BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

NOOK HD+ Tablet Slate 32GB

Average Rating 4
( 1464 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(799)

4 Star

(250)

3 Star

(113)

2 Star

(107)

1 Star

(195)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1085 out of 1114 people found this review helpful.

I absolutely adore my Nook HD+! The Nook HD+ is an e-reader on

I absolutely adore my Nook HD+!

The Nook HD+ is an e-reader on steroids, packed with features like a stellar HD screen (beats out the Google Nexus, iPad Mini, Kindle Fire HD, etc), apps (10000 and counting!), expandable memory, HDMI compatible, 10 hour battery life, an...
I absolutely adore my Nook HD+!

The Nook HD+ is an e-reader on steroids, packed with features like a stellar HD screen (beats out the Google Nexus, iPad Mini, Kindle Fire HD, etc), apps (10000 and counting!), expandable memory, HDMI compatible, 10 hour battery life, and it's one of the lightest 'tablets' on the market. But one thing needs to be clear, the Nook HD+ is an e-reader FIRST, tablet second, and it behaves that way. If you are purchasing this device expecting a full-featured Android OS, look elsewhere.

Lack of apps seems to be a major concern with some buyers, which isn't something that I've been bothered with since I'm not a huge app user. Angry Birds, Evernote, Hulu Plus and Open Explorer are my apps of choice, but it all depends on what YOU plan on using this device for. I can access my e-mail easily and the stock web browser does its job. Don't like the browser? No problem, hit up the app store and get the Dolphin browser or any of the countless other options available.

The Nook HD+ really shines for a few reasons. It's one of the only devices in its class with expandable memory, and due to its 'Retina-like' display, the screen is really super-sharp and the colors pop, perfect for, well, reading. Another reason is customer service. Because Barnes & Noble has actual brick and mortar stores, if you are having problems with your Nook, you don't have to call a customer service number, you can bring your device to your local Barnes & Noble and a Nook specialist is always on staff to help. Also, since it's one of the lightest devices in its class, it's easy and comfortable to hold with one hand. And while some people may say the build (specifically the back of the device) is 'plastic-ey', I find it stylish, plus it keeps it light and separates it from the endless black rectangles that now flood the tablet market.

I'm very happy with my Nook HD+, and those little extra features like being able to take it into a B&N store and be able to read ANY book for free on the device (even items that they don't actually have in stock) is a cool plus. I recommend it for any avid reader who wants a bit of color!

posted by KrissyD on November 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

423 out of 607 people found this review helpful.

I bought a Nook HD+ today and might end up returning it tomorrow

I bought a Nook HD+ today and might end up returning it tomorrow. The screen is great. No doubt about it. But everything else is not so hot. It's not user-friendly and there aren't many apps available. For me, the worst thing is that you can't create folders to organ...
I bought a Nook HD+ today and might end up returning it tomorrow. The screen is great. No doubt about it. But everything else is not so hot. It's not user-friendly and there aren't many apps available. For me, the worst thing is that you can't create folders to organize your stuff. Well, you can CREATE them, but the Nook doesn't DISPLAY them. This has been problem for a while and they still haven't fixed it. ?!?!?!?!?

They also advertise the HD+ as being GREAT FOR FAMILIES because you can set up different users. So your spouse or kids can have their own accounts and their own books. I thought this would help because of the no-folders thing. Well, my daughter wanted an original Nancy Drew book (#8 in the series). Fine. But it didn't appear search results when we searched in her account. But it DID show up when we searched on my account. ?? Someone flagged most of the older Nancy Drew books as being adult content. Okay, fine. I removed the "kids only" restriction in her account. It STILL didn't appear in the search results. I called the store. They told me to just make an adult account for her. Err. This kind of defeats the purpose of setting up an account that will suggest the kinds of books she likes to read. Not to mention if she's an "adult" they can collect all her information aggressively.

And when I read the ten-page privacy policy, it said that they collect information on kids under 13, "so you should tell your kids not to write anything personally identifiable if they're using our online apps." Eek!

And don't even get me started on some ebooks being more expensive than actual books.

posted by 16676992 on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 195 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    The product itself is GR8, the new updates to Google Chrome (whi

    The product itself is GR8, the new updates to Google Chrome (which took over you got no, "Updates are available, would you like to install now?" It just TOOK over (I didn't WANT to install it, especially not at that moment), it re-ararranged, wiped out bookmarks, changed things, etc., it took a lot of time trying to straighten it all out and figure out where things went).

    There are multiple glitches starting with YOUR LIBRARY IS SYNCING every THREE pages of a book you're trying to read (I'm not exaggerating here, it's like every 2-3 minutes ) distracting you from what you're reading and draining your battery MASSIVELY. There's no way to control it, you have no control over Google updates that will occur in the future .

    It's great, you bought it, but Google now seems to control and run it. I was thrilled with my NOOK COLOR and the NOOK HD+ before they've now merged with Google. Google is completely taking over my B&N/Nook experience with their stormtrooper like methods.

    EXTREMELY UNHAPPY and would like to RETURN the NOOK HD+ just because of these ridiculous issues that should have nothing to do with my Barnes & Noble interactions. It's JUST a web browser, why is B&N alloting them so much power over their products.

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    I recently rated the Nook HD+ on PC Magazine as poor. The reaso

    I recently rated the Nook HD+ on PC Magazine as poor. The reason is that the battery life is terrible. This week I completely charged the Nook and did not use it. In less then 24 hours the battery had discharged completely without any use. To make sure it was not the cover I bought causing the problem I charged it with and without the cover to see if there was a difference. There was no difference. The reason that I gave it a poor rating is that when the other apps are used, even the Nook reader, the battery ran down even faster and made the Nook HD+ inefficient. If the battery runs down quickly then the great screen and flexibility of this Nook to me is meaningless. I also own an I Pad retinal display and the battery lasts significantly longer. I use it for my work and it never fails. My concern is that the Nook will fail in the middle of reading or watching a movie. etc. I usually am not this harsh but I think anyone wanting to buy one should take note of the problem that I found that can limit the use of the Nook.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    The product was good then they upgraded to become a GOOGLE/CHROM

    The product was good then they upgraded to become a GOOGLE/CHROME tool leaving me subject to Google's many security and privacy violations and outright hackability world wide. I will give them a chance to downgrade my NookHD+ to the previously acceptable level before Google made my Nook unstable and useless.

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    horrible product my nook started shuting off for no reason withi

    horrible product my nook started shuting off for no reason within a week of buying it. and now wont load past 99% and have been told i cant return since its been more than 14 days

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    I have the NOOK HD+. Videos wont play and the interface is glitc

    I have the NOOK HD+. Videos wont play and the interface is glitchy. i must admit i do enjoy reading on it but apart from that i am very unhappy. Furthermore, the customer service is very poor - although after over an hour on the phone i did get a refund for the videos i bought. I only wish I could get a refund fot the NOOK itself as even writing this review from the NOOK is a huge pain.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Junk - not user friendly, nothing works properly. We have had n

    Junk - not user friendly, nothing works properly. We have had nothing but problems. Avoid at all costs.

    7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Not good.  I was so excited to get this.  I also have a Kindle &

    Not good.  I was so excited to get this.  I also have a Kindle & there is no comparison.  The tablet functions work semi-fine but it is really slow.  The most important thing to me is the reader function. This part of this NOOK is very unsatisfactory.  It frequently freezes; it frequently randomly jumps to the back or front of the book ;
     if I have the lock rotation function turned off and if I rotate the book sometimes it will freeze sometimes and sometimes it will simply close the book. I really want to like this tablet reader and if it worked well it would be wonderful.  All the extra features in the world don't matter if they don't function.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Staff at your College Station store were the best very polite ve

    Staff at your College Station store were the best very polite very concerned about assisting me with the Nook my wife gave me. However your phone service was horrible, barely spoke English the two times I called. The second time the lady knew nothing regarding using my laptop with the Nook app she managed to mess up my account so badly it took a manager a hour to clear up her numerous mistakes. In addition the Wi-Fi in the store was terrible to the point the staff encouraged me to set up my Nook at home as my Wi-Fi(cheap,basic)had to be faster and they were right. Is one of the marketing features of Nook free access to books in store? The Nook directions were horrible the directions on the set-up sheet mention at the end that the Nook manual was on the Nook should that be mentioned first which would have saved a trip to the store. The employees at the store were wonderful they were very embarrassed about their store's pathetic Wi-Fi and the problems i encountered with phone service. I would strongly encourage your upper management to visit your store in College Station to learn excellent customer service.Due to the pathetic Wi-Fi and phone service I can only conclude upper management of B&N are clueless. I have so little confidence in customer service on the company level I decided to play it safe and return the Nook my wife purchased and apply the $150 to a Kindle, their phone service speaks English and I have used Kindle to check out Library books which I cannot do with a Nook.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    I bought the Nook HD+ 32GB as an alternative to my laptop-- I ne

    I bought the Nook HD+ 32GB as an alternative to my laptop-- I needed something with email capabilities, entertainment factors, and web access but was more portable. It seemed great in the store and the screen has stunning pixel quality-- just as striking as the Kindle or the iPad, really. It was also nicely lightweight and batterlife was fairly decent. However, I was horribly disapointed after just several hours of use. The Apps were woefully lacking and none were free. For a 32GB it was surprisingly already over 75% full in memory, suspicious since its a 32GB and it was preloaded with about 6 Apps. My Gmail was incapable of being connected, despite my opening POP, IMAP, and Exchange pathways-- odd messages kept popping up about needing particular permission. Also, I ended up having to touch the screen numerous times in one spot to get it to read my command. Customer service was a joke online and the storeclerks were incredibly rude and ignorant that their product was poor when I went to return it. All in all, I would say that the Tablet is more a glorified E-reader than true Tablet. I would go for something like the Samsung Galaxy Note or even better, Asus Transformer. I'm not sure if I would buy this again, since I feel my smartphone is a better product in comparison. After some research, I found these issues have been prevalent in previous models since last year despite "new" versions being submitted for public consumption. This leaves me worries about the true integrity of their word on the "changes" provided for the newest model of Nook HD out now; frankly it's rather recent from the one I just bought to have much of a successful upgrade. It appears that B&N are more into quanitity than quality most of the time. So, overall, if you want a larger E-reader with email/web scope than the HD is perfect. If you want a Tablet to replace a laptop for further capabilities with easier mobility, you probably won't find that here with the Nooks.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    I should of bought a kindle or ipad. One of my biggest purchase

    I should of bought a kindle or ipad. One of my biggest purchase regrets. Cant access video on major websites, the browser plug in doesnt work, i have to deregister to get apps to work. The screen leaves all kinds of finger prints, hard to get off. Customer service is horrible, i so wish i can return it, but its past the 14 day return policy. Will try to sell it and totally get something else. The touch screen only works half the time. Worse tablet ever. 

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    The Nook HD+ is fine for reading, but no good for email. The sh

    The Nook HD+ is fine for reading, but no good for email. The shopping section is very poor compared with the Nook Tablet. Actually the software in the Nook Tablet is superior to this software

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Just from reading the reviews here I have decided against ever b

    Just from reading the reviews here I have decided against ever buying another tablet/reader from this company. A quality product doesn't have this many people complaining about it. I have a Nook  Tablet now that I'm not very happy with. When I can save enough to buy an ipad, the Nook is going into storage.

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Bought the device while a promotion was going on. I can honestl

    Bought the device while a promotion was going on. I can honestly say while i like the device, the customer service from Barnes & noble is the absolute worst! The people are rude,unhelpful and give you the runaround while just apologizing for the inconvenience. Instead of spending time apologizing, just hire some people who actually provide service!
    I STRONGLY STRONGLY SUGGEST TO EVERYONE READING THIS REVIEW, TO NOT BUY A NOOK HD+
    I AM ON NUMBER 3 (third) one, YES, THE THIRD NOOK hd+!!!
    II keep getting the run around from "Internet chats" to the "phone" and end up going into a brick build help service desk. THEY ARE THE RUDEST PEOPLE IN THE INDUSTRY, DON'T GO THERE!
    The CS employees in that store in particular, need to be moved to stocking the shelves! THEY TALK DOWN TO YOU, THEY TOTALLY TRY TO MAKE ME FEEL LIKE I WAS STUPID AND THAT WHAT I WAS TRYING TO TELL THEM WHAT WAS WRONG WITH NUMBER 3, YES NUMBER 3! I WAS SENT HOME WITH THE SAME STUPID NOOK HD+. YUP! PROOF IS IN THE PUDDING! I NOW SEE THE PUDDING!

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    The battery doesn't hold a charge for very long, and ever since

    The battery doesn't hold a charge for very long, and ever since I got it as a gift, I have had a hard time turning it on. I've been charging it now for 3 days, and when I unplugged it, I got the blinking orange light that it wasn't charged (after seeing a solid green light showing a charge).
    Another problem is that there are so few apps for this. And the apps it does have are not cheap either (no free apps like Apple products have).
    I've had this now for less than 8 months, I I think it's just about toast. Too bad I can't return it now.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    If you are thinking about buying the Nook HD+ because you think

    If you are thinking about buying the Nook HD+ because you think it is closer to a tablet than an E-reader, don't buy this. Very few of the tablet functions work. Most of the apps from Google Play do not work. You can install them, but they do not open. Unless you read magazines and like the Nook apps buy the Nook Simple Touch. The Nook HD+ is in simple terms nothing more then a jazzed up E-reader.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    Navigation is not intuitive. Cannot access anything that requir

    Navigation is not intuitive. Cannot access anything that requires a Flash plug-in. Nook will block install. Now, CNET reports that B & N are getting out of the tablet business and focusing only on e-reader. It's an expensive ereader.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    I ordered Nook HD+ and paid $149 plus tax. They sent HD instead.

    I ordered Nook HD+ and paid $149 plus tax. They sent HD instead. I was holding the phone to reach customer service for 35 minutes before I could speak to someone. Then the guy tells me to go to the store to return it to get refund. Unbelievable. The guy was nice but the waiting and the end result was not!!!

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    well, i never got to try mine since mac isnt compatible with ver

    well, i never got to try mine since mac isnt compatible with very many router or it doesnt allow info to come from unknown sources????Barnes and noble customer serive transferrd me to a cal center somewhere in a foreign country for the lady to completely give me wrong info and make me look dumb when i called my inet company to tell them what she told me to say.Not happy will never buy another B&N electronics.POOR store service and virtual service.

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    The product does more-or-less what it says (so three stars). But

    The product does more-or-less what it says (so three stars). But there are many issues with organizaton, folders and some commands which are not at first obvious and not well arranged. But the USB cable and power supply leave a lot to be desired (so one star). And heaven help you if you are out of the USA and need it, or the USB cable or the power supply replacing under guarantee! No chance of sending it out of the country and beware, Barnes and Noble only provide warrenty in the USA.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    Run don't walk away from Barnes and Noble. I would give the No


    Run don't walk away from Barnes and Noble. I would give the Nook HD plus a zero star rating if I could. I was a long time Barnes and Noble customer. I had a Nook color that I loved, but decided to "upgrade" to the Nook HD plus, so that my daughter could watch movies. It all started out nice and I was very happy with my purchase, until the Google Play software update. (Barnes & Noble updated all devices automatically. It would have been nice if I would have got a notification on my device saying that their is an update would you like to install.... I would have picked No FYI) After the update, my device became slower, it would randomly close out of my books (loosing my place), it freezes on a regular basis, and now the latest- it will not play movies. I called Nook repeatedly and their resolution for all my problems was a factory reset. I told them that doing a factory reset is not a solution. It is treating a symptom, and that I should get a replacement. They denied my request because my Nook was "working". After the third factory reset, I stopped trying to organize all my books into shelves because you loose them upon resetting the device. I thought to myself, be patient they will work out the kinks. Well, I think I have been too patient and should have insisted on a replacement. The newest and biggest problem is that it has stopped playing movies, but I am out of luck now because my device is out of warranty (Dec 2013). In my newest call to Nook Support, I had to do another factory reset and deregister and register my device again. This time that did not "fix" the problem. Congrats Barnes in Noble, you took my money and strung me along long enough that now I have no recourse. Oh wait, I can trade it in on a refurb with the same problems or I can get a 25.00 B&N gift card. My husband has the other device that begins with a K. He has never had a problem with his tablet, and the books are cheaper. I am going to send an email to BN management, but I am not holding my breath. The Nook HD plus has been a big disappointment.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 195 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10