to USPS who decided an address they deliver to all other times does not exist and sends nook back to B&N, now two weeks later i am still waiting for refund, every time i call they put me on hold 3 or four times as they investigate and bump it up to someone who just tells me after half an hour going through the process that i have to wait some more. Poor excuse for customer service.

    37 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    VERY DISAPOINTED.HAVE A NOOK 1ST ADDITION WITH 100 BOOKS AND IT

    VERY DISAPOINTED.HAVE A NOOK 1ST ADDITION WITH 100 BOOKS AND IT IS FAR SUPERIOR.
    WHEN READING THE PAGES JUMP,THE TOUCH COMMANDS SOMETIMES REQUIER TWO OR MORE TRYS BEFORE THEY OPERATE. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND

    37 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Bought the hd+ 32gb model today, messed with it all day, taking

    Bought the hd+ 32gb model today, messed with it all day, taking it back tomorrow. Just don't like it at all. The touch screen seems to lag and sometimes not respond at all. The menus are somewhat dumb as there is no back button while browsing your files, you have to go to the beginning of the menu every time. I also don't like the fact that you can't put your own browser choice on it. It seems you have to buy everything you put on it. The only way I have read that you can customize it to your liking, is if you hack it, which is completely stupid, why would you hack something you just paid $300 dollars for? Shouldn't it be everything you expected and then some? Barnes & Noble boasts the fastest tablet on the market, but it's locked down and extremely limited in customization, I think my Tracphone is more useful than this.

    Pluses are:it has a pretty screen really, not for the tech minded, really just a reader/youtube/e-mail machine

    35 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    I own a nook 1st edition, a simple touch and the nook tablet. I

    I own a nook 1st edition, a simple touch and the nook tablet. I'm totally unimpressed with the nook HD+ and except for the larger screen it has zero advantages over the nook tablet! I really cannot recommend anyone purchasing this device unless all you do is play videos. Sorry, but this device is a real disappointment.

    27 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    I've owned my Nook hd+ 32 gig last Oct.  It was great.  My main

    I've owned my Nook hd+ 32 gig last Oct.  It was great.  My main use next to books was to watch internet TV which requires  adobe flash, and up to bout 6 weeks ago worked great!  then all of a sudden w/o my permission it upgraded to Google Chrome and added Google play.  At first I thought that was a good thing, then I went on to my Internet TV site and found out that flash was not available or active.  I now feel as though I was Deceived,  I didn't ask for it to be installed.  It was fine for my needs prior.

    26 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Let me begin by saying that I JUST UPGRADED MY NOOK to an HD PLU

    Let me begin by saying that I JUST UPGRADED MY NOOK to an HD PLUS and the very next day, they started offering GIFT CARDS for a purchase.

    Now I just GOT ANOTHER EMAIL and the gift card INCREASED TO 50 BUCKS.  

    NOT FAIR.  NOT FAIR.  NOT FAIR.  Where's my gift card???  280 dollars later.  

    Secondly, I have gone through HELL to sync up UltraViolet to play on there... the device doesn't have permissions apparently with UV to play items.  

    I had to install VuDu and Flixter and spend nearly a WEEK contacting each of THEM to get my dvd to play that I "UPLOADED" yet it says it was UNSUPPORTED.  (The image of my movie shows up on my nook though!!!!)

    I love Nook.  I do.  But following the news recently and seeing that B/N is stopping production on the device and most of the stores are closing, I am seriously ANGRY at this company.

    No wonder customers are switching to Amazon.  I am furious.   The "technical support" at B/N is terrible.  They have no idea how to use the device and said "Well, no one's buying them.  I usually work in books..."

    And did I tell you how angry I am that you are giving discounts and gift cards now???
    NOT FAIR.  NOT FAIR NOT FAIR.
    I have my device INFO too if you don't believe me.  Box and all.  I may return it though and get a Kindle if I don't get a response from you guys.  




    Seriously angry and disappointed.

    25 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    When I first bought the NOOK HD+ I loved it. But over a week ago

    When I first bought the NOOK HD+ I loved it. But over a week ago they changed the internet browser to chrome. I have had more problems since the change then I can mention. One which is very annoying is while reading a book or newspaper, my pages won't turn, so I can't read my book or newspaper. I use my husbands old original nook and it's fine. Chrome has slowed down my nook in every aspect you can imagine. I am now looking at which ipad to purchase because every time I use the nook now I get frustrated and I want to throw it out the window.

    24 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    I think that it is absolutely ludicrous that every app worth hav

    I think that it is absolutely ludicrous that every app worth having cost, where as on the iPad there is absolutely no cost. The tablet maybe cheaper but in the end you will pay the same amount just to get an app. My daughter has the nook color and I thought the hd+ would be different, not!!!

    23 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    SLOW due to HD, TOO propritary, can only get apps thru BN, BN b

    SLOW due to HD, TOO propritary, can only get apps thru BN, BN books and apps too expensive. NO CAMERAS either.


    Check out any independent Andriod tablet BEFORE you made the mistake that I did!

    21 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    I am not a happy customer with Nook. I have had my Nook for less

    I am not a happy customer with Nook. I have had my Nook for less than a year and bought an extended
    2 year warranty for it. In a 2 day period I have been on the phone for over 5 hrs with customer support with t
    them not willing to help. It should not take that long and keep having issues. At this point I am really regretting my
    decision of going with the Nook and wishing I had went with the Kindle. I have spent so much money with them
    and was in the middle of a book and now I can not use it. They tell me it is being sent to their engineers and I will have to wait 24 -72 hrs for them to investigate the problem to know if it is my Nook or something else. So be careful and be prepared when buying a Nook that if you have to go through customer service it will take forever to get the issues fixed or for them to actually accept he fact you paid for a warranty you paid for a warranty and send you a replacement.I will be checking into the Kindle and advise everyone to be prepared when you buy a Nook. 

    20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Very disappointed. I was suppose to receive a $50 promotional cr

    Very disappointed. I was suppose to receive a $50 promotional credit for apps, books, etc. I never received the email adding the credit even after numerous calls and emails to customer service. They keep saying I will post your information to my computer and you will get a response in 24 to 72 hours. Still nothing is done.  No response received and still no credit. I have been a very faithful Nook purchaser/customer. It has been more than 20 days. Still nothing. If someone doesnt fix this by Friday this week, I am taking this back and refusing to pay due to faulty advertising. I have always been a promoter of Barnes and Noble but I have now changed my attitude and will continue to post comments about this situation until it is taken care of.  I hope thijs helps you with your future decison about buying a Nook with their faulty promotion. Sincerely, Patti Jo M.

    19 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Bought the device while a promotion was going on.  I can honestl

    Bought the device while a promotion was going on.  I can honestly say while i like the device, the customer service from barnes & noble is the absolute worst! The people are rude,unhelpful and give you the runaround while just apologizing for the inconvienence. Instead of spending time apologizing, just hire some people who actually provide service!

    Strongly debating returning th device based in the support especially after spending over $300!

    18 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    I would buy the Nook HD+, but for German People there is no way

    I would buy the Nook HD+, but for German People there is no way to take one........- and barnes & noble have no timeline to bring this Tablet to European People - grrrr (thanks a lot)

    18 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Haven't purchased one yet and they already have one strike again

    Haven't purchased one yet and they already have one strike against them, just spent over 5 minutes waitinmg for an answer to a question for online support from the Chat now experts that are supposed to be available and no one repsonded.


    16 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10