Customer Reviews for

NOOK HD+ Tablet Slate 32GB

Average Rating 4
( 1450 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(794)

4 Star

(247)

3 Star

(112)

2 Star

(105)

1 Star

(192)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1085 out of 1114 people found this review helpful.

I absolutely adore my Nook HD+! The Nook HD+ is an e-reader on

I absolutely adore my Nook HD+!

The Nook HD+ is an e-reader on steroids, packed with features like a stellar HD screen (beats out the Google Nexus, iPad Mini, Kindle Fire HD, etc), apps (10000 and counting!), expandable memory, HDMI compatible, 10 hour battery life, an...
I absolutely adore my Nook HD+!

The Nook HD+ is an e-reader on steroids, packed with features like a stellar HD screen (beats out the Google Nexus, iPad Mini, Kindle Fire HD, etc), apps (10000 and counting!), expandable memory, HDMI compatible, 10 hour battery life, and it's one of the lightest 'tablets' on the market. But one thing needs to be clear, the Nook HD+ is an e-reader FIRST, tablet second, and it behaves that way. If you are purchasing this device expecting a full-featured Android OS, look elsewhere.

Lack of apps seems to be a major concern with some buyers, which isn't something that I've been bothered with since I'm not a huge app user. Angry Birds, Evernote, Hulu Plus and Open Explorer are my apps of choice, but it all depends on what YOU plan on using this device for. I can access my e-mail easily and the stock web browser does its job. Don't like the browser? No problem, hit up the app store and get the Dolphin browser or any of the countless other options available.

The Nook HD+ really shines for a few reasons. It's one of the only devices in its class with expandable memory, and due to its 'Retina-like' display, the screen is really super-sharp and the colors pop, perfect for, well, reading. Another reason is customer service. Because Barnes & Noble has actual brick and mortar stores, if you are having problems with your Nook, you don't have to call a customer service number, you can bring your device to your local Barnes & Noble and a Nook specialist is always on staff to help. Also, since it's one of the lightest devices in its class, it's easy and comfortable to hold with one hand. And while some people may say the build (specifically the back of the device) is 'plastic-ey', I find it stylish, plus it keeps it light and separates it from the endless black rectangles that now flood the tablet market.

I'm very happy with my Nook HD+, and those little extra features like being able to take it into a B&N store and be able to read ANY book for free on the device (even items that they don't actually have in stock) is a cool plus. I recommend it for any avid reader who wants a bit of color!

posted by KrissyD on November 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

423 out of 607 people found this review helpful.

I bought a Nook HD+ today and might end up returning it tomorrow

I bought a Nook HD+ today and might end up returning it tomorrow. The screen is great. No doubt about it. But everything else is not so hot. It's not user-friendly and there aren't many apps available. For me, the worst thing is that you can't create folders to organ...
I bought a Nook HD+ today and might end up returning it tomorrow. The screen is great. No doubt about it. But everything else is not so hot. It's not user-friendly and there aren't many apps available. For me, the worst thing is that you can't create folders to organize your stuff. Well, you can CREATE them, but the Nook doesn't DISPLAY them. This has been problem for a while and they still haven't fixed it. ?!?!?!?!?

They also advertise the HD+ as being GREAT FOR FAMILIES because you can set up different users. So your spouse or kids can have their own accounts and their own books. I thought this would help because of the no-folders thing. Well, my daughter wanted an original Nancy Drew book (#8 in the series). Fine. But it didn't appear search results when we searched in her account. But it DID show up when we searched on my account. ?? Someone flagged most of the older Nancy Drew books as being adult content. Okay, fine. I removed the "kids only" restriction in her account. It STILL didn't appear in the search results. I called the store. They told me to just make an adult account for her. Err. This kind of defeats the purpose of setting up an account that will suggest the kinds of books she likes to read. Not to mention if she's an "adult" they can collect all her information aggressively.

And when I read the ten-page privacy policy, it said that they collect information on kids under 13, "so you should tell your kids not to write anything personally identifiable if they're using our online apps." Eek!

And don't even get me started on some ebooks being more expensive than actual books.

posted by 16676992 on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    > How's the web browsing? It worked well enough for me, but

    > How's the web browsing?

    It worked well enough for me, but I only use it for light web browsing. You didn't ask, but regarding Adobe Flash support there is Adobe Flash 11.2.x for Android available in the shop, but it's not the latest in that series and suffers from security vulnerabilities. I'm hoping that B&N get the latest in that series pretty soon. The web browser itself reminded me of Chrome in some ways (not surprisingly since Google is involved), and browsing was at least as snappy as an iPhone 4.

    Regarding bugs, I've found several and have reported them all in the hopes that B&N will roll out updates soon to fix them. I'm hoping that others will do the same.

    165 out of 188 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    I received this as a gift. The nook HD + has the potential to be

    I received this as a gift. The nook HD + has the potential to be an excellent tablet. The only problem is every time I use it I become angry with Barnes and Noble in the way they have limited everything to their products. It advertises that it uses Android technology but you do not have access to the Android apps. You can't even use Facebook as an app. For me a tablet is about more than just reading - but I feel like this is very limited. If all I wanted to do was read then this device is way too heavy. The nook hd is advertised as being a "family friendly" device. However, there are very few options for protective covers being sold.
    Also the return policy on books is lousy (as in you can't return a book purchased on a nook - AT ALL). Kindle lets you return within 7 days.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    In brief. Flaws galore 1. No flash. 2. No way to organize books

    In brief. Flaws galore 1. No flash. 2. No way to organize books for your preference. 3. Browser closes intermittently. 4. No pandora. 5. Other profiles are not easy to manage.6. No running clock in reading mode. 7. Touch response is sluggish. 8. Expand contract stinks. 9. Three tries to submit this reviews.

    Nook color touch was fine...considering returning HD+

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Poorly constructed. One week after I bought this I noticed tha

    Poorly constructed.
    One week after I bought this I noticed that the plastic corners were peeling up even though it's been in BN's "Groovy Stand" since the moment it came out of it's package and I barely used it. I took it back to the store and they exchanged it for a new one but now, two days later the new one shows signs of doing the same thing though it's not as far as long. I'm not sure if it's the cover that's causing the problem or a flaw in the Nook itself but either way it's unacceptable. I'm getting a different cover today and hopefully that will solve the problem.

    Otherwise, the graphics are great and I enjoyed a watching a TV show on it. The app selection is decent but could certainly be better. My web browsing experience so far has been good but it does seem to freeze on occasion. At this point I'm not sure if I'd recommend it as I'm not sure whether I just got a couple of duds or if its the case that causing the problem.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    I recently received my Nook HD+. I love the light weight and th

    I recently received my Nook HD+. I love the light weight and the screen is wonderful. Plus I love the bigger screen for reading - haven't tried viewing a movie yet. I'm rating it a 3 due to issues I've encountered which I hope B&N fixes VERY SOON! The Nook Cloud appears to not be working properly. I placed some books in Cloud to see how it worked but, when I tried to retrieve them I was unable to retrieve some of them. Plus they did not show in Archive like the guide book said they would when stored in Cloud. There's supposedly a fix in the works for this but, as for the time frame to be fixed, they couldn't provide one. I was told to order movies you had to go through the Shop option on the Nook HD+. Why can't you buy them through the B&N website? The user guides are not very helpful and with this being my first tablet, trying to get things to work is getting a little frustrating. They need to have trouble shooting tips. Starting to wonder if I should have kept my Nook Color instead of giving it to my son and his family. I had loved my Nook Color so, a little disappointed at the moment with how things are going with my new Nook HD+. Hopfully once B&N gets the issues fixed and the updates are installed, this rating will change for the better for me.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Great product with an outstanding screen but be warned - B&B

    Great product with an outstanding screen but be warned - B&B have taken the shortsighted decision to prevent you buying apps from elsewhere, so when they don't have the app you need, your out of luck.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    When I first got my Nook HD+ I loved it. It did everything I wa

    When I first got my Nook HD+ I loved it. It did everything I wanted and when I did have any issues, I could take it into Barnes and Noble and the staff was so nice and helpful. Whenever anyone asked me if they should get a Nook or a Kindle, I always recommended Nook. One of the biggest reasons was that I could go into the store and get all the help I needed. Then, one day at work, I picked up my Nook and it had reset itself. I lost all my contacts and my calendar. I could not re-enter any info and the calendar would not sync with the calendar on my phone as it had done since the first day I got it. I went into the store and the workers were less than helpful and they acted like they didn't believe that the Nook sort of crashed and reset itself. In fact, they said they had never heard of that happening before. They also didn't believe that the calendar on my Nook had ever synced with my phone calendar. By the end of the conversation, I was told it was a Google problem. I have called a couple of times and have been able to get my contact list back on my Nook, but still have had no luck with the calendar. I am going to take it back to the store one more time and see if they can help me with the calendar. I have been very disappointed since all this has happened.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    I just got the device today. I already have a 7" Kindle HD

    I just got the device today. I already have a 7" Kindle HD that I'm very happy with, but I was looking for a device with a slight larger screen that I could use as a writing machine. I had originally considered the Chromebook, but I really wanted a tablet form factor. I had been considering a Nook for a while because, as much as I love my Kindle, I still think the Nook one of the best deals around for an HD tablet, it has superior hardware to the Kindle, and it has expandable memory. And when I found out they expanded the App offerings to the Google Play store, I was even more excited.

    Today brought the icing on the cake when I discovered I could get a 9" HD for $150. After doing some research I found a cover/Bluetooth keyboard for $35 -- which means the whole deal would cost me less than buying a Chromebook. I went straight to a B&N Store, bought a unit and tried to install the Google Drive, and a trial version of OfficeSuite Pro (Regularly $14.99). After a few minor mishaps -- the documentation should REALLY warn people that Chrome and Google Play wont b available until AFTER the automatic software update that runs on first boot -- I was able to create a test document, save it to my Google drive, and open it on a different machine.
    This device does exactly what I need it to, and I'm glad I took the leap. BTW, I normally wouldn't post anonymously, but the system won't let me create a pen name.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    I'm Having problems watching the videos on how it works. It NEVE

    I'm Having problems watching the videos on how it works. It NEVER loads! :( I just wanted to see it in action I gave it 3 star just because I have not used it. I want too see the videos or try one Can we go to Barns and noble and try one and see?

    7 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No web cam?

    No web cam?

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    It wasn't broken - why'd they fix it? I loved the Nook HD+ at f

    It wasn't broken - why'd they fix it? I loved the Nook HD+ at first. Sharp graphics, great battery life, apps I liked and not a lot of bloatware. Then along came Google, and my Nook HD+ went downhill fast.

    As soon as I upgraded to the new version of the software, a ton of Google junk appeared on my Nook. The graphics suddenly became fuzzy and oversized -- I have to scroll from side to side to read a page now, and the font size can't be changed on web pages. The touchscreen became hyper-responsive, so that the merest flick makes things jump around. Really annoying. The colors are hars, the edges are blurry -- it suddenly looks and feels like some cheap knock-off. What's even more annoying is that although it is an Android OS, no Bluetooth keyboard will work with it. I've tried 3. And all the internet functionality is locked to Google: for example, my Nook friends suddenly become my Google friends. If I want to play Lexulous, I have to open a Google account. It's downright creepy.I have avoided the iPad for ages just because I didn't want to drink the Apple Kool-Aide ... but this disappointment with the Nook is making the iPad look pretty good. I used to love my Nook HD+. Now I don't trust it.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    Open letter to William Lynch, CEO of Barnes & Noble You wer

    Open letter to William Lynch, CEO of Barnes & Noble

    You were recently quoted as stating: "We are examining the root cause of the December shortfall in sales, and will adjust our strategies accordingly going forward."

    I will give you the reason! You make a great hardware tablet with a great OS (Android) and then cripple it by preventing it from loading free apps from other sources! Let it be what it wants to be (and what everyone else wants it to be - a pure Android (jellybean) tablet!

    Also fix your lousy chat and "tech" support! Simply stated - it sucks!

    If you fix these two things, people will be lining up to buy it!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    Browsing slows to a crawl the more tabs you have open. I've bee

    Browsing slows to a crawl the more tabs you have open. I've been plagued with wait or close browser messages even the first day of use. Had one failure that was cleared with a cold boot. Had a book open and tried to retrieve Cloud Atlas that I was reading on my nook tablet. It continued to display the current book and refused to display Cloud Atlas the movie tie edition. Once I powered off and did a cold boot I could finally open Cloud Atlas. What this OS needs is a memory clean utility to clear memory from select apps without having to perform a cold boot. Still,the large screen is well worth it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    I really like my new nook. A few things missing though. I can't

    I really like my new nook. A few things missing though. I can't see ny own shelves, a lot of the apps are not available for the tablet HD even though it clearly states it is (very frustrating!), a camera would have been very nice too. Also books that I have added from my computer like pdf files are not visible in my library shelves. I like to have everything available in one place instead of searching all over the place for something.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    My second nook ever, and i am still unhappy with the lack of acc

    My second nook ever, and i am still unhappy with the lack of access to the google play store. The screen, weight, hardware, and expandable memory are all nice to me. But as always the lack of apps, be it the nook or kindle, is always bothersome to me

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    I have been using the Nook HD+ for 6 days and have decided to ta

    I have been using the Nook HD+ for 6 days and have decided to take it back. The creen is great and reading on it is super. The problem I have is the limited number of apps! The Nook is also a closed so you can only buy from Barnes & Noble! The Nook has an Adroid OS so you should be able to get apps from any where. The quality of the HD+ case seems cheap for the money. Barns & Noble should open the nook like the other android tablets. THey would sell millions of them. Inow looking at an ASUS table and will pay more to have an open system. Sorry B&N!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    I loved my nook tablet! I would give that 5 stars +! The nook hd

    I loved my nook tablet! I would give that 5 stars +! The nook hd + does have amazing graphics, but takes more time to set up. A few of the apps from my tablet have to be repurchased for hd+ which is annoying, although I've only found one app so far that this applies to. I had to return my first hd+ because the right sideof the case was pulling up from the device. Tech support is clueless! I have read a couple other reviews that mentioned the same issue. I did not have trouble exchanging, but do notice a potential spacein the same area on my new hd +, will be keeping a close watch on that. A possible design flaw. I also switched out my groovy stand for a traditional cover. The groovy stand was flimsy however the four point clips seemed to enhance the space in the righthand corner.  I am hoping this replacement will hold up. L am only giving it a week. If I have any issues that cannot be resolved I will return and wait for improvements and stick to my original Nook tablet.  I also prefet the feel and color of the case on the nook tablet, stays clean. Fingerprints are more prominent on this black case. Will be applying an antiglare screen protector  I purchased fromanother site for 4 bucks. I purchased a screen protector for my tablet from same site last year and it works perfectly and saved like 17 bucks. Hoping  I will be as  happy with the hd+ as I am with my original tablet.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    I love my HD+. I have had it now for about a month I think and I

    I love my HD+. I have had it now for about a month I think and I really enjoy it. Also Pandora recently upgraded their app so that I now have it for this device.
    I have only two problems:
    1. it is very hard to find a bluetooth device tbat is compatible with it
    2. every now and again it restarts itself for no apperent reason 
    Other than these two problems I love my Nook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    Very bugy, but my kids love it. I was disappointed at the firs

    Very bugy, but my kids love it.
    I was disappointed at the first day.
    1. no support for non-Latin language.
    2. when viewing youtube video, the video window shrinks to nail size after scrolling the screen up and down for a few times.
    3. the touch screen may be deadlocked (no reponse to finger activities) and have to power off the device. I have to do this once a day.
    4. multiuser profile is a mess. I assigned some items to my kids, but now I cannot reassign them back to me.
    5. very limited items in app store. Apps are more expensive compared with google play or Apple store .
    good part:
    1. there are some fun books and apps for kids, and my kids love them.
    2. lightweighted, easier for kids to hold. It might be the main reason my kids prefer this device than iPad.

    BTW, why the cursor always jumps to the end when I trying to edit my review?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    As an e-Reader, I love the Nook. There are so many books availab

    As an e-Reader, I love the Nook. There are so many books available not only at Barnes and Noble but also through my local library. Being able to access both the digital editions and the 
    the hard cover books is just wonderful for me. There are issues with the Nook though. It is an e-reader and not much of a tablet. The graphics are great on the HD+ and for the most part looking at videos from the Smithsonian and some other areas are great. Magazines look wonderful
    and most games are fun. But there are times when I regret the almost $300 I spent on it. Getting constantly kicked off the Web and non-responsiveness is more than frustrating especially when it has been happening since day 1 and no amount of tech help fixes the problem.
    There is no dual band wi-fi and the memory upgrade is just plain useless. Battery life is not all that great and there is no Flash and no Java. So, if you are looking for an above average e-reader then go for the Nook HD+ but if your are expecting this to act like a true tablet buy a Samsung 
    because the Nook does not make the grade in that respect.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6